Opinion Stephen Silvagni

Yep.

Club has just publicly announced that two players on its list are so shit they had to sack our high performing List Manager, their father, so they could remove them off the list at the next available opportunity. The whole list is suffering due to two players picked in the fourth round of the draft haven’t reached AA status by the end of their second and fourth years in the system.

It got so bad at the club that all the coaches, fitness staff and football department could not collectively pick a side each week because the head of List Management could not be involved in the decisions. The whole place basically ground to a halt every Thursday night after training.

The explanations out of the club are more amateur than the sacking of a bloke doing his job better than anyone hoped was possible.

tenor.gif

Who are mates with Ben & Jack at the club? Those 2 will clearly be hating Liddle & Co and be sharing that opinion with other members of the playing group creating a distaste for those in charge/the club itself as a result.
Have my doubts that is in their nature. Remember their Dad and Pop both got so much experience of ups and downs of stuff at club level to do with admin and politics. They will surely re-inforce to Jack and Ben that despite initial annoyance with CEO decision, all they need to do is concentrate on their coaches, fitness staff, their own development and mates they play with.
Liddle they would very rarely have anything to do with around the club. They probably laugh more about this saga and move on quickly than most fans.

I hope for the clubs sake that is what they do but we have already seen jack publicly voicing his distaste for what Liddle and Co have done, I can't see how he wouldn't be saying even more behind closed doors.
Most of what he posted at twitter was tongue in cheek and probably removed when told to by Mum and Pop...lol

I can’t agree with that Jabba, while the press release seemed quite contrived, and no doubt it was a cover for whatever disagreements took place, the silver lining is the clear air it gives SOS’s boys.

after this shit fight blows over and everyone’s feelings recover Jack and Ben will no longer have that cloud hanging over them that the are the bosses son. Just look at the scrutiny Jack has been under since his career started, just ridiculous for a pick 60ish kid. Same goes for the boys around the club. Neither has to look at Darcy Lang and feel nervous that he is probably going to get cut by his dad at the end of the season. Or sit next to Levi who has been screwed by SOS every year with shit one year deals despite giving his heart and soul and outperforming players getting 3 times his pay.

Now I’m not saying this is said but I bet it runs through the boys heads at times, cos I’ve been there in a similar situation.

Yes we’ve lost a great list manager but we are giving the next gen of Silvagni’s some clear air to hopefully continue the family legacy.
Nice spin by the club, I have no doubt Cain and co will move Jack and Ben on at the end of 2020. The air will be be real clean.

Who are mates with Ben & Jack at the club? Those 2 will clearly be hating Liddle & Co and be sharing that opinion with other members of the playing group creating a distaste for those in charge/the club itself as a result. If that spreads throughout the playing group and we lose a Curnow, Mckay, Weitering, Cripps type of course it comes back on Liddle's head for how incompetently he has dealt with this whole situation.

Liddle has completely f’ed up regardless of the decision made on SOS, his inability to deal with it in such a way that wouldn't alienate other parts of the club in particular the playing group should have seen him out the door 5 mins after that announcement.

Which points points out perfectly the conflict of interest that can occur.

Well done on highlighting it.

Nice spin by the club, I have no doubt Cain and co will move Jack and Ben on at the end of 2020. The air will be be real clean.

images

Pretty sure Liddle has no input in the final say of list management issues at the end of the day, that is not part of his duties.

The club hasn't handled the departure of SOS well, but there is no need to make false assumptions on the future of the Silvagni boys.

As a huge SOS fan, I am sad to see him go. It's not the end of the world like some fans and media are making it out to be but some questions do need to be asked to those in power. I think there are some real issues with the decision and the overall strategy:

1) The decision to move on from SOS is absolutely inconsistent with all messaging from the club over the last 5 years. From 99% of reasonable observers within the industry (disregarding trolls), SOS has done a good job under very difficult circumstances. He is not perfect, for example missing out on the big fish available but in the context of where the CFC is and has been, there is not much we can really complain about towards SOS.

2) The reasoning provided by the club (conflict of interest) is ridiculous and actually is a sign of disrespect toward the supporters and all stakeholders by expecting us to believe it. I know that the there may be sensitivity around club politics and the messaging provided, but it's so obvious we are being lied to. Please CFC explain the REAL reason why we have let SOS go without a replacement at this stage. If there are genuine reasons, the majority of fans will back the call or at least understand it. Was there no conflict of interest over the last 5 years when Jack has been at the club?

3) Liddle has been painted in a very bad light due to his attempt to bring across his mates (and hack players) from Richmond. Is this not nepotism/conflict of interest, or is that okay because his surname is different? Why is he meddling in list management decisions?

Overall our fans are passionate and want the best for the club. SOS was doing a great job as one of the best list managers in the business. He has:
-Revolutionised live trading
-Nailed almost all of our first round picks
-Fixed our disastrous salary cap where we gave large and long contracts to bog average players
-Traded away "overrated" players for currency (Menzel, Hendo, Touhy, Yarran, Bell, Gibbs)
-Secured some pretty handy players with little currency (Newman, Martin, Wright, Newnes) and has
-Helped make us a "destination club" again

In addition, his departure shows that there is disharmony within the club at some level which is not good. Please CFC tell us how letting SOS go is beneficial for the club moving forward?

Are there better options available? I doubt it. The fact that we have no replacement lined up speaks volumes.

Was SOS too stubborn? I would believe this if true, although good negotiators need to be. If so, then tell us "SOS was great and we thank him for everything but we thought that the he no longer fit our strategic direction moving forward and the club thinks it's time we made a change to freshen up the recruiting department" or something along those lines.

Was SOS staying detrimental to the club in any way? I have no inside info but this looks to be the most likely situation because nothing else makes any sense. Maybe some players didn't want him there or the club feared that SOS being in his position was dividing the playing list and their loyalties.

The worst possibility which I hope is not true is that the other execs (Liddle/Lloyd etc.) are too scared to tell us these reasons as the information may put their own jobs at risk. If we want to be a successful club then we need accountability. Do what is best for the club, don't hide behind corporate spiel. SOS put his job on the line with huge risks to do what he thought was best for the footy club even when it polarised the opinions of others (Stocker trade, targeting GWS players, trading away Menzel/Tuohy, the risky trade down for picks 17 & 22).

Please give us the truth CFC. We don't need the specific sensitive issues, but tell us the general gist of the reason SOS was let go. Don't treat us like fools.

images

Pretty sure Liddle has no input in the final say of list management issues at the end of the day, that is not part of his duties.

The club hasn't handled the departure of SOS well, but there is no need to make false assumptions on the future of the Silvagni boys.

****en Lol re the bold bit. This whole thread is because Liddle wanted to show that he had a bigger d@#$ than SOS. PS Eddie says hi.
Am I allowed to have an opinion? Will my opinion hurt the boys feelings and put pressure on them? Pretty sure the club already did a good job of that.

Not really. It's a pissing competition now. Jack also did himself no favours on twitter, I get he was supporting his old man, his bosses however might see it a little differently.
No worries mate, i was just wondering what you meant with the clean air bit.

That Brendan Bolton article may give a big clue as to why SOS was let go:
“He wonders if playing the long game cost him his job rather than bringing in more senior players and using available salary cap space”
“you lose games by one or two goals and you have money sitting there”
“Some short-term decisions around bringing some more men in early may have helped.”

Maybe to you, and to others who live and breathe the club on forums like this. But to the wider football fanbase who get given their opinions by the odd article here and there, they'll take it at face value and move on pretty quick.

The die-hards will never be appeased, you can see that here all the time. There are people who, even when we enjoy success, find reasons to complain. They've every right to criticise, or demand improvement - it's a form of support, if one I don't subscribe to. But no statement was going to satisfy them.

EDIT: I'm just going to add to, rather than amend my previous comment. I don't want to deny anyone their right to voice their view. I may come across as argumentative at times, but as a general rule it's because I disagree with the content of a post and feel that the discussion benefits from having a contrary opinion offered in response. If I think someone is being unfair or unreasonable, I'll say so, and why, and welcome genuine, considered discussion in return.

This made me laugh... Doesn't take a die hard fan to simply engage their brain and realise citing a conflict of interest over boys that have been on the list his entire tenure has suddenly become a valid reason to move him on...

But yes I do agree there are plenty of nuffies out there so it will work for some. It is why we get some truly reprehensible politicians in positions of power; say a few cliches here and there and the unwashed masses will lap it up prima facie.

Just imagine, if some other club offers a shit load of money to take over the list management strategy , for example, Demons, and he ended up there in coming years and his job was to get guys like Curnow, McKay and Walsh to Melbourne. How ******* stupid is Liddle's decision going to look to be quoting his reasons for not renewing SOS here ?
Just pray to football gods SOS decides to take on something else in football industry that does not involve clubland list management of some kind.

Club Administrators and Recruiters/List Managers that are well liked change clubs all the time. How many players 'follow them' to other clubs?
Love your work ff78, but this is one of the more ridiculous reactions I've read about SOS leaving.

That Brendan Bolton article may give a big clue as to why SOS was let go:
“He wonders if playing the long game cost him his job rather than bringing in more senior players and using available salary cap space”
“you lose games by one or two goals and you have money sitting there”
“Some short-term decisions around bringing some more men in early may have helped.”

That's funny because Teague made good with the same cattle, but just a different configuration.

Bolton just wasn't the right person for the job and his message and messaging got tiresome, unfortunately.

Club Administrators and Recruiters/List Managers that are well liked change clubs all the time. How many players 'follow them' to other clubs?
Love your work ff78, but this is one of the more ridiculous reactions I've read about SOS leaving.
HA HA I did not say follow.. you misunderstood point of post which was not how they might leave but if they did and SOS was the recruiter from another club at that point, it is going to look ****ing crazy bad, IF, that happens, IF.....

Pray to football gods that never happens.. whatever the reaction now of many and Lidde's mess will be 100 times worse in the worse case scenario

This has to be a POTY contender surely? LOLOLOL!

Should I skim through the last 107 pages you lads and ladettes have added in the last month?

Or am I going to have to bust out this gif to the majority?

5B508B81-7162-4200-8E7F-5F037FEB3F42.gif

Input appreciated. TIA.

It is simply incorrect to suggest SOS doesn't actively pursue small forwards. Every year he has been at the club, we have brought in options to play that role in the side.

2015 - Wright, Gallucci, Lamb, Sumner, Cuningham
2016 - Polson, Lebois, Gallucci, Pickett
2017 - Lang, Garlett
2018 - Fasolo, Bugg, Owies
2019 - Deluca, Betts, Honey, Phillips, Martin could be argued, and we know the story with Papley.

Most have not worked out - but the numbers are there.

Whether correct or not, it seems small forwards are seen as the 'least important' position, or at least the easiest to fill.

Of course we could have gone harder at small forwards over the journey, but I think the strategy to bring them in last, or at least spend the least amount of currency on them early in the build, is the correct one.

It is no coincidence now that we have done the hard yards, we have started looking more intently at smaller dynamic types for the forward 50.
👍🏻👍🏻
Should have his internet access removed
The right to vote and breed should also fall into the removal category.
....go to the grave with The Navy Blue wrapped around the casket, with nothing ever coming in between their love.
You’re either in, or you’re out.
This shit is just a minor blot, on many a major blot in our clubs history.
Unfortunately you are correct, the club is bigger than one man, even if it is “The man” ☹️
If we think this is bad, wait until Jack requests a trade to *fc 😀

76DCEFD3-A219-429A-BFA9-4284D26F7F06.gif

Good old GuesSEN, anything that suits their agenda. Morons.
his ability to on trade and multi layer player trades and picks were second to none. It really showed up how lazy most of the afl media can be when commenting on his performance, at least this guy had a decent crack at the complexity of it as a whole .
SOS was an absolute weapon. Irreplaceable imo.
I havent been this confused since Simon white punched someone for being a fan?
Whitey obviously wasn’t.

🤣🤣🤣
This place be like

View attachment 790128
after dining out on each other.👍
Isn’t it glorious, said no one, ever.
Dylan is such a legend these days. Between him and Dan Gorringe, you've got the 'taking the piss out of oneself' enough for the rest of the comp sown up.
I detest social media but a mate keeps showing me Dan Gorringe on Instagram and wow, some really funny stuff.
Thanks Sos for the great position you have put the club in.
First and foremost, You are a Father of two, possibly more players on an AFL list,.
Its time for you to sit back now and let the next generation of Silvangi's grow and excel at the club.
enjoy your next chapter, but most of all enjoy the path that you have,
1, taught your boys to play this great game at this Great club.
2, excelled at your position of a Recruitment Manager.

GO BLUES.
Great post, Bobby.
I only tell it as I see Gef!:cool:
Never change ❤
If you can't laugh at yourself,
your kidding yourself..
Amen brother, I’m constantly laughing at my own jokes.
It’s the silence afterwards that’s deafening 🙂
Hey Liddle, if you're reading this, go fu** yourself, and get out of my Club.
Tell us what you really think 😄😄
Would have been better if sos kept his mouth shut like Fraser. You should never burn your bridges. Disappointed by what sos did but he is and always will be a club legend in my eyes.
Shutting his mouth is something SOS would never do.
As a huge SOS fan, I am sad to see him go. It's not the end of the world like some fans and media are making it out to be but some questions do need to be asked to those in power. I think there are some real issues with the decision and the overall strategy:

1) The decision to move on from SOS is absolutely inconsistent with all messaging from the club over the last 5 years. From 99% of reasonable observers within the industry (disregarding trolls), SOS has done a good job under very difficult circumstances. He is not perfect, for example missing out on the big fish available but in the context of where the CFC is and has been, there is not much we can really complain about towards SOS.

2) The reasoning provided by the club (conflict of interest) is ridiculous and actually is a sign of disrespect toward the supporters and all stakeholders by expecting us to believe it. I know that the there may be sensitivity around club politics and the messaging provided, but it's so obvious we are being lied to. Please CFC explain the REAL reason why we have let SOS go without a replacement at this stage. If there are genuine reasons, the majority of fans will back the call or at least understand it. Was there no conflict of interest over the last 5 years when Jack has been at the club?

3) Liddle has been painted in a very bad light due to his attempt to bring across his mates (and hack players) from Richmond. Is this not nepotism/conflict of interest, or is that okay because his surname is different? Why is he meddling in list management decisions?

Overall our fans are passionate and want the best for the club. SOS was doing a great job as one of the best list managers in the business. He has:
-Revolutionised live trading
-Nailed almost all of our first round picks
-Fixed our disastrous salary cap where we gave large and long contracts to bog average players
-Traded away "overrated" players for currency (Menzel, Hendo, Touhy, Yarran, Bell, Gibbs)
-Secured some pretty handy players with little currency (Newman, Martin, Wright, Newnes) and has
-Helped make us a "destination club" again

In addition, his departure shows that there is disharmony within the club at some level which is not good. Please CFC tell us how letting SOS go is beneficial for the club moving forward?

Are there better options available? I doubt it. The fact that we have no replacement lined up speaks volumes.

Was SOS too stubborn? I would believe this if true, although good negotiators need to be. If so, then tell us "SOS was great and we thank him for everything but we thought that the he no longer fit our strategic direction moving forward and the club thinks it's time we made a change to freshen up the recruiting department" or something along those lines.

Was SOS staying detrimental to the club in any way? I have no inside info but this looks to be the most likely situation because nothing else makes any sense. Maybe some players didn't want him there or the club feared that SOS being in his position was dividing the playing list and their loyalties.

The worst possibility which I hope is not true is that the other execs (Liddle/Lloyd etc.) are too scared to tell us these reasons as the information may put their own jobs at risk. If we want to be a successful club then we need accountability. Do what is best for the club, don't hide behind corporate spiel. SOS put his job on the line with huge risks to do what he thought was best for the footy club even when it polarised the opinions of others (Stocker trade, targeting GWS players, trading away Menzel/Tuohy, the risky trade down for picks 17 & 22).

Please give us the truth CFC. We don't need the specific sensitive issues, but tell us the general gist of the reason SOS was let go. Don't treat us like fools.
Top post 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

Liddle needs to be removed asap, he is a cancer at the club now.

I am happy that you added the “now” bit. Starting from Page 3 read the Teague thread when he signed on permanently with the Blues. You would think that Cain Liddle was God.

Opinion Stephen Silvagni