Sunraysia Football league Part 2

Mark Tasiyan had a brief stint back at Red Cliffs.
He has a clearance in already. Back to Southern Football league

A must read from the weekends footy guide by Paddy of Red Cliffs.

Reflects a week is along time in footy.
Stating WW supporters to be "rednecks" not "loyal" to the club, disappointment in the effort by players against Red Cliffs and the players (WW) leaving the field with their head bowed.

Bullshit!!

I forgot the Rocky Oldam holding court on the hill! (he had hold of something alrite).

Paddy got a slap on the wrist last year for similial comments. Perhaps hes just trying to promote footy record sales. Red Cliffs of course would be above criticism.
(how many loyal red cliffs players have dissappeared this year)

Paddy got a slap on the wrist last year for similial comments. Perhaps hes just trying to promote footy record sales. Red Cliffs of course would be above criticism.
(how many loyal red cliffs players have dissappeared this year)

Can't wait to read next weeks write up, to see how proud the tiger faithful are.

Dont write Merbein off just yet played a very bad game on the weekend but will bounce back this week against wentworth. definantly have the talent to be big improvers this year.

i think we all agree merbein are better this year and will win a few games but that is it...still a long way behind the top 3 or 4 sides...wenty by 10 goals

Dont write Merbein off just yet played a very bad game on the weekend but will bounce back this week against wentworth. definantly have the talent to be big improvers this year.

How bad are the injuries to Meggs and Riordo? If neither play i recon they'll be beaten by more than 10 goals.
Good to see the Pies under 18's win, isn't the Valerio (Spelling?) that played, the same one that played seniors last year?

How bad are the injuries to Meggs and Riordo? If neither play i recon they'll be beaten by more than 10 goals.
Good to see the Pies under 18's win, isn't the Valerio (Spelling?) that played, the same one that played seniors last year?
yeh mate my mail is valerio will go in this week didnt do much of a pre season so having a bit of a run in the under 18s. Meggs will miss 2 -4 weeks and about the same 4 riordo i would think and Mick hooker will play next week. A win not to far away hopefully:thumbsu:

How far off is a game against DER Cliffs?....I hear they are having so much fun footy doesn't enter into the equation.

i think we all agree merbein are better this year and will win a few games but that is it...still a long way behind the top 3 or 4 sides...wenty by 10 goals

your kidding youself? From what I have seen Merbein are showing more skill and determination then clubs such as WW, Red Cliffs and even Irymple. Dont be suprised if Merbein finish in the top 4. Irymple have nothing, Red Cliffs are useless and WW cant kick straight and will cost them this weekend !

HCB, easter is over mate, time to pack yourself away for another year. Best you catch up with the Bunny and live in fairy land. Merbein may well improve but to suggest they will make the top 4 is ridiculous.

How far off is a game against DER Cliffs?....I hear they are having so much fun footy doesn't enter into the equation.

Still a bit of animosity their Bob over the son in law losing the support of his whole club??
At least now you have a nice balcony to set up your camera from to watch his every move so he can go and watch himself straight after the game.

You are absolutely right Hot Cross Bun - Merbein's enthusiasm and determination is second to none this year. Unfortunately, enthusiasm and determination doesn't always win games and as much as I would like to see them finish top four, it's highly unlikely it won't happen this year. Regardless, I really hope the hard work starts paying off for the Pies and they get numerous wins on the board this season. They deserve it!

Payments for footy players in the Sunraysia Football Netball League have been slashed in half since the introduction of the player points system, according to the league's president.
The Sunraysia Football Netball League Peter Congress says that the system had been introduced because the League felt there was a need to implement something just to control the movement of players and also the ridiculous amounts of money being spent on payer payments.
Mr Congress was following up on comments by Imperials Football Club President Ian Roberts, who raised the matter during half time in Sunday's HOT FM Football broadcast at the weekend.
Mr Roberts said, excluding coaches, the average amount of money spent on payer payments in the Sunraysia League was around $44,000 per club, half the average of the other major country football Leagues.
Mr Congress says he'd like to see payments reduced even further.
"It's not up to a football club to have to raise money to make a player's house payment or car payment or whatever," Mr Congress said when speaking to WIN Television on Wednesday night.
"I would like to see the whole player payment thing continue go downward so it gets to a manageable level."
Before the system was introduced, clubs were forking out up to $200,000 each a year for players and coaches with that figure now between f$50,000 and $100,000.
"We go back to what we're doing now, playing the local blokes, giving them a go, and then topping them up with recruits if they come along."
"We don't need to go out and shop like several leagues have around the state."
Mr Congress says about five per cent of the league's players are paid.

from todays mildura independant.

could congo be any further out of touch? if he's saying only 5% of senior players are being paid and clubs spent nearly 200k before the points system then he needs to quit and someone with some clue be given the job.

Every player gets match payments now and the reason clubs dont pay big money to recruits is that clubs dont have the money to spend except Robinvale

Some may only be $20-$50. whereas the majority of payments are on the top 5-6 players on a team. Clubs are also brining in incentive schemes to help and top up player payments.

Not every club in this league has 20-30 thousand each to pay 3-4 players such as robinvale.

Some may only be $20-$50. whereas the majority of payments are on the top 5-6 players on a team. Clubs are also brining in incentive schemes to help and top up player payments.

Not every club in this league has 20-30 thousand each to pay 3-4 players such as robinvale.

As a big avocate of the points system i have no doubt that the system introduced has helpt clubs out..... as for the figures i think congo may have picked out some of the biggest spending years 200k may have happend from a club at some stage before the points system but it certainly was not the norm.

In saying that i think the sfl should make 1 change and adopt a key point that the central murray system uses and that is the points arnt counted as a year total. But actually totalled up each game.

Benifts: the system becomes alot more transparent as all player points are listed on the teamsheet.

and if clubs recruit players some times they may not turn out to be as good or get injured there for if the points were calculated on the game day teamsheet players in the reserves or injured wont effect the end tally.

As a big avocate of the points system i have no doubt that the system introduced has helpt clubs out..... as for the figures i think congo may have picked out some of the biggest spending years 200k may have happend from a club at some stage before the points system but it certainly was not the norm.

In saying that i think the sfl should make 1 change and adopt a key point that the central murray system uses and that is the points arnt counted as a year total. But actually totalled up each game.

Benifts: the system becomes alot more transparent as all player points are listed on the teamsheet.

and if clubs recruit players some times they may not turn out to be as good or get injured there for if the points were calculated on the game day teamsheet players in the reserves or injured wont effect the end tally.

Hit the nail on the head Delray, per week not per year.

"VB is Nice", what a dill you are, obviously slurping too many VB's. Do you believe everything you read on Max's ramble sheet and what you see on WIN News.
From what I saw, the reporter made the majority of statements, not Congo.
If we did'nt have a points system I believe 2 or 3 of our Clubs would have been dead and buried years ago. Just ask some Club Presidents, that is if you can lift your fat over bloated beer guts off the couch and attend a training night.

Maybe it's about time the Millewa League had a player points system, you may find it evens up the one sided competition it is now.

And they say the Mallee don't pay their players !
Excuse me Padre, did I hear $1200 each for two ageing ruckmen? One from Mildura, one from Bambill.
Oh, and $600 for a washed up full forward who has screwed most Clubs in the area at some stage.

There you go boys, get those little pinkies working overtime now and give me a bit back, I can't wait to see some of the moronic garbled spelling and mispronounciation that will hit the old Big Footy forum.

"VB is Nice", what a dill you are, obviously slurping too many VB's. Do you believe everything you read on Max's ramble sheet and what you see on WIN News.
If we did'nt have a points system I believe 2 or 3 of our Clubs would have been dead and buried years ago. Just ask some Club Presidents, that is if you can lift your fat over bloated beer guts off the couch and attend a training night.

Maybe it's about time the Millewa League had a player points system, you may find it evens up the one sided competition it is now.

Excuse me Padre, did I hear $1200 each for two ageing ruckmen? One from Mildura, one from Bambill.
Oh, and $600 for a washed up full forward who has screwed most Clubs in the area at some stage.

There you go boys, get those little pinkies working overtime now and give me a bit back, I can't wait to see some of the moronic garbled spelling and mispronounciation that will hit the old Big Footy forum.
Not sure how you can mispronounce something when typing but hey, if it makes you feel clever spouting a word with more then one syllable then feel free. A tip - get it right before slagging off others;)

better to be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt!

the pres definetely said only 5% were paid and that clubs spent 200K a few years ago. thats all i said was wrong.

i reckon the points system is great, not sure why your other points were made.

join me on the couch any time buddy.

Every player gets match payments now and the reason clubs dont pay big money to recruits is that clubs dont have the money to spend except Robinvale

Mate stop talking B.S for fwuck saik!! dont worry about what people are getting paid, yu just worry about what your getting paid at your job.

im on $20,000 a game but i donate half to a charity. Maybe everyone else should do the same