Swans, Crows not top two: Malthouse

Why do you bring up Port? We play two showdowns every single year. It's not our fault that this year Port just happen to be shit.

Yes, that's the only way it could be harder :rolleyes: . My heart bleeds for your 5 interstate trips a year.

Absoulutely. We won some really tough games earlier in the year against in form teams, who are now not contending for the premiership, but people are rating their form as of today, not at the time we beat them - and they're using that against us.

It's such a shame that idiots like Malthouse come out and dribble this shit though, because it's likely that it will be a talking point if Adelaide or Sydney do win the premiership, when it should simply be about acknowledging and celebrating the years best team.

Umm, because I am listing the teams you play twice....and I already said it is clearly not your fault at all.

So your heart would bleed if we were to travel to play Port and GC? How are we supposed to play more than 8 games away when there are only 8 interstate teams? We play 5 of them away, Freo away as I mentioned earlier would be the only way our draw could get any harder.

Your draw is very easy, our draw is very hard. There are reasons why but in the end they are the absolute facts.

I really don't think Brisbane have a chance at all this weekend. Serious lack of quality in their line up and the crows should handle them easily.

Didn't everyone think the exact same thing in the lead up to that WC vs Brisbane match at the Gabba earlier in the year, only for Brisbane to cause an upset. It's highly unlikely, but Brisbane are a chance, small chance to defeat Adelaide.

This is what i said earlier pretty well.. The draw for these Vic teams is only harder at the moment because the majority of them are decent right now.. They didn't mind when they were playing and smashing (as examples) Carlton or Essendon twice when they were a lot worse a few years ago..

I know, having to play that powerhouse in 2012 twice is just plain unfair. 8 points ripped off the pies right there.

That's a pretty parochial immature response mate.

I'm not "upset" and I don't believe that applies to most other opinions.

I don't believe the Crows can match Hawthorns fire power, Collingwoods midfield class and run, or Sydney's grunt.

I think Adelaide and 5th to 8th are pretty even. I only rate you guys next because you will have a home final.

This is an honest opinion based on analysing this years teams and has nothing to do with any absurd notions of Adelaide envy.

I understand that this is probably what you think, but it is patently not what many seem to think. If they truly didn't rate Adelaide as a threat, then Adelaide being in the finals would not be an issue, but rather a bonus. Yet demonstrably, for many (including Malthouse apparently), Adelaide finishing top 2 and getting home finals is immensely worrying.

PS: Pretty immature and defensive response from you, considering the first thing written in my response to your post was "Fair enough".

See you at AAMI mate

Why would we play Adelaide at AAMI? :confused: I'm confident we can defeat Sydney at the SCG and WCE at the MCG, there for we finish 3rd and play Collingwood who will finish 2nd in a qualifying final. Taking us straight into a preliminary final! :)

How is it either? Geelong have lost 2 games at Skilled in some ridiculous time period (10 years or something). We destroyed Geelong in Adelaide. Collingwood seem to have the wood on us, and I am worried about a matchup against Hawthorn. So yes, I'd happily face Geelong anywhere besides Skilled given you believe they are the best team going around at the moment.

In the end, who gives a **** if we aren't the best team in the comp.

If we win the flag that is all that counts.

If he took the mark and converted as he would have then we would have been in front.

Because there is no possible way that the ball could have been spoiled is there?

Because there is no possible way that he could have dropped the mark is there?

Because there is no possible way that he might have missed the goal is there?

:rolleyes::thumbsdown:

Because there is no possible way that the ball could have been spoiled is there?

Because there is no possible way that he could have dropped the mark is there?

Because there is no possible way that he might have missed the goal is there?

:rolleyes::thumbsdown:

Not in the form he was in on the night.

There is no such thing as a 100% certainty in football. You claiming that Goodes would 100% have taken that mark and kicked the goal and put you infront makes you look like a fool.

Regardless, even if he did, the entire game changes from there and you can't say with any certainty that Sydney would go on to win that game.

Then again, maybe you can. Because you seem to be able to predict hypotheticals with amazing accuracy!

There is no such thing as a 100% certainty in football. You claiming that Goodes would 100% have taken that mark and kicked the goal and put you infront makes you look like a fool.

Regardless, even if he did, the entire game changes from there and you can't say with any certainty that Sydney would go on to win that game.

Then again, maybe you can. Because you seem to be able to predict hypotheticals with amazing accuracy!

Read my earlier post again. I said that, as your fellow Crows fan said about Walker, that Goodes going off LOST us the game. I have NOT said that if Goodes had stayed on we would have WON the game.

I don't see how anyone could possibly justify that Adelaide don't have the easiest draw in the comp - in saying that, I still think they're deserving of a top 4 spot, however in all likelihood they'll end up on top.

Can't wait to the finals so we can sort all of this shit out - I think if Adelaide bomb out in straight sets the criticism of them will be justified - if not, and they go on to win the flag, well then theyll deserve it.

Also how the **** can Malthouse say Sydney don't deserve to be top 4? They should be the premiership favourites in my opinion. Hope to god we don't have to play them in Sydney in the finals

Putting aside the draw and a bit of luck, it has been a round table in the top 6 or so. Sydney beat Geelong, West Coast & Hawthorn but not the Pies or Crows. Adelaide beat West Coast & Sydney (1-1 with Geelong) but not Collingwood or Hawthorn. Hawthorn couldn't beat the Cats, Swans or Eagles but they found the Crows & Pies pretty easy. And Collingwood have beaten everyone they've played except Hawthorn & Carlton.

I don't think anyone really knows what order to put the top 4. Easy draw is a factor but they've all beaten some quality and we're all probably waiting to see them come up against each other when it counts.

For what it's worth if Sanderson learnt anything at Geelong, you will see Adelaide playing their best footy in the finals.

This. Sando has repeatedly said that he is trying to get us to play "finals style" footy from day one. You hear about teams having a style that suits H&A but not finals, but Sando wanted to get the finals type footy happening right from the start so there was no adjusting come September. I'm confident we will win at least one if not two finals.

My take on the situation.
Adelaide will be minor premiers (most likely) which will be inflated by maybe 1-3 spots due to their draw. Still a very good team. Sydney are clearly top 4. Which other team could take their spot. I see premiership favouritism as:
Sydney/Collingwood
Adelaide/Geelong
WC
People saying Sydney aren't in Hawthorn or Collingwood's league are wrong. Showed on Saturday they are at a similar level to Collingwood. Not sure on Adelaide. Could easily be dangerous and cause a possible upset in a final though. Adelaide will be praying Sydney finish 4th, because then they can beat them in a final
Spot on. So refreshing when you finally come across a post that is accurate and not just a pissing contest.

I don't think anyone really knows what order to put the top 4. Easy draw is a factor but they've all beaten some quality and we're all probably waiting to see them come up against each other when it counts.

Have noticed in the past few weeks we have been playing ugly, tight, contested footy. Just winning by whatever means possible. Which is what Finals is about. I reckon our boys are being prepped for September.

Oh FFS get over it, you lost. You seem to think he's the only player that ever got injured in a game.
Tony Modra got injured in the 97 prelim (Coleman medalist that year) and we wen't on to win the GF. If we didn't win it would we be allowed to say it was only cause Modra got injured? Build a bridge buddy.

I don't see how anyone could possibly justify that Adelaide don't have the easiest draw in the comp - in saying that, I still think they're deserving of a top 4 spot, however in all likelihood they'll end up on top.

Can't wait to the finals so we can sort all of this shit out - I think if Adelaide bomb out in straight sets the criticism of them will be justified - if not, and they go on to win the flag, well then theyll deserve it.

Also how the **** can Malthouse say Sydney don't deserve to be top 4? They should be the premiership favourites in my opinion. Hope to god we don't have to play them in Sydney in the finals

Huh? So we are apparently not a top 2 side, we have a soft draw, yet if we bomb out we're going to be criticised for not winning a final? Yet people are saying (not you) that we wont deserve a flag if we win it because of our soft draw.

So basically, we can't win? Bomb out and we'll be criticised, win the flag and we'll be criticised.

Is this Victorian stupidity or fear?

Lets wait till finals. They can't play anyone lower than eighth at any stage, most likely lower than sixth, and to win a flag you have to beat the other three top four teams so if they can do that, they deserve the flag. Nothing up to this point matters anyway.

I think if Adelaide bomb out in straight sets the criticism of them will be justified
What criticism? Crows fans on here have said we are not as good as the rest of the top 4. WTF do you want us to do, withdraw from the finals? The only criticism that can be laid is on the AFL. Hopefully next year we play Sydney, Hawthorn and Collingwood 7 times each so everyone on here can stop being such whiny little biatches.

Swans, Crows not top two: Malthouse