Tasmanian Football Thread

Yeh the big spud is on the move to Sorell on very very good coin.... Cant say how much but probably 4 times more then at Clarence!
Spoke to Waxy Walker and him, Bolton and Cat Geappen (Possibly Tim as well) all wanna play at the same club next year. As Bolts and Waxy are North men they aare obvioulsy the favourites but Kingo and Hobart are believed to be strongly in the mix.... Obviously these three are very quality SFL players but I have reservations over whether they could really gel at a new club as there stature could put a few noses out of joint!

Yeh the big spud is on the move to Sorell on very very good coin.... Cant say how much but probably 4 times more then at Clarence!
QUOTE]

dunno about the coin being that good, i would be guessing around $100-$150 so about double what he was on at Clarence.There would be no way he would be on any more than $150.Good pick up though, will most likely play chb, and fill the void left by Matty White.

Interesting to hear Beechey mentioned, Sorell almost signed him last year, he would be very handy.

Gee you'd think Dale Chugg would be shattered losing out to wager. Chugg has coached Georgetown to what 5 or is it six flags in a row whilst wage hasn't coached at any level. Big call from the Bombers board. Good luck to Wage as the board will have big expectations of the team to perform well when it counts.

They wanted a playing coach which ruled out Chugg from the start. As for 5 premierships that says more about the NTFA.

Spoke to Waxy Walker and him, Bolton and Cat Geappen (Possibly Tim as well) all wanna play at the same club next year. As Bolts and Waxy are North men they aare obvioulsy the favourites but Kingo and Hobart are believed to be strongly in the mix.... Obviously these three are very quality SFL players but I have reservations over whether they could really gel at a new club as there stature could put a few noses out of joint!
I think more likely to be kingston as they are known for throwing money at players,so far for no gain. Hobart are supposedly out of money, and had difficulty paying last season. Perhaps it is a case of fools and thier money are easily parted!

I was talking with a New Norfolk supporter today, and he is shattered as he tells me they have lost about 10 of last seasons senior players. 4 or 5 to Brighton , 2 o3 to the Hawks 2 to QLD. and a couple to Claremont.Does anyone know what is happening at other clubs?

I know half the boys that have left and gone to Brighton only left because they were following belcher who now ive been told is actually staying with the eagles! I wonder what the boys think bout that especially barwick

Burnie Premiership player Doug Rossiter will be attending training at some stage during the month. He is fit fast and a massive unit.
Have you been attending training Judbury?
I attended the first session, on Nov 1, haven't been since. Will probably attend the odd session, doubt i will be playing next season, have to have a shoulder operation.

QUOTE]

dunno about the coin being that good, i would be guessing around $100-$150 so about double what he was on at Clarence.There would be no way he would be on any more than $150.Good pick up though, will most likely play chb, and fill the void left by Matty White.

Interesting to hear Beechey mentioned, Sorell almost signed him last year, he would be very handy.

$150 for a key position player in the top (2nd?) best league in the state? That's peanuts. I reckon it would have to be double that.

I used to earn that 15 years ago in the country, and i was only a mid priced player.

$150 for a key position player in the top (2nd?) best league in the state? That's peanuts. I reckon it would have to be double that.

I used to earn that 15 years ago in the country, and i was only a mid priced player.

Yeah but there was probably no salary caps and more money in the economy.

Penguin pair Nick Barnes and Nigel Coulsen have signed on to coach DFA club the Ridgley Saints for next season.

Don't know much about Ridgley two blue, but these two will certainly give them a lift. Penguin on the decline again?

Coulson would have to be in the latter part of his career though wouldn't he? He seemed to play for Rosebery for a long time before he went to Penguin.

Yes Coulsen in the later part of his career i would have thought he was in his mid thirties.
Barnes is washed up but will be handy in the country.
Penguin from what i have heard are not on the decline just think the players are sick of having to adjust to new coaches every year.
From the players point of views i think they would have been happy if Errol had of stayed

More clubs than Tiger Woods :thumbsdown:

Almost up there with Jason Philp now Barge?

I was just about to mention that... He must have been at at least 6 or 7 clubs now.... I played with him at Friends (until, after about 7 games, him and his mate Fabian decided to leave and play at Richmond)... Not a bad player, but i would never have him as an assistant coach, no communication skills whatsoever...

Fabian is no better.

Heath (to my best recollection) has been at North Hobart, Glenorchy(?), Sorell, Richmond, Friends, Lauderdale and now, DOSA. 3 clubs in the OSFA alone, not many have done that......except maybe Fabian?

I know Fabian has been at Clarence, North Hobart, Friends, Lauderdale, Richmond, Sorell....and I am certain I am missing a couple (New Town, University and maybe Brighton seem to ring a bell).....maybe Fabian will head to DOSA too.

I have absolutely no respect for these types, and you would have to question the amount of respect they get from teammates.....glad I never had the pleasure of being one.

Fabian is no better.

Heath (to my best recollection) has been at North Hobart, Glenorchy, Sorell, Richmond, Friends, Lauderdale and now, DOSA. 3 clubs in the OSFA alone, not many have done that......except Fabian.

Now Fabian has been at Clarence, North Hobart, Friends, Lauderdale, Richmond, Sorell....and I am certain I am missing a couple (New Town, University and maybe Brighton seem to ring a bell).....maybe Fabian will head to DOSA too.

I have absolutely no respect for these types, and you would have to question the amount of respect they get from teammates.....glad I never had the pleasure of being one.

I totally agree. I don't see the point of hopping around from club to club, only have a season or two at each. You play footy for the mateship that comes with playing in a team, and if you change clubs each year you will never build this mateship. I think for Philpy it was slightly different, cause he is a very good player and would be getting paid fairly well to change clubs, but surely Simmsy and Ackers can't be getting paid much, neither of them are exactly gun footballers.

On the flipside, they would both have a very good selection of footy socks to wear to training... and would never be short of a training jumper...:D

When i played with them at Friends, anyone would think Ackers was the coach, the way he barked out orders at training. Then, due to not being able to get a kick, he was named on the bench at Thursday selections. He stormed up to the coach (J Frawley) and told him he wasn't playing anymore. Simms played 1 more game and then quit... about a month later they were playing for Richmond. Sums it up perfectly really....

Aker's was at training Tuesday night, seems pretty keen to stay put at Sorell.
Despite what you guys have just said about Fabian, he has fitted in well at Sorell and is pretty well liked despite his reputation. I only met him last season and was suprised, he is actually a top bloke imo.

Should be interesting to see how Dosa go next year under Allen/Simsy... I forsee a lot of front runners. I played with Simsy and Fabian at Friends' too. Didn't really know them all that well, but somebody still needed to remind them that there is no I in team...

in other news... Tristian Martin is set to stay at Richmond next season and other Sorell players likely to join him are: Michael Craik (99%sure) and possibly Nathan Donoghue.

Yes Coulsen in the later part of his career i would have thought he was in his mid thirties.
Barnes is washed up but will be handy in the country.
Penguin from what i have heard are not on the decline just think the players are sick of having to adjust to new coaches every year.
From the players point of views i think they would have been happy if Errol had of stayed
Is Justin "Joey" Cotton staying on next year !? It will be interesting to know on where he goes...or goes at all !?
As reported in the wbfl threads Ashleigh Brown has signed on as Non-playing coach of West Gambier and has stated is looking to atleast 8 "possibles" recruits from the Apple Isle & Melbourne, and Cotton was playing under Brown when he coached in the wbfl previously in 05'.