Tasmanian Football Thread

Looks as though Nth hob easily the best sidequote]

Couldnt see how you could claim north hobart would easily be the best side when only a couple of weeks ago glenorchy pulled their pants down and gave them a nice lil touch up
..going to be an interesting finals series in the premier leaugue I feel with Glenorchy having the better of North and norfik, clarence having the wood over glenorchy and with norfik beating clarence both times and NN pushed north hobart very close so I wouldnt say north is EASILY the best side in the comp, havent proven they are that good yet

Whats the going rate for umpire payments for reserves and seniors in regional level?

Thats including field, boundary and goal umpires.

I remember something mentioned last year about having to increase umpire payments to try and recruit more umpires for this year - did it happen?

Regional Seniors: Field $110, Boundary $52, Goal $50
Reginal Reserves: Field $52, Boundary $30, Goal $25

And Kingpin,

Premier Seniors: Field $130, Boundary $70, Goal $55
Premier Reserves: Field $70, Boundary $42, Goal $36

I think we got a massive 2/3 % pay rise this season.

Listen Sport,

I know how local football works.

I know you parasites, most of who don't deserves to get paid at all, get paid by the clubs.

What I meant was surely they'd have done it for free and refused any payment.

MInd you, knowing Wade I wouldn't be so sure!

What I'm saying is if they're happy to have these "Oh aren't we doing a great job helping out local footy umpires in their time of need" stories on tv and in the papers, then you'd think they wouldn't be getting paid to umpire Hobart v Brighton Under 19s.

Did they umpire a game on the weekend?

Do they plan to do any more games?

Alright I wasn't talking down to you, I was just telling you of the process in case you didn't know already.

I talked to our co-ordinator about the matter and he said as far as he knew Wade, Pove, and Brown were receiving the same match payment for the game as any other umpire.

No they didn't umpire on the weekend, as it was a once off publicity stunt, but don't be surprised if they umpire again at a later date.

Regional Seniors: Field $110, Boundary $52, Goal $50
Reginal Reserves: Field $52, Boundary $30, Goal $25

And Kingpin,

Premier Seniors: Field $130, Boundary $70, Goal $55
Premier Reserves: Field $70, Boundary $42, Goal $36

I think we got a massive 2/3 % pay rise this season.

Few questions for you young tiger,

What do the umpires do at training sessions? - do they split up into groups and do "specialised training" or just do a few laps and head off to have a smorgasboard washed down with some refreshing champagne courtesy of AFL Tas?

Do you get petrol allowance or travel allowance for long distance games?

Does an umpire with a few years under his belt get paid the same as a first year umpire?

The umpire payments are tax free? still doesnt seem like much considering the amount of crap they put up with from players and spectators (most of it is deserved mind you!)

Obviously the premier league has its pick of the more talented umpires (there wouldnt be too many?) what is the norm with the allocation of umpires to the lesser leagues? do they try and place an "experienced" umpire with a novice umpire? or just whack em wherever and wish them luck?
Experienced = someone with a teeny weeny bit of knowledge
Novice = someone with no idea whatsoever and instructed to wave their arms and blow the whistle occassionally and generally look busy.

Do the umpires have a policy of having a beer with the players after the game to try and get a better relationship with the players?

As in the old ODFA days, when the standard was a lot better than what it is now, most of the umpires, I can remember Charles Gilmore (Chief White Maggot), Phil Jacobson and a few others were happy to have a few beers with the players and supporters after the game and generally were treated with a bit of respect (most of the time!).

Understandably the umpires these days are in such a rush to disappear after the game because of the embarrassment of their performance on field:D

Thoughts?

Alright I wasn't talking down to you, I was just telling you of the process in case you didn't know already.

I talked to our co-ordinator about the matter and he said as far as he knew Wade, Pove, and Brown were receiving the same match payment for the game as any other umpire.

No they didn't umpire on the weekend, as it was a once off publicity stunt, but don't be surprised if they umpire again at a later date.

So they actually got paid??? Thought that was part of their salary? to promote and encourage participation of the game! Jeez that is the icing on the cake, getting paid for doing something they were already getting paid for!

if we all subscribe to your way of thinking brighton should be up there. they got within a point of glenorchy and only a controversial decision in the last 30 seconds denied them of a win. i watched the glen, nth hobart game and the pies were great, could not have played better & would have beaten anyone that day. on the other hand, demons were awful & could not have played worse. 2 floggings of clarence & agreat come from behind win over newnorfolk proves that north are team to beat this year.

Few questions for you young tiger,

What do the umpires do at training sessions? - do they split up into groups and do "specialised training" or just do a few laps and head off to have a smorgasboard washed down with some refreshing champagne courtesy of AFL Tas?

Do you get petrol allowance or travel allowance for long distance games?

Does an umpire with a few years under his belt get paid the same as a first year umpire?

The umpire payments are tax free? still doesnt seem like much considering the amount of crap they put up with from players and spectators (most of it is deserved mind you!)

Obviously the premier league has its pick of the more talented umpires (there wouldnt be too many?) what is the norm with the allocation of umpires to the lesser leagues? do they try and place an "experienced" umpire with a novice umpire? or just whack em wherever and wish them luck?
Experienced = someone with a teeny weeny bit of knowledge
Novice = someone with no idea whatsoever and instructed to wave their arms and blow the whistle occassionally and generally look busy.

Do the umpires have a policy of having a beer with the players after the game to try and get a better relationship with the players?

As in the old ODFA days, when the standard was a lot better than what it is now, most of the umpires, I can remember Charles Gilmore (Chief White Maggot), Phil Jacobson and a few others were happy to have a few beers with the players and supporters after the game and generally were treated with a bit of respect (most of the time!).

Understandably the umpires these days are in such a rush to disappear after the game because of the embarrassment of their performance on field:D

Thoughts?

At training sessions, first and second year umpire study for their level 1 and 2 accreditations, run laps with the rest of the groups, consisting of time trials, strides, running backwards.

Bouncing practice is had, and any issues from the previous weeks games are adressed. At least that is what occurs for field umpires.

Games outside the metropolitan area, an official car is used, for which the driver is re-imbursed 50 cents for each litre of petrol. Official car drivers are expected to pick up other umpires.

An umpire is paid the same amount as any other, no matter of experience.

Young umpires in their first or second year (there isn't that many mind you) are indeed placed with experienced umpires, those like ray donoghue who has umpired two premier league seniors GF's, recovering from a groin injury, or more experienced and older umpires on the way down.

I wouldn't know about the beer sides of things being Under 18 myself, but no we are not encouraged to have a drink or socialise with players after the game.

Hope that helps.

I wouldn't know about the beer sides of things being Under 18 myself, but no we are not encouraged to have a drink or socialise with players after the game.

...and we're especially not encouraged to interact with the masses on BigFooty.com ;)

I've been known to wander in and have a couple of drinks after a game (usually if the footy's on the telly), but I can't say anybody that I didn't already know has really spoken to me.

let's be honest though, guys. your team has just won, you're in the club bar with a bunch of your mates, would you really stop and have a chat with a bunch of umpires you don't know? furthermore, no umpire in his right mind would walk into a bar full of drunk supporters after he's just officiated a loss to the home team.

that's not to say we should segregate, cos I believe there's great merit in bridging the gap between umpires and the clubs they serve. but to suggest that a premier league umpire could walk into a club bar and not encounter any sort of trouble is a bit naive

as for whether you'd even want to have a beer with the premier league umpires of Hobart... well, I think the less I say about that, the better.

At training sessions, first and second year umpire study for their level 1 and 2 accreditations, run laps with the rest of the groups, consisting of time trials, strides, running backwards.

Bouncing practice is had, and any issues from the previous weeks games are adressed. At least that is what occurs for field umpires.

Games outside the metropolitan area, an official car is used, for which the driver is re-imbursed 50 cents for each litre of petrol. Official car drivers are expected to pick up other umpires.

Young umpires in their first or second year (there isn't that many mind you) are indeed placed with experienced umpires, those like ray donoghue who has umpired two premier league seniors GF's, recovering from a groin injury, or more experienced and older umpires on the way down.

Hope that helps.

:thumbsu: Thanks for that.

Wonder who this will hurt most among the coach and players?:rolleyes:
Team with no beer
JAMES BRESNEHAN
June 27, 2007 05:00pm
THE Tasmanian Devils are a club with no beer again after coach Daryn Cresswell enforced his third alcohol ban of the season.
Not a drop of booze will pass their lips until Cresswell and Co. learn the cause of the Devils' second-half fade-outs this barren VFL season.
If they beat the Bendigo Bombers at Bellerive on Saturday they can imbibe to their heart's content.
But is the fade-out persists, it could be a dry run to September.
"I imposed the latest alcohol ban after we lost to Geelong two weeks ago," Cresswell said yesterday.
"Our efforts in the second half of games has been very poor.
"We need to focus on our players' bodies and diets.
"We will leave no stone unturned in our desire to get our fitness levels and preparation 100 per cent right.

...and we're especially not encouraged to interact with the masses on BigFooty.com ;) They don't know who you are anyway, can't tell you off if there is no proof of identidy. Just deny all knowledge of the forum and pretend that they are idiots for thinking you are one of the miscreants on this forum. :thumbsu:

I've been known to wander in and have a couple of drinks after a game (usually if the footy's on the telly), but I can't say anybody that I didn't already know has really spoken to me. Walk up to someone and say G'day then:D

let's be honest though, guys. your team has just won, you're in the club bar with a bunch of your mates, would you really stop and have a chat with a bunch of umpires you don't know? furthermore, no umpire in his right mind would walk into a bar full of drunk supporters after he's just officiated a loss to the home team. I have always made an effort to say G'day to the umpires if they are in the club bar, you would be surprised how easy it is to have a decent conversation albeit with a bit of ribbing and digging - away from the cauldron that is on the field where things are said in the heat of the moment and with anger behind the words.

that's not to say we should segregate, cos I believe there's great merit in bridging the gap between umpires and the clubs they serve. but to suggest that a premier league umpire could walk into a club bar and not encounter any sort of trouble is a bit naive. Can't argue with that point mate, sadly its true.

as for whether you'd even want to have a beer with the premier league umpires of Hobart... well, I think the less I say about that, the better. Toffee nosed monkey's are they?

Most of your points are valid

Wonder who this will hurt most among the coach and players?:rolleyes:
Team with no beer
JAMES BRESNEHAN
June 27, 2007 05:00pm
THE Tasmanian Devils are a club with no beer again after coach Daryn Cresswell enforced his third alcohol ban of the season.
Not a drop of booze will pass their lips until Cresswell and Co. learn the cause of the Devils' second-half fade-outs this barren VFL season.
If they beat the Bendigo Bombers at Bellerive on Saturday they can imbibe to their heart's content.
But is the fade-out persists, it could be a dry run to September.
"I imposed the latest alcohol ban after we lost to Geelong two weeks ago," Cresswell said yesterday.
"Our efforts in the second half of games has been very poor.
"We need to focus on our players' bodies and diets.
"We will leave no stone unturned in our desire to get our fitness levels and preparation 100 per cent right.

the only drinking problem the Devils need to worry about is Cresswell's

...and we're especially not encouraged to interact with the masses on BigFooty.com ;) They don't know who you are anyway, can't tell you off if there is no proof of identidy. Just deny all knowledge of the forum and pretend that they are idiots for thinking you are one of the miscreants on this forum. :thumbsu:

Hmm.. easier said than done, especially after the Cary Millhouse incident.

Hope that helps.

Found this TFLUA Boundary Umpires Instruction Manual online whilst doing a bit of hunting last night.
Quite involved, and actually gives a good insight into what the boundary umpires, for example, have to do for each match.

Just on umpires, I think it would be great if they mixed with the teams, but as has been said, you get one or two d|ckhead supporters or players and there are problems.
Shame really, because it would go along way to building a good rapport.

Tiger Fan said:
for a standard 6-umpire game of footy, you'd be looking at around $500-$600 in match payments I believe. or, in percentage terms, around 15-20% of their costs for the day.

if I were Hobart, I'd be more worried about getting fans through the gate than how much a bunch of bloody umpires costs
Cheers for that :thumbsu:
Come on TF, you know as well as I do that Hobart Lions will never, ever admit that they've stuffed the place up good and proper! ;)
They'll always look for the scapegoat.

It's rumoured that Mole Creek will pull the pin this week on the Leven Association. Players have refused to play the Latrobe Saints again(2 more games) which is unacceptable to the association so from what I've heard they have decided to quit altogether.

if we all subscribe to your way of thinking brighton should be up there. they got within a point of glenorchy and only a controversial decision in the last 30 seconds denied them of a win. i watched the glen, nth hobart game and the pies were great, could not have played better & would have beaten anyone that day. on the other hand, demons were awful & could not have played worse. 2 floggings of clarence & agreat come from behind win over newnorfolk proves that north are team to beat this year.

ummm well not at all champ, cant see where youd premise from what Ive said that brighton would be up there ...u silly silly boy.. Iam simply saying that north hobart are not nor have proven imo that they are EASILY THE BEST SIDE IN THE COMP, which had been said... could be anyones on their day as has been proven by the varied results thus far, which was where I was coming from

I agree with you. I think that North Hobart have proven to be the most consistent side (thats why they are on top), and would be considered the team to beat, but any of the top 5 (or even 6 with the bombers) can beat each other on their day. It should be a great finals series in both leagues, with no easybeat teams (like Kingborough have been in the last couple of years).

I honestly can not remember a time when there were 8 teams so closely matched as they are in the regional league. It will definitely go down to the last round of the season to determine the finallists, and the finals series will be an absolute cracker. My prediction is another Kermandie-Cygnet grand final, I think the port are just coming good and will be a force in the second half of the season. I only saw the 2nd quarter of the last one (due to playing in the 2's GF and going to the pub to drown our sorrows at half time), and am looking forward to this year's GF....

It's rumoured that Mole Creek will pull the pin this week on the Leven Association. Players have refused to play the Latrobe Saints again(2 more games) which is unacceptable to the association so from what I've heard they have decided to quit altogether.

So, if they shut up shop, surely the Leven can't operate with a 3 team comp....could they?? :confused:

Rumour has it that well known Bigfooty favourite Jarrod Kleeman may actually be applying for the Melbourne Coaching job left vacant by Neil Daniher. Kleeman who has assitant coached the Glernochy Under 14,s and 15s over the past two years and currentley also coaches the legendary Glenorchy Auskickers believes he has got what it takes to take Melbourne through the next phase of the Clubs history. Personally i dont think kleeman can take this big step it is to big of a ask for a man who just simply hasnt got what it takes to be an AFL Coach. Can you shed some light on this Got_to_lift?

I think he needs to finish his Apprenticeship as Assistant Coach under Kevin down at Glenorchy first, as no man could walk into a high profile coaching position straight away! I know the Barge's of the world may disagree with me because he knows Kleemans a very talented young prospect, but i think to get the best out of Kleeman this is how it should be done.

The Cary Millhouse incident?

Ah, please explain?

haha, don't worry, was just giving TFLUA_Tiger a potted history of my involvement on BigFooty.com and, in particular, my commentary on the TFLUA's media policy circa July 2006

(you may remember all the shit that blew up when Cary allowed himself to be quoted in The Mercury - link here)

bumped into Cary at KGV on the weekend actually (he's assistant coach of their under-19s team nowadays, I believe). great bloke :thumbsu:

Mighty , Well he has done such good things to that Auskick Side and under 14s&15s Also talking to him about playing next Year I can tell you right Here J KLEEMAN will play next year He has got about 4 clubs in mind and i can tell you that Barge's club And he tells me he wants to do a Pre Season