• Van Demons

Votes: 19 6.0%
  • Devils

Votes: 270 85.4%
  • Tasmanian Tigers

Votes: 27 8.5%

the afl is big on rivals. the giants need one other than the swans.

Titans

Tarneit-Titans-AFL-logo.jpg

Or TFC in short

aaa.jpg

The entire thread is now moot. The Devils already is the name of Tasmanian football rep sides in national competition, the AFL already owns the logo, and that's what the team will be...

I'll be quietly spewing if it's Pirates, because Pirates is what Port should have entered with and IMO should change to now.
I don't know about that mate... I think Pirates is a pretty naff nickname for a sports team. It's the sort of name I would've liked when I was 4 years old. Maybe that's a good thing for getting little kiddies to choose the Pirates instead of the Crows, but I would be a tad embarrassed to wear "Pirate" merchandise.

"Power" is alright, I suppose. I used to think it was too American... One of those NBA style names like "Heat", "Magic" or "Supersonics"
But it's pretty unique as a team nickname and it conveys the right vibe.

If I was running your club in 1996/97, I would've named them the Port Adelaide Sharks.

It's got me stumped why no AFL expansion club has chosen the 'Sharks' name. Port, in particular. I see all these team logos where they try to make kangaroos, bulldogs, pussycats and assorted birds look fierce with snarling facial expressions. But what animal is more scary and intimidating than a great white shark?

They are the coolest animals. Top of the food chain. Apex predators who never stop moving. (We'll never stop! stop! stop!)
There is also a geographical connection to Port Adelaide (unlike pirates).
The word "shark" is also part of the Australian footy vernacular. e.g. "Chad Wingard sharked the opposition hitout and booted a goal"

Talk about a missed opportunity! Who wouldn't want a black polo shirt or t-shirt with a shark logo?

52403410-great-white-shark-sign-emblem-illustration-on-white-background.jpg

The NHL's San Jose Sharks even have the same colour combo as you guys...

san_jose_sharks_secondary_logo.png

268f5674cb01adc1f37bcf2cf2fa0dbd.jpg

We are talking about a mascot/name that is significant and iconic to the state and is already a registered name/logo of the AFL - it's a bit of a no-brainer really - and I think most Tasmanian's, including myself, will be shocked if the team isn't called the Devils...
Pick the mascot image to best brand your new competitive sporting team:
A Devil:
View attachment 1351916

or a Koala:
View attachment 1351917

The devil is black and white. Collingwood won’t allow it.

I see that being an issue. Warner Bros probably owns the IP. If AFL uses that nickname, they will probably get a lawsuit from Bugs Bunny. Its why the basketball team called themselves JackJumpers
This might be a joke, but Warner Brothers did this exact thing in the 90s with "Tasmanian Devil" modems, and more recently with a kids book with devils as main characters. However, they didn't with either the VFL or NBL teams, so probably fine as a sporting team.

TAS Tassie team nickname