The 10 greatest games ever played in Australian Rules history

Which games do you think in your opinion is the 10 greatest games ever played in the history of Australian Rules football.
My nominations are:

1. 1970 Grand Final-Carlton v Collingwood
2. 1989 Grand Final-Hawthorn v Geelong
3. 1986 State of Origin-Western Australia v Victoria
4. 1977 Grand Final (the draw)-Nth Melb v Collingwood
5. 2001 AFL Round 16-Essendon v North Melbourne
6. 1973 SANFL Grand Final-Glenelg v North Adelaide
7. 1972 Australian Club Championship-Nth Adel. v Carlton
8. 2006 AFL Grand Final-Sydney v West Coast
9. 1984 AFL Grand Final-Essendon v Hawthorn
10. 1984 State of Origin-South Australia v Victoria

How is it Port Adelaide can't make it onto that list? You only have dozens of premierships and myriad legendary games involving legendary players to choose from.

The best game I have ever seen was South Australia vs Victoria in 1994 at Football Park. SA won by 2 points, and it was the game where Ablett kicked that goal over his head.

That is the only state of origin game from the 90's that can can compete with those 3 games at Subi and 3 games at Footy Park between 1983 and 1987 that Jascave mentioned. How the **** he kicked that goal around Wanganeen and Hart and still managed for it to float over the goal line when he was between the goal post and point post almost on the line between posts, has me still shaking my head in disbelief a decade and a half later.

My favorite was when Norwood won the GF by a point in 1977 ? .
1978 vs Sturt. Sturt were a team that had only been beaten once all year, and were one of the most dominant forces ever seen in a post-war H&A season. Analogous to Essendon 2000 in that they were just a class above the rest of the comp. An awesome unit. Unbackable favourites.

Their opponent in Norwood would stop at nothing to win a flag in its centenary year. A very talented CHF in Brian Adamson who was only able to kit up for Norwood because of a successful Federal Court injunction under the then-very-young Trade Practices Act earlier in the year (when West Perth refused to clear him and the SANFL refused to register him as a result). On the day, Norwood hard man John Wynne wound up in the Sturt coach's box at one highly-charged moment, and there was a feeling that anything might have exploded (back when coaches coached from concrete bunkers at the edge of the field).

Sturt led at 3 quarter time by 5 goals, and it should've been more but for woeful kicking for goal. In a final quarter comeback so far against the odds that it'd be like Essendon winning the 2009 flag from here, Norwood won by a point, in circumstances forever mired in controversy.

This game had the whole story; and luckily the quality of the footy was good enough to live up to the narrative.

It's of the few games to have a book written about it: Triple Blue. Reads like what it is: a Master's thesis set in book form. But still a cracking tale.

Geez, I was lucky to be there; albeit I was 8 years old and most of what was happening went over my head at the time.

Well up in any list of the best 10 games of all time.

Hard to go past carlton and Essendon in 1999, Essendon red hot favorites and Carlton somehow managed to beat them and play in the grand final.
I thought Essendon played terrible football on that day. They pulled their finger out for just one quarter and yet they still lost by only 1 point. Carlton gave it their all and it was a great win for them, but the close finish was the best thing about this match.

The 1999 Preliminary Final between North Melbourne and Brisbane played 24 hours earlier was of a far higher standard than the Carlton vs Essendon game. It was a cracking game for the first three quarters while the scores remained close... real "Clash Of The Titans" stuff. Then North went the punch, put the foot down and kicked 8 goals in the last quarter.

Close scores does not necessarily make it a great game

Close scores + hard contest + great skills + flowing football = great game

In my opinion, the 1993 Qualifying Final between Essendon and Carlton was a better game than the 1999 Preliminary Final

Agreed...that was a classic, the two best sides in the comp going head to toe...first ever night final as well.

I also think the NM -v- Ess "comeback" game is overrated in terms of classic matches...i remember Leigh Matthews saying the week after how defensively poor it was, and i agree, if a side can get over 10 goals in front, and the other can then get back in front, there is something critical missing from that game.

Somewhere in the late 80's, early 90's the best game ever occurred.

Me and David Wirrapanda represented the Healesville Bloods in an Under 11's contest versus Olinda.

In was a bloody cold 8am morning match full of mist and we were playing away at the pond in Olinda.

By 3 quarter time near every player had left the field at some stage for the pine through sheer pain, cold and exhaustion.

I will never forget Wirra's 55 metre torpedo-punt goal in the last quarter.

We were down by probably 15 goals at the time, but it didn't matter to him. He cut through the middle and just went bang. On another planet.

I was too small (then) to make a difference to the game and either way more akin to athletics, but I was however still surviving on the ground to witness what is for me still one of the best moments of footy I've ever seen.

Best game I've ever been involved with and best individual play I've ever encountered.

Wirrpanda is an inspirational footballer and a great man in general. After that game my Dad said he'd win a Brownlow. Obviously never did, but gee there's some players out there that would pay for what he had.

The best club game I have ever seen was West Coast vs Carlton, round 21 1995 at Subiaco.

The best game I have ever seen was South Australia vs Victoria in 1994 at Football Park. SA won by 2 points, and it was the game where Ablett kicked that goal over his head.

The club game between the Eagles and Carlton has not been matched at club level in my opinion. Sure there have been higher scoring games since, and dramatic comeback games. But no game has matched the consistent 4-quarter level of quality of that 1995 game. This was during an era where the Eagles hardly ever lost at home, and when they did, they weren't at their best. Well, they were at their best this day and the Blues still got over the line. By one point.

The standard of that game, was simply unbelievable.

Glad to see somebody mention this game by this stage of the thread

Still the best game i have seen live (not that i was paticularly happy regarding the result), I was stoked when it was replayed a couple of years ago on TV.

The Kernahan hit on Mckenna was a memorable highlight

Glad to see somebody mention this game by this stage of the thread

Still the best game i have seen live (not that i was paticularly happy regarding the result), I was stoked when it was replayed a couple of years ago on TV.

The Kernahan hit on Mckenna was a memorable highlight

It think it was Spalding that cleaned up McKenna.

I would like to add a prospective best game here too, and not to blow trumpets, but for the importance of the competition moving forward:

St Kilda VS Footscray, 2nd Round NAB Cup Practice Match, Princes Park 2009.

Feel free to add Round 14 2009 Saints VS Geelong.

Jascave said:
1984 AFL Grand Final-Essendon v Hawthorn

The 1984 Second Semi Final between Essendon and Hawthorn was a classic match. Both teams slugged it out like two heavyweight boxers, the margin never wider than 10 points all day long, numerous lead changes, some great one-on-one duels, Dipper (BOG) vs Neagle

Final score: Hawthorn 16-18 def Essendon 15-15 (Hawthorn kicked their 16th goal on the siren)

Many people regarded it as one of the greatest games ever played

The Grand Final played two weeks later was tame by comparison. Hawthorn were flat as a tack, but led due to Essendon's woeful kicking for goal. The game came alive when Essendon ran riot in ther final quarter and kicked 9 goals. It was definitely a memorable quarter, but not one of the best games ever.

1981 First Semi Final: Collingwood 19-19 def Fitzroy 19-18
Cinderella team, Fitzroy were on a roll, but big, bad Collingwood led by 38 points at half time. The Roys looked gawn. The irrepressible Roys, led by Quinlan, Rendell and McMahon staged a magnificent fightback and led by 11 points at the 30 minute mark of the final quarter. They looked set for an incredible underdog victory. But the Pies hit back with a goal from Craig Davis. With just seconds on the clock, the ball was pumped in long towards the Collingwood goal, there was a mad goal square scramble before Ross Brewer (facing the wrong way) snapped the winning goal over his head. That final quarter saw the Lions kick 7-5 to Collingwood's 5-4

1989 Grand Final: Hawthorn 21-18 def Geelong 21-12
I've still yet to see a game of Australian football that has featured more heavy collisions, more drama, more individual heroics, more breathtaking skills, more amazing goals, more end-to-end action, or a more exciting finale than this classic game. Ablett's 9 goals, Dipper's punctured lung, Yeates' shirtfront, Dermie climbing off the canvas, freak goals from Ablett, Anderson and Curran. It was goal for goal in the 2nd half until Geelong pegged back a 6 goal deficit. By the end, the Hawks were walking wounded and just hung on. Brutality and skill in abundance... fights, elbows, audacious play, chains of handball and quick running, everything that is good about Australian football.

1994 Preliminary Final: Geelong 16-13 def North Melbourne 14-19
This was a ripper game, despite the biased umpiring towards Geelong (32 frees to 16) North dominated early on, Carey was on fire, at his majestic best. He kicked 6 goals 4 from CHF in a BOG display. Led by Buddha Hocking, Geelong went berserk in the 2nd qtr, kicking 7 goals to go into haklftime leading by 4 goals. North kicked 6 to Geelong's 5 in a classic 3rd term. The last quarter was simply an arm wrestle, with neither side giving an inch. Scores level with seconds remaining. Mick Martyn had defended brilliantly all day, holding Ablett to just 4 possessions, 1 mark and 2 goals. Then Leigh Tudor regathered a freaky rebound on the boundary line and floated a kick to the top of the goalsquare. Ablett outbodied Micky and marked right on the siren. Cat fans went mad. Mick Martyn was dumbstruck. Ablett slotted the winner after the siren.

The ABC was showing footage of some of the SOO games from the 80's during the halftime breaks in the VFL telecasts this year.
There was one where Kernahan kicked 10 and the Croweaters lost narrowly from memory, the other one I saw was WA v VIC from Subiaco, which was a shootout, 137-134 win to the Sandgropers.
That game was commentated by Denis Commetti and Lou Richards. Great footy :thumbsu:
On a biased note, I know you used to be able to buy the game where Tassie knocked off the Vics at North Hobart in front of a packed house.
It was part of one of those Name A Game catalogues that Channel 7 used to put out with their videos and you could purchase lots of different games.
Haven't seen them around for years though.

1984, the story apparently was that Kernahan actually had a migraine that day and wasn't going to play. Apparently Neil Kerley talked him into playing and they loaded him up on pain killers and told him just to go out there and see how he went and come off if he needed to and went on to kick 10 goals.

Nice list Jascave :thumbsu: The 89' GF is the main one that stands out in my mind, still watch it occasionally on VHS :)

1993 Preliminary final Essendon V Adelaide was simply an outstanding game of football in standard. Also to see Essendon come from 7 goals down at halftime was awesome to watch.
the passage of play where Olarenshaw has the footy running through the centre of the ground and kicks the ball to Calthorpe at HF who handballs to Mercuri who runs in and kicks the goal is the biggest roar of a crowd I ahve ever heard at a football match. Only god knows what that would have sounded like actually being there.

West Perth and Swan Districts played an unbelievable game in 1982 at leederville oval in front of about 20K people when Swans won by 2 points. Both sides kick over 20 goals.

SOO games at Subi in the early 80's were simply maginificant.

The Geelong V St Kilda game this season should not be lost in all of this, that was simply 2 great sides in a war. Great game.

Honourable mention to the 2004 Prelim.

Packed Stadium, huge amount of noise
Gehrig's 100th
Roger Jame's 1 man team heroics
Big hitting
Top quality skills
Gavin Wanganeen's goal
Shaun Burgoyne's tackle...

2005/2006 Sydney v. Westcoast Grand Final. On the biggest stage both teams gave it their all until the last few seconds. It was like a war of two wills and different game styles in front of a packed arena.

There is a big reason I ain't keen on those games... 1 team closes down, the other is trying to break out the whole time.

Yes it's close, but gee the first few qtrs between those 2 teams over those years (and the other close games) were boring as bat shit, it wasn't until late in the game where suddenly it gets interesting.

For me i'd say the Jason McCartney come back game - the reason we all love this game is because of passion and the dream.
This was THE example of the true Australian spirit.
The football god's letting the game stand above any result on a scoreboard and letting every person unite regardless who you supported to rally for right, honour and justice. It made me so proud to be an Australian.

Also the EJ state of origin game. The only time as a croweater ive barracked for the vic's

"For the love of the game"

Georgieboy

'99 PL Final Carlton V Essendon rates highly with me.

Yep that was a memorably classic game Mate, I remember screaming on for Carlton at the time because in those days I simply loathed The Bombers. But It kind of wrecked the GF for a spectacle with Essendon not getting in :eek:

There is a big reason I ain't keen on those games... 1 team closes down, the other is trying to break out the whole time.

Yes it's close, but gee the first few qtrs between those 2 teams over those years (and the other close games) were boring as bat shit, it wasn't until late in the game where suddenly it gets interesting.

I'm amazed these games rate as highly as they are by many on here. I remember some deal of criticism by many at the time along the lines of the above. I think the rivalry built up by these teams at the time is part of it. Also the fact we hadn't seen a good tight GF for a long time. Maybe the style of footy employed by both sides harked back to a time where tough man on man work was the order of the day, as opposed to free flowing end to end or zone type tactics favoured at the moment.

Not sure I'd have either of them in my top ten if you think that you would want to define a "great" game as including all the best parts of AR, sure tough contests, a close finish, but sublime skills and at least reasonably high scoring probably in there too.

The 10 greatest games ever played in Australian Rules history