Analysis The Ablett Effect

He demanded to be made captain and it turned out he was a terrible captain, which apparently surprised none of his former Geelong teammates. I vaguely recall Cameron Mooney (I think) mentioning how no one saw him as leadership material.

I dont think gaz demanded to be captain it was more gc had to make him captain because they had no other guys with any leadership ability-guys like brennan brown and bock yes they could play but they were some of the laziest trainers and worst role models around. They really had no leadership options except rischitelli and they probably didnt want to make a lower middle tier guy captain. Thats not abletts fault thats on the incompetence of the recruiters that set up GCs list build.

Regardless of leadership ablett was always one of the best and hardest trainers and a model citizen off field.

Gws got it much better leadership wise they took young players who had leadership ability like davis and ward and took a few senior heads who werent standout players but were real leaders like power and mcdonald, to give the kids good role models until ward and davis were ready to lead. This shows how badly gc did by comparison.

Paid back any front-loading of his new deal when he left GCS. Takes about thirty seconds to confirm it rather than going off half-cocked like a dopey flog.

Gary Ablett has put his hand into his own pocket, forgoing a six-figure sum of money due to him from the Gold Coast in order to accommodate the Suns and his own wish to end his playing career with Geelong.

In a bid to push through a complex deal with the Cats, Ablett and his manager Liam Pickering told Gold Coast bosses several weeks ago that the champion player would ensure the Suns be repaid the estimated $300,000 from his front-ended contract.

The Ablett camp indicated that because the dual Brownlow medallist was walking out on the final year of that contract, the money due to the Suns would be repaid even if it meant Ablett waiving a big chunk of his Geelong wage next season. The prevailing view is that the Cats and Ablett will together compensate the Suns.

Even before the death late last week of Ablett's elder sister Natasha, Pickering had made it clear to Geelong and Gold Coast that the player was prepared to relinquish a significant amount of money to ensure his return to Simonds Stadium. Gold Coast asked the question of the Ablett camp at the end of September.

Ablett was also contracted to the AFL for next season as an ambassador at the expansion club. He has also indicated to the Cats he is prepared to relinquish that wage if Geelong cannot compensate it. This would ensure the AFL could potentially target another Gold Coast player using the money earmarked for Ablett.

He demanded to be made captain and it turned out he was a terrible captain, which apparently surprised none of his former Geelong teammates. I vaguely recall Cameron Mooney (I think) mentioning how no one saw him as leadership material.

I think it was mentioned at the time that one of the stipulations Ablett had for joining Gold Coast was that he was made captain. He would not agree to join the Suns if they did not make him captain.

Can you substantiate any of this?

I think it was mentioned at the time that one of the stipulations Ablett had for joining Gold Coast was that he was made captain. He would not agree to join the Suns if they did not make him captain.
Maybe he didn't want to waste his time at a club captained by Campbell Brown or Jared Brennan?

Rubbish.
Part of the deal would have been media commitments for the club to get some publicity, not unlike what all Captains do.
IMO
GAJ kept his end of the deal, it was GC who stuffed the list build and couldn’t keep players.

Can you substantiate any of this?
I'll answer for him. No.

SUPERSTAR Gary Ablett says he is humbled to be chosen by his new teammates as the inaugural captain of the Gold Coast Suns.
Nathan Bock has been selected as vice-captain and Campbell Brown deputy vice-captain.

The Suns' leadership group for their inaugural season will also include youngster Maverick Weller, ex-Brisbane Lions Michael Rischitelli, the Suns' 2010 VFL captain Marc Lock, youngster Zac Smith and former Kangaroo Daniel Harris.

"Every player wants the respect of his peers and to be chosen as captain by the players makes the honour of leading the side incredibly special,'' said former Geelong premiership winner Ablett.

Suns coach Guy McKenna said he was delighted with the makeup of the club's first leadership group and looked forward to their AFL debut on April 2.

“We empowered the boys to make the decision and, as we thought they would, they’ve repaid our faith," McKenna said.

”Gary is an exceptional talent and a leader by example. Campbell and Nathan are cut from the same cloth.
Not exactly spoiled for choice either considering the leadership group was Bock, Brown, Weller, Rischitelli, Lock, Smith and Harris.

Did he though? In AFL circles he was a big signing. For Gold Coast Karmicheal-hunt was the name most of SE QLD would have recognised. So I think Hunt had the far greater marketability than GAJ.

Ablett really did bugger all in promoting the game in qld. Brisbane still gets 90% of AFL coverage in SE QLD, While Gold Coast would be lucky to get 5% with the rest dedicated to all the other teams. If Ablett had that effect than they would be getting more by now,

i think that the GAJ effect is overrated a lot like GAJ the player.
Karmichael Hunt may have initially brought eyes to the Suns/AFL but it was Ablett who kept the eyes there. To say Ablett "did bugger all in promoting the game in qld" is just false. He was named the AFLQ community football ambassador in 2013 and would often visit the local clubs during his tenure at the Suns. Don't believe me? Here's a video showing Gaz visiting the local Broadbeach Cats club in 2013 and giving back to the local Gold Coast footy community:

North offered Dustin Martin over $1.5m wholly from within the salary cap.
Sorry.. I got it wrong.

GCS offered Ablett 1.9 million a year and that is within the salary cap. Geelong offered 900k. This was in 2010.

Richmond offered 1.3million while north offered 1.5m. Not much of a discrepancy like the ablett one in the end.

The difference was 200k, not 1m a season.

I have no doubt Martin would have packed his bags quicker than ablett if the difference was a million bucks a year.

He's been retired for a few years, and good to see some posts in here with some empathy and understanding of the nuances of it all.

Inspiring player, not really a captain, really had to go for that money (who knows how much impact family circumstances influenced that).

He did become a better player at GC than he was at Geelong and no doubt inspired a lot of the kids up there. It is a pretty big AFL areas anyway. There's a few facets to it.

Kudos the posters who have shown the two tools in this thread that they have no clue.

Sorry.. I got it wrong.

GCS offered Ablett 1.9 million a year and that is within the salary cap. Geelong offered 900k. This was in 2010.

Richmond offered 1.3million while north offered 1.5m. Not much of a discrepancy like the ablett one in the end.

The difference was 200k, not 1m a season.

I have no doubt Martin would have packed his bags quicker than ablett if the difference was a million bucks a year.

True, interesting the 3 established clubs made the following respective offers:

Geelong offer Ablett $850k

North offer Dusty $1.5m

Tigers offer Dusty $1.2m

Dusty decided to take the unders and remain. No other established club seemed to pitch their hats into the Ablett ring.

Scablett decided to take the lucrative route, no way he was staying in that shanty town.

Disgusting offer from Geelong. Or astute damning with faint praise style offer to a cap clogger?

Just so interesting G Crazy. :)

True, interesting the 3 established clubs made the following respective offers:

Geelong offer Ablett $850k

North offer Dusty $1.5m

Tigers offer Dusty $1.2m

Dusty decided to take the unders and remain. No other established club seemed to pitch their hats into the Ablett ring.

Scablett decided to take the lucrative route, no way he was staying in that shanty town.

Disgusting offer from Geelong. Or astute damning with faint praise style offer to a cap clogger?

Just so interesting G Crazy. :)
Tigers offered dusty 1.3m or closer to it. The figure was reported between 1.2-3m, so probably closer to the later than the former. The difference after taxes is probably not that significant and would have probably lost more money in sponsorship drops playing for north.

Hand dusty an extra million bucks, and he would have ran out the door faster than you can say ninthmond

Tigers offered dusty 1.3m or closer to it. The figure was reported between 1.2-3m, so probably closer to the later than the former. The difference after taxes is probably not that significant and would have probably lost more money in sponsorship drops playing for north.

Hand dusty an extra million bucks, and he would have ran out the door faster than you can say ninthmond

Cats shouldn't have been silly(or smart) enough to have Scablett coming out of contract when the startups were starting up G Cray.

Wonder why no established club was offering Ablett a mill but one was offering Dusty a mill and a half?

1704278076682.png

Cats shouldn't have been silly(or smart) enough to have Scablett coming out of contract when the startups were starting up G Cray.

Wonder why no established club was offering Ablett a mill but one was offering Dusty a mill and a half?

View attachment 1881380
He was offered 400k a season more back in 2010 under a smaller salary cap seven years prior. So no idea what you’re smoking.

Which makes it even more puzzling no established club would come within 40% of the offer North made to Dusty.

I don't smoke myself, but was almost searching for someone who does today. Had to evict my guests after I found a bong they left in the outdoor area here when they went out. I should have confiscated it and given it to a much more deserving drug addict. :tearsofjoy:

Which makes it even more puzzling no established club would come within 40% of the offer North made to Dusty.

I don't smoke myself, but was almost searching for someone who does today. Had to evict my guests after I found a bong they left in the outdoor area here when they went out. I should have confiscated it and given it to a much more deserving drug addict. :tearsofjoy:
Let’s just cut straight to the point, nobody would offer dusty 1.9m a year ( probably 2.3-4m equivalent in 2017). If anyone offered dusty even Gaza’s 2010 salary in 2017 he would have said bye very quickly, let alone 2.3-4m a year which would have been the adjusted salary.

You get paid what you are worth on the open market. Don’t think we will ever see anything close to the ablett deal again

Let’s just cut straight to the point, nobody would offer dusty 1.9m a year ( probably 2.3-4m equivalent in 2017). If anyone offered dusty even Gaza’s 2010 salary in 2017 he would have said bye very quickly, let alone 2.3-4m a year which would have been the adjusted salary.

You get paid what you are worth on the open market. Don’t think we will ever see anything close to the ablett deal again

Let's cut straight back to the point that no established club would ever have offered Scablett $1.5m a year. You don't get that off an established club for being the man whose departure caused his previous team to win a flag year 1. If you are really good at accumulating super coach points you might get an offer of around $850k fom an established club for being that person. Startup club money is like monopoly money. :)

At Geelong where you had several clear leaders ahead in the pecking order.

Who should have got the gig at GC if not Ablett?
If this is a genuine question, GC should have recruited a heart and soul type guy who could be captain until the list was ready. At Hawthorn we had Richie Vandenberg as the guy when we were trash. He wasn't our best player. He wasn't anyone's best player. But he made sure the club would be ok when the young talent was ready.

We did not choose our best player (Shane Crawford).

Gaj was the greatest player of the era (with bud) but he wasn't "worth" what he was paid. By that I mean that had GC not existed he wouldn't have been paid that much. He was not worth nearly double Bud. It was just the AFL tilting the scales. And he wasn't the only one (Hunt and Folau were both on over a mil too).

We could easily see it again though if say mckercher or sanders is the best player in the league in 2028 and the AFL decide that is what it will take to get him.

View attachment 1881380

Probably because none were trying anything they could to establish some sort of relevance after, in one tea: case, three and a half decades without it, would be my guess.

Gaj was the greatest player of the era (with bud) but he wasn't "worth" what he was paid. By that I mean that had GC not existed he wouldn't have been paid that much. He was not worth nearly double Bud. It was just the AFL tilting the scales. And he wasn't the only one (Hunt and Folau were both on over a mil too).

We could easily see it again though if say mckercher or sanders is the best player in the league in 2028 and the AFL decide that is what it will take to get him.
He is worth what he was paid, which was 1.9m a season in 2010.

There have been plenty of clubs establish themselves and plenty more to come and nobody had received the sizeable offer gaz did ant startup. Only one club needs to value you at that point and that’s your value.

Do you think Tasmania would offer right now bontempelli 2.5 million a season?? No way.

He is worth what he was paid, which was 1.9m a season in 2010.

There have been plenty of clubs establish themselves and plenty more to come and nobody had received the sizeable offer gaz did ant startup. Only one club needs to value you at that point and that’s your value.

Do you think Tasmania would offer right now bontempelli 2.5 million a season?? No way.
There have only been two clubs established since the colossal tv revenue deals of the 2000s. Both those clubs spents simply insane amounts of money on players, often outside the cap. The two rugby players being the most obvious examples of course, but Phil Davis was on an astronomical contract too.

Bont will be too old by the time tassie comes in, but as I said, if a suitable player is around, like those I listed, they will be offered a similar deal by the AFL to lead a new tassie team. It will probably be something like 1.5mil in regular payments and 1mil in under the table ambassador payments. At a minimum. In other words just like the gaj deal.

One can only hope that for Tassie's sake they choose someone with more leadership potential.

Ablett effect is a massive disservice to all the effort that has been put into the academies and all the money that’s been poured into the region. Not to mention all the Victorians that have relocated to QLD and the success of the lions in the early 00’s.

There have only been two clubs established since the colossal tv revenue deals of the 2000s. Both those clubs spents simply insane amounts of money on players, often outside the cap. The two rugby players being the most obvious examples of course, but Phil Davis was on an astronomical contract too.

Bont will be too old by the time tassie comes in, but as I said, if a suitable player is around, like those I listed, they will be offered a similar deal by the AFL to lead a new tassie team. It will probably be something like 1.5mil in regular payments and 1mil in under the table ambassador payments. At a minimum. In other words just like the gaj deal.

One can only hope that for Tassie's sake they choose someone with more leadership potential.
Lol nobody is getting close to the equivalent gaz got paid. He got paid the huge sum he did because he was one of the handful of greatest players the game has ever seen.

Nobody currently in the AFL would get even close to that if tassie opened its doors tomorrow and gave out contracts. GWS didn’t give anything remotely close to it, either did Adelaide, port, freo when they set up in their days. Yes we may see some inflated contracts, but your kidding if you think it will be gaz sized

Lol nobody is getting close to the equivalent gaz got paid. He got paid the huge sum he did because he was one of the handful of greatest players the game has ever seen.

Nobody currently in the AFL would get even close to that if tassie opened its doors tomorrow and gave out contracts. GWS didn’t give anything remotely close to it, either did Adelaide, port, freo when they set up in their days. Yes we may see some inflated contracts, but your kidding if you think it will be gaz sized
We just saw a below average key defender possibly paid 1.4 mil next year.

We saw a massively below average forward flanker get paid over a million.

If tassie was joining the league in 2024 I could absolutely see gulden being offered 2.5mil by the afl to head down to Hobart. You are kidding yourself if you don't think the afl would do it (in no way am I comparing the ability of gaj and gulden - rest would be moronic).

Analysis The Ablett Effect