Mega Thread The Adam Goodes Megathread - Now with Added Poll!

Why are crowds booing Goodes?

• Racism

Votes: 565 29.9%
  • He's perceived as a dirty player

Votes: 563 29.8%
  • He's perceived as making a team game all about himself

Votes: 758 40.1%
  • Because everyone else is booing, I thought I'd join in - like a Mexican wave thing

Votes: 268 14.2%
  • Because Gillon doesnt want them to

Votes: 135 7.2%
  • I have no idea

Votes: 74 3.9%
  • Other

Votes: 183 9.7%
  • His onfield message is at odds with his off field one

Votes: 233 12.3%
  • He can do no wrong with the MRP

Votes: 164 8.7%
  • I was saying Boo-Urns?

Votes: 61 3.2%
  • Jack Watts

Votes: 56 3.0%

No I didn't. My original comment was "he came out with his "face of racism" comment". That's it. That's what I said. You then replied that he didn't say that
Because he didn't call her the face of racism. Again, saying someone is the face of racism and saying that saying racism had a face on a specific occasion have two very distinct meanings. The link you provided omitted a (quite important) part of what he said, breaking down one continuous sentence into two distinct independent ones. If what you posted was indistinguishable from his actual statement, why not just post his actual wording instead of paraphrasing or omitting parts?

Wrong again. You should have read on to see my reply to that post actually was, which was "fair call". Unlike you mate, if I err in something I've said I will stand up and account for myself. Perhaps you should do the same.
That's not wrong. The fact that you were called on it and said "fair call" doesn't change the fact that you were willing to jump on Goodes and comment on his intent despite it actually agreeing with yours. I mean, I'm actually curious as to how you read a statement that you apparently agreed with and immediately attacked it. Unless you didn't actually believe it and were just using it as a way to criticise Goodes for something, or you did believe it and somehow just disregarded that, again in an attempt to criticise Goodes.

Either way, you posting "fair play" (and nothing further explaining either way, it should be noted.) doesn't change the fact that you did it. What if you hadn't been called on it and posted a nothing response? Would it still be wrong to point out you did it?

I can only assume you mean the bent you put on my words, as clearly you've misrepresented a couple of times now and every time I provide quotes to show otherwise, you ignore it and skip on to a new distortion.
I've actually stuck to the same lines on every post on this. You chose to use paraphrasing and omission rather than Goodes' own words and then based your statements off those. You also said "He just ran with claiming the other person was intentionally offensive because he was offended, end of story." Despite direct quotes from him that I've posted indicating that he didn't at all.

Look, this is actually pretty tedious. Multiple times, for whatever reasons, you've inaccurately represented what Goodes has said or done, or attacked him for holding the same opinion you do. For someone who believes they have a valid argument, it's strange that you'd have to do so in order to illustrate your argument.

So does anyone else suspect that this PR 'stunt' is a litmus test for the grooming of one Mr Goodes to become our first labor aboriginal PM?....Because personally, that's where I see the under-currents of this one heading....Lets just say he couldn't do a worst job than most of em. And he'll finally have the platform he is so obviously being groomed for.

I might even vote for him, just to get him away from the sporting field & into a more suitable environment....Adam Goodes....Aussie PM 2010....You heard it here first folks.;)
Err nup. Not very popular for one

What happens if he runs through Selwood in the first 5 minutes and Selwood goes off concussed?

I really do hope that Goodesy is just taking this week off in protest and its not a serious mental health issue. You simply can't guarantee people won't boo under any circumstances so i hope he can handle it.

In that situation i would be more inclined to still boo Selwood
You don't want me to go down that path
But let's see
You can bomb Iraq, Libya
You can bomb the entire undeveloped world - but don't you be booing
You can refuse asylum to any not white and put them and theircildren in indefinite detention
But don't you be booing
You can institutionalize indigenous third world status prevent them having any self determined nation but don't you be booing
Man you can evidcerate penalty rates, move jobs overseas, you can build crazy desalination plants you can execute any outlandish corruption you can think of

But do t you be booing

You forgot that every single post has been typed on a devise made is a sweat shop somewhere in the third world where they are getting paid a bowl of rice a day while we complain about health and education costs between fine tuning our tax avoidance :rolleyes:

Again I say I have no problem with people saying they don't like the way he has gone about drawing attention to these issues but booing him every possession every game (for this reason) is not remedying the situation that is complained of

I agree with that argument - however, it's a two way street. Fans should stop booing one player so incessantly, but Adam Goodes should also change his behaviour - bring people together to stop racism, don't divide them.

You'll be at the soccer soon

Everyone....:$:$:$

Ahh the sounds of an admission of defeat. Truly glorious. :)

How does it feel knowing you've got no rebuttal for your already pissweak arguments?

Thoughts on the booing of Jeff Garlett yesterday?

Lol. The point is the same. Please provide an example of people who were not in support of Goodes. :)

Yes ..yes

You win the internetz:$:$:$
Foolish blanket statement that says more about you than anything else

Welcome to my ignore list

You don't want me to go down that path
But let's see
You can bomb Iraq, Libya
You can bomb the entire undeveloped world - but don't you be booing
You can refuse asylum to any not white and put them and theircildren in indefinite detention
But don't you be booing
You can institutionalize indigenous third world status prevent them having any self determined nation but don't you be booing
Man you can evidcerate penalty rates, move jobs overseas, you can build crazy desalination plants you can execute any outlandish corruption you can think of

But do t you be booing

Hahaha I can't stop laughing. You're brilliant

Foolish blanket statement that says more about you than anything else

Welcome to my ignore list

Right, so any evidence of people criticizing Goodes' actions at the time, or nah? :)

Goodbye, racist. May as well, he's not seeing this anyway.

So does anyone else suspect that this PR 'stunt' is a litmus test for the grooming of one Mr Goodes to become our first labor aboriginal PM?....Because personally, that's where I see the under-currents of this one heading....Lets just say he couldn't do a worst job than most of em. And he'll finally have the platform he is so obviously being groomed for.

I might even vote for him, just to get him away from the sporting field & into a more suitable environment....Adam Goodes....Aussie PM 2010....You heard it here first folks.;)
The faceless men are controlling the news so we all vote for Goodes. Some time in the future. Though he's said he has rejected approaches from political parties.

But hang on... I thought everyone was sick of Goodes making political statements?

This is confusing. Can we please settle on whether people dislike Goodes for his various crimes against sport, or he is so popular that he'd be voted in to Parliament?

The faceless men are controlling the news so we all vote for Goodes. Some time in the future. Though he's said he has rejected approaches from political parties.

But hang on... I thought everyone was sick of Goodes making political statements?

This is confusing. Can we please settle on whether people dislike Goodes for his various crimes against sport, or he is so popular that he'd be voted in to Parliament?
Looks like another candidate for your specially-padded Conspiracy Thread. ;)

He's clearly popular, nay the 'poster-boy' elect of the press & the establishment....And in politics, that's all that matters.;)

No one should be taking the high ground on this matter, errors have been made on all sides. None is squeaky clean.

All sides can look back and see things they would have done differently if they had their time again.

Nope I don't think so, that's why this thread has continued for so long with no conceding of ground from anyone.

He'd get Captain picked like Nova ..no voting for Adam. Could be the final straw if more people voted against him than for him

Another hypothetical, Goodes is lining up for goal, and the strapping has come loose from his knee, and as he is walking in to take the shot a member of the crowd starts yelling 'tape tape tape', trying to warn Adam that the strapping is coming undone and could cause him to mis-kick, will they get ejected and shamed?

Does anyone else find it laughable that people point the finger at Goodes behaviour and in particular about dividing the nation over how he goes about indigenous issues yet say the booing isn't racist?
How can one persons behaviour divide a whole nation FFs!! Why is it not us white people that are booing or making racial comments that are regarded as dividing the nation?
Goodes isn't dividing the nation he is however strongly highlighting that the nation is already divided.

It is everyone's reaction that is divisive.

is he a sook? He has been copping it for a fair while now and far more than any player I've seen. Or do we think men,in particular tough footballers, should just suck everything up and not have a breaking point? That sort of thinking results in men not seeking help when they really need it.
Bullying is bullying the one thing out of this is that those booing do it because they don't like him so to me the abuse is personal not related to specific incidents in the game?
If you are such a weak person yourself that you feel the need to boo someone in this manner to cope with you're own sucky life well who is that poorly reflect on? Sad you all feel the need or right to cause harm.
For mine our club were scheduleded to play an indigenous club in our league yesterday. I am so very proud to say our committee extended the hand of friendship and invited them on our home ground to perform the indigenous war cry before the game as a stand against bullying and a show of solidarity.

its a choice continue to be divisive or choose to shake hands. Don't blame Goodes we are all responsible.

To think we have at least another week of all this. I have 'Goodes' fatigue already.

If Goodes plays against Geelong I just hope he is not booed and is never booed again, just so this side-show can get closed down.

The plight of of idigenious Australians is not going to be help one iota from all this. It is just another token act by 'White' Australia. 'Oh we've stopping booing Adam...all is right with idigenious Australians now. No need to think about them until the next high profile idigenious person has an issue arise'.

Yeah most people may not boo him anymore, but is it going to change what they think of Goodes, or indigenous Australians for that matter? Their opinions are probably rusted on.

A nice compromise will be for the Booers who feel their freedom of speech is been infringed upon, to boo Goodes to your hearts content every time he does something 'dirty' on the ground, which in all honesty only happens once or twice in a game and on some occasions not at all. Hard to believe but Goodes is not the biggest dirty sniper in the game; some of hawthorn's elite players (i.e. lewis, hodge, mitchell) make him look like a choirboy by comparison.

However don't boo him just 'cos he's about to get a possie or near the action, incessantly through out the game. Because this is when the bigots who are offended by Goodes stance on sensitive history and indigenous topics, cannot hide under the cover of booing Goodes for being a cheap shot merchant, etc... Keep it football related and in proportion to his footy 'misdeeds' and it should be fine, simples.

Hopefully we have a deal. ;)

A nice compromise will be for the Booers who feel their freedom of speech is been infringed upon, to boo Goodes to your hearts content every time he does something 'dirty' on the ground, which in all honesty only happens once or twice in a game and on some occasions not at all. Hard to believe but Goodes is not the biggest dirty sniper in the game; some of hawthorn's elite players (i.e. lewis, hodge, mitchell) make him look like a choirboy by comparison.

However don't boo him just 'cos he's about to get a possie or near the action, incessantly through out the game. Because this is when the bigots who are offended by Goodes stance on sensitive history and indigenous topics, cannot hide under the cover of booing Goodes for being a cheap shot merchant, etc... Keep it football related and in proportion to his footy 'misdeeds' and it should be fine, simples.

Hopefully we have a deal. ;)

yah, like that'll work.