The AFL is a monster!!!

So the Daily Terror, which is owned by News Ltd, which has a stake in the NRL, is not allowed to discuss, defend, promote or expose anything the AFL does in their "expansion" into the NRL "heartland" especially when they have thrown big money at former NRL stars (in the process convinc docile AFL fans that it pays itself with marketing) to try and entice people away from the NRL?

I mean how dare they!

The arrogance displayed in this thread is the reason why DT and NRL people are hating on this code, they are not worried, it is not a sign of FEAR, but they just cannot handle the arrogance and smug attitude of AFL people.

The Herald Sun went on the defensive at the mere mention of hosting a world cup in Melbourne. The way the paper went on about Soccer, the way it still goes on about Soccer is nothing but childish. And this from the main rag of the AFL.

What does this say about the AFL? That they are the most intolerant group of fans when it comes to other codes. Dont give me this BS that Melb is the sporting capital of Aust. When another code is played during the footy season in Melbs if the fans arnt dissing it the local rag.

But hey that wasnt the herald suns fault - that was FA for having the audacity to even think about bidding for an international sporting event and bringing it to our shores, especially Melbourne.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

This is childish http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/in-todd-we-trust/story-e6freye0-1226051688948

THE clever marketing work of the Bulldogs in taking NRL games to South Australia could be wiped out under the new AFL-brokered $450 million redevelopment deal for Adelaide Oval approved this week.

We hear the AFL will try to ensure the NRL doesn't get the benefit of the new venue. Note to NRL HQ - the N in your name stands for National and Adelaide is a natural expansion market.
I'd say that might be more of a logistics issue than the AFL doing anything to scuttle it. During the Rugby season, the principle tenants of Adelaide oval will be the AFL clubs which will require it every weekend. Therefore the grass would be cut short to suit Australian Football and the markings would be set for Australian Football. It would be hard to configure the ground for both a League game and and Australian Football game on the same weekend, you wouldn't be able to play cricket there over the same period either and during Cricket season i'd say that it wouldn't be likely to be able to hold A-League games during the same weeks/weekends that Cricket is being played.

The reason a ground like MRS is able to be used for 3 sports (Association Football, Rugby & League) in the same weeks is because their requirements are so similar and also that they rarely need it on the same weekend.

So the Daily Terror, which is owned by News Ltd, which has a stake in the NRL, is not allowed to discuss, defend, promote or expose anything the AFL does in their "expansion" into the NRL "heartland" especially when they have thrown big money at former NRL stars (in the process convinc docile AFL fans that it pays itself with marketing) to try and entice people away from the NRL?

I mean how dare they!

The arrogance displayed in this thread is the reason why DT and NRL people are hating on this code, they are not worried, it is not a sign of FEAR, but they just cannot handle the arrogance and smug attitude of AFL people.

The Herald Sun went on the defensive at the mere mention of hosting a world cup in Melbourne. The way the paper went on about Soccer, the way it still goes on about Soccer is nothing but childish. And this from the main rag of the AFL.

What does this say about the AFL? That they are the most intolerant group of fans when it comes to other codes. Dont give me this BS that Melb is the sporting capital of Aust. When another code is played during the footy season in Melbs if the fans arnt dissing it the local rag.

But hey that wasnt the herald suns fault - that was FA for having the audacity to even think about bidding for an international sporting event and bringing it to our shores, especially Melbourne.

Pretty sure what the Herald Sun went off about was the conduct of the FFA due to their plans which would cause mass disruption to the MCG and the attempt at trying to use Docklands. The AFL was quite willing to let the FFA have the use of the MCG for the world cup but it had been agreed that Docklands was off limits because at least 1 stadium would be needed in Melbourne for the AFL season to be able to continue to run.

The Herald Sun probably would have been okay with the disruption to the MCG had their been a chance that it was going to be used for the Final, but as we all know that was always going to be played in Sydney.

I'd say that might be more of a logistics issue than the AFL doing anything to scuttle it. During the Rugby season, the principle tenants of Adelaide oval will be the AFL clubs which will require it every weekend. Therefore the grass would be cut short to suit Australian Football and the markings would be set for Australian Football. It would be hard to configure the ground for both a League game and and Australian Football game on the same weekend, you wouldn't be able to play cricket there over the same period either and during Cricket season i'd say that it wouldn't be likely to be able to hold A-League games during the same weeks/weekends that Cricket is being played.

The reason a ground like MRS is able to be used for 3 sports (Association Football, Rugby & League) in the same weeks is because their requirements are so similar and also that they rarely need it on the same weekend.

The NRL would be welcome to use the redeveloped Adelaide Oval judging by everything I've read. The SANFL (NB not the AFL) and the SACA are the joint venturers in the project and they would want to maximise income.

Doubt there'd be any problem changing the line marking etc and the A-league holds games at AO now in cricket season.

DTelly's story has no substance that I have been able to find.

Can we call it Rugby League and not Rugby.

Two different codes with different ruling bodies.

Calling it Rugby means you are effectively talking about either the Super 14s comp, any tri-nations comp or the World Cup.

Maybe i should call rules AFL eh?

I mean how dare they!

You really are clutching at straws in defence of your beloved Daily Tele :p

It's unsubstantiated rubbish. Just prove it. :rolleyes:

At the end of the day, 1-2 NRL matches a year is a blip on the radar for AFL in Adelaide. The whole purpose of the redevelopment was to offer a range of sport & entertainment in the heart of Adelaide similiar to Etihad.

100% agree.
90% of animosity from AFL supporters is toward the simian NRL supporters and media who have to rely on cries of "WAR" and pleas to the semi literate that AFL is for ****s and idiots.

That contradicts my Magpie following uncle - Hates rugby of all sorts, reckons every player bar collingwooder's are ****da's in the afl realm. Has a lot of semi literate colleagues :thumbsu:

You really are clutching at straws in defence of your beloved Daily Tele :p

It's unsubstantiated rubbish. Just prove it. :rolleyes:

At the end of the day, 1-2 NRL matches a year is blimp on the radar for AFL in Adelaide. The whole purpose of the redevelopment was to offer a range of sport & entertainment in the heart of Adelaide similiar to Etihad.

A blimp on the radar could actually be bad news.

A blip, not so much.

Can we call it Rugby League and not Rugby.

Two different codes with different ruling bodies.

Calling it Rugby means you are effectively talking about either the Super 14s comp, any tri-nations comp or the World Cup.

Maybe i should call rules AFL eh?
Sorry I just used Rugby Season by mistake, although it could also be used as a catch-all for the time of year that the Rugby codes of Football are played. Although you should probably note that throughout the rest of my post I made no such error.

I'd prefer that you refer to "AFL" as Australian Football since you are being pedantic about nomenclature.

How about we make a list:
Australian Football - Aussie Rules, Rules, Footy, AFL
Association Football - Soccer
Rugby Union - Rubgy, Union
Rugby League - League, NRL

Also I believe that Super 14s is now Super 15 or Super Rugby, they've got a team in Melbourne too and it was welcomed there were no crys of war ect.

The NRL would be welcome to use the redeveloped Adelaide Oval judging by everything I've read. The SANFL (NB not the AFL) and the SACA are the joint venturers in the project and they would want to maximise income.

Doubt there'd be any problem changing the line marking etc and the A-league holds games at AO now in cricket season.

DTelly's story has no substance that I have been able to find.

I agree the NRL would be welcome to play games there if possible. Just pointing out the problems.

I doubt that A-League games are played within a couple of days of the Cricket, doesn't it take a few days to convert the MCG between Cricket and Football although the drop-in pitch probably is what adds the time to that.

If it was a weekend without AFL games in Adelaide it could probably be quite feasible.

Also I believe that Super 14s is now Super 15 or Super Rugby, they've got a team in Melbourne too and it was welcomed there were no crys of war ect.

I am sure they would react in the same manner if:

the code was run or owned by a tabloid paper

the AFL was setting up a new team in their heartland and poached two of their stars to cross over in the hope it will get people to switch codes

You know what I love about being an Aussie and a lover of sport?

The fact that I can freely love sport. All sport. And love all the great moments of each and every kind of sport out there.

I can choose which sports I like to watch, and those which I find boring.

For example, I don't find cycling much chop to watch on television. But as the Tour De France wound up and Cadel was doing his best, I tuned in. I found the sport itself still boring, but was keen to see some Aussie pride.

AFL is not my favorite sport, but I am a passionate Aussie Rules supporter, and love my Blues, and love to watch great games of Aussies Rules.

My favorite sport is football (soccer). I love the EPL, I love the Champions League, I love watching the World Cup and the amount of passion (sometimes ill directed) that comes forth for such big occasions. Lots of people find soccer boring. That's okay, but I'll bet most of them had a watch when Australia made the last 16 of the '06 World Cup. That's what's great about loving sport.

I never really liked League, but I gave it a go. Then I found I actually embraced the qualities it has. Now I love it. I love the passion of the Origin series, and the strength of the big apes that grace the field. Again, that's what's great about being a sport lover.

I found it hardest to get into Union, but I went along to a few Rebels games, started watching the Wallabies with some Union lovers. I found myself really enjoying the code, and now can't wait for the World Cup soon. That's why it's so great to be a sport lover.

It goes on. I don't like tennis but love the Aussie Open. I find cricket to bore me sometimes but love going for a day, be it Boxing Day Test, ODI or T20. NFL, Gaelic, Baseball, NBA.

It's great to love sport. Why? Because arguments about which code is better, who is afraid of the big bad wolf taking over, or stupid arguments about which code is more homosexual are water off a duck's back.

I just want Australia to be the greatest sporting nation in the world. And it is for a huge part. And I'm happy to be able to embrace all it offers, rather than be ignorant to "what else" could be out there.

Written and authorised by teknodeejay for the Sports Lovers Party, Australia.

:D

Now, I have no doubt that footy isn't liked in Newcastle. It is a backward place reliant on sunset industries and has long bred the kind of person only capable of understanding a sport where big men run at each other and throw the ball short distances. Anything else would be way too complex.

But really, I couldn't get give two tugs what they do up there.

I fail to see why the rugby types get so het up about GWS.

Storm have been playing games a stone's throw fro me for years and it doesn't bother me one bit. I don't go to see them, but I don't see them a 'threat'.

FFS.

This. It's a very NSWRL attitude to have. Everyone is an enemy and the sky is in a perpetual state of free-fall. The Lions/Suns aren't seen as a declaration of war in Brisbane/GC. The Force (and soon Reds) in Perth didn't have the Eagles and Dockers quaking with fear. Melbourne AFL teams aren't digging trenches to defend against the STORM, Rebels, Heart or Victory. Hell, th eVic government built a stadium to accomodate them. The siege mentality of RL people in NSW is really weird.

Hilarious, but weird nonetheless.

[youtube]XqyYLf-zBlM[/youtube]

:eek:

I was at a bar (central NSW) the other night "discussing" the merits of both codes. A couple of the blokes were getting really riled up.

One was one of those of types that looks/sounds/acts like he saves money on hammers and other tools by making use of his forehead instead. I wasn't sure what he was saying (serious speech impediment) but the general gist of it was that he "lubs wugby" and "hathes GAY!!!!...fl".

Another one was screaming that the League was the greatest because of this special moment he had when he was a young fella (60 years ago lol) where he decked someone bigger than him. Something about not being able to go to the toilet before the game... :confused:

By the end of the "discussion" it became clear to me that those that love League (and vehemently hate Football), don't love it because it is a good game, or that it requires skill/talent, it is because they get to blow off some steam by running into other blokes for a 80 minutes. Its like it fulfills some bogan/neanderthal need in them left over from the stone ages.

I was at a bar (central NSW) the other night "discussing" the merits of both codes. A couple of the blokes were getting really riled up.

One was one of those of types that looks/sounds/acts like he saves money on hammers and other tools by making use of his forehead instead. I wasn't sure what he was saying (serious speech impediment) but the general gist of it was that he "lubs wugby" and "hathes GAY!!!!...fl".

Another one was screaming that the League was the greatest because of this special moment he had when he was a young fella (60 years ago lol) where he decked someone bigger than him. Something about not being able to go to the toilet before the game... :confused:

By the end of the "discussion" it became clear to me that those that love League (and vehemently hate Football), don't love it because it is a good game, or that it requires skill/talent, it is because they get to blow off some steam by running into other blokes for a 80 minutes. Its like it fulfills some bogan/neanderthal need in them left over from the stone ages.

not surprised :p

I simply don't understand this, I've never seen anyone in Victoria spill any vitriol towards Rugby League. Why is it that people from NSW absolutely hate AR? :confused:

And yet I see sometimes they say they hate AR because Melbourne hates League, I've never seen anyone spill such vitriol to a sport than the bogans from NSW do, it's just bewildering tbh. Melbourne likes Rugby League, you never see it put in a bad light, I just simply don't understand the bogan attitude they have in NSW

I simply don't understand this, I've never seen anyone in Victoria spill any vitriol towards Rugby League. Why is it that people from NSW absolutely hate AR? :confused:

And yet I see sometimes they say they hate AR because Melbourne hates League, I've never seen anyone spill such vitriol to a sport than the bogans from NSW do, it's just bewildering tbh. Melbourne likes Rugby League, you never see it put in a bad light, I just simply don't understand the bogan attitude they have in NSW

As opposed to the same attitude the bogans in victoria have. So calling the game "Thugby" or calling the players "bum sniffers" or simply being smug arsehats by still calling it rugby after they have been corrected or by starting a weekly NRL thread dissing the code and then hiding behind the "it's not us it's them" guise etc etc

Regardless of the insult, if anything it just shows how childish and docile AFL fans can be as well as NRL fans. It's not all one way.

As opposed to the same attitude the bogans in victoria have. So calling the game "Thugby" or calling the players "bum sniffers" or simply being smug arsehats by still calling it rugby after they have been corrected or by starting a weekly NRL thread dissing the code and then hiding behind the "it's not us it's them" guise etc etc

Regardless of the insult, if anything it just shows how childish and docile AFL fans can be as well as NRL fans. It's not all one way.

Mate, let it go. It's simply not worth it.

You know what I love about being an Aussie and a lover of sport?

The fact that I can freely love sport. All sport. And love all the great moments of each and every kind of sport out there.

I can choose which sports I like to watch, and those which I find boring.

For example, I don't find cycling much chop to watch on television. But as the Tour De France wound up and Cadel was doing his best, I tuned in. I found the sport itself still boring, but was keen to see some Aussie pride.

AFL is not my favorite sport, but I am a passionate Aussie Rules supporter, and love my Blues, and love to watch great games of Aussies Rules.

My favorite sport is football (soccer). I love the EPL, I love the Champions League, I love watching the World Cup and the amount of passion (sometimes ill directed) that comes forth for such big occasions. Lots of people find soccer boring. That's okay, but I'll bet most of them had a watch when Australia made the last 16 of the '06 World Cup. That's what's great about loving sport.

I never really liked League, but I gave it a go. Then I found I actually embraced the qualities it has. Now I love it. I love the passion of the Origin series, and the strength of the big apes that grace the field. Again, that's what's great about being a sport lover.

I found it hardest to get into Union, but I went along to a few Rebels games, started watching the Wallabies with some Union lovers. I found myself really enjoying the code, and now can't wait for the World Cup soon. That's why it's so great to be a sport lover.

It goes on. I don't like tennis but love the Aussie Open. I find cricket to bore me sometimes but love going for a day, be it Boxing Day Test, ODI or T20. NFL, Gaelic, Baseball, NBA.

It's great to love sport. Why? Because arguments about which code is better, who is afraid of the big bad wolf taking over, or stupid arguments about which code is more homosexual are water off a duck's back.

I just want Australia to be the greatest sporting nation in the world. And it is for a huge part. And I'm happy to be able to embrace all it offers, rather than be ignorant to "what else" could be out there.

Written and authorised by teknodeejay for the Sports Lovers Party, Australia.

:D

Excellent post

I dont beleive that you truely believe what you are saying and that you are just trolling, but in case you are not:

Just relax your going to have a break down. You shouldn't generlise about large groups of people (eg AFL fans and Victorians, although that should be the case on both sides of the fence) Individuals that use words like "Thugby" and "bum sniffer" are just trying to get a reaction out of people (like you) or because they think they are funny (which they arn't). I would suggest ignoring them or reporting them. As to people calling league, Rugby, I didn't realise that these were two different codes until I was in my 20's (in the 90's). The guy who said it acknowledged his mistake and you should have had some grace and not brought it up again. When people say the word Rugby to talk about league they are not trying to upset you. Your last sentence was a good one. This thread will be shut down soon :)

I think you have got FEAR mixed up with PASSION.

Care to explain how it's fear?

IS Phil Gould is a foetal position shaking uncontrollably while muttering "AFL are coming AFL are coming!"

No all he did was state that he is fed up of hearing about a code he doesnt really like and that he is on A NRL SHOW which should be talking about NRL and not AFL.

Why do you find this hard to comprehend?
he, like so many of you, is petrified with fear. he is genuinely terrified that the AFL is going to relegate league to a secondary sport in NSW and QLD

if he wasn't, he wouldn't mind a minute of discussion about a former league star. he hates AFL because of what he thinks they represent, Armageddon!!!

it's hilarious how often you guys claim you aren't scared while sounding the air raid siren and changing you undies

he, like so many of you, is petrified with fear. he is genuinely terrified that the AFL is going to relegate league to a secondary sport in NSW and QLD

if he wasn't, he wouldn't mind a minute of discussion about a former league star. he hates AFL because of what he thinks they represent, Armageddon!!!

it's hilarious how often you guys claim you aren't scared while sounding the air raid siren and changing you undies

Quote for truth :thumbsu:

It's what I don't understand. The rugby league teams which have been around for ages will still exist once AFL dominates in Sydney/Queensland. The same amount of crowd will likely go to the games, and the games will probably still be on Fox like A-League games are today.

The only thing they are really worrying about is the "Prestige" of being the #1 sport in that region.

I'm not sure what the big fuss is over calling Rugby League "Rugby". Isn't there bigger and more important things in life to get upset over?

I will be honest. I'm one of the dead-beat dumb-arse bogans that could not pick a game of "Rugby League" from a game of "Rugby Union". And it's not like I haven't been exposed enough. I have lived in QLD for most my life, and currently live in NSW.

I would like to take this opportunity to defend myself though. Both Rugby codes are coma-inducing-boring for me. I would be out before the differences could be demonstrated enough that I would be able to distinguish between the two.

I respect the fact that my personal sporting preferences are not the same as others though. It would be nice if this respect was returned. The fact that I find myself labelled a ***/****/homosexual for my love of Australian Rules Football by meatheads where ever I go in NSW, and to a lesser extent, QLD, is not welcomed though. Aussie Rules is a great game, and why some even refuse to watch a game or acknowledge its merits in this state just reeks of stupidity and fear.

Ironically, the only thing I have ever been interested in with League was the hot cheerleaders. But... that interest has faded since I've been married and had 3 girls... it's actually kind of depraved now. But hey, at least it keeps the meatheads coming to the games right?

Of the two Rugby codes I actually don't mind watching Union. Well will watch the internationals anyway. When you see an open and attacking game it can be pretty good viewing.

Rugby League I find a dull repetitive and stop/start game, far too much empthasis on defence. Intresting to hear on the radio yesterday that the under 20's Rugby League is far more open and attacking.

End of the day though English Rugby codes are not even close to our native game.

As to this war nonsense, living on the Gold Coast I have not seen any reference to a so called war in the local media. Even Searle has dropped his anti Australian Football rhetoric of late.