No Oppo Supporters The ASADA Thread... from a Tiger perspective

This feeling bad for the players is brought on by the media.

Was there this much sympathy for the SANFL player (I think) who took a flu tablet and got two years? Or our own Trav Casserley? That is sympathy. Not getting injected 50 times a day and playing the I didn't know card.

How dumb can you be as a player?

plesase explain why you feel bad for he players?

if you were a professional athlete that had been lectured to over and over to be 100% sure of what you were taking and you went to a doctor you trusted and he suggested you try this injection several times a week for a period of weeks but asked you to sign a waiver and do it away from the practice would you not ask what the hell is going on here? What about when you started recovering from soft tissue injuries twice as fast as you used to. Again would you not be asking WTF is going on here?

there is a line between trusting your doctor and accepting what he says, its called a second opinion and i am tipping a few bombers players have been wondering why they didnt do just that.
I probably should have clarified that further by saying I feel somewhat sorry for the players. The younger ones would have seen the senior players doing the same thing and having been cleared by the club doctor been of the impression that this was not out of the norm. The older players should have been more diligent, from the sounds of it some of them did openly question what was going on and the NDAs should have been a massive warning sign. That being said, it was not like it was the players who were going out and sourcing the substances to increase their own performance, it was systematic cheating from those who were meant to be in charge of the players health. Assuming they fully cooperate with the officials to find out the truth I would be satisfied for them to receive reduced sentences, but they must still face bans of 6-12 months, so in no way am I absolving them of any blame. Taking premiership points off them for 2013 & 2014 will in some ways be a ban from playing competitive sport anyway, but will allow them to train and be ready for the 2015 season.

One of my best mates is a Bombers supporter and has had his head in the sand the whole time
Immediately after Evans resigned he called me saying "Yep! we're f*****".
First time I have felt any sympathy towards the bombers support base

If the supporters weren't so floggish about the whole ordeal and actually considered the possibility that their club and Hird has done the wrong thing then my heart would be a bit softer.

The sheer arrogance through the whole saga has been astonishing though. If it was Richmond in this mess I would be devastated and would be calling for immediate action and sacking from the board down. Not spending all my time being a BF all-star wunderflog and debating semantics of drug use like Dennis Denuto

They got pain coming to them and I'm gonna sit back and enjoy the damage.

I have no sympathy to any of the people involved, including the players. You gotta be pretty stupid to not question anything when your getting stabbed that often with different things, taken off site for more pricks and prodded and sign confidentiality agreements.

Maybe the young players who would of felt intimidated but not others. **** them all.

What I heard was that senior players did in fact question the program and the so called "waiver" was instigated by the players to make sure everything was above board. I stand corrected though.

Have no doubt the players were duped. I reckon the culture in the AFL across the board was to trust the medics and I doubt even our own players thoroughly questioned what they were given at times. Just the way it was.

What I don't understand, is how a respected club doctor of 25 years can have a big enough concern about the program to pen a letter to the board and when nothing happened, not jump up and down and say, well if that's the way it going to be I'm friggin out of here. Things may have been very different.

As each piece of the puzzle falls into place it looks worse and worse for the Bummers. Actually it's looking like they are going to be totally spanked and players banned left right and centre. For the first time i'm starting to feel a little bit sorry for the Bummer supporters. Just a little bit.

And the fact that I feel for them means they are really in deep shit.

They got drunk on success. No, not drunk because they are a team supported by teenage fanbois and squealing girls, who grow up to be starry-eyed try hards. More like kids who drank too much red cordial. That's how Essendon supporters act. Spoilt brats.

I can respect Collingwood and Carton supporters - you know what you are getting with them. I don't respect Essendon supporters because at the end of the day they are all soft in the jocks. Let's see how they go with 30 years of shitness ahead of them and how many supporters turn up every week.

I don't respect any of them. They are all flogs. Some more tolerable than others that's all. :D

Certainly a lot of disparate views on this.
My 2c. You can't simply put everyone at Essendon in the same basket. Different levels of culpability exists across the club.

Firstly the supporters are just punters like us. They follow a shit club but have no power or influence on what happens within. Just like us they support their club and hope it is well run. For their sakes I do not want any de-registration or similar. Footy clubs serve the community, de-registration would hurt that.

Secondly, young players are heavily influenced by older more seasoned players. Only a short time has passed since these older players were idolised by the new, now they are playing together. Some stars in the eyes no doubt still exist. These players would simply "do as the older players do" so I feel some leniency for the young guys. The older ones should have some ban.

Thirdly, as a parent of young adults I feel ill that a trusted organisation can experiment on young people like that. " A Pharmacological experiment" i think Zwitkowski called it. For this breach of trust in the use of these substances, every member of the EFC football department inc. coaches and doctors should be banned for life from any involvement in the sport. Just writing this makes me emotional that these F**** could do this to young men. FFS what were they thinking.

Lastly, the EFC must pay a price in order to punish and send a strong message to anyone else contemplating similar.
Points taken, No draft picks for 2 years, EFC to set up and fund a foundation to study the effects of "not approved for human use" drugs.

regards FFS

Certainly a lot of disparate views on this.
My 2c. You can't simply put everyone at Essendon in the same basket. Different levels of culpability exists across the club.

Firstly the supporters are just punters like us. They follow a shit club but have no power or influence on what happens within. Just like us they support their club and hope it is well run. For their sakes I do not want any de-registration or similar. Footy clubs serve the community, de-registration would hurt that.

Secondly, young players are heavily influenced by older more seasoned players. Only a short time has passed since these older players were idolised by the new, now they are playing together. Some stars in the eyes no doubt still exist. These players would simply "do as the older players do" so I feel some leniency for the young guys. The older ones should have some ban.

Thirdly, as a parent of young adults I feel ill that a trusted organisation can experiment on young people like that. " A Pharmacological experiment" i think Zwitkowski called it. For this breach of trust in the use of these substances, every member of the EFC football department inc. coaches and doctors should be banned for life from any involvement in the sport. Just writing this makes me emotional that these F**** could do this to young men. FFS what were they thinking.

Lastly, the EFC must pay a price in order to punish and send a strong message to anyone else contemplating similar.
Points taken, No draft picks for 2 years, EFC to set up and fund a foundation to study the effects of "not approved for human use" drugs.

regards FFS

lmaooo...:thumbsu:

If any of you feel one bit sorry for Essendon or its players you have to question whether you really hate them or not. I couldn't give a **** if they lost their licence for 2 years. At least the cheats would be penalised appropriately.

I do feel for "some" of the players.
I don't feel for Jobe. Should have known better.He and a lot of the others for that matter.
Sometimes at incredibly weak moments I feel for the supporters. It's not their fault and I close my eyes and envisage that it was Richmond.
Then I open my eyes and see that it was Richmond, only that it was a different way of shooting yourself in the face than this one from Essendon,but still relative when we imploded all those years ago.

I ask myself, remember how understanding your Essendon supporting mates were for all those years?
******* pigs arse!!!!!!!!!
Chew on it bomber fans,taste it,suck it all up.
I'll be putting shit on them with a smile on my face for as long as I can.
If it turns out to be thirty years, bonus!

This is like what could have happened at the RFC in 1983. Arrogant, 'must win', 'we are the greatest' attitude. We are RFC/EFC so we rule - the normal rules don't apply.

Well they do!

As much as I have sympathy with the players they had so much opportunity to check on the drugs they were being given, over and over again. Strict liability - you are responsible for what goes in your body.

To be realistic this should be treated as similar cases are throughout the world. That means 2 years for the players, and big problems for the club. The EFC then have 3 wasted years (2013 being one as they lose points this year). To me an over kill would be the right response. As bringing the EFC to its knees, but not killing it, would send a clear message to stay on the right side of the rules.

end it. end it now so that bummer supporters can finally open their eyes and see what has really been going on and no longer blindly defend their filthy club to the end. that is what has surprised me the most in all of this. the crap being posted on the main board by their supporters is frightening.

if the AFL go easy on them, and by that i mean no stripping of points/draft penalties etc, then i will spew. the drugs issues aside, their program, processes and bringing the game into disrepute require nothing less. but i have a horrible feeling they won't get the whack they deserve and i will be reaching for the bucket...:mad:

What is frustrating at the moment is through out this whole saga the Bombers (and the cheerleaders in the media) have been saying "wait for all the fact and for the investigation to be completed" Now we see with the report/sanctions due to be handed down as soon as next week is a campaign from Hird supporters to discredit the whole investigation, the AFL and ASADA.

You can't have it both ways, You've told everyone to wait for the result of the investigation and the facts and now it seems certain that they'll disagree and fight any findings.

The bombers can get screwed, They've gone from "we didn't do it" to "AOD isn't illegal" to "AOD isn't performance enhancing" to "The AFL are leaking info against us!" and now their supporter genuinely believe "heaps" of other clubs are "doing the same thing" and they have been "singled out"

The way the they have singled out Caroline is disgraceful as well. Many journos have written and said similar things but to single her out is cowardly when the reports which have done the most damage to the bombers cause were written by Baker and Mckenzie. They won't go after them now guys will they?

The outspoken woman is an easy target in the sporting world.

The players deserve blame as well to not question what was happening. Some arguments I've heard from people who believe the players have done nothing wrong was "Do you question the medicine your Doctor gives you?" my answer is "YES". I google and research anything the doctor gives me that I don't already know about. This is even with out the doctors medicine being injected into my stomach once a week when my job/livelihood rely on my body being fit and CLEAN!

**** em for putting the clubs priorities above the health and well being of the players/staff and their families.

Carlton got their club smashed and it set them back several years for less. The bombers deserve something more than that.

I'm certainly no Caro fan and I'm certainly no p.c. "blame sexism/racism for everything" type, but the way the AFL's boys club treats her because she one of the few who dares to stand up to them is that blatantly obvious it can't be denied. She has more balls than those disgraceful bunch of bullies & cowards put together.

One of my best mates is a Bombers supporter and has had his head in the sand the whole time
Immediately after Evans resigned he called me saying "Yep! we're f*****".
First time I have felt any sympathy towards the bombers support base

If the supporters weren't so floggish about the whole ordeal and actually considered the possibility that their club and Hird has done the wrong thing then my heart would be a bit softer.

The sheer arrogance through the whole saga has been astonishing though. If it was Richmond in this mess I would be devastated and would be calling for immediate action and sacking from the board down. Not spending all my time being a BF all-star wunderflog and debating semantics of drug use like Dennis Denuto

All essendon supporters have there head in the sand, hirdy would never cheat bullshit they crap on about, considering he was mates with that charters in his playing days and was one of the fittest players in the comp, I call bullshit and reckon there is alot of lance Armstrong about hird. Also Shane woewodin the got fitness advice of charter and was again one of the fittest in the afl and won a brownlow on the back of it!

How many do you think would come if they held the penalty announcement at the G? Set up a stage in the middle. Leave the Captain and Coach until last. Tell Jobe to bring his Brownlow. It can then be followed by his lap around the MCG - backwards!

Something that hasn't really been brought up through this whole saga is the fact that they were on drugs and they still didn't make the finals hahahahaha ............. but in reference to the OP, i would feel some type of sympathy for the supporters if they showed any angst at all towards their club. I know if the tigers were the team involved in all of this i would be demanding answers, and id probably end up ceasing to care about football at all if the findings showed that we cheated in some way. I have always been heavily against drugs in any sport, mostly because i believe that those who excel with no "help" are the real champions of their respective codes. Essendon deserves everything they cop, but to be honest i still reckon they will get off lightly somehow. I have the smallest amount of sympathy for the players, although i still do agree they should take more responsibility for what has happened. The biggest farce by a country mile through all this crap has to be the way the supporters have carried on and blamed everyone and everything EXCEPT their club, and for this they deserve ZERO sympathy. My best mate goes for the bombers and i must admit he's been fairly disappointed in Essendon through-out it all, but still he can't bring himself to agree that it's not mostly a media beat up, and Hird isn't the golden-boy he wants to believe he is. I want the club to cop it hard, but i don't want to see players suspended for any long amount of time (this doesnt mean we should have sympathy for them). I think when everything comes out, some of the players themselves will want to leave the team even if they don't get suspensions, purely because they will feel like they have been betrayed (rightly or wrongly).

In conclusion, F**K EM.

How many do you think would come if they held the penalty announcement at the G? Set up a stage in the middle. Leave the Captain and Coach until last. Tell Jobe to bring his Brownlow. It can then be followed by his lap around the MCG - backwards!

Reckon that would be huge. Probably rival the granny!