The Clayton Oliver Statistical Analysis Thread

Is that why youre posting online? So you can feel relevant?

Why single him out? Is Marto not allowed to have an opinion on a contentious issue because he played cricket and not footy? Its not like hes come from another country and has no idea about the sport. It looked like a thousand other dives in soccer and he drew an astute comparison to Olivers antics.

Mate, your giving one of the softer cricketers of our golden era a bit too much credit by calling his comparison 'astute'... honestly.

A few wins and a kid with a good stat line and Dees fans turn into the most arrogant tossers in the league. As many have already pointed out, you'd think the last decade would have taught them some level of humility.

Before the season started the majority here, myself included, were buoyant about their improvement and happy to see them succeed. Fast forward to now and it's the complete opposite.

And we don't care. Rather be disliked than patronised and pitied.

Don't even bring the Viney one into it. He clearly went for the footy. One thing about Jack Viney is that he plays he ball and if you get in the way you may get hurt.
No he didn't. He lined Hurn up and revenge crushed him. He's very good at making hits look like plays on the ball. Reckon he watched a lot of Hodge.

The best way to get revenge, fairly.

Mate, your giving one of the softer cricketers of our golden era a bit too much credit by calling his comparison 'astute'... honestly.

Is your ability to play cricket what determines your right to comment on this issue? Not sure why the Melbourne faithful are taking pot shots at Martin. Have a bit of respect mate.

I'd like to see you and Oliver compete for the same ball.

Clearly he shouldnt have exaggerated the contact, I'd like him to not do it - but it's not like he does it every game like other players.

And clearly he was hit.

What relevance does this have to the argument but I have played footy and done other stuff where I have had broken bones for nothing else than competing and training with mates and if Oliver was in my way like with Viney well so be it. I would probably come off second best but I would not drop like a soft piece of butter from a tickle on the chin. If everyone including Oliver started to show some honesty this thread would be done and dusted.

For those that are saying he didn't flop and that his flop/medical report didn't stitch up Schofield then look at this pic of the Parker incident. This was graded as careless to the body rather than intentional and high. The difference? Baguley wasn't weak and didn't drop like a sack of spuds and then try to dig himself out of the embarrassing hole he dug for himself with a medical report saying he had a sore chin. It's also astounding how the MRP can grade Parker's so differently to Schofields in the same week. Olivers medical report must have made for interesting reading.

Attachments

• IMG_6421.PNG
    IMG_6421.PNG
    110.1 KB · Views: 9
Hahaha wow this thread has taken an interesting turn!

The flop was ugly IMO but you know what I liked? The fact he came out after half time and beat his tagger to rack up 20 odd possessions and won a hard ball that resulted in the winning goal. I'll take that.

Did it look shit? Yes. Is hanging a 30 game player out to dry the way to deal with this diving "epidemic"? Hmmmm seems reasonable.

Also Lindsay Thomas comparisons haha wtf Oliver has already won 100 hard balls and took one dive. Lindsay may have won one hardball but took 100 dives. Just don't.

For those that are saying he didn't flop and that his flop/medical report didn't stitch up Schofield then look at this pic of the Parker incident. This was graded as careless to the body rather than intentional and high. The difference? Baguley wasn't weak and didn't drop like a sack of spuds and then try to dig himself out of the embarrassing hole he dug for himself with a medical report saying he had a sore chin. It's also astounding how the MRP can grade Parker's so differently to Schofields in the same week. Olivers medical report must have made for interesting reading.

This is the very bullshit that the MRP and AFL do that makes my blood boil.

Lol, he lazily threw out an arm with little force, would happen 50 times a game. Just happened to glance a little high. He won't get suspended as there was bugger all force and i doubt he was aiming for his head anyway.

Embarrassing post.

The only dog act was the pathetic flop
So what do you think of the suspension? :D

I'd say your post was the embarrassing one.

Don't get me wrong, I hated the dive and don't think the contact warranted the resulting spill but I also don't have any sympathy for this pricks plight. May have only brushed him but threw it with the intention of collecting him so stiff sh*t.
Don't wanna get rubbed out? Guess what - don't throw one because if you DO happen to make (slight or severe) contact, you're going to go.
Spare me the players conduct - where was that when 2 Carlton blokes went down like sacks of sh*t then played the next week and we lost two blokes? More contact I agree but the MRP is a dead set lottery so why even put yourself in there with a chance to lose a week or two?
lol club said it was a soft hit, but the MRP called it intentional, but the players code is dead. yeah will, you putz, the players code is dead, so is any chance of you being looked upon as a clean player.

A dive gets schofield rubbed out for a week yet viney concussing our captain with a hip to the head leaving him in doubt for next week doesn't even get looked at... Something smells at AFL house..
The umps gave you a massively soft run on Saturday night you won the free kick count by 9 and were paid dubious fifties. Hurn injured Vineys shoulder (which the rest of your players then targeted) so he can have no complaints about getting cleaned up in a contest. And again, the spectacle of WC fans complaining about the umpires is beyond satire

I notice a lot of people in the media, Carey and grant Thomas for example saying the Melbourne doctors have made up the report, if I was the MFC Doctor I wouldn't be impressed with someone calling out my integrity as a doctor and would be looking at my options on that 1, it's a dangerous road some people are traveling down

I think they have a point. Im stunned a medical report was even made over such minimal contact. Ridiculous.

The guy got 90 odd not out in the World Cup final, with a broken finger.
Soft is one thing he isn't, think your giving your opinion too much credit;)

The doctor would do well to keep quiet. Wouldn't want to bring anymore attention to the fabricated report.
You'd want to be very careful with posts like this. They could be seen as defamatory and BF would be liable.

A few wins and a kid with a good stat line and Dees fans turn into the most arrogant tossers in the league. As many have already pointed out, you'd think the last decade would have taught them some level of humility.

Before the season started the majority here, myself included, were buoyant about their improvement and happy to see them succeed. Fast forward to now and it's the complete opposite.
Oh no. Anything but that.

Of all the horrible things to come out of this, a random Richmond flog no longer being happy if we succeed would have to be the worst.

The doctor would do well to keep quiet. Wouldn't want to bring anymore attention to the fabricated report.
Fabricated eh? Our club doctors did a stand up job helping Hoges with his cancer diagnosis and helping him recover so quickly from it, questioning their professional integrity is floggish and potentially libellous