Analysis The Coach – Simon 'Standard Practice' Goodwin: It's time to go (for real this time)

How do you reckon Fullarton feels after the FH's press conference?
I hope he feels embarrassed, if he can't win hitouts at VFL level then **** him.

Yeah that's the part that interests me. Hints that Goody and Tim Lamb aren't on the same page...
He's finally said something interesting in his press conference! Have to agree with him too. Verrall isn't ready(although surely he would have been better than Petty), and Fullerton is just shit. The club f*d up trading in Grundy. Should have got Meek or someone similar not expecting to be #1 ruck immediately and who was still capable of filling in when needed. Fullerton was never the answer. Bizarre signing in reality. Because he's a poor ruck and isn't a very good forward either.

Don't think he slagged off anyone did he?
I don’t think much of Fullerton, but to say he can’t win hit outs at VFL level was also not true . Anyway it’s about time Goodwin was put under the microscope by the media for his selections.

I don't think the media really care because the club selections have been truly bizarre at times for a number of years. It's more to do with list management IMO. We didn't bother replacing Grundy with a ruckman and basically went into the season with Gawn and Verrall as our rucks brigade. Bizarre really.

It's pretty simple, you trade someone in with what they could be in mind. If their form isn't any good in the VFL or they haven't worked on the things you need them to work on, they don't deserve a game.

Fullarton clearly wasn't in good enough form at VFL or training to warrant a position in the team. They obviously brought him over thinking he could step up in that situation, but he wasn't in a position to.

It's pretty simple, you trade someone in with what they could be in mind. If their form isn't any good in the VFL or they haven't worked on the things you need them to work on, they don't deserve a game.

Fullarton clearly wasn't in good enough form at VFL or training to warrant a position in the team. They obviously brought him over thinking he could step up in that situation, but he wasn't in a position to.
Seems like we did the same thing with Grundy. Is it that we're totally recruiting the wrong players, or that the coaches can't do their job properly?

Unless they are Oliver then they get all the excuses in the world to display poor form and not work on anything

And finally , if the coach doesn’t rate Fullerton, then why the hell drag him over to Perth to sit in the stands ? Actually I don’t care anymore while Goodwin is the coach .
Yeah I didn't get that either, why name him as an emergency if you dont think hes up to it. lol

Fair enough but that doesn’t explain the decision to take another forward plodder in Kentfield over Brynn Teakle a 203cm 23 year old with AFL ruck experience in the midyear draft.

What was the point of taking Kentfield when even Jefferson and Schache can’t get a run in the firsts.

Fair enough but that doesn’t explain the decision to take another forward plodder in Kentfield over Brynn Teakle a 203cm 23 year old with AFL ruck experience in the midyear draft.

What was the point of taking Kentfield when even Jefferson and Schache can’t get a run in the firsts.
Because we thought he was better.. how hard is that to workout

Looks heaps better with his 5 disposals in the VFL while our firsts got smashed by not having a ruckman.
Yeah nah that bloke not even good enough to get a game for north is a superstar though what a massive miss!

Micho the living definition of those hindsight Melbourne draft articles. 100% if we had drafted teakle hed be sooking why we took another ruck when we already had Verrall and Fullerton and talking about the super prospect Kentfield at North

No one in their right mind can understand why Josh Schache and Tom Fullarton were brought to the club. see the roar.

Micho the living definition of those hindsight Melbourne draft articles. 100% if we had drafted teakle hed be sooking why we took another ruck when we already had Verrall and Fullerton and talking about the super prospect Kentfield at North
Drafting backup rucks so we can trot one out when we dont have Gawn for meaningless games in 2024 > Drafting the guy who we think could turn into something more valuable in the future and might be taken in the National draft.

Analysis The Coach – Simon 'Standard Practice' Goodwin: It's time to go (for real this time)