News The Curious Case of Kane Cornes

Excellent post about the difference between Brett and Kane's situations.

I realise that it is probably more Chad and Graham's doing in Kane's case, but there has been absolutely no sooking from Brett's corner all year, no complaining about the contract offer, no discussion in the media about will he or won't he sign. He's just done his best wherever he's played, made his decision to stay, said nice things about the club and got on with it.

As you say, he's also got the chance to play for a win on a great day at AO and play a real part in the result. Hope he has a ripper season next year :thumbsu:

Let's face it, both Cornes are a cancer on our club and they need to go. More so Kane than Chad. I remember a couple of years ago when all these leaks got out of the club, it was so obvious that it was these two.

I have it on very good information that Kane is the one who leaked the 2004 GF players having to pay the 5k and being unhappy about it.

The media focus Kane is getting is in stark contrast to the decent way those around Brett seem to be handling his contract situation to date.

Here's two senior guys who clearly need to change their game - if they can - to be the best contributors they can be.

One is fully fit, famously so, the other had the injury pre-season-and-year from hell.

The fully fit bloke accumulates many efficient disposals that unfortunately also sell his team / teammates into trouble at a higher than average rate, shows little inclination to change his game. He's got "no logical reason" for not delivering, but isn't.

The guy with no preseason kicks a goal a game in his laboured "smallest KPF in the AFL" style, and at least tries to go part time mid, ready for it or not, up to it or not.

Both get dropped, both in and out of the side. One finishes the year on a genuine high, the other publicly says he's enjoying time getting a kick in the SANFL.

One is offered a rumoured reduced one year contract, and says he'd love to stay. His SA-Footy-and-club-legend father & manager, could have gone a "My Son Is Being Hard Done By" campaign in the media, but so far has lifted his head above the grubby level of the media even though the son's career hangs in the balance. No leaked numbers or confidential conversations bandied about in embarrassing attempts at 'negotiation'.

The other has a 3 year deal, yet father & brother run a media campaign (for what, exactly?) quoting salaries & confidential conversations. It could all be shut down by him telling everyone to STFU and let him focus on footy, instead of him saying how much he enjoys SANFL, but maybe he prefers the media distracted from his footy issues. Maybe being prepared to publicly embarrass Dad & Bro is not written into his contract!

Why all the fuss about one famous son with a famous father, and not the other ? While we don't have any Big Media Fish from our side, there ARE enough Port "alumni" in the local sporting media to make a fuss if they thought it was the right thing to do.

It's a tale of two footy cultures, at least in the off field responses - old school Glenelg and old school Port. Also, a tale of two old Adelaide cultures - the "big fish, our little pond" culture and the "STFU, I don't care where you come from, just get the bloody job done" culture. Kane, I reckon, is caught somewhere in between.

Great post and great observation.

On a similar theme to Portology, Ebert is quoted in the Advertiser as saying:
"I haven't heard too much of that. Dad (Russell) is my manager so he doesn't say too much," Ebert said. "I'm looking forward to having a good pre-season and doing better next year and the team doing better, that's the main thing."

Slightly different attitude to Kornes..........

Excellent post Portology.

I think in the end Kane has always tried to get the best out of himself, and even if he does feel hard done by now, he'll suck it up and try to change his game at some point over the next two seasons. As much as he says he'd love to play for Glenelg, for a 2xAA premiership player and 4 time club champion, it would hurt to be struggling to get a gig.

I feel like he'll either have a bumper preseason and hopefully go back to the 2005 model Kane next year, or will do his best to do so at some point before his contract is up. He's had some pretty harsh home truths this year and understandably feels a bit hard done by given how easy he had it under Choco, but eventually pride and the drive to play at the highest level will take over.

Noted on a sports news grab that in his end-of-season review, Kane has been told that he needs to put on 5-6kgs of muscle to be able to match it with the current mids and give him a better chance to win clearances.

He seemed OK with that.

Noted on a sports news grab that in his end-of-season review, Kane has been told that he needs to put on 5-6kgs of muscle to be able to match it with the current mids and give him a better chance to win clearances.

He seemed OK with that.

I was actually thinking this today. The one role Kane could be good at is an in and under ball winner who handballs at least as much as he kicks. If he could seriously bulk up he could play that role IMO.

The good news is Kane is a gun trainer so if they tell him to bulk up he will do it in style.

Sounds like Primus is going to really bulk up everyone. Yaaay.

So no mention of his tendency to wait behind the ball, failure to make position or shepherd, or poor decision making? Because I don't think gym work will fix any of that.

hitting the gym wont make him shut his mouth to the media either....

just on that, i just saw him on Sports Tonight talking about Chad going to GWS... once again no Port apparel to be seen....

Kane NEVER wears Port gear when he talks to the media... always in civvies

Flat out lie, he is always in Port gear. Was even in Port gear at mad monday.

The media focus Kane is getting is in stark contrast to the decent way those around Brett seem to be handling his contract situation to date......
Won't quote the whole post but it was all great, well done. Better than many analyses in the papers.

On a similar theme to Portology, Ebert is quoted in the Advertiser as saying:
"I haven't heard too much of that. Dad (Russell) is my manager so he doesn't say too much," Ebert said. "I'm looking forward to having a good pre-season and doing better next year and the team doing better, that's the main thing."

Slightly different attitude to Kornes..........

I did hear Primus talk about Brett in an interview the other day where he basically said Brett had had a shocker of a year off field with injury (knee), and some heart condition which has prevented him training for periods of time.

hitting the gym wont make him shut his mouth to the media either....

just on that, i just saw him on Sports Tonight talking about Chad going to GWS... once again no Port apparel to be seen....

Kane NEVER wears Port gear when he talks to the media... always in civvies

Have to agree with this. Sooner Kane goes the better for our club imo