Preview The evolution of our best 22 - 2016

Macrae has been told to work on forward craft - all the players you mention above were effective forward bar him last year. No sub rule means he will spend more time there.
Macrae played forward to a high level as a junior so there's some ability there, but he's only shown flashes of it at AFL level. I reckon he's got a bit of growth in him in that area. But yes, I agree that he will need to spend more time there.

Hmm after that though we don't have any KPF's at VFL level. Just blokes who ruck that can pinch hit forward.

I'd say we might look to trade in a young CHF who might not have got the opportunities at his present club but might crack our best 22 as that Nick Riewoldt push up the ground type style of CHF. Deep options we have plenty.

Although If Crameri is rubbed out we only have 3 players who can man those KPF positions. Our top line quality is good (Stringer is fantastic) and those other 2 will get better and better but I'd like another depth option as cover if either Redpath doesn't make it or injury.

But there is a very good chance we could see all four of Stringer, Boyd, Crameri and Redpath in the starting line up particularly due to Crameri and Stringers well above average mobility.
Obviously it now begs the question, how good is the supply going to be?

Dahlhaus, Wallis and Bontempelli my starting 3 in the guts. Good to know that we could switch in a completely different combination such as Liberatore, Macrae and Picken and still be bloody confident we are going to win our lion share of contested ball and clearances.

The great teams have that, a rich supply of inside distributors that don't have a let down in intensity and quality and for me that is what we are building strongly towards.

Dahlhaus to spend at least 50% game time in the middle if not more. Finds the ball and has that burst speed to clear congestion. I love him in there.

Obviously it now begs the question, how good is the supply going to be?

Think our midfield on the inside is very very strong. Bats deep in numbers and is nearly solely built on young blokes who are going to get better. Bontempelli, Libertore, Dahlhaus, Macrae, Wallis, Picken (who isn't young) and Stevens (who is also pretty handy in there) is a good starting base.

Johannisen and Hunter are the main outside users both of whom are above average users of the pill and move well (Johannisen in particular).

Suckling with be that utility who rotates through the wings and half forward like clarko positioned him in 2015.

Yep, that sounds excellent. Are you guys excited? Quietly confident you can have a big year? Keeping a lid on it?

Personally I have reasonably high expectations. We finished 5th on the ladder last season and I expect us to match that in every single way. Our midfield looks stronger with Libba and our KPD depth looks better too as well as improvement from a whole lot of kids who we have in the side. Even if someone like Matty Boyd/Dale Morris dropped off in output I expect us to progress in other areas in particular our spine both offensively and defensively.

Our ruck stocks still look woeful on paper though. Someone desperately needs to stand up in that department if we are to crack the top 4 though.

Would be very annoyed if we didn't make finals and win one.

Macrae was compared to Stevie J as a junior, so if Bev wants him to rest up forward I've got no doubt he can do it to a decent level.

Personally I have reasonably high expectations. We finished 5th on the ladder last season and I expect us to match that in every single way. Our midfield looks stronger with Libba and our KPD depth looks better too as well as improvement from a whole lot of kids who we have in the side. Even if someone like Matty Boyd/Dale Morris dropped off in output I expect us to progress in other areas in particular our spine both offensively and defensively.

Our ruck stocks still look woeful on paper though. Someone desperately needs to stand up in that department if we are to crack the top 4 though.

Would be very annoyed if we didn't make finals and win one.
Minson no good?

Again, I sincerely hope you guys have a big year. I reckon top 4 is possibly within your reach, if you have a decent run with injury etc.

I reckon people are missing the mark a bit on Dahl. I think he will still spend a lot of time in the midfield this year. I wouldn't be surprised to see Bontempelli/Wallis/Dahl as our starting centre bounce guys at the start of the year while Libba finds his feet.
I'm expecting that too, but with rotation caps, i expect him to rest down forward and cause headaches.

G'day Dogs, just finished watching a replay of our game against you in Tassie last year. We accounted for you pretty easily in the end that day, but there was great promise shown by your team. I'm fascinated to see how your forward line structures up this year, with Boyd, Crameri, Dickson and Stringer (all of whom I think played that day). How tall are all those blokes? I know Boyd is ruckman size. Will you be a little top-heavy with all those guys down there?
I sincerely hope the Dogs can get up and be a really good side this year, and play finals.
Yeah, Shame about the injuries, i was pretty keen to actually see how far off we were, i think the final margin was flattering (no offence) given we had Bont as a late out and lost Morris and Wallis in the first half.

Dickson, Crameri and Stringer are all quite agile for their heights (184, 189 and 192cm respectively) but i expect Stringer to push into the midfield alot more, and Crameri will be on the flanks. Toby McLean 180cm will be prominent down there, along with resting mids. Given our scoring power, they'll all be round the mark or so, but suspect there will be things put in place to stop the over the top rebound that caught us out so much last year.

Yeah, Shame about the injuries, i was pretty keen to actually see how far off we were, i think the final margin was flattering (no offence) given we had Bont as a late out and lost Morris and Wallis in the first half.

Dickson, Crameri and Stringer are all quite agile for their heights (184, 189 and 192cm respectively) but i expect Stringer to push into the midfield alot more, and Crameri will be on the flanks. Toby McLean 180cm will be prominent down there, along with resting mids. Given our scoring power, they'll all be round the mark or so, but suspect there will be things put in place to stop the over the top rebound that caught us out so much last year.
For some reason I thought Dickson was taller than that. Not sure why.

Hmm after that though we don't have any KPF's at VFL level. Just blokes who ruck that can pinch hit forward.

I'd say we might look to trade in a young CHF who might not have got the opportunities at his present club but might crack our best 22 as that Nick Riewoldt push up the ground type style of CHF. Deep options we have plenty.

Although If Crameri is rubbed out we only have 3 players who can man those KPF positions. Our top line quality is good (Stringer is fantastic) and those other 2 will get better and better but I'd like another depth option as cover if either Redpath doesn't make it or injury.

But there is a very good chance we could see all four of Stringer, Boyd, Crameri and Redpath in the starting line up particularly due to Crameri and Stringers well above average mobility.
Adams could play CHF if required, although i get the impression from training and hearing little bits that he is wanted down back more so.

For some reason I thought Dickson was taller than that. Not sure why.
He can play taller, has a decent leap and good pair of hands. A lot of his goals would have come from crumbing and general play though. So is dangerous at ground level and also a dead eye when it comes to set shots. Think Luke Breust (same height in fact) except probs a bit more dangerous in general play imo.

Edit: Gotta say i'm pretty keen to play you guys at Etihad this year. Should be a cracker!

He can play taller, has a decent leap and good pair of hands. A lot of his goals would have come from crumbing and general play though. So is dangerous at ground level and also a dead eye when it comes to set shots. Think Luke Breust (same height in fact) except probs a bit more dangerous in general play imo.

Edit: Gotta say i'm pretty keen to play you guys at Etihad this year. Should be a cracker!
I'll be there!

Could be the glorious old-stagers vs the up and coming new breed!

The reality that Redpath kicked more goals than Boyd is usually dealt with
by posters saying, but Redpath is older therefore he should be better
rather than saying Redpath had two reco's on his left knee so in fact did
very little in football terms for two years. Redpath in reality is doing
great things and he looks like Brock Lesnar, the position should be
Redpath's to lose on form at least.
More like swede from heartbreak ridge!

Adcock will now be elevated to senior list with him hitting across half back with suckling and Murphy moving to half forward IMO.

I know it's early.....and I haven't seen anything of him, but does Marcus Adams have a chance of playing the faux tall/mobile forward role that Crameri filled?

Will be interesting to see how we go now, pretty pissed off really, Crameri was playing some brilliant footy in the 2nd half of last year and he helps our structure a huge amount with his gut running up and down the ground. Think we need Red to take on a traditional CHF role now so he better get his tank sorted this preseason.

Even J grant would be handy right about now.

Red, Boyd, Stringer to be our starting KPF setup and McLean probably comes in as well to replace crameri. Wouldn't be throwing Adams forward just because he might be able to play a similar role to Crammers.

Bit of a loss unfortunately. Boyd and Redpath need to kick an extra 15 goals each probably.

Without Crammers, are Suckling or Adcock possibilities to fill his role ? Remembering how effective JA was when forward against us last season, and how deadly Matt S's. kick can be.

My starting forward line is now

Dahlhaus, Redpath, Suckling
Stringer, Boyd, Dickson
McLean comes to the bench or we can pick Biggs and Murph plays more a utility role.

We know have to have faith in the Boyd/Redpath duo.

Stringer becomes oh so important know. More than ever.

Preview The evolution of our best 22 - 2016