Review The Grand Final Disaster of 2017.

Two things stick in my mind

1) Walker wins a free in the corridor. Playing in front, chance for an early touch, best user of the ball in the league. Atkins flies in and tried to take the advantage with a player 1cm behind him. Holding the ball.

2) The fast break where Cameron/Knight botch a simple goal

3) Laird wins a crucial contest at half back, we rebound the footy or were going to, except Lynch's kick gets smothered.

All crucial, momentum sapping incidents in the first half. Just the sort of things that happen in games you lose.

Thats arguably 3 goals right there. Add that to our lead at QT and we probably go on to smash them.

I cant believe there has been a ~20 goal turnaround since R6 when we last played them.

We didn't play anything like we have the last few weeks. There was no intensity. Don't have potshots at individual players this was a whole team thing
The sad thing is i can't see us being better next year with smith lever and maybe Cameron gone.
Shattered

Jenkins was putrid, but Otten was worse. Even with Gov back next year it's almost not worth playing JJ unless matchups demand it.

This small forwardline thing isn't going to last forever but we need to work out what's the next trend.
The big forwards are always gonna be the best option with a couple smalls at their feet assuming the big forwards CRASH PACKS!!! which ours don’t. Their small forwards crashed packs harder than our big forwards

Like many I am sick of the AFL trying to manufacture ‘fairy tales’. It’s like they want to pass the premiership cup around to a different team each yr, starting with the teams that have waited the longest to win a premiership! And if ur team happens to be a big one in Victoria sith tradition even better. Lets hope we don’t play Saints or Melbourne in GF

Also sick of free kicks being much more forthcoming when a team is down on the scoreboard. Frees were very hard to come by in the 2nd quarter for us when the game was on the line, after the game was becoming a blowout frees seemed to flow much more easily. This has been a trend all yr as the AFL is a business driven by profits and close games bring excitement, interest and a growing fan base.

Moving forward I hope we trade Jenkins

No way you can put WC in 2015 along with Sydney 2016 and Adelaide today! The latter two got reamed by the VFL's maggotry.

Best team of the year lost - shame when it happens from a neutral perspective.
Adelaide got reamed early by the umpires but the resilience was just not there.

That said, to put West Coast in the same company as the other two was completely wrong, as you said. 2015 was the worst Grand Final performance since us in 2003, and I'm including 2007 in that.

Shitty way to end the year.
Yeah
What annoys me about all this is how much money people that live in SA has just made Victoria. We all know how much Victorians think they are better thank SA and we have just contributed to that.
they treat us like their stupider cousins or something. We've got heaps more talent then them. Victorians are so entitled and the mcg isn't even that impressive lol

Fitting that the grand final was ultimately decided by the handful of goals scored in the gaps between when Adelaide stop dominating/breaking-even and when the coaches box acknowledges that the opposition is dominating. It's been a common theme for all the losses this year (and occasions when a 10 goal lead turned into a 5 goal lead.)

The way the club fails to react to anything on game day makes me wonder how much they believe their own spin in other things. Theres a lot in the clubs rhetoric that could be interpreted as confidence in their own abilities and plans, or alternately could be an obliviousness to reality.

Adelaide got reamed early by the umpires but the resilience was just not there.

That said, to put West Coast in the same company as the other two was completely wrong, as you said. 2015 was the worst Grand Final performance since us in 2003, and I'm including 2007 in that.

We were very ordinary but not in the same league as 119.

Still cant believe we lost to these flogs. Shattered. Feel for the boys but at the same time i hate the shit sandwich they served up today. Im in a state of limbo. There is no way that richmond should have won the grand final when you look at the teams but they came to play and we didnt. Umpires were shit but when arent they.. we ****ed up. We ****ed up bad.

We were very ordinary but not in the same league as 119.
Won't turn it into a shit slinging fest but will leave it at there was a lot less ahem being dismantled by the Cats of 2007 in the absolute peak of their powers (also dismantled North by 106 in that finals series) then there was a Hawks side on the slide.

Stand by my comment.

I’m gutted. Not only for the loss, but for the amount of shit we will receive from the 18whatever flogs. Had to put up with one who I invited into my home and stirred the shit all day long. Too all my willpower not to punch his lights out. Having to listen to all the vic media flogs go on about it is going to be bearable only because I won’t be watching or reading anything to do with this match ever again.

Club has to play hardball at the trade table. Get some players with some mental fortitude and trade out all those who don’t or don’t want to be here next year.

Just gutted.

Wow. I thought I was alone.

Same here. He touched me and patted me down like a child several times and I had to act as if everything was fine. I was broken inside.

I came so close to punching out a friend today. Towards the end, maybe to his credit he realised he was being a shit bloke and stopped.

Please, we got done like a dinner pretty much all day. Hammered.

It's a bitter pill to swallow, but we choked.

Had we seized our chances like Drugs Are Bad Mackay? mentioned, the result may have been a lot different.

In clutch moments in the first half we lost almost all of them. One day on reflection you will appreciate this.

The worst thing for me is that I actually thought we would win, and I rarely ever feel like that. I felt it when we played Richmond earlier in the year. I was a bit worried that it was a day game at the MCG, where Richmond plays all the time, but I honestly thought the Crows team that beat GWS and Geelong would turn up. They would've been unbeatable. Instead the team that played North Melbourne and Melbourne turned up. I have to wonder where their heads were today.

Can't believe they couldn't withstand the pressure, knowing that it would be coming like that. Just devastated and disgusted at their lack of composure and incompetence.

You know Tigers also beat Cats and Giants comfortably!

And this is why I love and hate this league at the same time

Let this sit in all our posters minds.

If Richmond played the Cats at the Cattery in Week 1, they may have lost which would have meant we play them at AO. Not to mention we would have played a team like GWS that struggles at the G, in a grand final today.

On reflection, we should have all wanted any home MCG team to play away.

I’m gutted. Not only for the loss, but for the amount of shit we will receive from the 18whatever flogs. Had to put up with one who I invited into my home and stirred the shit all day long. Too all my willpower not to punch his lights out. Having to listen to all the vic media flogs go on about it is going to be bearable only because I won’t be watching or reading anything to do with this match ever again.

That's why you only watch the really big games with fellow supporters.

Having everyone over is what every other game is for.

Review The Grand Final Disaster of 2017.