The Great Beat-Up: The Drug Problem at West Coast *MB thread*

Re: The Great Beat-Up: The Drug Problem at West Coast

Because he brings the game into disrepute. Many people get drunk, but not many people run away from booze buses.

Grab a brain.

Because he brings the game into disrepute.
What does that even mean?

Does he stop people from watching or playing the game?

I suppose you're just concerned about the happiness of the sponsors.

Many people get drunk, but not many people run away from booze buses.
Ooohh - that must have horrified you!

Ben Cousins doesn't owe you anything. No footballer does.

Grab a brain.
You're the guy who reckons Home Improvement is the best sitcom of all time.

Just about every single journalist in footy is saying that West Coast has a problem.

What's more likely:

A) They've all had a giant teleconference and decided to tee off on the Eagles for sh|ts and giggles; or

B) There is a problem at West Coast.

Seems to be a lot of Eagles supporters who would rather believe it's some kind of consipiracy than face the fact the Daniel Kerr is a complete flog, Ben Cousins has the IQ of a peanut and Chad Fletcher's idiocy nearly cost him his life. Notwithstanding the fact they are all excellent footballers, which seems to entitle them to a slap on the wrist.

Journo's can't name their sources every time they write a story - they'd have a short lifespan in the industry if they did (just ask Roland Fishman!). Just because Hutchy, Caro, et al, don't have a stat dec from a player certifying that they put $500 up their nose each week, doesn't mean it isn't happening.

The only people who believe otherwise are one-eyed and/or naive.

Just about every single journalist in footy is saying that West Coast has a problem.

What's more likely:

A) They've all had a giant teleconference and decided to tee off on the Eagles for sh|ts and giggles; or

B) There is a problem at West Coast.

Seems to be a lot of Eagles supporters who would rather believe it's some kind of consipiracy than face the fact the Daniel Kerr is a complete flog, Ben Cousins has the IQ of a peanut and Chad Fletcher's idiocy nearly cost him his life. Notwithstanding the fact they are all excellent footballers, which seems to entitle them to a slap on the wrist.
I just want to hear some actual evidence.

You can accept the story on good faith without if you want.

WCE supporters fail once again to understand the issue.
It has nothing much to do with players getting in a bit of strife, that will always happen. What it has to do with is their fans and others surrounding the players.
In Hollywood an actor can get into the biggest strife yet his/her fan, agents etc will argue till they are black and blue that it wasn't the actor's fault but somehow had to do with the journalists, jealous people that hate them etc.
In Bombay the home of Bollywood probably the same happens.
In the West ...

In Hollywood an actor can get into the biggest strife yet his/her fan, agents etc will argue till they are black and blue that it wasn't the actor's fault but somehow had to do with the journalists, jealous people that hate them etc.
In Bombay the home of Bollywood probably the same happens.
In the West ...
I don't know what this has to do with the rest of the thread.

For the record, I am a journalist, and i live in the East, so where does that leave me?

i really dont care about this issue. as long as we keep winning footy games, all is well!

I just want to hear some actual evidence.

You can accept the story on good faith without if you want.

I'd be interested to know if you think there is any truth to the various West Coast rumours?

Personally I think the issue is whether there is a drug problem at West Coast - not whether a journalist can provide irrefutable proof of the same.

If it is happening, the lack of journalistic evidence is not where West Coast or it's supporters should be concentrating their ire.

WEST Coast last night admitted it had a minority of players who have a drug problem.

They say they are aware of "a small instance" of alcohol and drug abuse among their players.
Eagles chairman Dalton Gooding said the club had discovered the problem during the past couple of months and it had now become the board's focus to get on top of it.
"We've implemented some counselling and some training programs and some outside consultants to help us and we're not shying away from the issue," he told Channel 9's The Footy Show.
Gooding said club chief executive Trevor Nisbett had spoken to each player individually and warned them of fines and suspensions without pay if they re-offend.
He said anyone would be crazy if they didn't understand that AFL clubs were an extension of the community where gambling, depression, drug and alcohol problems existed.
"An AFL club is no different to a community so if you put your head in the sand and say there isn't those sort of problems, you're crazy," he said.
Asked how many players at West Coast had a problem with drugs, Gooding said: "A very small minority, as I said. The majority of our players are very perfect. They conduct themselves well on-field and off-field."

So it looks like Dalton Gooding is a lying over hyped media fool as well, oh hang on he's the club chairman, and isn't an admission from him basically factual evidence, no? time to put the head in the sand again.

I'd be interested to know if you think there is any truth to the various West Coast rumours?
Be specific.

Which rumour?

Personally I think the issue is whether there is a drug problem at West Coast - not whether a journalist can provide irrefutable proof of the same.
Yeah - but it's these journalists who are driving the issue.

Everyone is swallowing what the journos are saying, despite the fact none of them have prevented a shred of evidence.

more players might use drugs at WC than other clubs, maybe not, theres no way to know for sure.

one thing i do know for sure is, it doesent make a lick of difference to me who is and isnt, and which club is or isnt.

when carey was busted for ****ing somebody elses wife, the world went ****box crazy to condemn the guy. but you can be 100% sure that there was and is somebody on each team that has ****ed somebody elses wife.

its none of my business, end of story

Gunnar, please. Stop being a knob.

Cousins admitted to running away from the booze bus, Kerr admitted that he was intoxicated when he assaulted the cab driver.

Stop ignoring the facts.

So it looks like Dalton Gooding is a lying over hyped media fool as well, oh hang on he's the club chairman, and isn't an admission from him basically factual evidence, no? time to put the head in the sand again.
I've addressed this already.

Gooding said a small minority of players had an issue with drugs and alcohol.

That doesn't translate to West Coast, as a club, "having a drug problem".

The conclusions that have been drawn are far more sweeping and controversial than any Gooding actually said.

To say West Coast "have a drug problem" suggests something entrenched and widespread. As far as I can see, Gooding did not admit to that.

Gunnar, please. Stop being a knob.

Cousins admitted to running away from the booze bus, Kerr admitted that he was intoxicated when he assaulted the cab driver.

Stop ignoring the facts.
I accept that those events occurred.

But I don't see how either incident points to West Coast having a problem with illegal substances.

I don't know what this has to do with the rest of the thread.

For the record, I am a journalist, and i live in the East, so where does that leave me?
You follow WCE, so chances are you're a West Coast Supporter first and foremost when it comes to your players.

Find me the post where I said he owes me something.
Your high-and-mighty outrage about Cousins "bringing the game into disrepute" suggests that he has some obligation to those who watch the sport.

If you don't think that obligation exists, then why do you care that Cousins likes to get boozed?

You follow WCE, so chances are you're a West Coast Supporter first and foremost when it comes to your players.
Sure - but your little spiel about fans reflexively blaming journalists falls kinda flat when you consider that I am one.

Your high-and-mighty outrage about Cousins "bringing the game into disrepute" suggests that he has some obligation to those who watch the sport.

If you don't think that obligation exists, then why do you care that Cousins likes to get boozed?

Like I said before, heaps of people get drunk, but only morons run away from booze buses like pussies.

What does that have to do with evidence of West Coast's so-called drug problem?

Or have you given up trying to make a coherent argument?

Gunnar,

My question still stands ??

Originally Posted by Gunnar Longshanks
I expect a degree of substantiation before stories are reported.

I'm a journalist - I do this everyday. You can't just report something you heard because it's interesting.

Gunnar, Being in the industry as a Journalist whats your view on Andrew Rule ? From what ive heard he is very highly regarded (Award Winning ) and has been doing it for a longtime. And is not a sports reporter.

Sure - but your little spiel about fans reflexively blaming journalists falls kinda flat when you consider that I am one.
Go back to the threads about the talkback radio shows in Perth after Cousins did a runner.
As far as yourself being a journalist what has that got to do with it? You could be the Pope and it still wouldn't matter. ;)

What does that have to do with evidence of West Coast's so-called drug problem?

Or have you given up trying to make a coherent argument?

Because you asked me why I have a problem with Cousins getting boozed.

You're the one who went off topic.

Gunnar, Being in the industry as a Journalist whats your view on Andrew Rule ? From what ive heard he is very highly regarded (Award Winning ) and has been doing it for a longtime. And is not a sports reporter.
I don't have a detailed knowledge of him.

I know that he's pretty highly-decorated.