Mega Thread The hunt for a new senior coach

Who will be coaching Port Adelaide in 2013? (3rd Poll)

Who would want to go to Adelaide to coach guys?

Trevor-Marmalade.jpg

Tell me that **** isn't still on tv?

Please...

"LOL Gary Ayres would fit right in with dat mullet LOL".
Uh, yeah Sammy. I heard he brought it back from his first stint in Adelaide.

541031-marmalade.jpg

*picture inserted for added lulz*

Listening to sen is doing my head in, the anti port bull is coming from every outlet these days. Things need to change.

"Would Matthew Knights or Gary Ayres even want the job, does anyone want to coach port"

... coming from the same person that on Tuesday said Eade had spent several hours presenting and was very impressed with the setup.

Further to my previous post:

Denham (who originally said Eade talking to us) has now got no idea whats going on. He's taking the line that Port are back to square 1, thinks Ratten may have pulled out as he didnt want to inherit assistant coaches. Clubs in turmoil, no-one wants to go there etc. Thinks we need to start process again and reinterview younger guys etc and no longer target experienced coach. On several occasions he said he really doesn't know.

It was absolutely apparent that he's got no new info, and is drawing conclusions from whats in the media.
Its a classic example of how rumours get into the media, some will listen to what he said now and take for gospel that we have started process again, and everyone has knocked us back.

Too true.

I also find it outrageous how these journos change their story so quickly and that the public doesn't hold them to account.
Shades of, "We were always at war with Eastasia".

I should add that even though this stuff is being discussed on SEN, their half hourly news bulletin is running with the headline that there are reports that Port has appointed their next senior coach and they are just waiting for an official announcement.

If the above were true then I think the following would be the case:

If its Cameron or Eade, it could take up to another week or so to be announced, as no announcement for either will occur while their teams are still in the finals.
If its a Hinkley/Ayres/Burns/Sumich type it could be today but more likely to be early to mid next week assuming paperwork got done as they wouldn't have top level finals commitments.
If its Bickley we could be waiting until hell freezes over.

Shades of, "We were always at war with Eastasia".

Perfect analogy there. The media often rely upon our short memories.

An alternative explanation for the decline of traditional media is that it is now easier to call them on their bullshit. Where you previously had to go to a library and search the archives, anyone now can quickly check how any one particular journo has changed his/her story.

It was clear he was saying he didn't know, as such he's drawing the conclusion that we are in disarray. Perhaps because he doesn't know the implication initially should be that we are playing things out behind closed doors and not leaking.

Instead of drawing hopeless conclusions, maybe Denham should just shut the **** up? How about he try that. Shut the **** up.

Further to my previous post:

Denham (who originally said Eade talking to us) has now got no idea whats going on. He's taking the line that Port are back to square 1, thinks Ratten may have pulled out as he didnt want to inherit assistant coaches. Clubs in turmoil, no-one wants to go there etc. Thinks we need to start process again and reinterview younger guys etc and no longer target experienced coach. On several occasions he said he really doesn't know.

It was absolutely apparent that he's got no new info, and is drawing conclusions from whats in the media.
Its a classic example of how rumours get into the media, some will listen to what he said now and take for gospel that we have started process again, and everyone has knocked us back.

It was the same on before the bounce last night, no one wants to be at the club blah blah.

Media is a joke beating a drum to their own agenda

What do people think about Port installing two coaches, Roy Laird and Nathan Bassett. There is no doubt that Roy has the senior SANFL experience and that Bassett has the youth, drive and AFL playing experience. As I understand that Laird has a fear of flying, Bassett could attend the games in WA, NSW, Tassie and QLD. I reckon Laird could drive over or get the Greyhound to the Melb/ Geelong games. Having two coaches might also give Laird the opportunity to persue his business interests.

I am unsure how the two coaches would coordinate duties, but I am sure it would come together...

Numerous articles "betting suspended - port have chosen coach"

Sometimes I wonder if my posts ARE their source

It's happened before once with MAJOR consequences (not AFL - was NBA)

Numerous articles "betting suspended - port have chosen coach"

Sometimes I wonder if my posts ARE their source

It's happened before once with MAJOR consequences (not AFL - was NBA)

Did anyone hear what Tredders had to say about it this morning on MMM? He tweeted last night that he would give his take on the situation on the brekky show this morning...