The League's most over-rated player?

Re: Most overated players in the comp?

Buddy by a mile, cant kick properly. Hes a great forward but hes kicking compared to someone like browns or fevs is s*!t house.

His kicking may be shit but he is leading the goal kicking. Imagine if he could kick straight. :eek:

Disagree with the Adam Goodes call. The guy is so good it is ridiculous. I'd give my left nut to have him at the Tigers.

Agree with the Jake King call. He is a great luxury to have in a top team but tough to carry at the Tiges. I love the agression and the ability to break the lines and he probably just makes it into my best 22 for that reason but I'd love to get to the stage where we didn't need him.

Also disagree with the Buddy call. For me he is underrated. The only thing that would worry me is what the courts won't let us talk about.

For mine the overrated players are very few. There's more underrated players than overrated. If i had to pick someone I'd say Rocca but that's only cos his best days are past him.

Sorry I'm gonna say your username...

Kicks alot of junk goals and also is an awful kick.

He'll be better once Rocca moves on I think....

That's alright i just think Dale Thomas is a very overrated player,
He has a massive hype, which he believes

I agree with a lot of people so far
ADAM GOODES
dale thomas and alan didak
daniel kerr
brett burton

Something your suggesting their?

I reckon it's a nice name, Danyle Pearce, good footy name IMHO.
It's a shocking modification.

You might want to work on your own spelling there too.

Buddy by a mile, cant kick properly. Hes a great forward but hes kicking compared to someone like browns or fevs is s*!t house.
Lucky for other sides in the comp he cant kick;)

Matt Maguire
Andrew Wells
Daniel Pierce

and to a degree kerr. Because he cant deal with a decent tag, yet people pumped him up to be in the top 3 in the AFL?? :p
They are right but i dont think Pearce is highly rated anymore.
He was good in 06 but now...:thumbsdown:

There are a few to name but I would like to see other peoples thoughts.

Chris Judd ATM has to be very overated. He was great all them years at WCE but after that groin sugery just doesnt look like a star. If you started watching footy now and saw him, you would think of him as ordinary.

Adam Goodes for me is a bit overated.. that might cause some conflict.

Daniel Cross would be great if he didint HANDBALL so much. Doesnt that fustrate you Bulldogs fans?

Buddy Franklin is too overated. Obviously Gablett is the one and only condender of the Brownlow this year. If he doesnt win it.. something is defiently wrong. Buddy cant kick for shits sometimes. He would be the best if he could kick.

Franklin is one of the best kicks in the AFL. There aren't many footballers around who can hit team mates on the chest, laces out, with low trajectory, 60m kicks like Buddy Franklin can.

Franklin shoots for goal whenever he gets the chance, just like Gary Ablett Sr used to do. Some of these are goals, many of them are wide of the mark. These attempts inflate his "behinds" stats.

Franklin also has occasional games where he misses a number of set shots, but in most games, he is a reliable kick for goal. His set shot accuracy in 2008 is roughly the same as Fevola and Bradshaw. Another thing to consider is that many of Franklin's set shots are from 50m and near the boundary line.

-------------------------------------

Footballers like Goodes, Judd and Franklin are not overrated. They're among the best footballers in the game. It's only natural the media & Joe Public are going to fawn over them.

Overrated footballers are the guys like Jeff Farmer, who live on past glories, but have now become liabilities to their team.

Ruckmen are overrated. Hit outs don't mean a lot. You need someone in there competing, but the best rucks like Cox, Lade and Sandilands don't influence games as much as people give them credit for.

Gun youngsters are overrated. Rhys Palmer is a good kid, but the commentators go way over the top in their assessment of his performances. Same with Kreuzer, Murphy, Gibbs, Ryder, etc. They all have ability. They will be good, but they're not there yet. Murphy is stepping up, but he's still not quite the A-grader that some people make out.

Many of Geelong's stars are overrated. They're good footballers, but if you took any of them out of their dominant team environment and placed them at Melbourne or Freo, most people would probably think less of them. The success of their team enhances their reputations as individuals.

Of the champion footballers, Daniel Kerr is possibly the most overrated. For a while there, he was built up as Judd's equal, people said he was Top 3 in the AFL. But now he's copping the hard tags, he is finding life much tougher. Champs like Harvey, Buckley and Crawford were able to deal with that pressure, but Kerr has yet to show that he can on a weekly basis. I love watching him play.

Shaun Burgoyne is a gun, no doubt about it, but the consistency of his performances don't quite match the hype. He has the tools. He played great in 2006. Other than that, he's been flashy, sporadically brilliant, but he's not at Judd's level as some people have suggested.

There are a few to name but I would like to see other peoples thoughts.

Chris Judd ATM has to be very overated. He was great all them years at WCE but after that groin sugery just doesnt look like a star. If you started watching footy now and saw him, you would think of him as ordinary.

Adam Goodes for me is a bit overated.. that might cause some conflict.

Daniel Cross would be great if he didint HANDBALL so much. Doesnt that fustrate you Bulldogs fans?

Buddy Franklin is too overated. Obviously Gablett is the one and only condender of the Brownlow this year. If he doesnt win it.. something is defiently wrong. Buddy cant kick for shits sometimes. He would be the best if he could kick.

u are a flog.........

Judd = only had surgery for his OP a few months ago, WON us like 3 games with great play in the final quarter:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Goodes = Gee, winning 2 brownlows really makes this guy look bad. :cool:

I dont like biddy personally but I'm going in to bat for him. Hes winning the Coleman by a mile. hes kiked bags of goals on heaps of occasions this season. what more could you want from your premier forward

In conclusion u are stuffed in the head :cool:

Adam Goodes by a country mile.

Definitely over-rated, but a superstar of the competition.

Just to prove how over-rated he is, just compare him to Chad Cornes, both play identical games, and both are capable of controlling a game in a similiar manner, yet Goodes has been gifted two Brownlows for it.

Although, I'll admit that Goodes is/was capable of being a great ruckman, but Cornes is a far better defender.

I never understood what was so good about Adam Yze, he's supposed to be a skilled user of the ball, yet he continually turns it over.

Bryce Gibbs and Marc Murphy ditto.

u are a flog.........

Judd = only had surgery for his OP a few months ago, WON us like 3 games with great play in the final quarter:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Goodes = Gee, winning 2 brownlows really makes this guy look bad. :cool:

I dont like biddy personally but I'm going in to bat for him. Hes winning the Coleman by a mile. hes kiked bags of goals on heaps of occasions this season. what more could you want from your premier forward

In conclusion u are stuffed in the head :cool:
Have I said that Judd is a bad player.
No
I have just said he is overated.. which he is.
Goodes is a superstar of the comp but he is highly overated and for Buddy... he is gold. Love this guy but he is highly overated by people saying he is the best player in the comp.

Gazza is.

End of Story.

never really came to the form people pumped him up to being able to play
I wasn't aware players retired at 22?

For me Stokes from Geelong. Against us got towelled up by a 2nd gamer and if you took him out of a forward line that contained Johnson, Chapman, Mooney etc ,he would just be another outside average goalsneak.

Have I said that Judd is a bad player.
No
I have just said he is overated.. which he is.
Goodes is a superstar of the comp but he is highly overated and for Buddy... he is gold. Love this guy but he is highly overated by people saying he is the best player in the comp.

Gazza is.

End of Story.

I think this story might as well continue....

How is Goodes over-rated. I really want some PROOF not just opinions. the bloke is a bloody good player.

How can you pick between Buddy and Gazza.....Cleary Ablett has been bloody brilliant this season (a dead set understatement just couldn't think of a word to describe him) but they play diferent roles and diferent positions so it's like picking a banana or an apple!

I wasn't aware players retired at 22?

For me Stokes from Geelong. Against us got towelled up by a 2nd gamer and if you took him out of a forward line that contained Johnson, Chapman, Mooney etc ,he would just be another outside average goalsneak.
Stokes is a lock in our side and an incredible story. I'd take him ahead of half of the premiership side. Absolute gun, you obviously haven't watched enough of Geelong. I'd almost go and say he's one of the most underrated in the comp.

Daniel Wells...if i hear a commentator use the word 'Potential' & Wells in the same sentence ever again I will friggin spew.

Enough with the 'potential', you've been in the system long enough so either start dominating games consistently or f*ck off.

Stokes is a lock in our side and an incredible story. I'd take him ahead of half of the premiership side. Absolute gun, you obviously haven't watched enough of Geelong. I'd almost go and say he's one of the most underrated in the comp.
Exactly, him and mooney have the best understanding, they both provide so many assists for goals.
Clearly ignorant of how Geelong rely on Stokes for marking inside 50s.

The League's most over-rated player?