The MCC are Elitist Bafoons

The MCC has only allowed entry to the ground for Members for as long as I can remember.
Initially this was to curb vandalism, now there are far greater security issues to worry about.
As a site that holds 50,000 people on a regular basis, they don't allow people to just roll up and wander in.

This has nothing to do with being elite. Although it must be said that MCC Members actually are.

In relation to the bar and people there getting tanked, recently the MCC gave the full members a vote to see if they would rather have a full bar with glass beer pints or have plastic cups per usual in the general ad. A resolution was passed that most members would rather drink in the bar rather than in the outer. Pretty good I reckon, eliminates complete moronic tossers who get leathered in amongst everyone else and ruins it for most people. This way, it's best for both worlds.

And besides, every club, encluding Melbourne rarely trains on the MCG and when they do, it's not very likely that you'll get to see it.

We're not elitist...We're just very protective of the best sport facility in the world. Sure, some of the stuff I don't agree with, but it's still a sweet deal if you're a footy, cricket and now soccer fan. It's great

Adelaide Hawk said:
I was going to make that point. It may have been a closed training session as they are in Melbourne. The fault may be that of Port Adelaide, not the MCC.

The response to the email specifically stated it was the MCC stopping it, and considering I asked the closed session question in my email I think it’s safe to assume it’s the MCC not Port.

Buckley 4 Pope said:
I really worry about anyone who can't find something better to do than to watch football training. The MCC are doing you a favour. Go to a park and smell some roses, read a book, watch a movie, help an old lady across the street or something......but Football training?????????? .......... Whoa!!!!!!

Normally, yeah I agree, I rarely went to training in Adelaide. But considering I live in Melbourne and I don’t get to see Port that much I thought it was a good opportunity (especially as I work, literally 100m away from the G, and any time out of the office is a good thing). Only for it to turn into another example of insurance companies tearing at the fabric of footy (if indeed it is a case of litigation fear)

morell said:
The response to the email specifically stated it was the MCC stopping it, and considering I asked the closed session question in my email I think it’s safe to assume it’s the MCC not Port.
What if you were planting a bomb with a timer set to explode on Grand Final day?
Worse, what if you were going to touch something, and get your grubby Port supporting mitts on it?

Or more likely, what if you were going to steal something while no-one was looking?

The Port fans' reputation doesn't only extend to the SA border you know.

Mero said:
What if you were planting a bomb with a timer set to explode on Grand Final day?
Worse, what if you were going to touch something, and get your grubby Port supporting mitts on it?

Or more likely, what if you were going to steal something while no-one was looking?

The Port fans' reputation doesn't only extend to the SA border you know.

:thumbsu:

Morell said:
In terms of liability, I understand that, I would be happy to undergo any security measure deemed necessary.

morell said:
Port Adelaide are training at the MCG today. I work within a stones throw of the ground and I thought I would wander over and have a look.

Tried to find out what time its was on from the PAFC and I got this response.

It's a shame that the players have become so unreachable that you cant watch your team train these days.

I realise this is not the players or the clubs fault, and most times you can go and watch training, but fair dinkum MCC, get you head out of where the sun dont shine.

Has it always been like this? What used to happen to Melbourne when they trained at the G?

shut up, S.A feral....you are just jealous because we get to walk up to the gate on Boxing Day :D

morell said:
Normally, yeah I agree, I rarely went to training in Adelaide. But considering I live in Melbourne and I don’t get to see Port that much I thought it was a good opportunity (especially as I work, literally 100m away from the G, and any time out of the office is a good thing). Only for it to turn into another example of insurance companies tearing at the fabric of footy (if indeed it is a case of litigation fear)

I hardly went to training when I was playing.

Timmy from Thomastown said:
The only thing elite about MCC Members is being on a waiting list for 25+ years. That, and owning at least one shirt with a collar.
And your average Port supporter has one shirt with sleeves.
And that's flanellette, and the only reason it has sleeves is that it's a handy place to "keep ya smokes".

Cyclops said:
Is that why they're called the "D's"?

Discipline, Tony!

:D :D
Haven't listened to Coodabeens over the net for a couple of years. Is Peter still making calls to the boys? Lots of discipline issues with the AFL players to talk about these days.

Security, insurance excuses are just B/S. Even the local pet shop will use that one these days. Geez even the dumbest security bloke can tell if you have a bomb in a bag or strapped around your waist.

MarkT said:
The people that run the MCC are goat sacrificers, secret handshakers and mothball smelling would be B&D exponents if they were up to it.

:D

You would think at the "peoples" MCG they would let you in for training. They have public liability insurance so what's the problem. Poor form I say.

Come to AAMI stadium and watch your heroes from close up no problem. I guess SA has always been more progressive than Victoria ;)

H Dolphin said:
He means what we think he means. He has a self effacing sense of humour. A pity more posters don't.
Yeah good call! :thumbsu: There's been a few fools taking pot shots in this thread and throughout it all Morell has been polite and stuck to the subject. His point is also an entirely reasonable one as many here seem to agree.

morell said:
fair dinkum MCC, get your head out of where the sun dont shine.

Has it always been like this? What used to happen to Melbourne when they trained at the G?

Dear Morrell,

You say you live nearby to the MCG, but on my frequent walks around East Melbourne with my two beloved Golden Retrievers, I have never had dubious pleasure of making your acquaintance, so one can only presume you are from "the other side of the tracks".

Though comparisons are odious and no doubt lost on your plebeian mind, let me venture forth the opinion that had I attempted to gain entry to the Melbourne Concert Hall during rehearsals for Carmen's Rigoletto, I would expect to be given similar short shrift.

I applaud the Cricket Club's actions in denying entry to vulgarians such as yourself. More's the pity that this can't be extended to the actual match day itself.

In order to pay for the new stand, our club has been forced to accept more of the "riff raff" into the fold and widen our membership base. So it is churlish of you to suggest that we are being unaccommodating to the general public.

Decline in general standards notwithstanding, I look forward to further patronage of the "old lady", the Committee Room scones at 3/4 time have been prominent in my dreams of late.

My advice to you is know your place. Keep to it. Be belligerent if you must, but try to remember that there are far more important concerns in this world than your idolatry of the Port Power.

Sincerely,
Dr 'Chewy' Montague IV

Chewy said:
Dear Morrell,

You say you live nearby to the MCG, but on my frequent walks around East Melbourne with my two beloved Golden Retrievers, I have never had dubious pleasure of making your acquaintance, so one can only presume you are from "the other side of the tracks".

Though comparisons are odious and no doubt lost on your plebeian mind, let me venture forth the opinion that had I attempted to gain entry to the Melbourne Concert Hall during rehearsals for Carmen's Rigoletto, I would expect to be given similar short shrift.

I applaud the Cricket Club's actions in denying entry to vulgarians such as yourself. More's the pity that this can't be extended to the actual match day itself.

In order to pay for the new stand, our club has been forced to accept more of the "riff raff" into the fold and widen our membership base. So it is churlish of you to suggest that we are being unaccommodating to the general public.

Decline in general standards notwithstanding, I look forward to further patronage of the "old lady", the Committee Room scones at 3/4 time have been prominent in my dreams of late.

My advice to you is know your place. Keep to it. Be belligerent if you must, but try to remember that there are far more important concerns in this world than your idolatry of the Port Power.

Sincerely,
Dr 'Chewy' Montague IV

Tosser

The MCC are Elitist Bafoons