Bjo187
- Apr 30, 2020
- AFL Club
- Essendon
There are more than 10 competitive men’s teams?
The most even season in history says yes.
There are more than 10 competitive men’s teams?
You aren’t the worst poster on this site, but you are not far off it. Continually factually incorrect, and opinions that are geared to the Bay but allowed to be posted on here.
The Brisbane Lions have been the third-highest recipient of variable funding since 2012 (when GWS entered the competition), ahead of St Kilda, which was clearly the most heavily funded Victorian club for the 11 years until 2023, when they were overtaken on the funding ladder by North Melbourne.
Collingwood, Hawthorn, West Coast and Geelong, received at least $100 million less than expansion teams GWS and Gold Coast over the decade from 2012 to 2021, while the Saints received $17 million more than the next Victorian club, the Western Bulldogs, over those 10 years. But the Saints have had a reduction in variable funding since 2022, having wiped off most of a massive debt that was incurred in the years after their disastrous move to Seaford and then return to Moorabbin, which required major funding.
The Lions still have the highest debt in the competition, close to $10 million, a large share of that is owed to the AFL.
No wonder there was so much bleating from the Lions about the $1million during the week. Desperate need.
There are a bunch of men on Hawthorn's list who played <5 (or even zero) games this year. They will get the same prizemoney as Sicily etc.How is it that the women get the same amount as the men and the coaches, when they have a season that isn't even half the length, that only has about 10 teams that are even competitive in the league ? It's like the tennis 3 sets v 5 sets, but even worse. If it were the other way around all hell would break loose.
There are a bunch of men on Hawthorn's list who played <5 (or even zero) games this year. They will get the same prizemoney as Sicily etc.
As a protector of poor oppressed male millionaire athletes, would you like to sook about that too?
The competition built on 100+ years of history which current male players had no hand in. Go away, incel.The afl players pay matches the revenue the men's competition produces,
If only Brisbane beat Hawthorn in the one game they played they would have the trophy
- No premierships in 2024
- Worst guernsey in the comp
- Women’s team Brisbane B
Give them the million ffs
The competition built on 100+ years of history which current male players had no hand in. Go away, incel.
Equality isn't about a group starting at the bottom because they have been kept down the bottom for significantly longer than another. Its about getting them up as equal as possible as quickly as possible.Which for about 100 years the players had to have a part time job to compensate for. Only 16 percent of the women's players now have a job outside of footy, only 7 years in, not very fair when the men's game had to do it for nearly 100 years. If you're not into equality that's fine though.
If only your teams weren’t given cruisey draws. It’s pretty much a most improved payment.If only Brisbane beat Hawthorn in the one game they played they would have the trophy
Mate get over it. Those are the rules and hawthorn are theIf only your teams weren’t given cruisey draws. It’s pretty much a most improved payment.
You’re right it’s a bit of a jokeWell done to the Hawks. Wish there was a finals version for this as well, it's far too much of an award for winning essentially the minor premiership.
Sure is watching ure reaction mateYou’re right it’s a bit of a joke
What does 'equal' look like for the AFLW in relation to the AFL, in your eyes?Equality isn't about a group starting at the bottom because they have been kept down the bottom for significantly longer than another. Its about getting them up as equal as possible as quickly as possible.
And Brisbane didn't? Brisbane played in the AFLW 1st, 4th, 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 14th, 15th, 17th and 18th.If only your teams weren’t given cruisey draws. It’s pretty much a most improved payment.
I propose the Lions & Hawks play off to decide the winner!And Brisbane didn't? Brisbane played in the AFLW 1st, 4th, 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 14th, 15th, 17th and 18th.
We got a pretty soft draw as well but Brisbane are one club that can't really complain about that
Not sure why this post is getting the thumbs down. No disrespect to Hawthorn, I have an enormous amount of respect for them, but I agree there should be separate awards for both minor premiers in the women and mens competitions.I've got a novel idea. Award a trophy to the team that finishes on top of the AFL men's ladder and then give the premiership cup to the team that wins the grand final. Repeat the process for AFLW - a trophy for the team that finishes 1st and the premiership cup for the grand final winner. That's the only silverware that should be handed out.
Being able to have a livable wage just like the men and having a full season of at least 17 rounds but preferably the same as the men.What does 'equal' look like for the AFLW in relation to the AFL, in your eyes?
Funny, considering your women only played 2 of the top 8 teams so actually had an easier draw than our women despite being the reigning premier.If only your teams weren’t given cruisey draws. It’s pretty much a most improved payment.
Craig who?It has been a mens only award for 75 years also…
Does 'equal' also include the AFLW competition being funded by the revenue generated by the AFLW competition, or does the money to support a 17 plus round season and 'livable wages' for all players come from elsewhere?Being able to have a livable wage just like the men and having a full season of at least 17 rounds but preferably the same as the men.