MRP / Trib. The MRP/Tribunal Thread - 2024 Edition

But like Shuey said to Schofield on his little 5 minute ask questions podcast a couple days ago, dealing with a tag is something that takes time and experience and he'll learn to instead of taking his frustrations out on his opponent he'll take it out on the next contest.

Thought this was the most informative part of the video. I can only imagine that being tagged as such a young age would be super frustrating and would lead you to lash out at the next tackle/action, but it was interesting to hear Shuey's perspective here. I can only imagine being a 19 yo in this situation.

He also said words to the affect that if you get the win then the frustrations quickly disappear.

As good as Reid is, and as much as he has shown in his short career, we need to have patience with him the same way we do any other player.

There is a growing desperation to avoid a situation where the Kangaroos go winless this year and the conversations that would no doubt bring with Tasmania coming along and a 19-team situation that nobody wants...
That's the odour I'm smelling. Norf go 0-23 or even 1-22 and inevitably more people start asking "why are this mob still in our competition?" Mumma Kane doesn't want to face those type of questions.

With regards to the AFL I'm starting to think the club needs less of the softly,softly tinker at the edges approach which we've always adopted and start becoming a bit more hard edged. Which doesn't mean a Maguire/Kennett level of dickheadery but if we're pissed off (which we should be) then declare it in public. Let the world know. Hell we've got more than enough in the bank to pay any fine.

Not getting my hopes up on that score though. For all his strengths Pyke is too much of an establishment figure to veer off the straight and narrow.

My understanding is that the AFL has made in house calls for the umpire/MRO departments to make life hell for Harley while he's playing for the Eagles. They are trying to make footy life as bad as possible for him so that they can approach him later to tell him "come back to Vic and all this will go away, you'll be looked after over there". Psychological warfare. And I guarantee if he moves, he'll end up winning a Brownlow. I can tell you they're hurting seeing him play over here. It doesn't sit right with them.

That's the odour I'm smelling. Norf go 0-23 or even 1-22 and inevitably more people start asking "why are this mob still in our competition?" Mumma Kane doesn't want to face those type of questions.

With regards to the AFL I'm starting to think the club needs less of the softly,softly tinker at the edges approach which we've always adopted and start becoming a bit more hard edged. Which doesn't mean a Maguire/Kennett level of dickheadery but if we're pissed off (which we should be) then declare it in public. Let the world know. Hell we've got more than enough in the bank to pay any fine.

Not getting my hopes up on that score though. For all his strengths Pyke is too much of an establishment figure to veer off the straight and narrow.
I agree with you, this is something that was severely lacking under Nisbett. We need a bit of mongrel about us, a bit of fight, publicly and privately, we've got plenty of support.

And Simpson simply says that Harley needs to learn how to handle taggers. If we want the kid to stick around, the club needs to back him more forcefully in circumstances like this.
This is exactly what the AFL wanted, they probably knew we would be toothless to this and knew we'd put it back onto Harley instead of fighting like hell for him in a political environment.

My understanding is that the AFL has made in house calls for the umpire/MRO departments to make life hell for Harley while he's playing for the Eagles. They are trying to make footy life as bad as possible for him so that they can approach him later to tell him "come back to Vic and all this will go away, you'll be looked after over there". Psychological warfare. And I guarantee if he moves, he'll end up winning a Brownlow. I can tell you they're hurting seeing him play over here. It doesn't sit right with them.

Wouldn't surprise me one little bit.

I'm as anti AFL house as anyone but I doubt it's some grand conspiracy

Was worth a week, tribunal lotto gave it 2. From the cliffs of the hearing sounds like another badly argued case by old mate Grace. Saints gave us a leg up with their injury report and he still couldn't get it done.

Sucks but probably good for the kid to have a rest. Perfect opportunity for the rest of them to show whether anything has actually changed from the last 2 years or they legitimately have been just riding on Harley coattails

Breaking the tag is a challenge for all players, unless you’re Matt Rowell and your coach complains to the AFL and you get 9 free kicks whenever a tagger touches you the next week. This scenario is made even worse by the fact we now know umpires are receiving instruction throughout the game.

Again, zero consistency AFL engineering outcomes.

Considering he was forced out of a cushy job to go wash windows or whatever he's doing I'm not sure he's overly invested in the whole bleeding blue and gold thing.
Didn't glass leave because he didn't want to take the covid pay cut ?

Don't underestimate the vAFL. Saturday was probably the most one sided worst treatment of a player by officialdom in a half of footy I've ever seen. He's 19 and was scragged without protection and instead had 4 frees paid against (including the goal from a ridiculous down field free kick that sealed the game). On top of that they fined him $4000 for "negligent" contact with umpires and now they have rubbed him out for two weeks.
Harley has been getting pretty lippy and demonstrative to the umps the past few weeks. They are human and that sort of treatment will count against a player. He needs to learn to zip it and show respect to the umpires and I think he will get looked after more. Get a feeling his treatment the other night was much of his own doing rather than a pre-conceived effort by the umps to hinder him.

How about the maggots just call balls and strikes and not insert their fragile ego's into it?

Was also clotheslined 4 four times for no free kicks because presumably they decided before the game that he drops his knees. Problem being that 3 non decisions he didn't drop his knee's and the other one was marginal at best. Even worse was Pendebery blatently tripping him over (for a free kick against) and Pendebery with no case to answer. As others have said there seems to be a genuine animous behind it.

How about the maggots just call balls and strikes and not insert their fragile ego's into it?
First time watching footy mate?
It pisses me off too, but giving them a gobfull each time is not going to help his cause.
We need to take the Dimma route, get a heap of footage of him getting scragged or not getting kicks he should (he has got quite a few he probably shouldn't because of arm lifts) and arrange a meeting with the umpires to bring to their attention like they did with Rowell.
As you say, they have fragile egos so you need to work with that, railing against it gets you nowhere.

A players arrogance or lippiness shouldn't come into whether or not they get their head smashed in a tackle.

If the umpires are that fragile and can't be professional they shouldn't be umpiring in the AFL.

First time watching footy mate?
It pisses me off too, but giving them a gobfull each time is not going to help his cause.
We need to take the Dimma route, get a heap of footage of him getting scragged or not getting kicks he should (he has got quite a few he probably shouldn't because of arm lifts) and arrange a meeting with the umpires to bring to their attention like they did with Rowell.
As you say, they have fragile egos so you need to work with that, railing against it gets you nowhere.

That extent shouldn't have to happen in the professional AFL.

If what happened to Reid in that second half happened to Nick Daicos in his first year there would literally be riots in the streets of Melbourne and a class action against the AFL Umpires Association. But because Reid plays in WA no one cares.

19 year old relentlessly tagged, scragged, pushed and shoved into the ground with no free kicks to him - in fact only free kicks against him including a soft 50 that ices the game. Fined twice and suspended for 2 weeks which sees him lose a Rising Star award and likely a nice extra cash injection for him.

Welcome to the VFL, Harley.

A players arrogance or lippiness shouldn't come into whether or not they get their head smashed in a tackle.

If the umpires are that fragile and can't be professional they shouldn't be umpiring in the AFL.
It does and they are.
Its a fact of life, what you think should or shouldn't happen isn't necessarily borne out in reality.

A pragmatic approach is needed, not an emotional one. Umpires are human and they will treat players differently depending on how they are treated. They always have and always will so as much as you would like to sack them all and get some emotionless robots to umpire the game, that's what Harley is dealing with and he needs to find a better way or he will continue to cop a raw deal.
The club needs to deal with it, privately at first and if it doesn't change then publicly.

We can look at it from a positive and we now have a club ( St Kilda ) that we have a grudge against.
We won't be down to long and we can kick em to the kerb in a year or two .
Already looking forward to ROB'S sobs of anguish.

It does and they are.
Its a fact of life, what you think should or shouldn't happen isn't necessarily borne out in reality.

A pragmatic approach is needed, not an emotional one. Umpires are human and they will treat players differently depending on how they are treated. They always have and always will so as much as you would like to sack them all and get some emotionless robots to umpire the game, that's what Harley is dealing with and he needs to find a better way or he will continue to cop a raw deal.
The club needs to deal with it, privately at first and if it doesn't change then publicly.
So you're saying I'm not supposed to get emotional about reid copping what he did after half time without protection from the umpires because the umpires are human and get emotional about his lippiness towards them and thats ok for them?

Righto.

'your understanding' ?

Not surprised.

The verdict was already determined long before tonight.

HQ wants West Coast to lose the next two games against North and Essendon.

To them Reid facing the tribunal is serendipity. Suspending him (and therefore weakening the Eagles) serves a purpose.

There is a growing desperation to avoid a situation where the Kangaroos go winless this year and the conversations that would no doubt bring with Tasmania coming along and a 19-team situation that nobody wants...

They also know that Essendon have had an exceptionally soft first half of the fixture and will struggle to get the additional 4-5 wins needed to secure finals from the matches to come. Making sure West Coast aren't capable of throwing any spanners about helps in getting them to that figure.

If I didn't know any better, I'd say that it reeks of the administration trying to settle a score over their displeasure of the club not trading out pick 1 last year.

And of course, Reid is in on it (not being happy of not going to north and all) and Dillon specifically asked Reid to body slam someone right at this time.

In addition, north took a tassie player specifically to soften tasmanians when they actually move north to Tasmania vs their own team. Now just waiting on catalyst for that…

The matrix at play. I see it all. Reid is neo, Dillon is Morpheus and Laura Kane is agent smith.

It is amusing though. Everything is a conspiracy.

So you're saying I'm not supposed to get emotional about reid copping what he did after half time without protection from the umpires because the umpires are human and get emotional about his lippiness towards them and thats ok for them?

Righto.
I don't GAF what you do, I've seen enough of your posting to understand that you probably aren't capable of a pragmatic response, but that's neither here nor there as it isn't your problem.
I'm pointing out that how Harley and WC deal with it needs to be a pragmatic response not an emotional one.
I'm not going into bat for the umps, I think their ability to cop criticism and 'feedback" has diminished markedly over the past 10 years which has been enabled by the AFL (partly in response to diminishing umpire numbers in grass roots footy). But that is the situation. You don't have to like it, Harley doesn't have to like it, but he is directly dealing with it and if he wants it to improve then he will need to adjust his response.

MRP / Trib. The MRP/Tribunal Thread - 2024 Edition

Write your reply...