The Official Trade and Rumours Thread

Trades - Doing the rounds

I don't think there is too much substance with the following but here is an email sent to me today about potential trades.

* Essendon utility Mark McVeigh is expected to make a decision this
week on whether he will return to NSW to play alongside brother Jarrad at
the Swans.

* Brisbane's Tim Notting is out of contract. Other clubs are
interested.
* Brisbane have held off contract negotiations with September
specialist Clark Keating until after the finals.
* Thompson & Walsh (Melbourne) for Dew & Thurstens (port wants a
pick also)
* Blues are after Darren Jolly from Melbourne. Melbourne want Brett
Thornton for him. Carlton aren't going to trading a top 5 "B&F" player for
a promising ruckman.

* Stewart Maxfield to stand down as Swans captain.
* Danny Jacobs home early from footy trip - 3rd degree burns
* The Hawks will offer to send Lekkas + 2nd round draft pick plus
possibly another or other players such as Greene, Clarke, Campbell to
Melbourne for Cameron Bruce.

* Bombers now showing interest in Daniel Kerr. Despite not being
well liked by the Eagles players, the club is denying that they want to
trade him.

* Adam Goodes is in the bad books with his team mates. It appears
that the Brownlow may have gone to his head.
* Cameron Bruce considering Pies and Hawks offers.
* Eagles chasing Brad Ottens and Nathan Thompson
* Are Richmond being investigated for Salary Cap breaches?
* Cameron Faulkner (Dogs) has had some interest shown in him by the
Pies and the Blues.
* Lindsay Gilbee and Pat Bowden being hunted by Wallace
* More paycuts to follow at Richmond. Ottens being one and a another
high profile player being the other. Ottens apparently isn't happy and is
looking at his options. (Optus Oval is a great training venue)

* Troy Longmuir is set to join North Melbourne from season 2005
* Demons interested in Zantuck
* Mark Bolton (Essendon) to Geelong
Further to the Scott Thompson rumour, the Power are keen to swoop
on Thompson as a ready-made replacement should Josh Carr return to Perth
to play with Fremantle. The Dockers could offer the Demons their
first-round national draft selection and promising youngster Ryley Dunn,
who spent most of his first season at Fremantle on the sidelines because
of injuries.

* To fit Carr within its total player payment allocation, Fremantle
may be forced to trade ruckman/key-forward Troy Simmonds for salary-cap
relief. Sydney has already indicated it would be interested in Simmonds.

* RICHMOND defender Darren Gaspar will take a significant pay cut to
remain at Punt Road for the final two years of his contract.

* As well as Carlton, Essendon and Carlton are looking at Cameron
Bruce.
* Jeff Farmer has requested to return to Melbourne and may be a
straight swap for Steve Armstrong
* Mal Micheal looking to return to Victoria?
* Dennis Pagan keen on getting Leigh Harding from North
* Scott Thompson to walk away from footy unless traded to a SA
club?
* Michael Gardiner (WCE) on the move?
* Steve McKee is being looked at by ST. Kilda
* Mark Mercuri received an incredible "golden handshake" to retire.
If he didn't, he would have stay on the list.
* Tigers want both Shaw and McGough from Collingwood.
* Is it true that Ben Kinnear retired because his management
couldn't generate any interest in his services from other clubs?

* Nathan Buckley's new role as assistant coach a introduction for a
future senior role at the club?
* Shane Harvey should have gone to Geelong when he had the chance.
Rumour has it that he wont be at the Roos next season.

* Hawks chasing Cain Ackland from Port. It appears that Ackland
wants out and is unlucky that Brogan and Lade have played so well this
year as his for in the SANFL would normally earn he a spot in any other
club's side.

* CARLTON'S Lance Whitnall to Adelaide, family-focused Tyson
Stenglein to West Coast and Eagles on-baller Daniel Kerr to Carlton. There
will be some draft picks involved.

* West Coast midfielder Sam Butler dislikes it in Perth. The former
Central District (SA) dynamo and Rising Star nominee desperately wants to
go home to his family.

* Stuey Dew (PA) could be in a Collingwood jumper next year.
* Looking at the coaching merry-go-round, caretaker Hawthorn coach
Donald McDonald, who missed out on the Hawks job, will be the new
assistant at the Kangaroos with his mate Dean Laidley. Darren Crocker, who
is looking for a new gig after being sacked by Richmond, will end up with
his good mate Alastair Clarkson at Hawthorn.

* As we know, former Hawks captain Shane Crawford has been sending
out signals about leaving Hawthorn. But other clubs won't touch him -
allegedly due to his pay packet.

* Swans interested in Troy Simmonds. He wants to return to
Victoria.
* Steven Silvagni to quit 10 and become assistant coach at
Collingwood.
* Unhappy hawks on the move?
Shane Crawford - despite what he says to media
Angelo Lekkas - the most annoyed of the bunch. Extremely
passionate man.
Joel Smith - out of contract, has lost his passion and
vigour
Simon Beaumont - not into it at all, but could be
prepared to stay.
Luke Brennan - Young fella's out of contract, and is
being highly sought from both Collingwood and Geelong already.

* Freo now making a move for Lance Whitnall
* Justin Blumfield a certainty to return to Essendon
* Rohan Smith being eyed off by both the tigers and the bombers.
* Danny Frawley to return home and coach North Ballarat

Re: Trades - Doing the rounds

Got that today aswell.

Rumour has been going around that Faulkner may move.

I appreciate you doing that.
I have heard quite a bit of it already but more than a few eyebrow raising moves there. I just hope we don't receive any dodgy deals this trade period.

apple said:
how could richmond seriously chase shaw + mcgough?

Mcgough is a hard at it midfielder that gets heaps of the ball, which is what Richmond need. Also has current day Richmond foot skills.
Shaw was able to beat Chris Judd and Akermanis.

Thought we might use this thread to out up any speculated trades or rumours of players being linked to us.

These are the ones I have heard (somewhere through the media) so far

Whitnall to Dogs
Ottens to Dogs

Gilbee and Bowden approached by Tigers
Garlick to Tigers

Anyone heard any others?

Surely we could trump Sydney in any deal for Ottens. Pick 6 would be a nice juicy carrot for the Tigers who seem keen to rebuild. We might have to add something to that perhaps.

Question is whether we could entice him. It would be a huge coup for us if we could get him on merit rather than the tactics we used for Rawlings last year.

I keep thinking of a Ottens/Darcy combo for Ruck/FF duties with Minson coming off the bench to support. Simply awesome. That kind of firepower would soon be the envy of any club I would suspect.

We would have to check him over medically. Assuming that goes well I reckon he would be worth a crack at.

The Doctor said:
Surely we could trump Sydney in any deal for Ottens. Pick 6 would be a nice juicy carrot for the Tigers who seem keen to rebuild. We might have to add something to that perhaps.

Question is whether we could entice him. It would be a huge coup for us if we could get him on merit rather than the tactics we used for Rawlings last year.

I keep thinking of a Ottens/Darcy combo for Ruck/FF duties with Minson coming off the bench to support. Simply awesome. That kind of firepower would soon be the envy of any club I would suspect.

We would have to check him over medically. Assuming that goes well I reckon he would be worth a crack at.
Agreed.the swans havnt got much to offer in regards to picks or players to serve our needs.pick 6 would certainly be something Miller couldnt refuse.
#6 + Gilbee?

cheers!

tiger of old said:
Agreed.the swans havnt got much to offer in regards to picks or players to serve our needs.pick 6 would certainly be something Miller couldnt refuse.
#6 + Gilbee?

cheers!

just posted on your board the same topic.

Gilbee is quite a valuable player for us. He is just about ripe to play career best footy. As a small running defender he also fills a position in our side that we have been weak in for some time. So we would be very reluctant to lose him.

If he insisted on going to the Tigers then maybe we could bring that into the equation. I just think adding Gilbee is a touch high in price. Pick 6 is a pretty solid offer.

The Doctor said:
just posted on your board the same topic.

Gilbee is quite a valuable player for us. He is just about ripe to play career best footy. As a small running defender he also fills a position in our side that we have been weak in for some time. So we would be very reluctant to lose him.

If he insisted on going to the Tigers then maybe we could bring that into the equation. I just think adding Gilbee is a touch high in price. Pick 6 is a pretty solid offer.
True in regards to Gilbee.however i guess it all depends on who Miller has in mind in the use of pick 6.
he may pencil in a Lewis,Eckerman or Monfries therefore Gilbee wont come into the equation and we may just ask for #6+ your 2nd rnd pick.

cheers!

The Doctor said:

I would be very hesitant to trade pick 6 for Ottens, we all know Ottens as a player and to be honest I don't think he is worth pick 6. I would much rather use pick 6 on a young KPP prospect. Ottens bad back is too risky and really hasn't delivered on his potential, he also would be very expensive.

I would rather speculate on a young first round draftee then speculate on whether Ottens can come good fitness and potential wise.

A fit Ottens is worth alot more than 6.

An unfit Ottens is worth alot less than 6.

An Ottens with a bit of a fitness question mark is 6 max. Could end up being a bargain or a complete waste of a good pick.

Knackers said:
Ottens bad back is too risky and really hasn't delivered on his potential, he also would be very expensive.

I would rather speculate on a young first round draftee then speculate on whether Ottens can come good fitness and potential wise.
Same question marks were pointed at judd in regards to his shoulder ;)

cheers!

One thing is for certain from all this Ottens stuff:

Yet again the clubs down the bottom are losing players, while the big clubs are stockpiling without any restraint.

The AFL have just got to re-aquate itself with a more competitive comp.

BloodyRedHead! said:
One thing is for certain from all this Ottens stuff:

Yet again the clubs down the bottom are losing players, while the big clubs are stockpiling without any restraint.

The AFL have just got to re-aquate itself with a more competitive comp.

So Melbourne and St Kilda arent losing players? I think Sydney has been the only team that hasnt lost someone they wanted in recent memory.

tiger of old said:
Same question marks were pointed at judd in regards to his shoulder ;)

cheers!
back problems and shoulder problems are different kettles of fish entirely. Back problems are degenerative, shoulders are not. the BEST you can do with a back problem is halt the rate of degeneration by not engaging in any activites that place a strain on the bad joint such as RUNNING and JUMPING.

Surgery does not correct a stuffed disc, it merely stops it from impinging on nerves for a while by removing a bit of it. It is temporary pain relief.

BloodyRedHead! said:
Melbourne and stkilda have lost players also...when down towards the bottom after they were already through the worst of it.

I meant Ball for the Saints at the moment and Bruce and Jamar for Melbourne atm.

Borgsta:

Significantly different in supposidely leaving and actually going.

While Ottens is in this situation how could he not leave when

a) Is being offered fortunes significantly more then what he is currently getting

b) been asked to take a 6 digit pay-cut; which means playing for richmond means getting 65-70% of what he would otherwise get

c) Seeing the new coach and his best mate sign up to astronomical amounts for such long terms.

d) Richmond un-officially telling him that they don't want him for what he's
worth

--> that is what their actions state, avoiding everyone screaming about richmond dumping him (angering tigers supporters) and taking it out on him because, like its been spelt out; he quit.

Wallace and RFC made Otten's position untenable; not ottens.

Thats why I see his case so much more differently to several others.

My issue is that only certain other teams ALWAYS can grab such a player (the same clubs, every single year) while others can barely hold their own.

BloodyRedHead! said:

a) Is being offered fortunes significantly more then what he is currently getting

The rumour mill has Ball being offered $500,000 a year by other clubs. He is currently on about $200,000 at StKilda.

BloodyRedHead! said:
Borgsta:

b) been asked to take a 6 digit pay-cut; which means playing for richmond means getting 65-70% of what he would otherwise get

c) Seeing the new coach and his best mate sign up to astronomical amounts for such long terms.

d) Richmond un-officially telling him that they don't want him for what he's
worth

--> that is what their actions state, avoiding everyone screaming about richmond dumping him (angering tigers supporters) and taking it out on him because, like its been spelt out; he quit.

Wallace and RFC made Otten's position untenable; not ottens.

Thats why I see his case so much more differently to several others.

My issue is that only certain other teams ALWAYS can grab such a player (the same clubs, every single year) while others can barely hold their own.

Ok some of that is fair enough, but I didnt know Ottens had officially QUIT the RFC. The other glaring thing you forgot to mention is that this team that can BARELY hold on to their own player this year is Richmond, who usually are the ones taking players!

Thats why I am happy they got their own back.
In a general sense though it just shows a continuation of clubs
gravitating more to either the bottom or top.
I DO NOT WANT TO WATCH A PREMIER LEAGUE
- I want a proper Competition

I never said he officially quit, I never meant that, but it is obvious in all the other dealings that Richmond have shot themselves in the foot.

Richmond have the BIG FOUR - always have for years, and trash surrounding them. Wallace has just changed the complexion of the 4, from KPP to more a line of midfielders (Brown, attempts at Solomon)
Simply put, they can change on occasion, but will NEVER be able to consistently buy-out players every year because they don't have the cash after their main 4.

Swans are another issue with yearly raids that always come, just they aren't successful at selling themselves.
Just like the Lions having a big 7 in retaining their position at the top, only they don't need to raid anyone.

By the way, the lions were looking at Ottens and started to chase, but changed their minds after hearing the price tag the other clubs would offer.
Imagine the anger if Ottens went to Brisbane, it would be a farce!

The Official Trade and Rumours Thread