The Perth travel myth

Similarly like the dullards that can't get it through their thick heads that there is no complaint that teams out West travel more kms (duh!),
Clearly plenty in this thread do think it is an issue, suggestions of 15 perth games to make it "fair".
rather the issue is the statistically high odds that these teams will have to travel to Tasmania and Qld when it should in fairness be statistically low.
Why should it be statistically low odds to play in Tassie? Tassie is a shorter trip than to Sydney...what does it have to do with fairness??

If it unfair for a WA team to travel to QLD surely it is also unfair for a QLD team to travel to WA.

Should the QLD and WA teams simply not play each other?

Have you tried booking a direct flight, because the website says everything is via Sydney and Melbourne?
They consult with the club a few weeks out from the game and then schedule the flights.
The Gold Coast to Launceston direct flight for next weekend is up on the Virgin website now, looks like they are flying down on Saturday at 1pm and back on Sunday at 8pm. All teams get direct flights. This has been happening for many years.

Why should it be statistically low odds to play in Tassie? Tassie is a shorter trip than to Sydney...what does it have to do with fairness??

If it unfair for a WA team to travel to QLD surely it is also unfair for a QLD team to travel to WA.

The issue was considered significant enough for fox footy to raise it during the 4th quarter of the WC v Brisbane showing WC travelling 33,650 kms this year then Freo at 27,258 all the way down to Geelong at 3,556 and the Bulldogs at 2,756 km travelled.

If you cannot see the inequity of dictating WC should have to travel to Sydney twice and Qld twice when the draw doesn't demand each side plays the others sides twice then the discussion is pretty pointless. Notwithstanding that Alistair Lynch called it a massive discrepancy and Dermott simply said wow and acknowledged it had to have an effect.

I would ask you to look at those figures once more.

Oh and the magpies travel 9,626 kms.

If you cannot see the inequity of dictating WC should have to travel to Sydney twice and Qld twice when the draw doesn't demand each side plays the others sides twice then the discussion is pretty pointless.
I thought you only go to Qld once this year?
You already go to Adelaide twice, so the only place left to shift one of the Sydney games is to Melbourne or Tassie, would this really make any difference to the travel burden for the year, a 30min difference?

How is making Perth teams go to Tassie a burden?
Flight time to Launceston is about the same as Melbourne, you get direct flights and you even get a say in what time the flights are scheduled.
If it wasn't in Tassie it would be in Melbourne, not Perth. There is no additional travel burden.

e.g Perth - Launceston ? The return flight.

I've linked the Webjet site BUT you could link your preferred site:
https://flights.webjet.com.au/Fligh...searchId=a5571325-a7c9-470f-b2ce-7d33c6638e72

Your spin has the Murali look harve !

They consult with the club a few weeks out from the game and then schedule the flights.
The Gold Coast to Launceston direct flight for next weekend is up on the Virgin website now, looks like they are flying down on Saturday at 1pm and back on Sunday at 8pm. All teams get direct flights. This has been happening for many years.

Interesting claim or is it a motherhood statement ? - heard Leigh Matthews on Melbourne radio talking 6.5 hours Brisbane - Perth.

If the AFL could afford make this a truly national competition, they would. The fact is that the old VFL is still well and truly dominant throughout the sport. It's where the major power brokers operate and influence, it's where the financial resources are at their strongest, it's the home of the MCG, the traditional home of football. Taking a Grand Final away from Melbourne is something the AFL can't afford to do, because when this became a truly national competition in the mid to late nineties the decisions weren't made to fully encompass the non Victorian sides.

Sure, having the higher positioned side play a home Grand Final would be fantastic, and having the game played in Perth or Adelaide would probably fly and still make money and attract the corporates, but until the sides on the east - Sydney, GWS, Brisbane, and Gold Coast actually develop enough competitive support through NSW and Queensland, it isn't going to happen. You could mount a case for a Sydney or Brisbane home GF due to the old guard of South Melbourne and Fitzroy, but not a strong one.

The Grand Final will more than likely forever be at the MCG. The sport is just too powerful in Victoria, and the AFL has seriously missed it's opportunity in granting non Victorian sides a home Grand Final thus far. To constantly brand the MCG the 'home of football' does more harm than good in establishing the AFL as a truly national competition.

At an absolute minimum, the AFL must give GWS home finals if they earn it. If they're fair dinkum about GWS they'll do this and they'll make their marketing department earn every dollar in promoting the game outside Victoria.

I look at when it was mandatory for their to be a preliminary final in Melbourne, and think, the AFL is just too focused on the short term here and filling the coffers, it always needed to be at the ground representative of the higher ranking side.

Someone mentioned in 1996 the Eagles playing a semi in Melbourne even though they finished higher on the ladder than that opponent? A stark example of national inequality. I am sure there are many examples of that through the nineties, in fact I think the Eagles did get the rough end of many a finals draw.

If the argument sits that non Victorian teams should be able to win away from home, then it should be that Victorian sides can win away from home also.

Firstly, they may not get more home games, but they play at their home ground more often.

The most advantaged teams are Geelong and Collingwood, but even Sydney or Port have travelled sub 10,000km. This shows it is not only Melbourne teams who can play away at home grounds or close, but scheduling and obviously distance.

There are more than two options:

1. The AFL allows another side to sell a home game, as NM tried.
2. They stop scheduling WC all the crazy away games, like Blacktown, Tassiex2, Brisbane etc.
3. They are considerate with the breaks. It is odd that not only do WC have the furthest km travelled, but are often amongst the top for short breaks. Getting consecutive 6 or even 5 day breaks.

Every year WC puts in it's scheduling requests, and they never seem to get approved.
So basically you want Brisbane, Gold Coast, GWS and Sydney to never get a home game against a WA side?
So you want to unfairly disafvantage those sides?

Sent from my SM-G925I using Tapatalk

The issue was considered significant enough for fox footy to raise it during the 4th quarter of the WC v Brisbane showing WC travelling 33,650 kms this year then Freo at 27,258 all the way down to Geelong at 3,556 and the Bulldogs at 2,756 km travelled.

If you cannot see the inequity of dictating WC should have to travel to Sydney twice and Qld twice when the draw doesn't demand each side plays the others sides twice then the discussion is pretty pointless. Notwithstanding that Alistair Lynch called it a massive discrepancy and Dermott simply said wow and acknowledged it had to have an effect.

I would ask you to look at those figures once more.

Oh and the magpies travel 9,626 kms.
Oh so it is about distance travelled in kms again!? Even you WA fans cant agree!!

The only real solution to reduce the kms travelled is to relocate to the east coast where 14 of the 18 teams are based.

Tassie is not an issue, direct flight makes it a shorter trip than going to Sydney.

WA sides should never play a QLD side, for "fairness".

And WA sides should get extra home games to make it "fair".

Cant make this sh1t up.

The Hawks do two trips in 3 weeks & the whole league melts down, Freo & WCE do that 10 times a year.

The Eagles learned to travel properly much earlier than the Victorian Clubs because half their games were interstate and they had to work it out

From a Victorian point of view in 1987-1990 there were only 3 trips interstate maximum and Brisbane were rubbish the whole time

Another factor that always seems to be overlooked is that all sides are more familar with the MCG and Etihad than the other venues

When the Swans hosted finals at ANZ Stadium they often played teams that had virtually no experience at the venue

Hawthorn got quite lucky last year when they usually only play once a year at Subiaco got a match there just before the finals and had two cracks at the venue in September so were much more familar with the ground in the Prelim

Oh so it is about distance travelled in kms again!? Even you WA fans cant agree!!

The only real solution to reduce the kms travelled is to relocate to the east coast where 14 of the 18 teams are based.

Tassie is not an issue, direct flight makes it a shorter trip than going to Sydney.

Cant make this sh1t up.
You forgot to add.

Shortens your career (Pav excepted of course)

Worse for tall blokes ( except all the tall blokes that rank in top games played for WC?

You forgot to add.

Shortens your career (Pav excepted of course)

Worse for tall blokes ( except all the tall blokes that rank in top games played for WC?
Yeah funny that Cox, Jacko and Glass are top 3 for games played at WCE....all big KP blokes.

WCE have had seven blokes play 250 games for the club, and the club hasn't been around for 30 years yet.

Collingwood have had just four blokes play 250 games for the club since West Coast were introduced, or six if you include Shaw and Daicos who finished with 250 games in the 90s but started playing in the 70s.

e.g Perth - Launceston ? The return flight.

I've linked the Webjet site BUT you could link your preferred site:
https://flights.webjet.com.au/Fligh...searchId=a5571325-a7c9-470f-b2ce-7d33c6638e72

Your spin has the Murali look harve !

YOU GET DIRECT FLIGHTS

and have done for well over 10 years. There was even a Perth poster earlier in this thread saying FFS you get direct flights.
If you read the posts about this you will see that the flights are added a few weeks before the game after consultation with the club.
The flights for Gold Coast Suns to Launceston are on the Virgin website for all to see because they are playing there this weekend.
They are going down on Saturday at 1pm and back on Sunday at 8pm.
https://flights.webjet.com.au/Fligh...searchId=7461f4ef-7e87-4d38-a929-fcbea6eb35d4

Below are a few random links about this:
https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/launceston-our-achilles-heal.231977/#post-4829733
https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/thre...a-in-antarctica.1103210/page-11#post-39534666
https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/changes-v-gold-coast.1105381/page-6#post-39871274
https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/direct-flight-to-tassie.1099584/#post-38881452
https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/2003-fixtures.49847/#post-757208
https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/murray-our-new-revelation.959101/page-2#post-24706593
http://www.fremantlefc.com.au/news/...orn-in-launceston-get-your-tickets-for-tassie

Cant make this sh1t up.

Why, you seem to be able to make plenty up.

Do they teach Geography in WA schools?

Even the Freo CEO has no idea about distances in Australia.

http://www.fremantlefc.com.au/news/2015-10-29/fremantles-2016-home-and-away-fixture

While we are pleased that the AFL responded positively to our request for a reduction in the number of six-day breaks, we are very disappointed that we have been scheduled to play only four games in Melbourne and the affect of this is that we play four games across Queensland, Tasmania and the Northern Territory, Rosich said.

“Given that we have one of the most demanding travel schedules in the league, we believe the AFL has placed an unfair burden on the club by scheduling so many games in venues that require much longer flight times than Perth to Melbourne and return for example.

Flight times to Launceston and Darwin are about the same as Melbourne, not 'much longer', this Steve Rosich guy sounds like a typical WA BigFooty poster.

YOU GET DIRECT FLIGHTS

and have done for well over 10 years. There was even a Perth poster earlier in this thread saying FFS you get direct flights.
If you read the posts about this you will see that the flights are added a few weeks before the game after consultation with the club.
The flights for Gold Coast Suns to Launceston are on the Virgin website for all to see because they are playing there this weekend.
They are going down on Saturday at 1pm and back on Sunday at 8pm.
https://flights.webjet.com.au/Fligh...searchId=7461f4ef-7e87-4d38-a929-fcbea6eb35d4

Below are a few random links about this:
https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/launceston-our-achilles-heal.231977/#post-4829733
https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/thre...a-in-antarctica.1103210/page-11#post-39534666
https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/changes-v-gold-coast.1105381/page-6#post-39871274
https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/direct-flight-to-tassie.1099584/#post-38881452
https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/2003-fixtures.49847/#post-757208
https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/murray-our-new-revelation.959101/page-2#post-24706593
http://www.fremantlefc.com.au/news/...orn-in-launceston-get-your-tickets-for-tassie

Just link a Perth Launceston direct flight as they don't exist.

The Perth travel myth