The race for the top 4

Don't forget last year too quickly, freo showed the swans why they are the best defensive team of this era, I can't remember a game with so much relentless pressure... sydney couldn't do anything to that, regardless of firepower.
Sydney are a 4 goal better team this year, i'm not sure Freo are any better than 2013, it's hard to tell while they play bully boys with the bottom clubs.

People have a habit of focussing on the most immediate event rather than than bigger picture. Hawthorn lost to the roos on the weekend and suddenly our season is in danger and the roos are a shot at the top 4. Meanwhile exactly one week ago North was finished after losing to Brisbane while we had comprehensively beaten the up and coming Suns. The media is like a pair of underpants on a clothes line blowing haphazardly in the wind. If Adelaide win there will be a resounding "I told you so" and deluge of doomsdayers meanwhile if Hawthorn win it will be as if nothing was said. I am quietly confident that the Hawks who have consistently and comprehensively put away teams below them on the ladder all season will continue to do so.

And so it came to pass.

Don't forget last year too quickly, freo showed the swans why they are the best defensive team of this era, I can't remember a game with so much relentless pressure... sydney couldn't do anything to that, regardless of firepower.

I also reckon that Freo's midfield - Fyfe, Mundy, Barlow, Crowley, Hill, D Pearce, Mzungu, Neale, Suban, Sylvia and C Pearce - runs as deep as Sydney's midfield, but with Freo having a stronger ruck combo in Sandilands and Clarke.

We were toast in that game anyway most swans supporters were hopeful but expected a loss.

Agreed, that was the single most overrated performance of the last 5 years. People thought I was insane being confident heading into that GF. Hawthorn out-pressured Freo the next week when it matters.

As with most years, you get the feeling that the teams that finish top 2 will play-off in the GF more than ever.

...and then of course the Grand Final came to past.

The most overrated example of 'truly manic' pressure used to describe a run-of-the-mill 5 goal win

Agreed, that was the single most overrated performance of the last 5 years. People thought I was insane being confident heading into that GF. Hawthorn out-pressured Freo the next week when it matters.

As with most years, you get the feeling that the teams that finish top 2 will play-off in the GF more than ever.

Most overrated performance in a preliminary final? Interesting perspective. Obviously not a view held by John Longmire though: "Their pressure was outstanding and we couldn't move the ball out of our back half the way we wanted to". He probably formed this opinion after seeing his team swamped by Freo's pressure and the fact that Sydney failed to register a possession inside attacking 50 for the first 27 minutes of the second term.

If you open the other eye, I think you'll find that the game was over at half time. Sydney ended up with a score of 2.2 (their lowest ever score at the main break in a final) and were 39 points adrift (and then 43 points behind at 3/4 time). It was clear that Freo took their foot of the gas in the last quarter with the game won and preparing for the GF the next week.

To be fair it only ended as a 5-goal win because Freo put the cue in the rack at some point in the 3rd quarter.

Having said that, Sydney had limped into finals and were no doubt shot at that stage. They were lucky they got to play the 9th placed team at home to make it to a PF.

Most overrated performance in a preliminary final? Interesting perspective. Obviously not a view held by John Longmire though: "Their pressure was outstanding and we couldn't move the ball out of our back half the way we wanted to". He probably formed this opinion after seeing his team swamped by Freo's pressure and the fact that Sydney failed to register a possession inside attacking 50 for the first 27 minutes of the second term.

If you open the other eye, I think you'll find that the game was over at half time. Sydney ended up with a score of 2.2 (their lowest ever score at the main break in a final) and were 39 points adrift (and then 43 points behind at 3/4 time). It was clear that Freo took their foot of the gas in the last quarter with the game won and preparing for the GF the next week.

Where of course they brought the same 'manic pressure' over the Nullarbor?

To be fair it only ended as a 5-goal win because Freo put the cue in the rack at some point in the 3rd quarter.

Having said that, Sydney had limped into finals and were no doubt shot at that stage. They were lucky they got to play the 9th placed team at home to make it to a PF.

Would of gone out in straight sets had we played another top 4 team.

Where of course they brought the same 'manic pressure' over the Nullarbor?

Que? You said -

- and yeah that game against Sydney was 'truly manic' just about every reasonably minded person agrees.

Did Freo play that well in the GF? No. Case closed, you can thank me later.

I have never seen a team apply more pressure in a half of footy as Freo did that game.

This. I remember watching it on the tv thinking the swans players had no clue what was hitting them - it was insane pressure even by finals standards.

A year is a long time in footy and all that, but this is why I can't bring myself to think that the swans will stroll to a flag. There's a reason why Freo are only marginally less fancied than the swans with the betting agencies - they're a live threat.

Que? You said -

- and yeah that game against Sydney was 'truly manic' just about every reasonably minded person agrees.

Did Freo play that well in the GF? No. Case closed, you can thank me later.

No they didn't play even close to as well in the gf. I was extremely confident of freo beating geel and swans, but knew they were not gonna win the gf (personal opinion at the time obviously)...

For the simple reason of: there was no way on earth hawthorn were losing that gf... they were getting the job done. Freo were still a little surprised by the fact that they made the dance.

I just feel that for some reason freo are being highly underrated atm and they probably shouldn't be... if they can play a half like they did in that final(in wk1/2 of sept)... it will be a big setback for other teams big expectations

No they didn't play even close to as well in the gf. I was extremely confident of freo beating geel and swans, but knew they were not gonna win the gf (personal opinion at the time obviously)...

For the simple reason of: there was no way on earth hawthorn were losing that gf... they were getting the job done. Freo were still a little surprised by the fact that they made the dance.

I just feel that for some reason freo are being highly underrated atm and they probably shouldn't be... if they can play a half like they did in that final(in wk1/2 of sept)... it will be a big setback for other teams big expectations
And yet both teams finished the game with the same number of scoring shots. Hawthorn's better composure in front of the big sticks went a long way towards them taking out the flag. Grand finals are often decided by goal kicking, so nobody can say with any certainty which team will come out on top in 2014.

I think fremantle is getting ahead of themselves with their 'pressure', we didnt have anywhere near our best 22 an since it was played at subi it was like a cauldron. It was good pressure but overrated massively. I would much rather play fremantle up there than hawthorn at the G'. Hawthorn will romp fremantle wherever the game is. Still believe injuries aside hawks and swans are the best in it..then fremantle, port, geelong.

No mate, it's not Freo. At the time, it was the entire footy media in Australia.

Who seemed to have forgotten who the swans we're forced to field that night. Yous played great there is no doubt, my point is that had you had to play our best 22 that pressure wouldn't have been as great, the media madeit as if you out Sydney'd Sydney, when Sydney didn't have a quarter of its cattle to choose from, that's what the media forgot an seems so did your supporters.

The race for the top 4