Radio The SEN Thread 10

Hungry for Change
Kevin Sheedy told me yesterday there is too much flooding and pressing in today’s game. He doesn’t like the direction it’s heading in. As coach of the Giants he wants change even suggesting the possibility of sixteen men a side, a throwback to the old VFA days. Sheedy is more than open to a set number of players inside fifty at stoppages. I have never supported any move that stops players from having full access to the field of play except at centre bounces. The game has though lost control due to interchange. Interchange has hijacked the game tactically. No longer is the bench about covering injured players, interchange is now running at an average of 129 per game. I’m confident the game would be better without interchange. Pick your best eighteen and have six to eight players on the bench to cover injury and flexibility for the coach. But once you come off you can’t come back on.
I’m KB, that’s my Take

Eight on a subs bench?

Yikes!

In rugby they describe a maul occurs when a player carrying the ball is held by one or more opponents and one or more of the ball-carriers’ teammates bind on to the ball-carrier. And once the maul has formed the other players may join in. It’s a description that now fits Australian Rules football. Rolling mauls are a consistent part of our game and on many occasions just resembles a school yard game with thirty kids packing around the ball. My suggestion to dump interchange has drawn a response. In today’s Herald Sun, former North star, David King called for a freeze on the rule changes saying the game will correct itself. That is always a throw-away line which is rarely expanded on, and premiership coach, Paul Roos said wasn’t the three-plus-one substitute rule supposed to address the problem? It’s failed to do so. Last Saturday, Gold Coast had one hundred and seventy-six interchanges; Collingwood had one hundred and fifty-one interchanges. That’s three hundred and twenty-nine for the game. That’s three players being interchanged every minute. I rest my case.
I’m KB, that’s my Take

Three every minute?!

Yikes and gadzooks!

Quote of the Day:
The game has lost control. And I defy anyone to tell me that interchange has not got out of control when you’ve got three players being interchanged every minute of an AFL game.
- KB

Word of the Week:
Nincompoop (curtesy of “Lethal” Leigh Matthews)

Andrew from Preston: And Kevin, last thing, I think it’s time for you to collect your super, mate.
Blasphemy! To wit: outrageous, egregious, preposterous!

KB Tips: Geelong, Richmond, Essendon, Collingwood, St. Kilda, Hawthorn.

Surveying The Weekly Denhamography
a) Eugene Arocca was the fifth CEO in eight years; fears for North due to lack of stability.
b) Quite disappointed in James Brayshaw’s response and his “telling of porky pies.”
c) Carlton may well be nine, ten, or eleven on the ladder in the next month; may miss the eight.
d) Worried about the effect of so many interchanges on the game.
e) Two-and-two on the interchange is a monty next year.
f) Which ever way interchange goes, there will be a big overhaul. “Just take that to the bank.”
g) Doesn’t want his code (AFL) to look like rugby.
h) Never used the term midfielder when he began journalism career.
i) Carlton has “no hope in the world” [of winning]. … Surprised if Geelong didn’t win by five goals.
j) Rather chuffed with his exclusive story on Eugene Arocca.

Mario "Richmond membership microwaver" from Doncaster , must have been using two phones today , being the first talkback caller on both Sen then 3aw only minutes later , after Richmonds loss against Fremantle.

His Sen talkback spray at Richmond was slightly more hysterical than his 3aw one

Mario "Richmond membership microwaver" from Doncaster , must have been using two phones today , being the first talkback caller on both Sen then 3aw only minutes later , after Richmonds loss against Fremantle.

His Sen talkback spray at Richmond was slightly more hysterical than his 3aw one

I need to hear this :(

I went on the website, scrolling through the podcasts. In the last two weeks, they've had Ben Johnson on twice (Ben Johnson, the sprinter, not the Collingwood douchebag), once on TRH and the other on The Flame (tues 7pm). Both were interesting interviews and Ben would be the biggest sports name the station has ever had on. Are his interviews available to be listened to? No. Is there a bunch of lightweight crap to listen to again? Yes.

Are you trying to tell me that KB's combover isn't as important or must listen radio as Ben Johnson? Surely not.;)

Got aoither one for the news reading bloopers. Referring to "Darcy and Sullivan" when he meant Monk instead Sullivan. Also played a grab which was meant to be Sullivan defending the other two, instead got Nathan Buckley to about footy. First thing I thought of was this thread.

Also, that lick yourself segment on MG? That is funny. Huge potential with that segment.

Please expand, didn't hear it.
I have to explain it? :eek: :oops: :confused: A segment with Walls and he's just telling them what was great about him or where he was right. Today he went "Had Essendon run down Sydney, they would made the biggest comeback ever, from a 3/4 time margin" "Do you know which team has the record? Brisbane against Hawthorn in the mid-90s. Do you know who was the coach?...Me!" Something like that. It wasn't serious. It'd be funny if the whole station had a go at it, I reckon.

One for the news buffs - 6 hours after the event...

"Nathan Buckley has warned his players not to be complacent ahead of their Queen's Birthday clash with Melbourne."

Did anyone hear the news at midnight overnight? AFL wrap gave us this.

* Brett Ratten not happy with the light penalty given to Josh Hunt. Sends the wrong message to the kids.
* Luke Tapscott can accept a 1 week ban for striking Fasolo.
* Collingwood are confident Didak won't miss the rest of the season after his injury.

Then followed by

* Luke Tapscott can accept a 1 week ban for striking Fasolo.
* Brett Ratten not happy with the light penalty given to Josh Hunt. Sends the wrong message to the kids.

Why does Scott Cooney work so many more shifts than Darren Parkin?

#moreparkoplease

Darren works at the footy paneling for the broadcasting team on the weekends.

Usually the Saturday match interstate , eg he called the Bris v WCE game from the Gabba on AFL live 2 rounds ago , but was at Etihad for the Ess v Syd at Etihad paneling for Pete Donegan , last round.

That would rule out him working Sat night on ANA.

The odd Sunday night/morning and Wednesday and Thursday mornings seem to be his days off from ANA.

Hungry for a Stand
I agree with Carlton coach, Brett Ratten, Josh Hunt standing on Eddie Betts’ hand is not a good look. And we do know lower leagues and players mimic actions of the AFL game. Standing as opposed to stomping saved Hunt for suspension. But I do like the attitude of Ratten, the Carlton coach, being feisty over the treatment of his player. The Blues are under the pump and tomorrow night’s game against West Coast could be season defining. Scotland, Carrazzo are potential starters despite injury concerns. Carlton were good against Geelong and there were some good encouraging steps in that game. Attitude and belief are critical ingredient when taking on the Eagles at home. Ratten is on the ropes and it appears he’s had enough and now he wants his players to make a stand.
I’m KB, that’s my Take

Jon LeBaron-Ralph joined KB as always on hump day in search of something to talk about. Starting with the struggling Blues and spending the hour mostly on players at clubs that are the most frustrating players for footy fans. Today’s first hour is best described as the Cale Morton hour. Poor bugger that Morton.:( Also plenty of inane Mensa talkback on hand, too.

Once KB gets his mind made up about something he simply will never budge. Note the key clause in the following passage:
“Well maybe the forgotten man, Scotty Gumbleton might come back into the Bombers side. I think he’s been playing for the last two or three weeks and I think he may have kicked three goals a couple of weeks ago, maybe one last week. Look, you don’t know much about Scott Gumbleton because he’s one of those players we hear a lot about but rarely have ever seen him play. But I did see him play in one of those Anzac Day games when Matthew Knights was coaching and he kicked three goals against Collingwood one day at centre-half-forward. And he did look like he was a real talent. …

KB’s opinions were best summed up on the weekend when Matty Lloyd was asked about working with the Punt Road Genie: “It’s his way or the highway.” I suspect KB won’t let up until Napier Street, Essendon is renamed Knights Street.

TRH and Cam Mooney as well. They must have the memory of fish. Talking about the biggest scandals in world sport today. They mentioned every huge scandal except the biggest ever, Ben Johnson being stripped of his gold medal. They interviewed him two weeks ago! Seriously, it's like they want to known as a pair/trio of idiots!

Anyone else have a chuckle when they play the KB soundbites on The Run Home and Footy Fix?
They should put a KB soundboard on their website so when I get home after a crap day at work I sit and listen to KB say "Bumhole" over and over because for some juvenile reason it always makes me laugh.