The SEN Thread

Here's my bests for 2007. I reckon I listen to SEN at least 5 or 6 hours a day, provide me with so much entertainment. At times it can be a bit too much AFL, but the mix isn't far off.

Best Show:

Saturday Spotlight:
As mentioned by some in this thread before, a terrific show which is almost unmissable these days. Marko and Pickers do a great a job and it's always informative and humourous. Media Watch is just about my favourite segment on radio and these two just get the mix right.

Honourable mentions to On The Rise and Brett Phillips in the afternoons.

Worst Show:

The Good Oil
: How Mark Doran still hosts a show that spans four hours is beyond me. It is clear that he is unpopular and the fact that he plays replays for the large majority of his show - Summer Time and Replay of the Day, plus Matt Thompson's half hour sports update means he doesn't really do much anyway. He is shit and has no knowledge besides AFL and Cricket. Extremely annoying.

Nick Slade's three hours of terror with Luke O'Brien a few weeks ago is also well up there.

Best Decision of the Year:

Getting rights for Footy/Cricket
: Something SEN needed to do for a while, and with the addition of broadcast rights for AFL and Cricket they have improved big time. Sometimes they can be too AFL based, but without the rights, I'm not sure how SEN would survive now. The calling team for footy is really good. The Cricket is also very entertaining - I didn't think adding Bill Brownless to the team was a good idea, but he was bloody good from the 20/20!

Worst Decision of the Year:

Giving Beva the arse/Getting rid of WSO
: Tough to split these two. Getting rid of Beva was a brainfade of mass preportions. A guy who was well-rounded with his sports knowledge, such a rarity at SEN in most guys. Had a terrific program and was one of SEN's best. When SEN decided to stop broadcasting WSO, they made a huge mistake. Thankfully they have rectified that with All Night Sport, largely due to the bad feedback they got. SEN needs to be 24 hours, 7 days a week.

Best Footy Caller:

Matt Granland:
An awesome addition to the footy team. I can't get the "Geelong finally are the greatest team of all" out of my head but a superb pick up from 3AW. A really good descriptor of the game play by play and always makes for good listening. Has gone from being a reporter on 3AW to hosting Morning Glory and calling footy. Good move for him.

Best Newcomer:

James Willoughby:
This guy is seriously good. Seems knowledgeable on just about every topic and really loves his world game. Starting to pop up on air more and more and has a serious/funny side and mixes it well. Seems he gets alot of praise on here and Andy Maher was pumping him up not long ago on the Morning Glory. I think he's rather young and I think we'll hear a real lot of him in the future on SEN.

Changes you'd like to see in 2008:

• Tim Watson gone
  • Mark Doran gone
  • Brett Phillips in prime time
  • Overnights back on Weekends
  • More Liam Pickering
  • More James Willoughby
  • Less Mark Fine

Love to see what others say for the same categories. Pretty sad that I've written that much on SEN, shows how much I bloody love the station!!!
well said,can i add matt thomson to the list there is too much of this guy,we dont need so many updates.maybe after each news report they can do a sen sports update as the 3aw sports report can be up to an hour behind.

I find it hard to rate the shows, because, for example, I think Mark Doran's show actually has pretty good content, but its the presenter that gives me the shits.

So for that reason, I am going to rate my top 3 performers.

1. The Ox. Has great rapport with his co-hosts, and an even better rapport with his callers. Not shy to discuss his personal life on the show and after listening to him regularly, you really think you are one of his mates.

2. Finey. The success story of the year for SEN. Very hard position of replacing a very good mate of his in Beva. One of the only guys on SEN not afraid to voice their opinion and keep off the fence as most of them do.

3. Frank. I used to really like him when he did afternoons, and was unsure at how he would go at replacing Huddo, but with his total professionalism in his sporting knowledge and being easily the best interviewer at the station, he has given some real credibility to the line-up.

There is really only two on SEN that I just cant listen to.....Tony Schebecci and Stephen Milne..have to turn it off......All the others I think do a great job by varying degrees and make the station a success....I certainly wouldn't want to see too many changes..

Here's my bests for 2007. I reckon I listen to SEN at least 5 or 6 hours a day, provide me with so much entertainment. At times it can be a bit too much AFL, but the mix isn't far off.

Best Show:

Saturday Spotlight:
As mentioned by some in this thread before, a terrific show which is almost unmissable these days. Marko and Pickers do a great a job and it's always informative and humourous. Media Watch is just about my favourite segment on radio and these two just get the mix right.

Honourable mentions to On The Rise and Brett Phillips in the afternoons.

Worst Show:

The Good Oil
: How Mark Doran still hosts a show that spans four hours is beyond me. It is clear that he is unpopular and the fact that he plays replays for the large majority of his show - Summer Time and Replay of the Day, plus Matt Thompson's half hour sports update means he doesn't really do much anyway. He is shit and has no knowledge besides AFL and Cricket. Extremely annoying.

Nick Slade's three hours of terror with Luke O'Brien a few weeks ago is also well up there.

Best Decision of the Year:

Getting rights for Footy/Cricket
: Something SEN needed to do for a while, and with the addition of broadcast rights for AFL and Cricket they have improved big time. Sometimes they can be too AFL based, but without the rights, I'm not sure how SEN would survive now. The calling team for footy is really good. The Cricket is also very entertaining - I didn't think adding Bill Brownless to the team was a good idea, but he was bloody good from the 20/20!

Worst Decision of the Year:

Giving Beva the arse/Getting rid of WSO
: Tough to split these two. Getting rid of Beva was a brainfade of mass preportions. A guy who was well-rounded with his sports knowledge, such a rarity at SEN in most guys. Had a terrific program and was one of SEN's best. When SEN decided to stop broadcasting WSO, they made a huge mistake. Thankfully they have rectified that with All Night Sport, largely due to the bad feedback they got. SEN needs to be 24 hours, 7 days a week.

Best Footy Caller:

Matt Granland:
An awesome addition to the footy team. I can't get the "Geelong finally are the greatest team of all" out of my head but a superb pick up from 3AW. A really good descriptor of the game play by play and always makes for good listening. Has gone from being a reporter on 3AW to hosting Morning Glory and calling footy. Good move for him.

Best Newcomer:

James Willoughby:
This guy is seriously good. Seems knowledgeable on just about every topic and really loves his world game. Starting to pop up on air more and more and has a serious/funny side and mixes it well. Seems he gets alot of praise on here and Andy Maher was pumping him up not long ago on the Morning Glory. I think he's rather young and I think we'll hear a real lot of him in the future on SEN.

Changes you'd like to see in 2008:
  • Tim Watson gone
  • Mark Doran gone
  • Brett Phillips in prime time
  • Overnights back on Weekends
  • More Liam Pickering
  • More James Willoughby
  • Less Mark Fine
Love to see what others say for the same categories. Pretty sad that I've written that much on SEN, shows how much I bloody love the station!!!

I agree with your comments about Willoughby and what might be interesting to note is that this guy is in still in High School.

He has come along way in such a short space of time.

To much American sport being talked about like its something we love ,who the hell knows who the San Jose Sharks are and can name a player from their team.

So you must only listen to the hours of 9-12 on a Sunday, otherwise Im not sure how the occasional 10 minute segment is equal to too much sport. I have always said there's too much footy on as I simply couldnt care less about what Nick Maxwell is doing in December, but thats a dead end argument.

During the season, you can never have too much football. Offseason however, please spread the talk amongst the sports. They're trying to find something to talk about related to AFL. Most of it you couldn't care less about.

I agree with your comments about Willoughby and what might be interesting to note is that this guy is in still in High School.

:eek: How old is the bloke? I thought he would have been around 20-21, but still in high school? If so, he will be a gun for years to come, definitely will join one of the major TV networks fairly soon.

I find it hard to rate the shows, because, for example, I think Mark Doran's show actually has pretty good content, but its the presenter that gives me the shits.

So for that reason, I am going to rate my top 3 performers.

1. The Ox. Has great rapport with his co-hosts, and an even better rapport with his callers. Not shy to discuss his personal life on the show and after listening to him regularly, you really think you are one of his mates.

2. Finey. The success story of the year for SEN. Very hard position of replacing a very good mate of his in Beva. One of the only guys on SEN not afraid to voice their opinion and keep off the fence as most of them do.

3. Frank. I used to really like him when he did afternoons, and was unsure at how he would go at replacing Huddo, but with his total professionalism in his sporting knowledge and being easily the best interviewer at the station, he has given some real credibility to the line-up.

surely this is a joke?

the ox might be a nice guy and all but after 5 minutes of talking about his day playing golf he has nothing else to talk about, how he got the sen and 7 gigs i will never know

finey is very overrated imo, not the worst at sen but theirs just something about his voice that really shits me

i was looking forward to francis coming back but he has dissapointed me in general so far, i thought he would be himself more and really shake up the run home with something different but not much has changed since huddo left

very good report roonaldo, agree with most stuff :thumbsu:

Too much soccer/world football on SEN IMHO

Well it seems like that, as most of the Four Diegos are tools IMHO ...

God talk so much crud in that show, too much EPL, not enough Seria A and the spanish and German leagues etc ...
Don't they realise that clubs like Bayern Munich, Juve and Barca would whip the pants off the likes of Arsenal and Manchester 'scum' united ???

God talk so much crud in that show, too much EPL, not enough Seria A and the spanish and German leagues etc ...
Don't they realise that clubs like Bayern Munich, Juve and Barca would whip the pants off the likes of Arsenal and Manchester 'scum' united ???

we'll see come champions league time

I think he is only 17-18 and going into year 12 next year.

I thought Willoughby sounded young....didn't realise he wasn't even in year 12.
The guy is a champ. Hopefully he can continue to do well for himself!!

-Ben

Talking of crud this post resembles it.:rolleyes::rolleyes:United would beat those clubs.Possible the reason they speak more EPL is that the game is more popular to the listening audience. United revel in the term to ''scum'' :thumbsu:

Spot on :thumbsu:If people ever have the pleasure of visiting another country they maybe mortified to know that there is other sports out there.
Love that show. No more Doran:thumbsdown:

Talking of crud this post resembles it.:rolleyes::rolleyes:United would beat those clubs.Possible the reason they speak more EPL is that the game is more popular to the listening audience. United revel in the term to ''scum'' :thumbsu:

I'd bet you top dollar that Manchester United couldn't beat Barca, Real Madrid or Ac Milan in Champers League ..
They haven't got the ticker or the type of players that can beat those team of champions ...

Barcelona >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Ac Milan >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Wellington Phoenix >>>>>>>>>>>>>> Cactus Chris >>>>>>>>>>>> Man United

I'd bet you top dollar that Manchester United couldn't beat Barca, Real Madrid or Ac Milan in Champers League ..
They haven't got the ticker or the type of players that can beat those team of champions ...

Barcelona >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Ac Milan >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Wellington Phoenix >>>>>>>>>>>>>> Cactus Chris >>>>>>>>>>>> Man United
this is the sen thread not soccer,maybe go to big soccer

Oh how original>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>.>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Let's look at the current state of play
Barcelona currently struggling in la liga with major rift between manager and star player
AC milan MID TABLE in Serie A behind a team called ROMA who United comfortably accounted for in the group stages. Whining about the content on SEN then getting on the internet talking about the game. Big Footy funny guy.:confused:

hope that w***er mark johnson hasnot stopped all night sport again.
bp said he wasnt going to be on christmas day that was okay but when i turned on this morning it was just tony shibeci talking about the afl rd after rd . anyone know why it wasnt on if all night sport is back tonight.
like a nightmare hearing shibeci talk for so long everytime i checked back to see if bp or even mark franklin were on but i gave up and went to bed .

Had the same thoughts...everytime I turned on radio, Schebecci was talking.....gave up..wasn't going to listen to that dribble...hope things back to normal tonight..