The SEN Thread

bp back on :thumbsu:

Hey iceman you got a mention last night. Brett confirmed that he isn't related,also that the lads do get paid. If you do read these posts Brett can you give that boring windbag Dave from Stkilda the flick quickly,I work overnight and turn your station off when I hear that bombastic self-opinioniated bore.

It seems as though Schwarz and Harford need to get themselves a little more informed when discussing the 17th license.

They still think it takes 12 teams to vote in favour of a new license, when it has been clearly stated by both Demetriou and McLachlan and has been widely published, that they only need the support of five teams to back the AFL Commission's decision.

Lift your game guys, because the Run Home is struggling at present.

I have to agree with Bedford...

Richo is bloody annoying to listen to!!

He laughs at his own jokes when they arent even funny!!

His voice is very very annoying, couldnt they find someone else to fill in with Matty G.

Why does he have to come up with nicknames for every person he is on air for? G Banger (very imaginative:confused:)

And Harf makes the show on Sunday mornings, Richo is just there

Heard BP mention Iceman and BF last night......so Brett, if you read this, PLEASE tone Steven Milne down....he really has been a big pain in the butt lately the way he carries on...I have to turn it off, cant stand listening to him...love your show tho....

It seems as though Schwarz and Harford need to get themselves a little more informed when discussing the 17th license.

They still think it takes 12 teams to vote in favour of a new license, when it has been clearly stated by both Demetriou and McLachlan and has been widely published, that they only need the support of five teams to back the AFL Commission's decision.

Lift your game guys, because the Run Home is struggling at present.

You sound like you know more about that than I do, but if that is correct, then most media outlets are reporting it wrongly as 12 of 16 need to approve it.

Examples: here, here, here, here and here.

One of them has a quote from Gillon saying that 75% approval is required from the clubs.

I'm not trying to take the piss, just saying that I believed 12 of 16 clubs was correct.

You sound like you know more about that than I do, but if that is correct, then most media outlets are reporting it wrongly as 12 of 16 need to approve it.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,22881761-23211,00.html

http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22883460-5003410,00.html

http://heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22883783%5E19768,00.html

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,22881767-661,00.html

http://sportal.com.au/default.aspx/afl-news-display/extra-team-an-option-afl-39939

One of them has a quote from Gillon saying that 75% approval is required from the clubs.

I'm not trying to take the piss, just saying that I believed 12 of 16 clubs was correct.

Unfortunately, you are working off old infomation. As soon as the Kangaroos rejected the AFL's offer, the AFL dispensed with the spin and mistruths and switched on the reality button.

The clubs gave up their rights to the Commission years ago, but they can reverse a commission decision if 12 clubs disagree with it.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,22901604-23211,00.html

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,22893012-20322,00.html

Spread the word, because it's disappointing that people in the media are so ill-informed and speak about things they think they are an authority on, but embarrass themselves when they find out the don't. If anyone on SEN is reading this, 12 clubs must disagree with an AFL decision to overturn it, not agree to it.

On another topic, I agree with MacMum about Steven Milne on the GBU crew. He is becoming embarrassing with his over the top carry on, and all it does is drag the others in the studio down. It was probably a bit of a laugh 9 months ago, but now it's tiresome and predictable.

Maybe a name change for that segment is in order. I know some personalities are larger than life, but somehow I don't think he'd show up to work each day and act like he does on-air.

Time to smarten up your act Milney, because you are driving listeners away, and you'd know as well as anyone that they can't afford that.

We should start a BP appreciation society. I usually now listen to the show from 2-3.30 with the news update and UK report. I've listened to Billy and Dave and whoever else now for 2-3 years and cant handle anymore. Btw I think Dave secretly thinks he's Patrick Smith and Brett is KB.

Hey iceman you got a mention last night. Brett confirmed that he isn't related,also that the lads do get paid. If you do read these posts Brett can you give that boring windbag Dave from Stkilda the flick quickly,I work overnight and turn your station off when I hear that bombastic self-opinioniated bore.
I don't know if you heard Dave's embarrassing but HILARIOUS cover of Working Class Man a few weeks back, but you have to admit the man provides some champagne radio. He's great value. (If anyone managed to record that song, hook me up with it).

And icemen, your love of BP is getting out of hand, and I'm a big fan of him too. BP addressed the financial situation last night, he does indeed get paid and runs his own business (check out his website BAP communications). I like the way he fielded the caller's NBA questions last night, finally someone who has some knowledge of NBA (along with Mark Franklin). He was reading off a stats sheet and looking at the conference standings, sure, but he does watch it when he can. If Tony was hosting that call would have never went to air.

If you're reading this BP, wouldn't mind a bit more NBA talk off the top of the show, maybe add an NBA segment sometime between 12 and 1.

You got a good mention by BP last night.

Are you secretly in love with him or something?

i am a star :) i am trying to get out of going out with some mates on friday night to go to the christmas party i want to meet bp
if i do i will not say i am icemen just a listener it would be to weird

i only felt sorry for the not getting paid because someone here posted that it was in the papers that bp said he wasnt getting paid thats what someone said here ???????????

Unfortunately, you are working off old infomation. As soon as the Kangaroos rejected the AFL's offer, the AFL dispensed with the spin and mistruths and switched on the reality button.

The clubs gave up their rights to the Commission years ago, but they can reverse a commission decision if 12 clubs disagree with it.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,22901604-23211,00.html

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,22893012-20322,00.html

Spread the word, because it's disappointing that people in the media are so ill-informed and speak about things they think they are an authority on, but embarrass themselves when they find out the don't. If anyone on SEN is reading this, 12 clubs must disagree with an AFL decision to overturn it, not agree to it.

On another topic, I agree with MacMum about Steven Milne on the GBU crew. He is becoming embarrassing with his over the top carry on, and all it does is drag the others in the studio down. It was probably a bit of a laugh 9 months ago, but now it's tiresome and predictable.

Maybe a name change for that segment is in order. I know some personalities are larger than life, but somehow I don't think he'd show up to work each day and act like he does on-air.

Time to smarten up your act Milney, because you are driving listeners away, and you'd know as well as anyone that they can't afford that.

Top work.

Thanks for the info.

Definitely agree that there is a distinct lack of sporting knowledge in most of the on-air staff at SEN. They seem to know about as much info as you read in paper headlines or see on the Sports News at 6pm.

Not to mention Patrick Smith's continuing ill-informed bagging of North Melbourne. Such as declaring our new sponsors are only replacing those we've lost. The man has no idea.

BTW there was more proof on last night's GBU Crew show (midnight wednesday mornings and btw Milney is a nut lol) that Billy from West Heildeberg is gay !!!

I worry about that bloke big time.

BTW there was more proof on last night's GBU Crew show (midnight wednesday mornings and btw Milney is a nut lol) that Billy from West Heildeberg is gay !!!

I worry about that bloke big time.

I doubt Billy is gay, even if he is it is really nothing to do with us.

He has some mental disability.......

-Ben

Snoran's replaying an old interview with John Steffenson.

He reminds me of an episode of Seinfeld where George has a man-crush with Elaine's boyfriend Tony. They go rock-climbing and George makes him some sandwiches and when Tony turns his hat backwards, George does it too.

Surely man-crushes of this size aren't healthy.

i only felt sorry for the not getting paid because someone here posted that it was in the papers that bp said he wasnt getting paid thats what someone said here ???????????[/quote]

Another case of someone trying to cover his tracks
I was that someone that posted here about an article in the Age Newspaper.
Phillips is lying or the journalist who writes the heckle page is lying.
The article clearly stated plain as day I recall it had a quote from Phillips saying that they were not being paid by SEN but had to seek their own revenue.
The article even said that how would Red Symons feel if he was told he had to work for nothing.
Now tell me did the Age journalist from the heckle just wake up one day and say to himself "I think I might write something about SEN and make up a quote from Phillips"
I doubt this heckle writer even knew of Phillips before he wrote the story.
I only catch the last hr or less than that of the overnights if I am up in time but someone do me a favour ring him up and ask him who is lying the AGE or Phillips himself .
If I still had the article I could re print it out word for word here but I know what i read
Sounds like the young man might be trying to save face with his bosses after making them look poor .

If anyone from SEN management reads this thread can you please remove the absolute <insert many swear words here> you have on "The Good, the bad and the ugly show. You know the one - the ******** that just SCREAMS into the microphone the whole time.

FFS why would anyone want to listen to a complete idiot just YELLING at that time in the morning. SEN goes straight off for me. YOU CAN'T LISTEN TO IT. FULL STOP!

DOES ANYONE KNOW THE BLOKE I'M TALKING ABOUT???????

Thats Milney, who we have complained about here on this thread many times.
I liked the Asian sport segment at about 1.30 last night. First time on any radio station that I've heard that has had knowledge about the ACL. Nice get that one Brett and people.

Btw, I have started to warm to Mark Allen, but he's had another tantrum because someone on the quiz didnt know what was going on.

Also listened to Run home today, and Ox is actually really good as long as he's not giving serious sports analysis. He's great on the soap box and making fun of daily things like Christmas shopping and stupid women's stuff that his fiance does.

Milney, the whole screaming into the mic thing is getting old, really old. I used to enjoy the odd laugh at the "GBU CREEEEWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!" in the show's early stages, but now it's just annoying and painful to hear. Time to retire the show I think and make a new format, it's run its race.

Nah I reckon Milney is grouse ...
ESP when he takes pot shots at SJP .. Steven J PUKE !!!

BTW Is anyone going to the WSO xmas party at Fetish bar on friday night ?

Thats Milney, who we have complained about here on this thread many times.
I liked the Asian sport segment at about 1.30 last night. First time on any radio station that I've heard that has had knowledge about the ACL. Nice get that one Brett and people.

Btw, I have started to warm to Mark Allen, but he's had another tantrum because someone on the quiz didnt know what was going on. Also listened to Run home today, and Ox is actually really good as long as he's not giving serious sports analysis. He's great on the soap box and making fun of daily things like Christmas shopping and stupid women's stuff that his fiance does.

Yeah have to say I like his work with Mark Fine and always been a fan of saturday spotlight but don't like him on KBs show and other times I've heard him on SEN. He seems to be better when he's just taking the piss and not talking golf. :thumbsu:
Was listening to him and Finey tonight and he said a few funny things about cyclists who dress up in all the gear when they really shouldn't and about how many people there are with tatts and piercings, it was funny stuff but I was sure I'd heard it all before on SEN and then I realised that rippa Rita already covered both topics not too long ago. :D Was still funny. Also was funny when Finey was trying to convince Marko that Richmond were going to craigieburn, somehow Marko didn't know anything about it and refused to believe it!

i am a star :) i am trying to get out of going out with some mates on friday night to go to the christmas party i want to meet bp
if i do i will not say i am icemen just a listener it would be to weird

i only felt sorry for the not getting paid because someone here posted that it was in the papers that bp said he wasnt getting paid thats what someone said here ???????????

Ben From Sunbury will no doubt be there as well, maybe you will get to meet him as well mate.

LOL imagine having a conversation with Ben Carb.

Do you want to hear about how the WD of the Sydney Swifts trained and how determined she is to get into the national team and gain peak fitness.

Ben From Sunbury will no doubt be there as well, maybe you will get to meet him as well mate.
Is Dave from St Kilda going to be at the Christmas Party?

Btw, anyone on here have a hattrick team? I know Mark Franklin talks about his team practically every night. Would like to challenge his team.

Whats with all the replays lately ?
With KB on holidays,a good hour in the 9am to noon slot is now taken up with replayed interviews whilst I don't think Doran even cares anymore. I would say more than half his show is now replays (and not even interesting ones). What the hell is he doing to earn his paycheck every week ?

Just because its summer and your main hosts are on holidays doesn't mean that sport stops.....

Also I listened late last night and 11pm to midnight was taken up with replayed football calls from 2007. I soon hit the snooze button much as I love hearing Billy expert comments from 6 months ago. :rolleyes:

On a positive note, I must give a big congrats to the Ox. The sponsors must love him with the amount of promo he gives their products. This could be annoying but Ox manages to do it in an entertaining way. He really seems to enjoy doing his show along with Francis and Harford and this conveys across to his audience.

In my opinion he is the heartbeat of SEN.:thumbsu: