Review The Slide Continues - Rd 17 v Carlton Review

Never thought I would say this. I would think Travis coyler might be handy about now
Should be in tbh. No accountability with Switkowski for example.
Colyer, Banfield, Sturt all should be in. The forward have been woeful. What worst can three changes do?

Banfield never should’ve been out. Missing a genuine medium forward

I struggle to see how anyone could think Ryan had a good game other than if they looked at stats only.

Not a single score involvement today. His disposals are useless. Great mark - otherwise adds zero to the team.

Should be traded at the end of the season. If one player is what’s wrong with Freo it’s him. Absolutely pathetic footballer.
Disagree.
The footy lived in our d50 today, so often there was no one forward of the centre square. Who tf was Ryan to kick to after his 10 or so intercept marks?

For a game we kicked 6 goals I think it’s harsh to judge a back for their lack of score involvements

Should be in tbh. No accountability with Switkowski for example.
Colyer, Banfield, Sturt all should be in. The forward have been woeful. What worst can three changes do?

Banfield never should’ve been out. Missing a genuine medium forward
Can't argue with that.....Schultz, Switta and Freddy were all terrible. But to be fair to them, a game plan based on holding the ball up in the midfield and bombing it long to a crowded forward line isn't going to be favourable to small and mid sized forwards.

Disagree.
The footy lived in our d50 today, so often there was no one forward of the centre square. Who tf was Ryan to kick to after his 10 or so intercept marks?

For a game we kicked 6 goals I think it’s harsh to judge a back for their lack of score involvements
There has to be options.
Young, Clark, Walker for all their pace and elite kicking, are wasted across half back if that’s the case.
Instead Walker is a shutdown small defender. What a waste.
Clark shouldn’t be half back. Elite wing in the making.

Refusal to change that is frustrating

I didn't see the game, but looking at the stats, the score, and the AFL summary, I don't need to.

I feared we may be undersized in the midfield, and it proved to be the case. Hated that we had to go in so undersized, but realistically there was no alternatives.

Those calling for JLo's head are entitled to their opinion,but myself I think that's not the answer.

Have a good hard look at the Eagles for comparison purposes.

Much as today stings like a ********** I would point out we are still not as s**t as people may currently think.

We have talent. We have a premiership window in front of us. And we need to get fu****g busy during trade and draft period, to shore up the midfield, to make it bigger when we need to... Which we should have the salary cap to do, if we cut some of the guys who are nowhere near it. It'll hurt to lose them, but drafting another midfield monster or two will take too long.

Even with finals out of reach, I'd still rather be where we are currently, than where we were five years ago, or where the Eagles will be for the next five years.

You clearly didn't see the game if you're already trying to look at the upside.

I'm struggling to think of a worse display at home, ever. Honestly, we made a middling mediocre team look like the ****ing Harlem globetrotters.

Identify a gettable big-bodied two-way running mid (they're thin on the ground), and try to trade for them. Our firsts are currently useless as the time taken to grow with our current crop is too long, so spend heavy on the right target. Suggestions?

As others have said, disappointment wasn't losing to a formidable side; Carlton were nothing flash today, and we got ****ed. I'm bullish on our window, but lying if some doubt didn't creep in today. Seriously, Carlton aren't a top 8 side and didn't play like one today. SM-G955F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Switta has been a problem for at least the last 5 games.
Pearce is a problem.

Switta - Shuiltz - Freddy - Walters combo looks good when we are winning the midfield. When we are drawing even or losing they don't have the ability to win the hard ball.

Happy with what we got for Cerra - at the same time, he looked huge next to our guys today. We need Johnson and Ras to turn into very goof players or we are in a bit of trouble for size/quality.

Jackson being injured has taken a wildcard from our style of play. Looking forward to his development in the next few seasons.

Changes need to be made, Pearce is woefully out of form and looked injured at the end. Give him a few weeks off, drop Switta and bring in a defender and forward.

Disagree.

There were options if he was quicker. Even if its just a short 15m kick. Edge it forward. There was not a single time all game where he didn't wait for the entire field to set up before taking the kick.

Identify a gettable big-bodied two-way running mid (they're thin on the ground), and try to trade for them. Our firsts are currently useless as the time taken to grow with our current crop is too long, so spend heavy on the right target. Suggestions?

On SM-G955F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Those types are 2x first rounders. Not going to happen.
Johnson is that big body. However he’s 2/3 years away from being elite or developing into one.

Jackson can be midfield. Should have three talls- Sturt/Banfield as back up. And allow Jackson midfield.
Banfield and Sturt can replace the garbage smalls and be better anyway.

There were options if he was quicker. Even if its just a short 15m kick. Edge it forward. There was not a single time all game where he didn't wait for the entire field to set up before taking the kick.
Ryan has openly said he doesnt like kicking in which is why he either kicks it short 30 metres to his best mate or just 50 metres to the pack and we get no drive. Other teams can get it to their 50 after a kick in as they move the ball fast and have intent.

Doesn't matter if he likes it or not. It's his ****ing job to play football so learn how to do it. If he's the deepest defender, and is the one that ends up taking the kick ins all the time, then learn how to ****ing do it. Get's paid 500k+ a year the least he can do is hit a kick.

Why did I have this feeling we were gonna lose to Carlton at home today?

If there is any positives out of this game, please let me know.

Only positive I found was I put $50 on Carlton at $2. So I get $100 back to back on my misery. Off to the pub then.
Got some nice habanero fried chicken pieces at 3/4 time...but that hardly makes up for the 4x buses and 2x trains from mandurah due to track maintenance...

Never thought I would say this. I would think Travis coyler might be handy about now
According to those in the know around here, he is 100% being delisted and over the hill. Why would you play him even if he would do better than some in the b22 atm lol

You can keep blaming the coach, but the players aren’t working hard enough for long enough. It will come but we are 2 years away & a few puzzle pieces short of being real contenders.

& please don’t give me that’s the coaches fault, if you have ever coached at all you’ll know there’s only so much you can do & you cant keep ‘firing them up’ before every game & every quarter.

Only 3-4 weeks ago David King was saying we were in the top 4 teams to watch, the game plan was fine. Stop letting the players off by continually blaming the coach.

Lot of hate for the small forwards and Luke Ryan but all of that is caused by the midfielders getting absolutely dominated, yet again. Ryan has no one to kick to because we can’t buy a stoppage and so ball lives in Carlton’s 50. The smalls can’t get involved unless there is good supply in good areas that allows them to crumb and pressure.

Instead we get blind bombs and panicked turnovers (if we ever win a clean stoppage, which is rare).

Darcy literally hit it wherever they planned and they got outbodied and out-spread again and again. It is embarrassing frankly - Serong, JOM and Brayshaw are in the leadership group…

We need a dramatic restructure in there. Brodie to play again when his ankle is good and play the first touch role we all know he can play well. Why the fk did we go away from that?

JOM can play half forward and attend the off CBD…shocking pick up so far barring 2/3 solid games.

Anyway ranting…but man losing the midfield for the same reasons again and again is doing my head in

Can we please drop Walker for once, any other team would not have gifted him so many games in a row.
I have to agree. He needs a spell in WAFL. You cannot have an AFL player get only three disposals and let him stay in the side the following week.

Having said that though, it was a shocking display pretty much from the whole team, and no amount of excuses can justify it. Poor skills, poor decision making and such a terrible lack of effort and cohesion.

I won’t even bother to listen to JL’s presser. No point!

So yeah, this year we have effectively replaced Mundy, Brodie, Acres, Fyfe with Johnson, O'Meara, Henry/Erasmus and Injured/Old Fyfe, so no surprise all our losses have come with absolute beltings in the midfield.

If we had kept Neale, Cerra, perhaps Acres, then we would be well in the 8. As it is, we have youngsters in there we need to get games into so our realistic window of challenging got pushed out. I'm still confident we will become a very good team, but we need to temper expectations. After the departures of the last few years our team got even younger and our timeline got pushed back further.

That said, I am not convinced there isn't some coaching issue. The way we started off the season so poorly indicated something amiss with our pre-season preparation. Did we not focus on contested footy enough in the pre-season, instead coasting through practicing quick transitions, instead of preparing for real AFL pressure? Would be interested to hear from pre-season observers what their thoughts are.

Our team defense is considerably worse this year. We are leaking goals like a sieve. Our rebound is also worse. Young hasn't been as dynamic this year after we expected him to take another step up. I thought he could be a sneaky chance at an AA berth given his trajectory last year.

I'm convinced our talent is there. It will be a midfield of Serong, Brayshaw, Johnson, Erasmus that carries us forward, we just need to get games into the latter. I just hope the coaching talent is there. Hard to judge on the outside looking in, but there have been some concerning signs we got the pre-season wrong this year. Reminds me a bit of Ross' 2016 nightmare start after deciding to change things up in the pre-season and try to emulate Hawthorn.

This. There hasn’t been a slower player to move the ball in AFL history I reckon. He’s pathetic

Review The Slide Continues - Rd 17 v Carlton Review