Analysis The Temple of Acres

It's probably been pretty obvious the last 2 years of my love for Blake but I just want to highlight how hard the kid works.
There was a knock on his kicking/decision making (unfairly imo) from some at the club early in season which meant he found himself in the VFL.
Instead of sooking up the kid did even more extra work (was already doing a lot) on his kicking during the week and since he has come back into the senior team I think it's very clear for everyone to see how much it's improved.
He mightn't have too much between the ears but credit where credit is due, Blake is working as hard as anybody on his game and I think we are starting to get a taste of what he will be for us in the near future.
He's a 30 disposal a game player and one that can influence games with his size and seemingly able to find space where there is none. He needs more time but 192cm/94kg mids who do what Blake does are VERY rare.

Some times the intellectual ones can rationalise why they aren't going to do well in a game and then execute it perfectly.

Nothing wrong with a good old fashioned ball magnet who doesn't overthink the game, plays with a bit of flair, and when the chips are up or down he's always trying to barrel roll the emotional wave!

It's probably been pretty obvious the last 2 years of my love for Blake but I just want to highlight how hard the kid works.
There was a knock on his kicking/decision making (unfairly imo) from some at the club early in season which meant he found himself in the VFL.
Instead of sooking up the kid did even more extra work (was already doing a lot) on his kicking during the week and since he has come back into the senior team I think it's very clear for everyone to see how much it's improved.
He mightn't have too much between the ears but credit where credit is due, Blake is working as hard as anybody on his game and I think we are starting to get a taste of what he will be for us in the near future.
He's a 30 disposal a game player and one that can influence games with his size and seemingly able to find space where there is none. He needs more time but 192cm/94kg mids who do what Blake does are VERY rare.

People shouldn't be worried about his kicking

I like his long kicking into the fwd line. Hell, danger won a brownlow kicking like that

People shouldn't be worried about his kicking

I like his long kicking into the fwd line. Hell, danger won a brownlow kicking like that

He's actually not a bad short kick either. His issue was kicking off the back foot when kicking over the mark. Hes been working hard on that and is improving by the week.

The thing I really like about Blake is his ability to stand uo when the game is on the line. Dont know the stats, but I reckon you'd find that over his career Blake probably gets about 70-80% of his disposals in the 1st anf 4th quarter. He is a game changer, and his frame and the penetration in his kicking will mean he will always be a threat forward of the center. I think his supposed poor disposal is somewhat overstated. Except for maybe Sinclair, there is no one Id rather have delievering the ball into our forward 50 as he more often than not seems to find that extra yard or two with his kicks that change his delivery from expected, and thus easy to defend, to dangerous. He did this a couple of times against Brisbane last year to Roo, where the kick just went that little bit further than you thought it would and really put the defender out of position. He shanks one every now and then, but its because he is always tryimg to do something dangerous with his disposal. This will be ironed out of his game eith experience and soon I think he will turn those shanks in to something highly productive.
The thing I dont like about Blake is that he consistently goes missing in the middle parts of the game. If he fixes this, and I think he will very very soon, then he becomes elite, simple as that. You can see what he does in a 5-10 minute burst, if he did this over a full game he'd be our best midfielder. If he could do it over a season, he'd be one of the best midfielders in the comp
I've said it before but he goes in and out of games because he is literally in and out of games as he is often on the bench for quite a long period of time. The more game time he gets the less fade outs

giphy.gif
Got great balance.
Lenny Hayes and Dustin Martin both were/are very hard to tackle as both do the big stiff arm fend " dont argue' to get rid of the opponent.
Blake always seems to just do a swipe with the free arm to brush his oponent off.
Hasnt got that massive side step like The Gresh has but as you can see in that clip the little side step , his ability to swap the hand thats holding the ball and swipe with the arm at the precise right moment makes him bloody hard to grab.
Yeah he is occasionally gonna get caught which will be frustrating but its a real game breaker when he can weave through heavy traffic like that.
Gotta be encouraged to keep taking the opposition on whith his natural flare.
His evasivness is Harvey like at times.
A young player who is genuinely fun to watch.

To be fair, I don't think Moorabbin Ghost was suggesting Acres had been diagnosed with KPSS (King-Purple-Slobbo Syndrome) :cool:

He seems a bit of a happy vague guy when you speak to him. He's like a bit of a stoner or country hayseed type, I have a cousin who is a published cancer scientist and you would think he couldn't tie his shoe laces he's that vague. It's not necessarily a lack of smarts.

Just noticed that Acres has finally made it off the bench and has been named to start on the field in the forward pocket, hopefully it doesn't go to his head.

With Riewoldt and Bruce out hopefully he'll be used as a marking target up forward as he's deceptively tall and can take a strong overhead mark, one of our more reliable kicks for goal too.

Just noticed that Acres has finally made it off the bench and has been named to start on the field in the forward pocket, hopefully it doesn't go to his head.

With Riewoldt and Bruce out hopefully he'll be used as a marking target up forward as he's deceptively tall and can take a strong overhead mark, one of our more reliable kicks for goal too.
Can he? From what I've seen he's much better at making a contest then getting the ground ball. Haven't seen him hold many overhead marks, certainly not in the forward line.

I've seen him take some good overheard marks, not so much in the forward line but around the ground, he has a long reach and can outmark most mids.

He's quite similar to Bontempelli with his height, long reach and loping stride so he might even get a chance to match up on him at some stage.

Mate it's Blake Acres there's nothing he can't do.

Analysis The Temple of Acres