The Umpires

I hear a lot of people say how much they like Ling on commentary. I can't stand the bloke, he makes me want to throw the remote at the TV. If there was an alternative to channel 7 I'd take it in a heartbeat. His comments on replays are especially annoying

The best one tonight was the one not called for shepherding in the marking contest when Darling took out Birchall. Ling: "That's just great work off the ball by Darling to come across and make sure Birchall couldn't get to the contest." No Lingy.... that's a ****in free-kick.

I hear a lot of people say how much they like Ling on commentary. I can't stand the bloke, he makes me want to throw the remote at the TV. If there was an alternative to channel 7 I'd take it in a heartbeat. His comments on replays are especially annoying

The best one tonight was the one not called for shepherding in the marking contest when Darling took out Birchall. Ling: "That's just great work off the ball by Darling to come across and make sure Birchall couldn't get to the contest." No Lingy.... that's a ****in free-kick.

Dennis followed up with "it's a fine line between a shepherd and a block" that it is but not in this instance.

The out on the full where it hit Frawleys hand was a disgrace. 30 years following footy and I have never seen that.
Thought it was like tennis, where out on the full is called when the ball hits the ground.

Sorry to intrude, and I may be seeing things incorrectly, but when are the umps going to don the Eagles guernsey and make it official?

I was banging on about it pregame and sure enough, it came to pass. The umpires had a big influence on the flow of the game in the first and second qtrs.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

West Coast free kick stats reveal huge home-ground advantage

WEST Coast is the most protected team in the AFL.

The Eagles have won a staggering 349 more free kicks than they have conceded in the past five years — a differential three times bigger than their nearest rival.

But it’s at Subiaco, at the aptly nicknamed “House of Pain”, where West Coast gets the biggest advantage from whistleblowers.

Since the start of 2011, the Eagles have lost the free kick count in only four of 46 matches on home soil against interstate sides — a success rate of 91 per cent.

Incredibly, West Coast is also one of only two clubs to win more free kicks than it loses on the road, where it boasts a +63 free kick differential. Carlton (+8) is the only other club to win more frees than it has given away in interstate games since 2011.

Asked for his theory on the West Coast whistle-fest, umpires boss Wayne Campbell said: “The answer is, I don’t know.

“There’s just got to be a combination of things. Perhaps it’s the style of play, the crowd, winning games or that home sides win more than they lose.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...383490467?sv=4eb85ee3f87c0f69d6f221e6980be486

upload_2015-9-11_18-40-17.png

Some mind boggling decisions.
That out on the full wasn't even out on the full, part of it was still above the line, then he knocked it straight down and when it hit the ground it was still partly above the line. Then to pay 50 for the ball returning 1 metre in front of the player, after a borderline free kick which they got wrong, is diabolical. Then to top it off they measured out 60m. You can see the free was about 15m outside the 50m line - which makes it very easy for the ump to place the mark the same distance from goal. But somehow after applying 50 they are 5m out from goal, wtf? Don't they teach that at umpire school? Thank **** it didn't cost the game.

The out on the full where it hit Frawleys hand was a disgrace. 30 years following footy and I have never seen that.
Thought it was like tennis, where out on the full is called when the ball hits the ground.
My understanding is that it's not like tennis. If the ball goes over the line then it is out of play, doesn't have to hit the ground over the line.
But after watching the replay IMO it didn't go completely over the line at any point in that piece of play anyway.

Have only ourselves to blame for not earning a home final by not showing up against Port a few weeks ago.

West Coast will always get what they got tonight over there. 40k people cheering for the same side makes umpires not want to pay a free against that team, basic human psychology.
Perhaps if we had fully professional umpires and not part-timers things would be different but part-amateurs makes sense for an amateurishly run league.

I was banging on about it pregame and sure enough, it came to pass. The umpires had a big influence on the flow of the game in the first and second qtrs.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

West Coast free kick stats reveal huge home-ground advantage

WEST Coast is the most protected team in the AFL.

The Eagles have won a staggering 349 more free kicks than they have conceded in the past five years — a differential three times bigger than their nearest rival.

But it’s at Subiaco, at the aptly nicknamed “House of Pain”, where West Coast gets the biggest advantage from whistleblowers.

Since the start of 2011, the Eagles have lost the free kick count in only four of 46 matches on home soil against interstate sides — a success rate of 91 per cent.

Incredibly, West Coast is also one of only two clubs to win more free kicks than it loses on the road, where it boasts a +63 free kick differential. Carlton (+8) is the only other club to win more frees than it has given away in interstate games since 2011.

Asked for his theory on the West Coast whistle-fest, umpires boss Wayne Campbell said: “The answer is, I don’t know.

“There’s just got to be a combination of things. Perhaps it’s the style of play, the crowd, winning games or that home sides win more than they lose.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...383490467?sv=4eb85ee3f87c0f69d6f221e6980be486

View attachment 172655

Come on mate, I don't mean to be disrespectful, it is your board and all, but seriously what a load of garbage from a team going three-peat.
You guys have the classiest supporters of the lot, and I judge that by both games I went to this year, was able to have a few drinks with a random hawthorn supporter over just the love of football and talk tactics just tonight.

And I still believe you guys are premiership favorites.

I'm not going to say umpiring is 100% correct all the time, but different techniques in 'How to deal with pressure, how you tackle, and setup around the ball' can all lead to a differential in the count. It is a stat that isn't meant to be officiated equal, other wise what's the point of the center square? Just give each team 20 shots at goal from a specific point (Like a game of horse).

Put it this way, Sir Donald Bradman, the most prestigious and gifted sportsman with records that will likely never be broken, rated the best player in his sport ever.. Still got out for a duck... Hawthorn just seemed off tonight, it happens.

You lost but aren't out of it, at the end of the day I believe the three-peat is real.

(Apologize if this goes against your board policy - especially after I had a few frothies. Please ask me to remove it and I'll be happy to oblige)

The umpires killed us when the game was on
We didnt have a chance when the game was on, the umps made sure of it, the eagles tested the water to see what they could get away with and with the crowd on your side like that it was ****ing murder, hawks however went the other way not a touch went unnoticed with the crowd drawing attention every possibility of a slight made by a power ranger. Looked like pussies and played like it. Biggest home ground advantage i have seen against hawks, the stat above showing the discrepancy of free kicks at subi says it all. Umps are not impartial they are weak, easily influenced and "semi-professional" at best. At worst they are crowd pleasing soft ***** happy to appease the masses of feral frothing bogans.

The Umpires