The Upper Murray Football League (Part2)

Also heard Corryong may have added a bit of strength. Pearce will be a massive pickup Feds, and you'd think he'll bring a few with him.

How's cudge looking? Had some decent younger locals last year, they'll only get better if they keep them.
Our boys have picked up some handy Hume and Tallangatta league players, though none are superstars they all played senior footy in those comps so should be good value for us, especially being mainly key position players, expect us to have another 3 or 4 signings by round 1. Its gunna take a fair bit of pressure off Evan having to play down back and more on the ball:eek:

Thomas has apparently signed at Howlong in the Hume League.
However they have signed Josh Mathewson from Yackandandah is the word on the street???

Bullioh clearances suggest they have signed mathewson from yack but lost Thomas to Howlong and Bradsworth to Barnawartha but nothing about C.tolkin.
Be interesting to see also how b/w go against tallangatta teams in pre season comp..?

I'll give you the tip, if Tallangatta put out even a 2nds based Team tomorrow they'll wipe Border Walwa off the face of this planet.

And of cause WDSA you are fully paid up member and player of TFC who thinks because they may flog B/W in a game that means J/S that the B/W club or players really care what you think,it means nothing ,even to TFC,all it will mean to B/W is that they get to play against better footballers than usual,it isnt the AFL Grand Final,but if beating an UMFL side is so high on your list of prioroitys I think you need to get out of the house and have abit of a look around. And Corryong have picked up a few Hume league players,Thorneycroft is a good player from Murray magies,a nasty young man I believe,seen him play a few games last year,when dishing it out OK but not when hes on the other end,goes off the deep end.:footy::thumbsu:

Actually The Tiger, I'm not a member or player of the Tallnagatta F.C in fact I despise the Tallangatta F.C.

I hope that B/W get up tonight but was just giving my opinion on the subject.

Don't know if 16 a side is gunna suit the so called flag favorite B/W if they are recruiting aging blokes from Albury/Wodonga or any other clubs that are looking at recuiting old blokes from down there. Might be up to the clubs up here to get their guys fit, recruit younger blokes and promote their younger locals:)

[So called flag favourite, jezzzz not much respect for last years preimers.Apparently winning a flag means nothing?
What do you call ageing?
I don't think the 16 aside will suit any club the doesn't / hasn't based a pre season around stamina / distance endurance.Suddenly we head back to the dark ages of training.
The whole concept devalues a senior competition in my opinion and ultimatley cuts 2 players straight back to reserves. Wheres the incentive for fringe players or players a little slower to come on to push or advance to the next level ? 16 a side my have been a little easier to stomach if they had the option for more on the bench.Not as much opportunity to blood the young boys. Poor decision all round. Poor decision for the league to even entertain the thought. Anyhow my pissing and moaning is done for the year, just looking forward to the season cause when your my age;) every year is a bonus and your a long time retired!!!!!!! ]

Like any decision which impacts every club there seems to be definite mixed opinion on the 16-a-side. One thing everyone should remember is that the majority of decision makers considered this the best move in the interests of clubs and the league in general.

Fringe players may find it more difficult, but if their not in the best group of players, they may spend more time in the 2's, which, lets not forget will improve the standard of the 2's which has been terrible in recent years (NO OFFENCE INTENDED but let's be honest).

The fact that alot of ovals are big (cudge and corryong especially) will mean the work rate will increase for onballers and younger players, however its not as if we're down to 12 a side so it might just make for cleaner footy. At bullioh where the oval is not much bigger than a backyard, the footy will be less crowded and better to play in and a better spectacle to watch. This will also benefit the younger players who will not be sniped by older slower opponents, and have some room to move.

I'm not saying this will be a miracle for the league - I'm not even saying that it will be definitely successful, however just wanted to point out a few positive factors and perhaps the reason as why it was implemented.

Hi boys,I didnt go to last nights game TFC and B/W, but the B/W boys got a lesson in tackleing ,handballing and general attacking the ball and the man with the ball,got told the turnover rate was shocking because they couldnt handle the pace of the game,got a lot to learn even with a few of thier bigger blokes not playing,anyway it can only help them.

[Great description on the game Tiger that you didn't watch , you named just about every aspect that goes into playing a game off football. Of course the club can take no positives out of it (and yes I am being sarcastic).
I was there and yes mistakes were made. Major point I will agree with you on is we will be better off for it. No use playing pre-season matches against lower or same strength clubs.
Another hard one next Tuesday against Mitta. The boys welcome the challenge. ]

Signed on tonight with Border Walwa and hoping the league is somewhere near the standard a few blokes have been telling me. Willing to try this 16 a side thing because i've never been afraid of a bit of running it's just a LOT of running that scares me a little!
Anyways good luck and we'll see you on the field in '10

Gee whizz Nathan B/W must be rapt to have you on board! Kiewa would be devastated that one of the great TDFL reserve careers is over:confused:. But then again i suppose it opens up a spot on the Kiewa reserves interchange for someone else:eek:. I look forward to playing against you when B/W play the mighty doggies this year but then again i play seniors so i probably wont:confused:. Maybe it will make it easier for you to get a kick with 16 a side:D

Well thanks for that stinging ctitique, but that don't worry me, i've always had my doubters, seem to prove them wrong by holding my own!!! We'll see how i go with 1's or 2's but i can admit was very uncomfortable in first pre season game due to new voices and a very different game style than i am used to.
Just make sure when i do line up on you, make sure you keep sniping, gotta love proving idiots (who don't reveal who they are) wrong!

Good to see a few new people on line had a week an a bit off .
All i'm going to say is my thoughts are with Max and his Family.
So b/w played last week and lost so what there wasn't 4pts up for grabs it was just to give them a hit-out [well done B/W].
Tiger my source says your number 1 supporter was there can you confirm this? I see on clearances there are a fair few going to B/W does anyone know how good they are and Corryong not far behind.Nothing for Tumba a couple to FEDS an Cudgie also Bullioh.
This could be an interesting season

Good to see a few new people on line had a week an a bit off .
All i'm going to say is my thoughts are with Max and his Family.
So b/w played last week and lost so what there wasn't 4pts up for grabs it was just to give them a hit-out [well done B/W].
Tiger my source says your number 1 supporter was there can you confirm this? I see on clearances there are a fair few going to B/W does anyone know how good they are and Corryong not far behind.Nothing for Tumba a couple to FEDS an Cudgie also Bullioh.
This could be an interesting season
Hi Ref, I agree ,I have thought of Max the last week or so andyou can only feel for the man and his family.I dont know who B/Ws no 1 supporter is but I will do my best to find out, and the boys can only benifet from playing against bigger and better players. B/W have picked up a few but yet to see if they are as good or better than the loses,Corryong have done well 4 from the Hume League,plus a couple of Feds have rolled over,Bullioh have got a couple from the TFL and Hume League so you can rely on them to be hard to roll,not much about Cudgie or Tumba just yet ,but you can bet the last week or so Tumba,s newies will come rolling out,they are playing thier cards close to thier chest.:footy::thumbsu:

who are the clearences to corryong and feds?

Hey Snake 43, get on, upper murray football league, website, and hit clearences and wala up come the clearences,I hope your a Richmond
supporter but no I have just noticed you are a Carlton man/girl I didnt think there were people dumber than Tiger fans but obviously I am wrong,thank god for that,anyway get on, upper murray football league,and you will see what you got and what you havent got.

tiger seriously mate r you the full quid or wat? pretty standard question bud. didnt realise the upper murray even had its own website, my god how stupid of me! pretty safe in saying only stupid bloke on heres you, just sifting through some of the other garbage you have written, your a pretty positive bloke. fair to say you were the bloke who never quite made the school footy team now takes any opportunity to pay out on any team/person who says something or does something wrong. and your honestly going to have a crack at me bout supporting carlton, glass houses champ, dont think you really wanna go into that one TIGER!

Well said!!:D

Hey there Snake,I didnt call you stupid,you did,tell you what Ill find the number for lifeline and send it to you before you top yourself. You are right I didnt make the school footy side because we didnt play footy,we played rugby,where men are men and sheep are nervous.:footy::thumbsu:Where were you last year snake? We could of had this lovely relatioship long ago.;):thumbsu:

ha ha tiger think your the one who should be calling lifeline mate and enquiring about how to purchase one, cos your currently making a crap attempt at it now!

Ha ha funny stuff this. Don't waste too much energy though snake, the harder you try the less sense will come from him. Welcome to the thread.

Moving on, heard J Barlee was talking of having a kick with Corryong again this year? Will only be better after a year in the hume league.;)

Hi Ref, I agree ,I have thought of Max the last week or so andyou can only feel for the man and his family.I dont know who B/Ws no 1 supporter is but I will do my best to find out, and the boys can only benifet from playing against bigger and better players. B/W have picked up a few but yet to see if they are as good or better than the loses,Corryong have done well 4 from the Hume League,plus a couple of Feds have rolled over,Bullioh have got a couple from the TFL and Hume League so you can rely on them to be hard to roll,not much about Cudgie or Tumba just yet ,but you can bet the last week or so Tumba,s newies will come rolling out,they are playing thier cards close to thier chest.:footy::thumbsu:

Tom Hickey from Holbrook to line up at Tumba this season,also heard Manny Edmunds may b a chance to play 6 or 7 games there

Ha ha funny stuff this. Don't waste too much energy though snake, the harder you try the less sense will come from him. Welcome to the thread.

Moving on, heard J Barlee was talking of having a kick with Corryong again this year? Will only be better after a year in the hume league.;)

Silver J.Barlee is staying at Jindera ,Heard Rat Williams had a run with Corryong last week is there anything in that?
Interesting to see the so called footy experts have picked Tumba this season 6-5.Do they know something we don't know?
Tiger have you seen your new recruits play ,and what do you think,as good as the one's you've lost.

I think you will find the Border had our boys to finish last and Tumba to be runners up. The club would love to have Rat but he was just having a run with a few BB Saints guys in our praccy match against Wodonga saints last week. Would of been a great pick up but he's staying with maxy this year.

Silver J.Barlee is staying at Jindera ,Heard Rat Williams had a run with Corryong last week is there anything in that?
Interesting to see the so called footy experts have picked Tumba this season 6-5.Do they know something we don't know?
Tiger have you seen your new recruits play ,and what do you think,as good as the one's you've lost.

I have only seen B/Ws recruits train,couldnt get to those games in Wodonga but was told by a player that a couple of them arent to bad about the same as the loses,also lacked abit of hardness at the ball which in this league you need,also thier tackleing let them down,but at this time of year that sort of thing I suppose will improve,heres hopeing:rolleyes: I think Tumba are being very quiet for good reason,I tipped Edmunds to go there weeks ago and I believe a few more smokys will emerge very soon. Hot off the press, I do believe Mark Wilson will be pulling on the B/W jumper again this year,he will be great in the 16 aside game if he can stay on the ground for the whole game,needs a zipper,but a bloody good player.:footy:

Went over to tumba on saturday to watch tumba play Dubbo Demons .
Tumba won 18gls 27pts to 7gls 2pts.Maxie only put the senior players out after half time playing 16 a side with upto 5 senior players not playing and there were no new recruits playing but did hear back in the pub there are some coming but no names were mentioned .
Tiger how sure are you about M.Wilson pulling on the black an white jumper this season?
Don't know how true it is but word up here is feds coach mite of lost his license but don't quote me.Hayies clearance to the blues has been refused last time i looked,bit of luck we will get him because we do need a key forward.
Does anyone know what's happening down at the dog pound?

Went over to tumba on saturday to watch tumba play Dubbo Demons .
Tumba won 18gls 27pts to 7gls 2pts.Maxie only put the senior players out after half time playing 16 a side with upto 5 senior players not playing and there were no new recruits playing but did hear back in the pub there are some coming but no names were mentioned .
Tiger how sure are you about M.Wilson pulling on the black an white jumper this season?
Don't know how true it is but word up here is feds coach mite of lost his license but don't quote me.Hayies clearance to the blues has been refused last time i looked,bit of luck we will get him because we do need a key forward.
Does anyone know what's happening down at the dog pound?

Big effort to drive from dubbo to get a pounding!! Hayes may decide to stay at corryong, haven't actually heard of any bad blood between him and the demons (maybe just enjoyed the attention of cudge trying to poach him), be an interesting one to see what happens there.

The Upper Murray Football League (Part2)