The Upper Murray Football League (Part2)

Fabulousphil,dont tell me your a Ferral FREO supporter? I work with a few of them up at Cape Preston,and to make things worse you obviously come from the town that bred most of the fringedwellers ,CORRYONG,the town were Fathersday is a day of total confuscion,they dont know if thier mother is thier sister or aunty,even thier brother maybe thier father.:thumbsu:

Tiger i thought that was Tumbarumba

Ref you could be right,but if you are Corryong sure aint far behind,followed closely by Walwa,have you seen some of the very different people up there?Actually there are probably more fringedwellers in the Corryong,Cudgie and Wallwa area than Tumba. And lets hope like I said Bullioh dont make the G/F,wouldnt that be an absolute great start to G/F day in the UMFL.:thumbsu: But I think they will be unfortunatly.:thumbsdown::footy:

[ Maybe their (Bullioh) attention has turned to music after the quote in the Border Mail today "put the after burners on and gave them a fair touch up" I thought he was talking about a ZZ Top album therefor a while ..]

Tiger as much as i would like to see B/W win this week i think you might have to wait another week BULLIOH by 27pts

Cudgie to cause an up-set in the ressies by 13pts

Tiger as much as i would like to see B/W win this week i think you might have to wait another week BULLIOH by 27pts

Cudgie to cause an up-set in the ressies by 13pts

Ref I would love to see 2 upsets tomorow,sorry 3, B/W over Bullioh,Cudgie over Bullioh and Richmond over St Kilda,but I would settle for the first 2.:thumbsu::footy::thumbsu:

I was trying to stay away from being critical of the umpires,but the display by BJ Smith yesterday was bordering on stupidity,I think he is very close to being Down Syndrome,he was seeing things that didnt happen and not seeing things that occured right in front of him,even some of Bullioh supporters laughed at the freekicks they where getting. I thought Travis Attree did a good job,which did surprise me a little,but the same could not be said of THE DOWNY.I thought we were supposed to get decent umps for the finals,apparently not.Good luck to all for next weeks game,if B/W dont make it,but I believe they will,dont anyone think that Bullioh cant be beaten,both Feds and B/W are more than capable.

Tiger didn't make it down to the dog pound but gave maxie a call Saturday night.He said bullioh got some easy free-kicks that weren't payed the other way, wasn't much in the game but players from both sides didn't want to kick goals.Tiger he reckons B/W should play K.Hunt at C.H.B. JUST to free him up and move your coach to C.H.F. not down in the back line but he says B/W can beat them they just have to get over FEDS next week.

Well done to Border/Walwa for putting up a good effort against Bullioh at the weekend, hopefully they knock off Feds this week and go one better in the Grand Final.:thumbsu: Does anyone know the selected team of the year???:confused:

Tiger didn't make it down to the dog pound but gave maxie a call Saturday night.He said bullioh got some easy free-kicks that weren't payed the other way, wasn't much in the game but players from both sides didn't want to kick goals.Tiger he reckons B/W should play K.Hunt at C.H.B. JUST to free him up and move your coach to C.H.F. not down in the back line but he says B/W can beat them they just have to get over FEDS next week.

Ref your idea on moving those two paticular blokes is a good one, i think K.Hunt would do pretty good down back.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

TIPS FOR THIS WEEK

B/W over FEDS 16pts if it's not rainning
If it's rainning i think FEDS mite get up by 3pts
RESSIES
cudgie by 7pts over B/W thats what i would like to see but with both B/W sides playing on the same day the boys could find it hard going.
Does anyone know which clubs mite be looking for new coach's.Haven't heard if Big Jim is going around again but we do need to pick-up 3 or 4 players for next season and keep what we've got.
So what does every-one think of 16 aside?
Tiger your favorite person i've been told is waving the flags this week-end how did he go last week?

Ref,he did a good job,and he was amazed as alot of other people were as to some of the decisions that went Bulliohs way,but each time BJ umpires them they seem to get the easy ones,ask Maxie about the NO MARK play on one,right in front of him,would have been mark of the day in any other league,but it wasnt a Bullioh player,Darius Howard took the mark hit the ground on his back held the ball the Bullioh player turned around looked down then knocked the ball out of DH hands and the Downy said playon,that was the end of it for B/W they didnt have a hope,if he umpires the G/F WHOEVER PLAYS THEM MAY AS WELL STAY IN THE SHEDS.

dont no whats worse getting beat by bullioh g/f day or staying in there changerooms. tough call tiger. anyway good luck to all saturday the dirty dogs await the winners. im going for feds(only cause my brother in law plays there) and cudgy in the 2nds cause i belive they can push them if they make it but wouldnt be upset to see walwa make it either.

My tips for the round are, for the seniors even though Walwa put up a great show last week i'm tipping a fresher Feds side to knock them off by 10 points although Kiel Hunt rarely plays 2 bad games in a row. In the 2's i think the Walwa boys will knock Cudgy off by 20 points with experienced players like Daly, Giles and Mitchell likely the difference between the 2 teams.:)

My tips are,and they arent any secret,B/W in both grades, and last weeks Cudgie side,well if any of thier senior blokes were in the side they havent got a hope if they play next week,very ordinary performance. Kiel will be playing and should be playing in the forward line,he takes the oppositions best backman,all B/W need to have another crack at Bullioh is a fair go,as do Feds,we dont need any biased crap that took place last week,I love to win but if we get beat we get beat fairly.Good luck to all clubs tomorow.

Tiger what happened on Saturday?
The best game was the ressies which went down to the last 3 min.
WELL DONE CUDGIE
Tiger from what i seen not to many B/W players turned up to play.Your best players i thought were teddy your ruckman and number 8.
So it looks like we are all going for FEDS on the week-end.
My tips for the G.F.is Feds by 9pts over Bullioh.I don't think my blue boys will have enough firer power to knock off Bullioh in the ressies but they weren't picked to win on the week-end.
Tiger maxies tip is for a Bullioh clean sweep.
Bullioh by 15pts over feds
Bullioh by 9gls over Cudgie

Tiger what happened on Saturday?
The best game was the ressies which went down to the last 3 min.
WELL DONE CUDGIE
Tiger from what i seen not to many B/W players turned up to play.Your best players i thought were teddy your ruckman and number 8.
So it looks like we are all going for FEDS on the week-end.
My tips for the G.F.is Feds by 9pts over Bullioh.I don't think my blue boys will have enough firer power to knock off Bullioh in the ressies but they weren't picked to win on the week-end.
Tiger maxies tip is for a Bullioh clean sweep.
Bullioh by 15pts over feds
Bullioh by 9gls over Cudgie
i no what happend the best 2 teams won on the day. Good to see dean paton playing well for feds has had a great year for the club will go close in there b & f this year my tip is them by 13points over bullioh who i think should have cause for concern lets hope they have flashbacks to when feds beat them a few years back. And well done to my cudgy boys payback for the last two years on the walwa boys lets hope cudgy can do what they couldnt and knock the dogs off these dogs like to choke on there bones.

I dont know what happened to the B/W boys,like someone said the week before was a tough game ,but from what Im told they made so many unforced errors and poor disposal and decisions,no sourgrapes from me,I

i no what happend the best 2 teams won on the day. Good to see dean paton playing well for feds has had a great year for the club will go close in there b & f this year my tip is them by 13points over bullioh who i think should have cause for concern lets hope they have flashbacks to when feds beat them a few years back. And well done to my cudgy boys payback for the last two years on the walwa boys lets hope cudgy can do what they couldnt and knock the dogs off these dogs like to choke on there bones.
[
SW - that is undeniable.Cudgie made the most of their opportunities and was just a little cooler at the end. Good luck to the boys, they have my support.
If the Feds can dish up the same performance again this weekend, and keep their heads i believe they will get the choccies. On this assumption the opposing coach may have to do a little more than shoot his mouth off in the paper and sheep dog around the packs for easy hand balls and kicks(which i will add against the Walwa boys the other weekend went to no one in particular ).Uninspiring!!! As i have said all year opinions are like rear ends, everyones got one and this is just mine
Ref-I'll give you my opinion about the 16 aside, good for a pre season kick and giggle but CRAP for a season proper.And before someone asks or comments I played enough of both grades I think to have some credentials to comment.
Taking into consideration that you are 2 short on the field and 1 on the bench in the Senior Competition, kids on the cusp of getting a Senior game will be overlooked. This hurts the club as you won’t get to “blood” the kids and over time will ultimatley effect structures of clubs.
This idea would however have been a success I believe in the Ressies Competition. This would have forced numbers into the seniors, and people and kids in particular will only be better for playing senior footy.
The timing of it being adopted and conveyed to the clubs (midway preseason if I remember) was ordinary to say the least. If I have had of known about this before I put pen to paper, or verbally committed, I may have had to consider my intentions a lot more seriously. (I will say the club experience has made it worthwhile) If this was a genuine option as it turned out to be, it should have been done and dusted straight after season proper so clubs could have set their training regimes accordingly. Most clubs I would suggest “interval” train to obtain their fitness, but with more ground to cover with 2 less players I would think that “stamina” training may have been adopted.This really gets back to the old ways and while there is nothing wrong with that in the game, just not this aspect of the game. It’s hard enough on bodies now.
I am quite sure there will be robust debate in various mediums about this topic, so I will watch with interest.
]

G'day men, just a couple of questions for you. i see they have predicted a very wet weekend. Who will that favor?. Also having never been to an upper murray game keen to have a look as i have a couple of mates in the feds team what can i expect at the bullioh oval. is there a family friendly grandstand, or should i leave the missus and kids at home and bring my waders?

Its the worst facility in the comp mate - the oval is about the size of an auskick field and the best viewing is from the back of a ute (honestly!) ...

So after a long season its back to bullioh once again - anyone know anyone whispers going into game about either side - feds could have the cattle to steal this one. Also, do u think bullioh wld rather be facin the swannies or the maggies??

Hi Lemontree, a big tip leave your kids at home,but if you want to get rid of the wife take her ,Im sure she would pick up a life threatening illness out there,and a family friendly grandstand,yeah right,try the Towong racecourse,this place is the biggest shithole you are ever likely to encounter,if you do go,a little tip,take a shovel,not to dig your car out,but to go to the brasco,you wipe your feet before you come out of the shitter not before you go in. I spent 12 months working in Hanoi in Vietnam in 1994,and I thought thier hygene standards were pretty ordinary,but then I went up to watch a game of footy at Bullioh in 2006,Hanoi 94 was a picture of cleanliness compared to Bullioh,and what I cant understand is,the players there put up with that crap,it just goes to show the level of person that frequents the cestpit.Go Feds,and if its raining Feds by 25 points.Thank you and goodnight.

Ref-I'll give you my opinion about the 16 aside, good for a pre season kick and giggle but CRAP for a season proper.And before someone asks or comments I played enough of both grades I think to have some credentials to comment.
Taking into consideration that you are 2 short on the field and 1 on the bench in the Senior Competition, kids on the cusp of getting a Senior game will be overlooked. This hurts the club as you won’t get to “blood” the kids and over time will ultimatley effect structures of clubs.
This idea would however have been a success I believe in the Ressies Competition. This would have forced numbers into the seniors, and people and kids in particular will only be better for playing senior footy.
The timing of it being adopted and conveyed to the clubs (midway preseason if I remember) was ordinary to say the least. If I have had of known about this before I put pen to paper, or verbally committed, I may have had to consider my intentions a lot more seriously. (I will say the club experience has made it worthwhile) If this was a genuine option as it turned out to be, it should have been done and dusted straight after season proper so clubs could have set their training regimes accordingly. Most clubs I would suggest “interval” train to obtain their fitness, but with more ground to cover with 2 less players I would think that “stamina” training may have been adopted.This really gets back to the old ways and while there is nothing wrong with that in the game, just not this aspect of the game. It’s hard enough on bodies now.
I am quite sure there will be robust debate in various mediums about this topic, so I will watch with interest.
]
I agree that the 16 a side isn't ideal for senior footy but then again if it hadn't been brought into this format i think we would of struggled to field a full senior and 2's team every week this year, i think Feds would of been in the same boat. Last year we pulled our 2's team out after the first couple of rounds and i think Feds and Cudge also forfeited games during last year also, so on that that basis it has been a success. I don't have a problem with it for next year but i would add an extra player to the bench to spell the guys out there especially in the 2nd half of games when they start to wear out. Maybe a 2's player could even be a reserve as the fourth man on the bench:confused: Who do you player for Cat Man?

The Upper Murray Football League (Part2)