The US of A

Western or Eastern Europe. As a generalization on exchange rates, you lived on 42-47 Euro a day, food, accommodation and travel (unless you walked everywhere) and still had heaps to NOT skimp. Without derailing this thread, achievable in Czech Rep maybe, but not in the big cities in Western Europe. I have been travelling Europe continually since 1997 and find that statement a little hard to believe.

HINT: When the Exchange Rate is high, buy Euro and USD, because the dollar will fall again. its all cyclic...
Not quite. When I travelled the exchange rate for the AUD/EUR was at about 60-62. Enough to live on, when you consider a hostel is (was) around 10-15 EUR, daily transport around 5, food 10-15. So 25-30 EUR per day for the basics and therefore plenty to travel with. Maybe I would have needed more if the point of my trip was one giant pub crawl, but it wasnt, and neither is the OPs by the sound of it.

But yes, that is an average, and I did also travel to Poland and Hungary, which were considerably cheaper. But I also travelled to the Netherlands and Germany, two of the most expensive countries in the Eurozone.

I guess everyone's different but I love LA. Am going back in a years time. Am allocating 12 days to LA. Will head down to San Diego and take a tour to Mexico. Have allocated 5-6 days for this before driving back to via Anaheim to spend a few days.
Last time we went we did LA, stopped in Memphis and then over to New York. I highly recommend the southern states. Memphis was great. Its so different to places like LA and New York.

On a slightly related note - to the people saying that the Grand Canyon is a must, would you recommend doing it as a day trip from Vegas (6 hours bus ride each way I believe?) or is there a town nearby that you could stay overnight?

No. I would stay one night and possibly two and spend the whole day there. If you come from Vegas you can spend time at Hoover Dam as well. Accommodation available within the park and also at Flagstaff (nothing else there but reasonable accommodation but stay away from the train line - kept me awake once for the whole night:eek:)

If travelling to Vegas, stay away from Friday and Saturday night. The most expensive nights but other times accommodation can be quite cheap. Good hotel which is on the Strip and very well placed and cheap is Bills Gambling Hall (right next door to the Flamingo and opposite Bellagio and Caesars Palace)

http://www.billslasvegas.com/

Well in just over two weeks I leave for the US with a few mates. We have everything booked and we're staying in Hostels 85% of the time (except Green Bay, Milwaukee and Vegas). Accommodation for the 5 weeks we will be there is about $1500 AU, and since we will be there over the christmas/new year period prices have probably been jacked up a little.

The advice my friend gave me was that you need about a grand a week. So this would include accom, food, transport, sightseeing etc. Although personally I'm taking much more than that because I want to be able to do what I want without worrying about sticking to a budget.

The one thing in the OPs favor at the moment is the dollar.

I bought a car in Florida and a tent and sleeping bags
spent quite a few nights in National Parks, Indian reservations was great.
Only stayed in 2 hostels they where a little skanky for me.
Haveing a car allowed you to stay in cheap motels on the side of freeways.
You dont get that option with public transport.
Sold the car at the end so it virtually only cost petrol, repairs and insurance which wasnt too bad.
I was there for 3 months though.

If travelling to Vegas, stay away from Friday and Saturday night. The most expensive nights but other times accommodation can be quite cheap. Good hotel which is on the Strip and very well placed and cheap is Bills Gambling Hall (right next door to the Flamingo and opposite Bellagio and Caesars Palace)

http://www.billslasvegas.com/

What was Vegas like i am super keen to go there, with a couple of mates most likely October 2011 (time to save and don't wanna miss my local footy season).

I am thinking of going for 8 days or so considering you can lose 2 days due to travel. I plan leave on tuesday and return to melbourne the following wednesday/thursday.

All i wanna do is drink, gamble and chase some tail! Hoping the girls like the aussie accent and if it is half as good as the TV Show Las Vegas :p it should be awesum!

On a slightly related note - to the people saying that the Grand Canyon is a must, would you recommend doing it as a day trip from Vegas (6 hours bus ride each way I believe?) or is there a town nearby that you could stay overnight?

I went from Vegas. Got picked up from my hotel room and driven to the airport and then flown to the Canyon. I then toured the South rim and it was amazing. Then after spending time there went back and spent the night at the canyon before getting flown back to Vegas.

Easily the highlight of my trip but if I had my time over I would spend at least one more night at the Canyon.

What was Vegas like i am super keen to go there, with a couple of mates most likely October 2011 (time to save and don't wanna miss my local footy season).

I am thinking of going for 8 days or so considering you can lose 2 days due to travel. I plan leave on tuesday and return to melbourne the following wednesday/thursday.

Vegas is like a make believe place. When out on the streets you feel a little like you are in a movie. If you play footy and have been on a footy trip, it is like that. Except it feels as though EVERYONE in the whole city is a part of it rather than just 30 blokes.

If you're going try and squeeze an extra day or two and go to the Canyon. Very worth while.

All i wanna do is drink, gamble and chase some tail! Hoping the girls like the aussie accent and if it is half as good as the TV Show Las Vegas :p it should be awesum!

If you even remotely resemble a male and have an Aussie accent you will be sweet.

As for the OP.
I went for 7 weeks and spent around 10k. Flights cost me 3 though so really pissed at the price you are getting.

If you do anything make sure it is the Canyon. Easily one of the most awesome places you will ever go to. Vegas can be done within the same day or so.

New York is a filthy city but it is a must as well. I went in their Summer and the whole city stunk but it was a good experience none the less. If you go make sure you do the Statue of Liberty. That was one of the highlights of my trip. Empire State is cool, I went at night and couldn't see much I recommend go up during the day if you are going to do it.

San Diego is awesome. If you like a Zoo check their's out. You will not need to go to another Zoo ever again. It shits all over ours.

Boston is as close to Melbourne as you will get in a US city. Nice city with nice people.

I went to Denver and it was cool as well but not a whole lot to do there unless you are going in the winter to ski. The mountains in Colorado are pretty sweet.

New England is a pretty cool place to take the misses but wouldn't go through it with mates.

Hope that helps.

Am going to the States for a couple of weeks in about a months time for a mates birthday who now lives in the San Diego with his missus and as luck would have it, the birthday celebration is in Vegas. In 2005, they had a 10th wedding vows renewal which was also in Vegas and occurred the same weekend as 2005 Super Bowl (NE Patriots vs Philadelphi Eagles). Boy, was I a mess that weekend.

This will be my 7th visit to Vegas and basically love the place. Its a good place to end a holiday, splurge on yourself, relax and get smashed.

As Nike says, Just Do It.

I guess everyone's different but I love LA. Am going back in a years time. Am allocating 12 days to LA. Will head down to San Diego and take a tour to Mexico. Have allocated 5-6 days for this before driving back to via Anaheim to spend a few days.
Last time we went we did LA, stopped in Memphis and then over to New York. I highly recommend the southern states. Memphis was great. Its so different to places like LA and New York.

I just came back from Memphis (NY & Vegas) about 4 weeks ago. Loved it, it is different, but would definitely go back there..
am hoping to get to Mexico / other US states next year

Empire State is cool, I went at night and couldn't see much I recommend go up during the day if you are going to do it.

I did the top of the rock instead. people say the views are better there then the empire state plus you dont have to wait as long to get up there.

I just came back from Memphis (NY & Vegas) about 4 weeks ago. Loved it, it is different, but would definitely go back there..
am hoping to get to Mexico / other US states next year

Brilliant. Did you get a great meal of ribs at Marlowes or Blues City Cafe? We will definitely go back, not next trip but the one after in 2012! I want to spend more time in Beale Street at night.

Boston is as close to Melbourne as you will get in a US city. Nice city with nice people.
I found Boston to be boreing
usuaally fly into NY and thought I would give Boston a try one
Boreing like Melbourne in that there is no real touristy focus but with bad food

Am going to the States for a couple of weeks in about a months time for a mates birthday who now lives in the San Diego with his missus and as luck would have it, the birthday celebration is in Vegas. In 2005, they had a 10th wedding vows renewal which was also in Vegas and occurred the same weekend as 2005 Super Bowl (NE Patriots vs Philadelphi Eagles). Boy, was I a mess that weekend.

This will be my 7th visit to Vegas and basically love the place. Its a good place to end a holiday, splurge on yourself, relax and get smashed.

As Nike says, Just Do It.

Where do you recomend to stay?

Ive decided i want to go to hotel that has a casino inside it, and wanna go to a place with a younger crowd and people of females.

What are your flights going to cost you? I hope the aussie dollar can stay around this 90 cents or higher for another 2 years :p!

Where do you recomend to stay?

Ive decided i want to go to hotel that has a casino inside it, and wanna go to a place with a younger crowd and people of females.

What are your flights going to cost you? I hope the aussie dollar can stay around this 90 cents or higher for another 2 years :p!

Depends on your price.

Have always stayed on the Strip. As mentioned previously I have always avoided Friday and Satrurday nights where possible due to increase in accommodation costs on these nights. Your don't notice the different nights in Vegas - always plenty of people around. Casinos I have stayed in are :-

Luxor, New York New York, Bills Gambling Hall, Flamingo, TI (Treasure Island) and for a bit of indulgence on one trip, Bellagio (@ $270- per night). This time round its going to be - Mirage. At the end of the day, its only a room and you don't spend a lot of time in it.

One of my goals in life is to spend at least a night at each casino on the Strip.

These flights are only costing taxes due to the fact I'm using frequent flyer points on this visit but a mate got cheap flights with V of approx. $1,800- return inc taxes. Flights to Vegas can be cheap depending the time of the flight.

Young people, old people everywhere in Vegas.

I did the top of the rock instead. people say the views are better there then the empire state plus you dont have to wait as long to get up there.

agree - the views are better, easier to get into

Brilliant. Did you get a great meal of ribs at Marlowes or Blues City Cafe? We will definitely go back, not next trip but the one after in 2012! I want to spend more time in Beale Street at night.

no, but I did at Boogie Rum Cafe. I spent a bit of time on Beale - BB Kings Blues bar - the All stars were playing one night which was awesome - amazing musicians

I actually enjoyed Memphis more than Vegas ...

Depends on your price.

Have always stayed on the Strip. As mentioned previously I have always avoided Friday and Satrurday nights where possible due to increase in accommodation costs on these nights. Your don't notice the different nights in Vegas - always plenty of people around. Casinos I have stayed in are :-

Luxor, New York New York, Bills Gambling Hall, Flamingo, TI (Treasure Island) and for a bit of indulgence on one trip, Bellagio (@ $270- per night). This time round its going to be - Mirage. At the end of the day, its only a room and you don't spend a lot of time in it.

One of my goals in life is to spend at least a night at each casino on the Strip.

These flights are only costing taxes due to the fact I'm using frequent flyer points on this visit but a mate got cheap flights with V of approx. $1,800- return inc taxes. Flights to Vegas can be cheap depending the time of the flight.

Young people, old people everywhere in Vegas.

Thanks for that, thinking of getting into a place for $150 a night, but still have to time research. If i can get flights and accomodation for around $2,500-3,000 would be ok with that.

good thread this one :thumbsu:

been to the states before with the family, did vegas,la,hollywood, grand canyon etc....loved it.

want to go back but gonna wait til next year when im 21. want to do the west coast again (family friends in la - free accom ftw) but also want to do new york, boston and some of the east coast.

has anyone on here driven route 66? me and a mate are thinking of hiring a car and doing it.

Just a question for people who have recently travelled. What is the in flight entertainment like? I've read some good, and bad reviews about it. What sort of games and movies do they have etc?

We flew Air New Zealand. The inflight is really good with them. Basically you have your own screen with a heap of movies ranging from new releases to old classics. You also have tv shows and documentaries all there when you want to watch them. It got me through the flight nicely!

Just a question for people who have recently travelled. What is the in flight entertainment like? I've read some good, and bad reviews about it. What sort of games and movies do they have etc?

Qantas has about 60 movies that you can choose. Ranging from recent releases to classics. Don't know about games but also good CDs available plus TV shows.

If they isn't anything you like then you are way too choosy.

I flew Air New Zealand, BEST inflight entertainment I have EVER had. Spent 4 and a half months travelling the world, 3 months of which was in the US (mostly staffing a summer camp) and loved it.

The Rock is definitely the best view of NYC. Vegas was awesome. Stayed one night at the Tropicana, nothing amazing but wasn't bad either. Only cost $20 too!

USA, love it!

Heading over tomorrow.

Whats LAX like around 7am as well as 9pmish. I'm not taking check in luggage so I can save myself some time, but nervous about the whole LAX thing.

Any advice :)

I got in at around 7am a bit over a month ago. The line going through security to my connecting flight was insane.

The crazy thing about LAX was that i declared food i had bought in but they couldn't give two shits about it...all they had after customs were two guys collecting your declaration cards and moving you on, no bag checks...not a thing.

The US of A