The Vent Thread - Richmond only

Jamison beats Reiwoldt every time. So he plays up the ground. Should have been expected for him to be quite
So why hasn't he learnt how to beat him yet??

Obviously emotional and to be fully honest I, like most people deep down inside knew we would lose, but its the WAY we did it. An absolute carbon COPY of our other two games this season.
Get a big lead at half time.
Fall to pieces in the second half.

I could've handled being beaten from minute one. Or losing after it being a 5 point game all day. But this come back shit has got to stop!!

I honestly think that Richmond go far too hard in the first half, they spend too much petrol and are then on their legs in the second half.

Am I right people or am I wrong? Can teams go too hard in the first half of a footy game and then run out of petrol for the remainder of the game?

I think Richmond's fitness has to be an issue?? I mean look at Port Adelaide's fitness...........they are a very fit side.
Don't worry Richmond, proud of you for making the finals this year. Now you know what's required to play FINALS FOOTY FOR FOUR QUARTERS and that a loss will make you a better side next year. Probably 2-3 years away from being a quality side. You're a good side Richmond but not yet a quality side. There is a difference. Bigger, stronger and better in season 2014.

Sorry for the intrusion, but I think you're right. Watching from last weeks and todays game it looks like Carlton lets the opposition burn the fuel in the first half and kick into gear in the second. However I'd say we only lost because we had a bigger focus on the Collingwood match.

Bad luck on todays result though.

So why hasn't he learnt how to beat him yet??

Obviously emotional and to be fully honest I, like most people deep down inside knew we would lose, but its the WAY we did it. An absolute carbon COPY of our other two games this season.
Get a big lead at half time.
Fall to pieces in the second half.

I could've handled being beaten from minute one. Or losing after it being a 5 point game all day. But this come back shit has got to stop!!

Because he is one of the players that just has Jacks number. So Richmond decide to cut their losses and play Jack up the ground to drag Jamison up and leave other forwards with free space

Spot on Deliberate!!...Yep, me! (3rd person praise all round) :rolleyes:
If I can pinpoint the damaging ball carriers, why can't Hardwick prepare for them?

THE RESULTS OF MY EARLIER THREAD BEFORE THE GAME.

Andrew Walker - average game - 14 disposals
Brock McLean - did not play
Kade Simpson - 18 disposals
Mitch Robinson - 21 disposals
Marc Murphy - 26 disposals
Bryce Gibbs -27 disposals
Chris Judd - 25 disposals

Richmond had one player over 24 disposals. Cotchy on his own.
Judd comes on late and we never had one player to cover him? Didn't Hardwick think Malthouse was saving him?
Half Time Hardwick allowed the players to pat themselves on the back and go to sleep.
After Half Time Hardwick allowed the contested ball out of the Centre circle out the back. Carlton set up for it. Don't we know their structures by now? You told us Dimma you learnt a lot from the last Carlton loss. What did you learn Hardwick? Today's game looked like a Carbon Copy of the last Carlton defeat.
Hardwick allowed players in the forward line to turn their back on the player coming downfield over & over again. That's Kindergarten stuff. Vickery turning his back over & over again is unforgivable. Kingy & Shane Edwards were invisible. Azza was the only player to face the contest.
Hardwick allows Grimes to play in a style that looks like something from 10 years ago.
Grimes on Eddie Betts = One of the stupidest match-ups of all time.
Grimes, why hold the ball up all the time? Does he think he's Joel Bowden from way back?
Hardwick allowed the Carlton players to peel off in the second half and allowed us to go into our shells.

We' only got so far this year on the Talent Base we have. Blokes beat their opponents when they know they can beat them. No great match planning is making us a better team.
Just our good players winning the pill.

We have no game style, no great plans.
Malthouse toyed with Hardwick again.

In simple terms, the honeymoon is over.
And the deep hard reality we need to face is that we have talent to win matches only.
We do not have a Coach to help us win matches.
Hardwick can't Coach.

I don't need to provide any Coaching solutions. That's what Hardwick is paid a fortune for.

Hardwick is a poor gameday coach. He has a Plan A and a Plan B, but he can't adapt to a game changing
Hardwick should of had chocco sitting next to him in the coaches box all day, huge mistake. When you have the luxury of having a premiership coach on your team and you are coaching in your first afl final you should be drawing on all of his experience

The free kick to Waite against Cotchin or Rance is what changed the game I've still got no idea why it was a free kick. They went on to to kick a few goals after that and ultimately set themselves up for the win.
Umpiring was terrible for both sides today.

I think Cotchin came in to spoil but it was deemed that he impeded Waite and didn't have eyes on the footy. I agree with you that that decision changed the momentum of the game. Not long after Chaplain dropped a simple mark that ended up being a goal and the run was on.

he gave them bloody anti running tablets at half time.

You're not Essendon* - stay off the drugs.

Posted this on our game day thread - not trying to troll, just my honest (biased) opinion

A huge, gigantic **** you to the AFL for your contrived bullshit over the first three quarters.

We got screwed hard by the umpiring in the first half - 13 free kicks to 6. It wasn't just that but bullshit 50m penalties that resulted in at least half of Richmond's score.

The third quarter, while the frees were largely there, saw the umpiring turn a complete 180 - 8 free kicks to 2 our way to ensure a close game at 3/4 time.

We finished over the top of them but neither team would be pleased with the umpiring today. Absolutely the single worst umpire performance in the history of VFL/AFL finals. It was needless and destroyed the spectacle over three quarters. None of the umpires should umpire again this year - there wont be a need given the fewer amount of games each week.

Anyways... What I came here to say...

Sincere commiserations on your loss today. I do wonder how much the result would have changed if Reece Conca hadn't have gotten injured early. Heartbreaking for the young man. I truly felt for him. It happened right in front of me almost and it looked pretty bad when it happened, pure agony on his face. Nobody likes to see anyone get injured in finals, particularly young kids who are (or have) become important influential players on your team.

Bigger and better things coming for your boys. You aim to improve each season. You've proven to be a finals team now. Top four not out of the question next year - it's only a spot higher than you achieved this year - and at the very least a week one victory if you don't manage to climb on the ladder. A lot of respect for your youngsters who played hard all day.

Good luck next year. I look forward to renewing what was a massive step up in our rivalry this year.

It's basically the third time its happened this year against Carlton (we were lucky in round 1). We're great for the first quarter or so and then just fold, outplayed, outworked and out ran. How the hell does that happen? Lets hope it does not happen round 1 next year or god help me.

We missed foley and white. foley would of been hating watching that unfold in the stands. Unlucky that conca got inured, tucky had no chance running that game out after playing the last 4-6 weeks as sub. Including the GWS game where he didn't play at all.

At least we made it.

Norwegian blue is ****ing muppet. He agrees, he liked my post.

Honestly .. Blues should EASILY be a top 4 side (the amount of #1 draft picks they've had) ... And yet we're lucky to make the finals

The might be able to beat up on YOUNG sides like the Tiges, but they won't do sh&t against the Top 4

Guys .. Look at the top sides of the past 10-20 years, most peak at an average age of 25-27, 100+ games
Mark my words .. 2015 .. That is the true test of the current squad, they will mature by then

This was always going to be a building year - you guys did very well, don't be disappointed ... KEEP THE FAITH!!

I feel so gutted...

If today I found a pot of gold, I would buy the club. Relocate the team to become the Tasmanian Tigers (wearing Beige and black) ... No on second thoughts... Start a new a new team (I just needed Richmond's moniker and AFL license ,, ) Put old Richmond and it's history to play at Punt Road in the VFL being the Tassie Tigers reserve side....,

Now going back to my black hole.

Hope I wake up and it's really September 1980....

dimma outcoached. 5 goals up mate and yo do this stupid hold the ball over your head. attack. win the footy. drive them. he gave them bloody anti running tablets at half time.

People are going to think it's an overreaction and over the top but Dimma is not taking us anywhere. He was a great development coach but he really isn't a match day coaches as..ole! When they started dominating in the centre we continually allowed a sweeper to sit out the back of clearances and Carlton continually get it out to him. THIS HAPPENS EVERY TIME WE PLAY THIS MOB AND WE STILL DON'T CHANGE ANYTHING. This hold the ball up in the 2nd quarter and slow it down is a joke. Can't cop modern day footy crap when we go backwards 70 metres then kick it to a 50/50 in the position we were holding the ball originally.

THE RICKY PETTERD LOVE:

WHY WHY WHY would you play Petterd over Foley. Surely Martin plays Petterds role on the forward line and runs through the middle, while Foley takes Martins spot in the middle. This means Martin is able to run out the game better, having a better option up forward, having an extra midfield rotation & not having a hack from Melbourne with the worst ball drop in the history of the game take a place in our first final in 12 years. Surely when we picked this guy up we didn't envisage he would be anything more than depth. I swear he has photos of Hardwick. It is blatantly obvious this guy does not have the class necessary to be best 22 in a finals side. If he gets promoted to the senior list I think I will top myself.

Tucky - Great career and calling quits at the right time

Newman - No tank

King - Lost a yard of pace and probably not best 22 next year

You're not Essendon* - stay off the drugs.

Posted this on our game day thread - not trying to troll, just my honest (biased) opinion

Anyways... What I came here to say...

Sincere commiserations on your loss today. I do wonder how much the result would have changed if Reece Conca hadn't have gotten injured early. Heartbreaking for the young man. I truly felt for him. It happened right in front of me almost and it looked pretty bad when it happened, pure agony on his face. Nobody likes to see anyone get injured in finals, particularly young kids who are (or have) become important influential players on your team.

Bigger and better things coming for your boys. You aim to improve each season. You've proven to be a finals team now. Top four not out of the question next year - it's only a spot higher than you achieved this year - and at the very least a week one victory if you don't manage to climb on the ladder. A lot of respect for your youngsters who played hard all day.

Good luck next year. I look forward to renewing what was a massive step up in our rivalry this year.

All class much respect!

Really disappointed about today.....I'll come back when I can get over that. ***K, ***K, ***K, ***T. Gutted for the boys and for alot of Tiger heads. Just watched Dimma on the pressa . He's gutted too, you could tell.
19 to 4 inside 50's 1st quarter says a lot really. I feel for the boys but gee I hope they hurt like hell and remember this day to fuel their FIRE.

All class much respect!

Thanks mate. No need to be anything but classy. Both teams have felt pain like few others over the past decade or so. It makes moments like this week that much more special win, lose or draw. I'd like to believe that we (Richmond and Carlton supporters) can show the other clubs how it is done by maintaining a healthy, certainly even bitter, rivalry without the necessity of being mindlessly stupid like you see with other rivalries. I felt that our banter threads were pure gold and it was a real pleasure to be welcomed onto each other's forums for respectful banter.

The Vent Thread - Richmond only