With Parker going, need to use that space and trade well
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Wicks is the guy everyone forgetting about. I want him in the team full-time running around like a rabid dog. Him + Cleary could be the refresh our forward line needs.We need to change things up massively in 25.
The 3 talls is clearly a failed experiment, get Cleary in as the second pressure forward after Papley, move Blakey from the backline to half forward, Mills has to play permanently in the backline, and put Adams in the guts. I don't care if he butchers the footy, he's the only one willing to apply some bloody heat in there.
Move Florent to a half forward flank as well. He is absolutely useless as a defender.
Also, Tom McCartin is on watch. When he has the ball under pressure, it either goes out on the fool, or to the opposition.
He has had a mare the last couple of GF's.
Think next year could be make or break for a lot of our players.
Totally get what you mean, but we've got to start somewhere and I reckon he will be a gun in and under midfielder.How do we know sheldrick is the answer for our midfield or cleary? They're still soo young & inexperienced, putting that heavy burden on them isn't the answer imo. Give them opportunities but a key cog in the middle right now? That's fraught with danger. I would rather try Mills in the middle (proven AA) before a Sheldrick.
I don't know if Sheldrick is the answer at all. I think he quite often looks like a headless chook when in the contested scenarios in the VFL and only shows much awareness and composure when in general play, which is mildly concerning for a player we've drafted to play as an inside mid. Even his highly-praised senior stint in the middle of 2023 - a grand total of 4 games - was mostly Sheldrick having an impact in general play and not in the thick of the contest.How do we know sheldrick is the answer for our midfield or cleary? They're still soo young & inexperienced, putting that heavy burden on them isn't the answer imo. Give them opportunities but a key cog in the middle right now? That's fraught with danger. I would rather try Mills in the middle (proven AA) before a Sheldrick.
Wicks won't be on the list once his current contract finishes. He is already behind Cleary and many others such as Hanily are cheaper and rookie listed for the same if not better outputWicks is the guy everyone forgetting about. I want him in the team full-time running around like a rabid dog. Him + Cleary could be the refresh our forward line needs.
Parker's likely goneI think we have way too many hybrid players who don't have a set position -
Campbell
Parker
Fox
Mills
Papley
Mcinerney
Adams
Mclean
Mcdonald
Wicks
Hayward
To an extent: Heeney, Roberts, Gulden
Maybe we just don't have enough continuity, and in turn accountability, across the ground because of this. Whereas you look at other successful teams and they're pretty set with players in their traditional roles.
I don't want to see Papley in the mids anymore, we clearly need him as a full time forward. I don't want to see Mcinerney in defence one minute, wing next, forward next, then as a mid. Same goes Campbell. I also don't think its an advantage having mids scoring goals because it reduces our ability to defend on transition.
I'm sick of seeing other teams forwards bobbing up like sprinklers. Guys like Lohman and Cameron aren't expected to play up the ground, they're stay at home forwards, and despite being small are still genuine targets because they're focussed on being forwards. It becomes the downfall for a guy like Wicks too who i think can be like those latter two for us. Papley should be a 40+ goal small forward.
I feel like having a bunch of players covering different roles is a bit of a safe option for Horse.
No current season stats available
WarnerWho would people be willing to trade who has value for a trade that improved the team, say from the 23 on the weekend excluding Parker who is probably off.
Warner
Totally agree with this.I think we have way too many hybrid players who don't have a set position -
Campbell
Parker
Fox
Mills
Papley
Mcinerney
Adams
Mclean
Mcdonald
Wicks
Hayward
To an extent: Heeney, Roberts, Gulden
Maybe we just don't have enough continuity, and in turn accountability, across the ground because of this. Whereas you look at other successful teams and they're pretty set with players in their traditional roles.
I don't want to see Papley in the mids anymore, we clearly need him as a full time forward. I don't want to see Mcinerney in defence one minute, wing next, forward next, then as a mid. Same goes Campbell. I also don't think its an advantage having mids scoring goals because it reduces our ability to defend on transition.
I'm sick of seeing other teams forwards bobbing up like sprinklers. Guys like Lohman and Cameron aren't expected to play up the ground, they're stay at home forwards, and despite being small are still genuine targets because they're focussed on being forwards. It becomes the downfall for a guy like Wicks too who i think can be like those latter two for us. Papley should be a 40+ goal small forward.
I feel like having a bunch of players covering different roles is a bit of a safe option for Horse.
1 of amartey or mclean to somehow find a more reliable forward.Who would people be willing to trade who has value for a trade that improved the team, say from the 23 on the weekend excluding Parker who is probably off.
I personally would. Have never been that big on him.Let's assume there was no indication he wanted to go , would you still be thinking of putting him out there ?
FlorentWho would people be willing to trade who has value for a trade that improved the team, say from the 23 on the weekend excluding Parker who is probably off.