The Western Bulldogs Next Coach

Who do you want to be the next coach of the Western Bulldogs?

So who are the top five contenders iyo., guys?
I wouldn't mind Ratten (he did very well with a fading Carlton and Parkin down his neck)
or Scotty West.

Someone reported Jade Rawlins and Leigh Tudor were top 2. Choc, Bomber and Ratten probably in mix particularly if we looking for senior AFL coaching experience which we may well be.

My view..

1 - 4 - L Tudor
5 - B Ratten
6 - Choc Williams
7 - S Burns
8 - B Caracella

Just get the best coach available and as a starting point get the best people to find that coach.

That means not the same people who gave Macca a contract extension and did his review.

Well you've already missed out on your wish, Grant and Garlick appointed the last coach, and are doing this one too.

I don't see how ownership of a café presents any issue whatsoever...?

You seriously reckon they'd give someone a job on the basis he part-owns a café within the training ground?

No cammo, I don't think that Monty would get the job because of his connection with Gordon.

However, Gordon was asked straight up in an interview with Patrick Smith whether Monty has a business relationship with him. Gordon had to say yes, he does have a business relationship with Montgomery.

If Monty gets the job, I'll bet London to a brick that Gordon will immediately be defending his business relationship with the new coach and also explaining why he was seen to be providing a level of endorsement to a candidate that he has a business relationship with.

It's all about perception - not what's right. Perception becomes reality.

If Gordon can manage the perception all will be fine, but it is already too late to avoid questions about conflict - they have come and will be even more pointed and barbed if Monty is appointed as the new coach.

So who are the top five contenders iyo., guys?
I wouldn't mind Ratten (he did very well with a fading Carlton and Parkin down his neck)
or Scotty West.

Who knows? It depends on the plan.

(A) Experienced coach (apparently what we have indicated initially): Ayres, Eade, Ratten, Voss, Laidley, M.Harvey, M.Williams, M.Thompson
(B) Up-and-coming assistants: Montgomery, Sumich, Bolton, Tudor, J.Rawlings, West
(C) Combination of one from (A) and one from (B)
(D) One out of left field: B.Johnson, R.Smith, Akermanis, Fevola, B.Hall, J.Gillard, P.Gordon, S.Garlick, I.Rassmussen

Then there's our assistant coaches to complement the senior coach....:confused:

No cammo, I don't think that Monty would get the job because of his connection with Gordon.

However, Gordon was asked straight up in an interview with Patrick Smith whether Monty has a business relationship with him. Gordon had to say yes, he does have a business relationship with Montgomery.

If Monty gets the job, I'll bet London to a brick that Gordon will immediately be defending his business relationship with the new coach and also explaining why he was seen to be providing a level of endorsement to a candidate that he has a business relationship with.

It's all about perception - not what's right. Perception becomes reality.

If Gordon can manage the perception all will be fine, but it is already too late to avoid questions about conflict - they have come and will be even more pointed and barbed if Monty is appointed as the new coach.

Monty would also have to overcome the 'he knifed Macca to get the job' suspicions already being aired...(make no comment as to their accuracy)

Well you've already missed out on your wish, Grant and Garlick appointed the last coach, and are doing this one too.

Hope there are another couple of people involved in the process to select coach and not just Garlick and Grant.

I have not heard anywhere who is involved.

Can I ask on what basis you'd like Scott West?

If he's appointed - I'll spew up.

1. I met him once in a lift and had a chat with him
2. listened a fair bit of him on the radio as special comments and was impressed with his insights, understnading of players, game, strategy.
3. he comes from a super strong, super competitive bulldogs era.. and as he was as a player
4. he's done a good apprenticeship o/s the club
5. he's a great bulldogs man

1. I met him once in a lift and had a chat with him
2. listened a fair bit of him on the radio as special comments and was impressed with his insights, understnading of players, game, strategy.
3. he comes from a super strong, super competitive bulldogs era.. and as he was as a player
4. he's done a good apprenticeship o/s the club
5. he's a great bulldogs man

Points 3 and 5 are the very reasons I don't want him anywhere near the coaching of our club.

Can I ask why you don't like West? .. as coach?

He hasn't done his apprenticeship yet - not ready

He seemingly put his hand up through the media - unprofessional and hints at sense of entitlement

And a bunch of other stuff which is probably personal to Scott and shouldn't be gone into.

He hasn't done his apprenticeship yet - not ready

He seemingly put his hand up through the media - unprofessional and hints at sense of entitlement

And a bunch of other stuff which is probably personal to Scott and shouldn't be gone into.

Would guarantee we wouldn't get Simon Cox as an assistant coach... ("Another migraine, Westy? That's the third one this week!")

I don't see how ownership of a café presents any issue whatsoever...?

You seriously reckon they'd give someone a job on the basis he part-owns a café within the training ground?

(hypotheticals of course)Might become an issue if they decided to tear up Monty's contract when a new coach is appointed and he, being a competitive bloke, decides to be less than helpful with everything he can.

Why is the cafe at the club privately owned anyway? Should be owned by the club with all profits going to the club.

Here I was thinking buying a coffee or lunch there was helping the club in some minor way.
Its possibly under a lease arrangement. Leasees pay the club to run the cafe and take all the risk. The club takes money for the lease without having to worry about running a cafe and can concentrate on running a football club.

Honestly, could not give a flying f@ck about the cafe..perhaps a thread could be started on the cafe...?

As has already been pointed out, you can bet your bottom dollar that if Montgomery gets the job hacks like Barrett and Robbo will pumping this story up every chance they get. And as we've seen already in the past 2 weeks, when the media decides you've made an error the feeling tends to sink into the zeitgeist of the footy fan.

Us Bulldogs supporters tend to fall for the bullshit harder than most to and turn on ourselves. I think this is because we have this bogan 'we're always shit' mentality and try and link decisions made 30 years ago with the sacking of a coach a week ago which is the reason we lost the '61 grand final. Actually maybe I'm just thinking of Robbo who would think Hodge could play for any team and still win a flag.

Honestly, could not give a flying f@ck about the cafe..perhaps a thread could be started on the cafe...?

Three times I have agreed with BRWB today.

FFS...can everyone get over the Cafe! Unless the Cafe is going to be the damned coach, it doesn't even need to be on the thread or on BF for that matter. Go discuss the Cafe and who picked and paid for the pepper and salt shakers with the Country Womens Assoc.

Its a footy thread, not the Cheap Eats Guide for the Western 'burbs.

I have to make my point here! we must make a move now.....

Football Manager Gary Ayres people person and demands respect.
Coach Stuart Dew

Perfect set up now move guys NOW