The Western Bulldogs Next Coach

Who do you want to be the next coach of the Western Bulldogs?

That is so right. I thought I was the only one who thought this.
Coaching us for 2 months would change even Ronald McDonald into Krusty the clown.
We have that effect....just saying

I'm less worried about Bolton's personality (Hawks say he gives a good bake), than his lack of playing experience at AFL level. While for me on principle this isn't a problem, backing up on a guy with this background after Macca, would be unacceptable to many I fear and hamstring him before he begins.

I think Bolton was the victim of some selective editing by the media. Do not underestimate how they can make a person look. Luke hodge had said on AFL 360 that he was hard and tough but fair when needed.
That being said I really cannot shake Peter sumich. Has got a good record, coached every line with success.
Another I really like is luke beverage, isn't he clarkson's right hand man?

The more I think about it the more I want Williams, experienced senior coach won a premiership finished top of the ladder multiple times, my ideal situation I would like to see is Williams appointed senior coach for 3 years with Scott Burns appointed as senior assistant for 3 years and then take over for the following two seasons, I think he is building a decent resume having spent time with West Coast and now Collingwood another 3 years under someone like Williams and he would be well and truly ready to take over.
I do not want Monty could not stand it if he got it, yes we don't know the facts and there are a lot of rumours going around but the things we do know is he has been there through two coaches being sacked, he had issues with Lake that became public and his reports from Carlton aren't glowing. We need to look elsewhere lets not forget that Monty was second in charge this season and was part of the team selection that was so obviously wrong each week with a bad structure and set up.

I think Bolton was the victim of some selective editing by the media. Do not underestimate how they can make a person look. Luke hodge had said on AFL 360 that he was hard and tough but fair when needed.
That being said I really cannot shake Peter sumich. Has got a good record, coached every line with success.
Another I really like is luke beverage, isn't he clarkson's right hand man?

Mate I listened to Suma in a lot of interviews while living in Perth and he came across as negative, a bit of a sook and someone with a chip on his shoulder.

Worse, WTF was he doing while the entire West Coast Eagles went off the rails under his and Woosha's watch, a very big no from me.

Honestly, he just comes across as a knob.

Mate I listened to Suma in a lot of interviews while living in Perth and he came across as negative, a bit of a sook and someone with a chip on his shoulder.

Worse, WTF was he doing while the entire West Coast Eagles went off the rails under his and Woosha's watch, a very big no from me.

Honestly, he just comes across as a knob.

Mods can we start the thread Sack Peter Sumich thread now

Interesting read of comments at the end of the article about Peter

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/peter-sumich-takes-aim-at-eagles-board-20131004-2uyux.html

But I like the Look of Mark Williams record and what he has done since he has left Port
Coaching career (1993–present)[edit]
Early career[edit]
Williams coached SANFL club Glenelg in 1993 and 1994 before joining AFL club Essendon as an assistant coach.

Port Adelaide Power (1997–2010)[edit]
In 1997, Williams joined Port Adelaide as an assistant coach in its inaugural season in the AFL, and in 1999, won the head coaching role at Port Adelaide, replacing John Cahill. Port Adelaide won the minor premiership three seasons in a row under Williams' reign (2002, 2003 and 2004); after failing to reach the Grand Final in either 2002 or 2003, the club went on to win its first AFL premiership in 2004. In 2007, Williams once again coached Port Adelaide to the Grand Final, but his side suffered the worst ever grand final defeat, losing to Geelong by 119 points. Throughout 2009, Port Adelaide's inconsistent on-field performances continued to focus on Williams' future at the club. Late in the season, following the appointment of Mark Haysman as CEO, and after much conjecture in the media, Williams was offered a new 2 year contract. On 9 July 2010, Williams resigned as coach of Port Adelaide and coached his final game for Port Adelaide against Collingwood at AAMI Stadium.

Greater Western Sydney Giants (2011–2012)[edit]
In 2010, Williams signed with the Greater Western Sydney Giants as the senior assistant coach to Kevin Sheedy. In September 2012, Williams informed the club after the last home and away game of the season that he would not be honouring the final season of his contract in 2013.

Richmond Football Club (2013 – present)[edit]
After the completion of the 2012 home and away season, Williams signed with the Richmond Football Club as a development coach working with senior coach Damien Hardwick.[1][2]

Mods can we start the thread Sack Peter Sumich thread now

Better a don't hire Suma thread, put it next to the don't hire Monty thread, prevention better than cure, and all that..;)

Would be happy with Sumich, success coaching his own team at lower levels, success as an assistant at AFL level, has worked on all lines, according to one of the WCE supporters that came over here the team he was coaching in the WAFL was very attacking, but he has also worked under very defensive programs such as Lyon. If he can coach, who gives a **** that he might not be overly impressive in the media.

I think Williams and Sumich would be a good choice with a overhaul of assistant coaches and giving Brad Sewell a start as a coach might be handy

Only 55 pages? C'mon, surely we can do better than that!

Also, I will be interested where all the pro, anti and fence posters of the previous coach will sit in about mid-2015. I can see some uneasy alliances of old foes forming - in fact some already are based on the POTENTIAL coach, let alone calling for the head of the new coach if we sit something like 2-9 halfway through next year!!!!

And fwiw, I'm coming around a bit to the Mark Williams view, or of the younger coaches - Tudor. So maybe a succession plan of Williams for 2/3 years, the Tudor (assuming there are clauses in place if Tudor doesn't show the ability to assume the senior coaching role).

And out of left field, I'd go with Rhys Muldoon, especially after his coaching efforts with the Rushworth Bears in "Valentine's Day"....

If a fresh face senior coach comes in, I suspect Monty might move on

so whichever Senior Coach we get, I hope that he has some gun assistant coaches supporting him

maybe an assistant coach that has been a Senior coach

If a fresh face senior coach comes in, I suspect Monty might move on

so whichever Senior Coach we get, I hope that he has some gun assistant coaches supporting him

maybe an assistant coach that has been a Senior coach
I'm not sure Monty survives if he doesn't get the job? Unless of course we can't afford to let him go? Not sure he'd want to stay under a first timer and an experienced coach wouldn't want him breathing down his neck?

Assistant coaches generally don't survive. The incoming coach usually handpicks his assistants.

I would think if the rumours of Monty white anting BMac are true (or even elements thereof) an incoming coach isn't going to let him hang around.

Any coach coming in needs to be a good communicator. We have some pretty good line coaches and the senior coaches role needs to pull the team together.

I'm not convinced that Sumich is that kind of communicator. I understand he has a pretty good footy brain but I don't know what kind of rapport he has with the sides he's previously been part of. It's possible that this has been his downfall in interviews.

That's where someone like Chocco would be good for us.

I just don't see how Monty can be retained. He was a massive part of the coaching team that laid a freakin egg with selection, game day tactics, skill development and player relations. Give the club a god damn fresh start please peter!!

Tudor for me, but I'm comfy with Choco as well. Help land WHE. :)

I just don't see how Monty can be retained. He was a massive part of the coaching team that laid a freakin egg with selection, game day tactics, skill development and player relations. Give the club a god damn fresh start please peter!!

Tudor for me, but I'm comfy with Choco as well. Help land WHE. :)

WHE and his mates ;)

If mark williams gets the nod he should bring his daughters to every press meeting etc. They are SMOKING hot. Would definitely increase memberships.
I feel sorry for Shiel, don't wanna deal with Williams if he ask for a trade to tigers next year.

I see that Sportsbet have reopened betting on our next coach:

Sportsbetoddscoach_zpse5624d7a.jpg
Top 4 coaches no THANKS