Society & Culture Things that Make You Feel Old

That as a child in primary school many years ago we were read the correct versions of fairy tales and children's stories, sometimes with themes and endings not so nice.

One case in point was 'The Pied Piper of Hamelin'. When we read this story in class and did work on it later, we were read the proper story - where all the children followed the Pied Piper out of Hamelin save for a girl who had a crippled leg and couldn't keep up, a boy who was blind and couldn't see where he was going and another boy who was deaf and couldn't hear the Piper's tune - and both the children and the Pied Piper were never seen or heard of again.

Some 40 years on, could you imagine what would happen if a primary school teacher read her/his class an eerie story in which a strange man abducted hundreds of children playing a tune on a flute and both they and their abductor vanished without trace never to be found? Nowadays all of the stories kids are read are sanitized and PC compliant, so hearing the true version of 'The Pied Piper of Hamelin' would probably result in lots of traumatized children, an official enquiry and a nationwide scandal in the media.
Correct version is still read. It's only fringe nutters that want to change ba ba blacksheep etc. Just now there are different stories.

When you wake up at 8.30am and think "oh nice, I've slept in".
Nah, I think 'damn I've wasted half the morning of my day off'.

That's how I know I'm getting old - 8.30 used to be getting up early for young me. This morning I had a sleep in til 7am.

We weren't allowed to watch those kind of movies, most were adults only and some were rated R.
are you trying to say that you personally were not allowed to watch Stallone movies because you were a child and your parents said it was too violent

Due to covid absences, I am back on the tools for a few weeks.

I love it to be honest, but I've only done two days, and I am completely, physically wrecked.

Will take all weekend to recover, then back into it on Monday. Hopefully start to build up some resilience soon.

When someone that got their start as a teen actress is playing a middle aged mom. Reacher stars Kristin Kreuk from Smallville.

It's a similar experience with Australian actress Claudia Karvan. She was a child actress in the 1980s although her films were pretty obscure and I don't remember seeing any of them, but I do remember her in 1990 in one of my favorite comedy films 'The Big Steal'. In the movie she plays high school student Joanna Johnson, the love interest of the main character Danny Clark (Ben Mendelsohn) whose authoritarian father Mr. Johnson (Tim Robertson) terrorizes Danny, setting out a list of strict rules he is to follow and promising to 'belt the living daylights out of him' if any of these rules are broken.

Now Claudia Karvan is playing a grandmother in the series 'Bump'. Admittedly she is a young grandmother, but a grandmother regardless.

Not sure if the right thread - but who occasionally bumps into an old friend, you've not seen for 10 years plus, that spots you first mainly because you barely recognize them, given they (for whatever reason) have aged and/or 'changed shape' dramatically..?

In Bunnings many years ago I'm standing at the check out and some bloke on a mobility scooter accidently rans into my ankle. I turn around, expecting a 'sorry mate' but he just smiles at me. I stare at him confused, shrug it off and turn back, walk a few steps, then he does it again..! So I swing around and ask him; "Are you right mate, what's you're problem?" and f**k me if he doesn't just smile at me again...

Aghast shaking my head, I'm thinking perhaps this bloke has a Roo loose in the top paddock as well as obesity and/or disability issues - then he suddenly boldly states; "You've always been an arrogant knob and calls me a nickname I've haven't heard for nearly 30 years!"

I then stare at him now more confused when he says; "FFS mate, this fat bald bloke on a scooter once sat next to you on a plane to Victoria in the early 80's going to pre-season footy, I was heading to the Junction Oval and you Princes Park!"...
"Stocksie?" I respond half guessing. "Of course it's me you dumb pr**k, you wanna see my ID..."