Society & Culture Things that Make You Feel Old

My wife can barely remember a single person from high school and is generally oblivious to her surrounds, on occasion someone will come up to her and wave and she wont even notice. I find it wildly amusing.

It's quite amazing sometimes what people don't see. For example, one of the girls from work went on a holiday to the Gold Coast with her boyfriend and other friends, and stayed at Surfers Paradise for two weeks. I like the Gold Coast and was talking to her about the tourist attractions there and in Brisbane which she had been to, but when I mentioned the Q1 Tower she seemed blank, even when I described it and showed her a picture. Given it is one of Australia's tallest buildings and a distinctive and IMO a very beautiful skyscraper that dominates the Gold Coast skyline, I found it hard to believe that she had hardly noticed it at all during a two week vacation there. It would be like going to New York and not noticing the Empire State Building.

I bought fruit toast from the supermarket.

Granted that was due to there being very little else in the way of bread available (somehow the fault of interstate rail disruption according to the sign, even though the bakery is right there in the store) and I'm sure people in their 20s have purchased this item, but for some reason it felt like and old man buy. Anyway, onto the health and beauty aisle for Brylcreem and Metamucil.

Don't forget the old spice!

I ate raisin bread more as a kid then I ever have as an adult.

When my son and i listen to mr brightside in the car its like when i was in the car with my dad listening to mrs robinson.
I tended to get Tosca or the Flying Dutchman such is the son of a man who achieved his life's ambition when he saw the Ring at Bayreuth, although we both like Graceland.

Not sure if the right thread - but who occasionally bumps into an old friend, you've not seen for 10 years plus, that spots you first mainly because you barely recognize them, given they (for whatever reason) have aged and/or 'changed shape' dramatically..?

In Bunnings many years ago I'm standing at the check out and some bloke on a mobility scooter accidently rans into my ankle. I turn around, expecting a 'sorry mate' but he just smiles at me. I stare at him confused, shrug it off and turn back, walk a few steps, then he does it again..! So I swing around and ask him; "Are you right mate, what's you're problem?" and f**k me if he doesn't just smile at me again...

Aghast shaking my head, I'm thinking perhaps this bloke has a Roo loose in the top paddock as well as obesity and/or disability issues - then he suddenly boldly states; "You've always been an arrogant knob and calls me a nickname I've haven't heard for nearly 30 years!"

I then stare at him now more confused when he says; "FFS mate, this fat bald bloke on a scooter once sat next to you on a plane to Victoria in the early 80's going to pre-season footy, I was heading to the Junction Oval and you Princes Park!"...
"Stocksie?" I respond half guessing. "Of course it's me you dumb pr**k, you wanna see my ID..."
30 years out of school now, but I remember about 15 years ago, when I was catching the train into the city for work, seeing a couple of women (at different times) that it took me a moment to pick. Both would have gotten near double their weight at 17 (when I'd last seen them). One was a real eye opener, I'd had a crush on her back in school (from a distance since I was so painfully shy). She was slim then.

****. Outside Babe Ruth these would still be the baseball players I'd name if anyone asked me if I knew any.

It makes you feel even older when you realize it was closer to World War 2 than the present day.
I remember when Australia 2 did the tour of the country. When it came to Adelaide our class went in and saw it as an excursion. Not the crew or the like, just the boat. Simpler times, I can't see anything like that (in any sport), evoking a similar series of events these days.

I've still got some photos of that somewhere, it was at the Torrens Parade grounds if memory serves.

I remember my old man dad joking about how much a picture of the winged keel would have been worth the previous year.
Just the term 'winged keel' shows our age. We're of the around the same age and were just old enough to get caught up in the Australia 2 phenomenon. Ask anyone even 40 what a winged keel was and they'd have no idea.

30 years out of school now, but I remember about 15 years ago, when I was catching the train into the city for work, seeing a couple of women (at different times) that it took me a moment to pick. Both would have gotten near double their weight at 17 (when I'd last seen them). One was a real eye opener, I'd had a crush on her back in school (from a distance since I was so painfully shy). She was slim then.

fu**. Outside Babe Ruth these would still be the baseball players I'd name if anyone asked me if I knew any.

I remember doing that for a school excursion, I forget the boat did a tour around Australia

Yep, while I'm happy to concede my former chiseled physic is long gone, I'm still shocked/saddened with how some people really let themselves go.

Shopping with the wife during a trip to Adelaide a few years ago, some land whale nearly knocks over a bloke, while also dragging a kid along in her excitement to come and say hello! She scared the hell out the wife and had me on the back foot, until she revealed herself to be an old girlfriend from my high school days!

It is rare I get stuck for words with anyone but when she blurted out: "Wow, how many years has it been, look at you, you've barely changed!"
Being caught a little off guard given her current appearance I respond: "Ahhh, gee thanks Cathy, how's ya Mum?"... I mean seriously, if it weren't for the biometrics of her face, I would of struggled to acknowledge or accept her identity.

Yep, while I'm happy to concede my former chiseled physic is long gone, I'm still shocked/saddened with how some people really let themselves go.
I haven't bothered to go to any school reunions (that 30 years would have been 2020 wouldn't have helped anyway), but I really should at some point, as I still fit my old school jumper (a bit tighter, but that's as I got serious about health at around 40 and have upgraded from skinny arse to lean). I'm sure I'd get some schadenfreude seeing some of those who were the sporty type, that were dicks to those of us nerds in school, at having bulging beer bellies, whilst from the shoulders down I look half my age (we're all stuck with above the shoulders).

The satisfaction of that is somewhat diminished by the fact that with exceptions most are the same boring people you were happy to bid farewell to thirty years ago.

Just the term 'winged keel' shows our age. We're of the around the same age and were just old enough to get caught up in the Australia 2 phenomenon. Ask anyone even 40 what a winged keel was and they'd have no idea.
Im 35 and i know what a winged keel is (in the sense that i know it was a design to sailboat that won an americas cup). I also have no interest in sailing whatsoever but pop culture wise it was a "moment"... Still dont really know why but alas.