Things that please me - Part 5

Did parenting change/get more hands on?

My parents never, ever did this kind of thing. They never took me anywhere. I only played sport cos I had friends nearby, I only did drama stuff cos I had a bit of a mentor who went out of her way for me. Grew up in Tassie, but there's an incredible amount of cultural stuff that I never saw cos I only started doing it when I got older, started driving etc

Was this normal 30-40 years ago, or were my parents lazy?

It made me pretty happy recently seeing whole families at a Lego exhibition. Those are some good parents.

Probably this my man. I do realise now I had good parents, Dad always involved in my sport, Mum would take us places on school holidays etc, you think everyone parents like your olds, as you grow up you realise it's not the case.

One thing I reckon I've noticed at my son's school is the amount of parents that seem to take kids on holidays during school term. This is something we never did, we didn't do many big holidays as a family (as in flying somewhere) but always on school holidays.

My son's cricket starts up this arvo again (under 10s) and we're missing two kids cause they're in Bali, missing the first week of school too!

Probably this my man. I do realise now I had good parents, Dad always involved in my sport, Mum would take us places on school holidays etc, you think everyone parents like your olds, as you grow up you realise it's not the case.

One thing I reckon I've noticed at my son's school is the amount of parents that seem to take kids on holidays during school term. This is something we never did, we didn't do many big holidays as a family (as in flying somewhere) but always on school holidays.

My son's cricket starts up this arvo again (under 10s) and we're missing two kids cause they're in Bali, missing the first week of school too!

Noticed that a lot more in recent years as well, was rare when I was at school but you’d still get the odd one away.

My mum was a teacher so was never really an option!!!

I can remember when I was about grade 4 or 5 (90s - how to age myself 🤦‍♀️) that I had a classmate who was going to miss 1 to 2 terms over the middle of the year as the parents had decided to take the family on a roadtrip around Aus

The school was supportive, and I remember our teacher talking up the opportunities that would provide & the real world education & experience the kids would get from it

Take a pic when it’s done
I like what he's done 👍.
That's most of it ..apart from the other side of the window.
He'll cork it tomorrow.
Just need to paint now.

Attachments

• IMG_20250129_193952_553.jpg
    IMG_20250129_193952_553.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 19

Was a day off school for the kids yesterday. My 11 year old entered a Smash Bros (Nintendo Switch) comp at the library. Took on like 30 kids/teenagers and came 4th. Haha. Won himself a water-bottle and $50 gift card. Trying to build kids confidence/independence a bit more so was proud of him.

Massive respect!!!

I've had that game now for a couple of years and despite mastering every mortal kombat, street fighter, dead or alive I just cannot figure Smash Brothers out at all. Confuses the shit out of me.

Out of interest, do any states limit the number of dogs or cats one household can own? My cousin in Victoria had six dogs until quite recently. Is now down to 2 :'(
I think it's 4 pets .
But I could be wrong .
I have 3 doggies .

I don't know why they cut it back.

Out of interest, do any states limit the number of dogs or cats one household can own? My cousin in Victoria had six dogs until quite recently. Is now down to 2 :'(
It's down to the councils in Victoria at least

Our council lets you have 2 dogs and 2 cats no problem but if you wanted 3 dogs and no cats or vice versa you need a permit

Anything to make money I guess

Things that please me - Part 5