Things that quietly disappeared in the last 20 years

Cash is an obvious one but coins are a battle to obtain.

A lot of people still need them for using laundromats and car washes, they all use these hardcore industrial machines that are made to last 30 years but the means of operating them is a headache.

You can't go to a shop and ask for one or two dollar coins because banks hate handing them to businesses and customers don't use them so shops are hesitant to hand them out; banks are never open at decent times and when you do ask for a roll of 2s they get visibly pissy even though small things like that are probably the reason a physical bank teller has a job (people aren't using them to pay bills, send people money, cash cheques, or change their addresses).

It's compounded by the fact you can't even swap notes for coins because it also so hard to get a 5 or 20 dollar note, apparently ATMs only do 50s now? probably some psyop to make that seem like the base level of money and normalises a 50 dollar shop, 50 dollars on your transport card, 50 dollars for a cafe lunch...

Cash is an obvious one but coins are a battle to obtain.

A lot of people still need them for using laundromats and car washes, they all use these hardcore industrial machines that are made to last 30 years but the means of operating them is a headache.

You can't go to a shop and ask for one or two dollar coins because banks hate handing them to businesses and customers don't use them so shops are hesitant to hand them out; banks are never open at decent times and when you do ask for a roll of 2s they get visibly pissy even though small things like that are probably the reason a physical bank teller has a job (people aren't using them to pay bills, send people money, cash cheques, or change their addresses).

It's compounded by the fact you can't even swap notes for coins because it also so hard to get a 5 or 20 dollar note, apparently ATMs only do 50s now? probably some psyop to make that seem like the base level of money and normalises a 50 dollar shop, 50 dollars on your transport card, 50 dollars for a cafe lunch...
Can't you use a card at the car wash?

My local car washes are either linked with a service station so you pay inside the shop, or the stand alone ones have card facilities

While a local laundromat I've used sporadically, accepts cash but has a discount if you use a loyalty card - something like add $10 & get $15 credit, as they prefer to not have cash left on the premise

To be honest this was more related to a local scam.

I get my coins out at a shop near a lot of apartments and close to a few car washes. I've heard quite a few people request coins from there and explain why:

The cheapest car nearby me only accepts $2 coins. there's a desk on site that uses card and dispenses notes. but there's a high card fee on anything less than a $20 note, to the extent it's just cheaper to get a 20 out. and then there's a machine that changes the note to $2 coins. but the per-minute price is like 2.30 (I'm not being exact) so at the end of a wash, it's like $12.30, but that machine only spits out $2 coins. you're owed $7.70 but it only spits out $6. to get your $1.70 out you have to go to the first desk and get your 1.70 but obviously this is mostly the weekend and there's a line so people don't bother with the 1.70 they're owed. they either don't ever bother cashing it in, or else go 'well I have 1.70 there, I'll just use that as a voucher and go to that car wash next time' and they get return business.

People get $14 in coins out, so I think the idea is that they're not carrying around three $2 coins around and a voucher. because what costs $6? most people can't be arsed splitting payments to use the $2 coins.

****ing hell what a shit story. disregard.

Is time getting quicker as we get older???

I believe it actually does - I don’t really know the technical explanation but I have read about how for most people, the years 20-60 certainly feel faster and faster.

Combination of a few things

From the time you start forming active memory… I dunno, 4 or 5 years old? Until you become more of less an adult, life is full of mental milestones. You’re discovering new things constantly and don’t have much of life’s daily business to waste time on - your parents are earning the money, planning your next meal, putting a roof over your head, etc etc. The days, weeks and years are BIG, fewer things are happening but they’re big, compared to a zillion little things occupying your mind.

It’s a time of rapid development in a shorter period of relative time, at 8yo a year is 1/8th of your life (or 1/4 of the time you can actually remember) so it feels huge.

As adults the years become very similar to each other in a mental sense and a much smaller relative period of your whole life. And time flies when your mind is occupied, which it is with earning a living and all of life’s problems.

Time is time but it feels different.

I think if you were to totally re-birth yourself… and I mean totally, like go an live with a remote tribe somewhere where all of your life’s experience was totally useless and you had to learn from scratch how to live, communicate and survive… time would definitely feel slower as youre back in the discovery phase. Doing that for a year - truly learning, discovering and struggling - would certainly feel a lot longer than the year you’ve just had.

My theory is that the internet has made time go quicker - because we have access to so much historical stuff (photos, tv footage, articles etc etc) including 1980s and 1990s (the period those in their 40s and 50s now were growing up), that period becomes even more entrenched in our brain. it's not like 30 years ago when you would be reflecting on things 20 or so years prior, and your main memory would be your lived experience from the time, not regular flashbacks provided to us by the internet as happens now.

Also, having been born in early 70s, I can make a clear delineation between the 70s, 80s and 90s. But now I'm more inclined to think of years since 1999 as a 2xxx year, and not a 20xx , 201x or 202x year.

We basically lost our TV industry in the 20 or so years since reality tv became entrenched in early 2000s. TV networks these days really only make bare minimum of dramas and sitcoms. Barely have any quality quiz shows on these days

Everything is all about the relatively cheap reality rubbish.

Drive-Ins.

Relying on seeing footy scores in the Sunday newspaper. Sporting pulse and Player HQ changed things, but obviously for the better.

Chocolate quik- that was very popular 30 years ago. It's maybe still sold but I can't recall seeing it stocked at Coles or featured in an ad.

Indoor cricket - probably still a thing but wouldn't surprise me if it had completely disappeared.

Chairlifts - I know there's the odd one around, such as in Launceston, but I'm guessing the surge in Public Liability insurance costs meant a lot were dismantled in Australia.

Decent footy commentators - there's the occasional decent one who pops up, but the majority are self-indulgent idiots.

I loved magazines as a kid / teen. Seeing the new issue in the newsagents, getting home, finding a quiet space and going through them cover to cover.

Footy, basketball, gaming, cars… all of them. Even remember the smell of the freshly printed pages.

So much of that speciality media died. Funnily enough I feel like the closest thing now is YouTube, with fans and citizen journalists turning out some good stuff about every topic under the sun.

There’s still sports media of course but it’s 90% clickbait shit and single sentence social media posts. Nobody does long form quality now, really… they just can’t as nobody pays for it.

I loved magazines as a kid / teen. Seeing the new issue in the newsagents, getting home, finding a quiet space and going through them cover to cover.

Footy, basketball, gaming, cars… all of them. Even remember the smell of the freshly printed pages.

So much of that speciality media died. Funnily enough I feel like the closest thing now is YouTube, with fans and citizen journalists turning out some good stuff about every topic under the sun.

There’s still sports media of course but it’s 90% clickbait shit and single sentence social media posts. Nobody does long form quality now, really… they just can’t as nobody pays for it.
My work is very niche and I get to interview people, write articles and have free reign over layout and the cover and even the ads. it's not within the industry I'd love to be in but it is pretty cool to have a magazine you basically made come into your hands. I've got to do some very cool stuff on the work clock under the guise of 'work.' we have a bit of weight in an industry that touches all sorts of other industries so you can weasel your way into lots of very good chats. pretty cool going into the RACV Club or MCC or some of those Collins Street buildings and some hot assistant in Louboutins calls you sir and gets you a flat white...

One of the coolest thing that's ever happened in my shitty life was a mate of mine being in London and picking up a music mag and really resonating with an album review and him seeing my name as the author.

Magazines are awful for pollution because you can't recycle the paper and about 30% of editions are returned which sucks, but they're a perfect medium.

Loaded, FourFourTwo really inspired me as a kid.

Mad, Time, The Bulletin and Wisden Cricket Monthly used ti be our staples

I can only ever remember them being minuscule.

I don’t think they’ve been big since about the 1940s when international cricket was actually rare.
I remember in the 80s a reasonable crowd at Adelaide Oval,a few thousand perhaps, but these days when watching highlights on the TV news it literally looks like there is not one person attending.

I believe it actually does - I don’t really know the technical explanation but I have read about how for most people, the years 20-60 certainly feel faster and faster.

Combination of a few things

From the time you start forming active memory… I dunno, 4 or 5 years old? Until you become more of less an adult, life is full of mental milestones. You’re discovering new things constantly and don’t have much of life’s daily business to waste time on - your parents are earning the money, planning your next meal, putting a roof over your head, etc etc. The days, weeks and years are BIG, fewer things are happening but they’re big, compared to a zillion little things occupying your mind.

It’s a time of rapid development in a shorter period of relative time, at 8yo a year is 1/8th of your life (or 1/4 of the time you can actually remember) so it feels huge.

As adults the years become very similar to each other in a mental sense and a much smaller relative period of your whole life. And time flies when your mind is occupied, which it is with earning a living and all of life’s problems.

Time is time but it feels different.

I think if you were to totally re-birth yourself… and I mean totally, like go an live with a remote tribe somewhere where all of your life’s experience was totally useless and you had to learn from scratch how to live, communicate and survive… time would definitely feel slower as youre back in the discovery phase. Doing that for a year - truly learning, discovering and struggling - would certainly feel a lot longer than the year you’ve just had.

What a great post.

You have described the "proportional theory". For example, when you’re 10 years old, one year is 10% of your life, but when you're 50, one year is only 2% of your life. So, relative to how much life you’ve already lived, time seems to speed up.

Some philosophers and scientists say time is an illusion. It's just a mental construct for us to make sense of events and changes in the world around us. When you are younger there are more novel experiences. Education, different jobs, socialising, travelling, playing sport, relationships. There's a paradox that when you are busy time seems to fly by - but you are packing more in, so each year feels longer. As you get older you are more likely to be in one relationship, live in one house, not be playing sport, not be out on the town each weekend. Life is slower but that means there's less for the brain to process, so time seems to pass by more quickly.

This one recently popped up for me. Remember skipping a day at school to go into the the city to be part of this parade.

Few different things

Do we do ticker tape parades any more? What would it take? Maybe the Socceroos winning the World Cup?

Imagine caring so much about the 50-over World Cup that 200k people gather in the city to hail Australia winning it. Few factors at play here, cricket has probably waned a little overall, T20 has killed 50-over cricket, but also there is a million different to tournaments and series, Australia wins everything anyway.

This one recently popped up for me. Remember skipping a day at school to go into the the city to be part of this parade.

Few different things

Do we do ticker tape parades any more? What would it take? Maybe the Socceroos winning the World Cup?

Imagine caring so much about the 50-over World Cup that 200k people gather in the city to hail Australia winning it. Few factors at play here, cricket has probably waned a little overall, T20 has killed 50-over cricket, but also there is a million different to tournaments and series, Australia wins everything anyway.
Essendon winning a final? ;)

Good pubs.

All the classic buildings are apartments now. most still in an old site have changed hands every 18 months and nothing ever improves, going from wine bar to high end to pokies venue to the current trend of trying to be retro but everything feeling empty and echoey and incredibly bland inside.

There's a reason people still love places like the Standard, the Rose, the Napier, the Park. they tread a good line between standard menu items without them being microwaved shite with half arsed limp salads and without being a little bit too full on and restaurant-y; a front bar people want to sit at; an old original bar with old original taps; no CUB/Lion lock in contract of beers; good bar staff some of which are hot women; clean but with some heritage and hangovers from older days; no bouncers; footy on the screen but it's not a sportsbar...

I live near a pub that's been around for 140 years and it was always a bit daggy but still pretty good value inside. just got bought out and they're talking about 'embracing its heritage and regulars....' and... they're changing the name it's had for most of its history...

Few different things

People just like the AFL and test cricket now. there isn't that diversity there once was.

Rugby Union must be just about bankrupt, I remember in WA people in a strict Aussie Rules household we'd still watch big Wallabies games. the Super Rugby comp must be close to bust now. didn't they even re-admit the Force?

Day-nighter cricket used to be big as well, those tri-series were good fun to watch. I also swear Australia A had a bit of a following, always in the inverse of the proper Australian team, and people used to want to see the A team get up. always had some of the more kookier personalities too. West Indies, Pakistan, New Zealand used to provide some good games. now I don't even know if they even bother with 'limited overs' cricket here? seems like the season's done. but I don't really follow cricket.

State league football is another. it was pretty common to go down to watch South Fremantle on a Saturday and they'd get good crowds, now that's just reserved for Foundation Day derbies. probably had a huge amount to do with how many delayed games you used to get then and a smaller media, watching Victorian teams was either irrelevant or uninteresting or a bit novel. now people all over the country know as much about the momentum and inner machanics of Gold Coast, Melbourne, the Crows, and the Eagles. people have opinions on all of them because there's just that national exposure. I guess in 2005 people were in their 40s and could remember going to WAFL or SANFL games and a lot of people in Victoria probably also had a VFA team too. now most adults in that area just grew up with the Crows or Eagles always existing.

We'd even go down and watch our local country side on Saturdays too and sit in the car, have a kick at half time, eat a salad roll from home. I doubt people are doing that now. it's probably 20 bucks to watch your local team now and even if it was free, it's easier to watch Gold Coast - Carlton.

Club stores are another one. I don't really remember merch vans being set up at Subi, but I also don't remember any other amenities there either... obviously everyone just buys stuff online now, but clubs don't seem to have a shop in their suburb or traditional grounds. bit of a shame. I remember the Dockers having one at Freo Oval as well as what's now the Old Synagogue which moved down High Street and maybe ended up on the Strip somewhere. now they're just de facto outlets probably ran by admin staff at outer suburban soulless 'elite facilities' fans don't even bother going to.

Getting free stuff too, you'd have footy cards in packets of chips, glossy posters for $1 if you bought the paper, going into the bank to get those thick cardboard fold-out fixtures, they'd give stuff out at the gate as well. I remember you'd get a big poster for a milestone game, stuff like that.

Smith Street and Swan Street having a huge strip of outlet shops. I remember the Nike one doing insane shit like selling in-season Arsenal shirts with a button missing or a sold player's name on the back for like 25 bucks. when I was a student I used to go down and get socks from there because it was like ten for ten dollars and cheaper than doing a load of whites...

Things that quietly disappeared in the last 20 years