Things that sh*t me the fifteenth part

Thread has been rolled over to Part 16 here

I had to wait five years before I saw us win our first flag.
First one i remember i was 6
Got some losses in early too
My issue isn't on field it's off

Felt like bacon and eggs for breakfast but cbf'd cooking and have no bacon. Decide to just go down to Maccas and get a bacon and egg mcmuffin. Get home and go to eat it and it is just egg and tomato sauce. I ****ing despise tomato sauce. Who the **** even orders that to have it made?

Felt like bacon and eggs for breakfast but cbf'd cooking and have no bacon. Decide to just go down to Maccas and get a bacon and egg mcmuffin. Get home and go to eat it and it is just egg and tomato sauce. I ******* despise tomato sauce. Who the fu** even orders that to have it made?

the serious ****..

I've ordered Sausage McMuffins before and ended up with something else, but not that.

Felt like bacon and eggs for breakfast but cbf'd cooking and have no bacon. Decide to just go down to Maccas and get a bacon and egg mcmuffin. Get home and go to eat it and it is just egg and tomato sauce. I ******* despise tomato sauce. Who the fu** even orders that to have it made?
That is pure evil.

job ads where it describes how open and PC the work environment is, saying they are open to everyone regardless of race, sexuality, gender, disability, etc etc etc

then directly underneath 'This position is for Indigenous or Torres Strait Islanders only'

Apologies in advance for the long post.

Context: wife and I need to do IVF, and she started the injections earlier this week. Last week we organised (nothing concrete) to catch up with some friends (they have a two year old), who we hadn't seen in a few weeks.

Got a text from my mate last night

"Did you want to come early afternoon and stay for dinner?"
Hey mate! We probably won't stay for dinner, but we could do lunch if that suits you guys - or we could just go for a walk and hang for a bit if lunch doesn't work?
"Stay for dinner. Daughter will wake from her day sleep around 2.30 so after that will be fine."
We will see how Mrs Cruyff feels as we have started the injections for IVF
"Not a problem. It'll be good for her. She can put her feet up"
What's on the menu?
"No idea. Will decide tomorrow. Any requests?"
Whatever. Doesn't need to be fancy. We aren't 100% so don't us if we don't stay for dinner if Mrs Cruyff isn't feeling great lol
"Maybe we will just reschedule to a time when you will both be up for it"
Well we can still come round for a bit or go for a walk or something

Then here comes the kicker that really pissed my wife and I off

"Bit of advice from a parent to a perspective parent

1. A child goes for a sleep after lunch. Therefore coming for lunch isn't great, as we can't go for a walk/do something straight after it.

2. With a child a great time for a walk/activities is after they wake up IE after 2.30. Means you have a couple of hours before organising dinner

3. When people invite you to their house for dinner, give them a straight answer. I'm not buying food that goes to waste, or am not going to risk not buying food and then you want to stay and there isn't enough food. Also, if you wanted to chill post walk then it's uncomfortable for a host to be preparing dinner with people in the house or aren't eating said meal"

We were looking forward to seeing you both but Mrs Cruyff doesn't know how she's going to feel and her health is our number one priority. Catch you another time :thumbsupemoji::thumbsupemoji:

--

On point 1 - we have gone there for lunch before. In a few weeks we are hosting a gathering here.... for lunch.

On point 2 - So we couldn't go for a walk after 2.30 for a bit

On point 3 - I said first go we won't stay for dinner. We also didn't need to stay after a walk.

We were both very disappointed at his lack of understanding and empathy to what we are going through to try and conceive. We are under no illusions that a child can dictate what you can and can't do - which is completely fine - but I provided various options, and not once did I say we can only do X at Y time. We were happy to just go for a walk, or go round for a coffee for a bit or whatever. It seems his plan in his head was so rigid and there was no adapting to it, and if we couldn't commit to that then we were the problem. I also said from the beginning we won't stay for dinner but he was insistent (doesn't like taking no for an answer). Just really disappointing considering they are some of our closest friends and his fiance was messaging my wife earlier on in the week too (and also suggested we do something outside given the weather).

I wanted to say so much more in my last reply (to which he didn't reply to), but he is the sort of person who could argue forever and is never wrong in his mind.

but he is the sort of person who could argue forever and is never wrong in his mind.

I have a mate like that. So completely frustrating. I've learnt just to let it go. He's not going to change so why bother even trying to argue.

Ironically he didn't reply to the last message I sent.

My wife was pretty upset by what happened. They got pregnant first go, yet here is not giving a single **** what we're going through. He probably wouldn't have given that text exchange much thought either.

Ironically he didn't reply to the last message I sent.

My wife was pretty upset by what happened. They got pregnant first go, yet here is not giving a single fu** what we're going through. He probably wouldn't have given that text exchange much thought either.

Sounds like a flog. I'd get a better mate tbh.

Went away for the weekend,came home shed door booted in,back door booted in,4th time they've gone after the dirt-bike in the shed this year.
Lucky we had the back wheel off the bike,they put it back on but couldn't get the chain on,so they left it.
They went in the house and all they took was a couple of jars of coins,didn't trash anything which was a plus.
Didn't bother calling the cops.
Young,poor,feral kids.
Then I was cooking dinner out back on the webber and a metre long gwarda comes slithering out of the garden bed.
Didn't want to kill it but what do you do?
They're fast and highly venomous.
The webber didn't let me down,awesome feed.

Apologies in advance for the long post.

Context: wife and I need to do IVF, and she started the injections earlier this week. Last week we organised (nothing concrete) to catch up with some friends (they have a two year old), who we hadn't seen in a few weeks.

Got a text from my mate last night

"Did you want to come early afternoon and stay for dinner?"
Hey mate! We probably won't stay for dinner, but we could do lunch if that suits you guys - or we could just go for a walk and hang for a bit if lunch doesn't work?
"Stay for dinner. Daughter will wake from her day sleep around 2.30 so after that will be fine."
We will see how Mrs Cruyff feels as we have started the injections for IVF
"Not a problem. It'll be good for her. She can put her feet up"
What's on the menu?
"No idea. Will decide tomorrow. Any requests?"
Whatever. Doesn't need to be fancy. We aren't 100% so don't us if we don't stay for dinner if Mrs Cruyff isn't feeling great lol
"Maybe we will just reschedule to a time when you will both be up for it"
Well we can still come round for a bit or go for a walk or something

Then here comes the kicker that really pissed my wife and I off

"Bit of advice from a parent to a perspective parent

1. A child goes for a sleep after lunch. Therefore coming for lunch isn't great, as we can't go for a walk/do something straight after it.

2. With a child a great time for a walk/activities is after they wake up IE after 2.30. Means you have a couple of hours before organising dinner

3. When people invite you to their house for dinner, give them a straight answer. I'm not buying food that goes to waste, or am not going to risk not buying food and then you want to stay and there isn't enough food. Also, if you wanted to chill post walk then it's uncomfortable for a host to be preparing dinner with people in the house or aren't eating said meal"

We were looking forward to seeing you both but Mrs Cruyff doesn't know how she's going to feel and her health is our number one priority. Catch you another time :thumbsupemoji::thumbsupemoji:

--

On point 1 - we have gone there for lunch before. In a few weeks we are hosting a gathering here.... for lunch.

On point 2 - So we couldn't go for a walk after 2.30 for a bit

On point 3 - I said first go we won't stay for dinner. We also didn't need to stay after a walk.

We were both very disappointed at his lack of understanding and empathy to what we are going through to try and conceive. We are under no illusions that a child can dictate what you can and can't do - which is completely fine - but I provided various options, and not once did I say we can only do X at Y time. We were happy to just go for a walk, or go round for a coffee for a bit or whatever. It seems his plan in his head was so rigid and there was no adapting to it, and if we couldn't commit to that then we were the problem. I also said from the beginning we won't stay for dinner but he was insistent (doesn't like taking no for an answer). Just really disappointing considering they are some of our closest friends and his fiance was messaging my wife earlier on in the week too (and also suggested we do something outside given the weather).

I wanted to say so much more in my last reply (to which he didn't reply to), but he is the sort of person who could argue forever and is never wrong in his mind.
I’ll play devil’s advocate....the thing is he wasn’t inviting you to lunch, he said come early afternoon and then stay for dinner. Then you said straight away no what about lunch. So right away you were trying to change the arrangements. He said that because he knew his child was going to be sleeping. Then he just wanted to know if you were definitely staying for dinner so they could cater accordingly. Tbh I don’t think either of you were wrong , it just sounds that you were both trying to schedule a catch up time which worked for your families needs and it just didn’t mesh on the day. I think your friend was sad that it didn’t eventuate and was trying to tell you his point of view.
As much as you say they are not showing empathy for your wife’s needs I don’t know if you really got the fact that their child’s sleeping needs were important, hence his explanation.

I don’t think it’s worth loosing a friendship over.

I’m with Perth Gal, you were being a bit contrary.

You know your partner is going through this process and not knowing how she is going to be feeling, easiest answer was

“Great, see you around 2ish, won’t stay for dinner, but thanks for the invite, maybe next time.”

He was though a condescending **** and your response was the correct one - in fact I’m impressed with your control