Society & Culture Things that Shit me part X- The Tenth edition!

The group of mums who hang out the front of primary schools acting all mummy 40 mins after their kid left.

Do you reckon it's one big competition to see who can embarrass their kid the most?

Lol wut?!

Goes to show I hardly watch any footy on TV- had no idea they did this.

Yeh, they ask them their opinion on how things are going, what they're watching, etc...the other night the commentator asked something like "is there anyone you're keeping your eye on", and the answer was "yeh, some of the top players...". Very strange.

You would think that "keeping an eye on" would be more protection for the top players from holding and scragging etc
At the end of the day though, I don't want to hear from them - its bad enough I can hear them throughout the game

You would think that "keeping an eye on" would be more protection for the top players from holding and scragging etc
At the end of the day though, I don't want to hear from them - its bad enough I can hear them throughout the game

Yeh that's what they meant, was just a strange conversation. Not interested in it really either!

Right now gotta say having Sociology as a core subject in my Major and having to do the related readings, 2 chapters in and I feel like it should be called Communist foundations instead, haven't even had to touch on feminism etc yet.

Ha! I remember doing that subject and thinking exactly the same. They do cover other issues later in the year.

People aren't choosing healthy food choices because fast food is cheaper... We need to put hefty taxes on all fast food to encourage people to eat healthy options!

That viewpoint shits me...

People aren't choosing healthy food choices because fast food is cheaper... We need to put hefty taxes on all fast food to encourage people to eat healthy options!

That viewpoint shits me...
I would imagine it's because fast food is easier. You can get much more food making a pasta for the same cost of say Maccas.

I'm not sure what point you're addressing here, I know the why, my point is the solution is to just tax fast food more rather than actually do anything... The governments typical response of addressing issues by taxing it further shits me, it gives a perception of caring about an issue and doing something about it when really it's just an easy way to gouge more tax money without the public caring.

Seppo's and their bloody guns.

Guns don't kill people, people kill people yada yada...

But yeah not sure what the answer is in America, even if you introduced more restricting laws like we have here there is so many in circulation and such a culture of them I don't think it can ever be "fixed". Even then much like here there is always going to be illegal firearms anyway. Still an exchange student getting murdered is awesome timing when I've been looking into doing an exchange semester in Boston once eligible.

Sent from my "........." using Tapatalk 2

Haha yeah, see that a lot now.

Something that shits me, the seats under the shelters at bus stops or train stations in the UK. It's like a thin bar about 6-7 inches wide and really close to the shelter backing. Can barely sit on them without feeling like you're going to slide off them.

I'm not sure what point you're addressing here, I know the why, my point is the solution is to just tax fast food more rather than actually do anything... The governments typical response of addressing issues by taxing it further shits me, it gives a perception of caring about an issue and doing something about it when really it's just an easy way to gouge more tax money without the public caring.
Not really addressing one of your points. Just making an observation. I tend to agree with you re: the 'tax everything' mantra.

Still an exchange student getting murdered is awesome timing when I've been looking into doing an exchange semester in Boston once eligible.

You can't let stuff like that stop you, or else you'll never leave the house. The week I started my application there was a school shooting in San Francisco, and there was another one before I left. You're not invincible anywhere in the world, including home.

It really is just a punishment tax/cash grab at a soft target. So along with Maccas, KFC, pizza will the latest bottle of Red, Creme Brulee and the garlic sated prawns be taxed as well? Lots of calories in them.

Not really addressing one of your points. Just making an observation. I tend to agree with you re: the 'tax everything' mantra.
Oh right my bad, completely read your post in the wrong context obviously, sorry...

You can't let stuff like that stop you, or else you'll never leave the house. The week I started my application there was a school shooting in San Francisco, and there was another one before I left. You're not invincible anywhere in the world, including home.
True, odds are higher to get hit by a car than to be involved in a college shooting, have to finish another 2 semesters with a Credit average first anyway, just yeah doesn't help when you've never spent more than 2 weeks outside Victoria either I guess.

It really is just a punishment tax/cash grab at a soft target. So along with Maccas, KFC, pizza will the latest bottle of Red, Creme Brulee and the garlic sated prawns be taxed as well? Lots of calories in them.
Yeah it really is a load of shit, honestly the main reason I eat Maccas / Pizza Hut more than I should at uni is because I can't afford to blow $10+ a day on a sandwich, when for $6 I can get a pizza, garlic bread and a can of mountain dew, or a medium cheeseburger meal and some dollar menu shit.

Yeah yeah I know I could bring a lunch but I hated doing that in high school, can't stomach an untoasted sandwich anymore, haven't been able to for years.

I'm not a coffee drinker, but why is it that everyone that drinks coffee must slurp it?
Sick of it!

I just assume its cause its too hot to let it touch their lips.

I'm not a coffee drinker, but why is it that everyone that drinks coffee must slurp it?
Sick of it!
It's not just coffee drinkers but also people who drink from basically any cup, glass or can have to slurp. It is irritating along with those that chew food with their mouth open.