Tim Kelly loves Geelong (WARNING: Thread still filled with melts)

There are cases where compassion is needed by clubs.
In contrast, Jesse Hogan was struggling mentally after the death of his father and enquires about the possibility of a trade. Initially, we demanded 2 first rounders for him. We later softened our stance for the sake of Jesse and also so we could bring in people who wanted to be here.
Having someone in the team who clearly doesn't want to be there is toxic to a clubs culture and it filters through the entire club.
There is also the issue of his autistic son. Depending on where he is on the spectrum, there is the possibility he's not coping with living somewhere unfamiliar and seeks the comfort of familiar surroundings. I can sympathise with Tim's circumstances.
Yeh but dude Geelong were prepared to send him back home via Freo. That’s more the point. Sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do and they should have sucked it up and joined Ross.

Flagless in over half a century, some Melbum supporters even dared to say how 'proud' they were about this season.....Not sure being kept goalless in the first half of a prelim warrants that word being used, but hey you lot do accept mediocrity more than all other teams ( bar maybe the aints ) because you really have no other choice. :D.....Ps Tim Kelly is a cat for 2019 so get over it flogs. :thumbsu:
http://m.afl.com.au/news/2014-08-23/mission-accomplished-scott
Ask any honest Melbum supporter who lived through it, or just know their club's history, and they'll tell you their club imploded from the inside out the day they sacked Norm Smith..... To treat a true icon like that means they deserve all the success ( or lackthereof ) they get. :D :thumbsu:
That is true, and the board at the time were trying to save their own arses instead of doing the best thing for the club and letting Norm do his thing.
He was sacked, then reinstated 2 weeks later. He didn't want to be there after that, and his attitude flowed through the whole club.
What's with this constant "unhappy player" garbage.

He's on the record as saying he's happy to play for the Cats if a deal couldn't be done.

He's going to be uncontracted at the end of next year and all contract offers will be affected by next year's performance.

He'd be foolish to sook it up. I think he's professional enough to ensure that won't happen.
He's a professional player, so of course he'll go out there and perform his best. The question is how much the constant media beat ups and pressure from the Mrs (who isn't helping his situation by publicly adding fuel on the fire) will affect his performances. Not to mention the extra attention he'll cop from opposition players next year. I just hope he can handle it.

Yeh but dude Geelong were prepared to send him back home via Freo. That’s more the point. Sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do and they should have sucked it up and joined Ross.
His manager has a lot to answer for in that regard.
Would Fremantle have given up pick 14 for him after already giving early picks for Hogan and Lobb?

http://m.afl.com.au/news/2014-08-23/mission-accomplished-scott

That is true, and the board at the time were trying to save their own arses instead of doing the best thing for the club and letting Norm do his thing.
He was sacked, then reinstated 2 weeks later. He didn't want to be there after that, and his attitude flowed through the whole club.

He's a professional player, so of course he'll go out there and perform his best. The question is how much the constant media beat ups and pressure from the Mrs (who isn't helping his situation by publicly adding fuel on the fire) will affect his performances. Not to mention the extra attention he'll cop from opposition players next year. I just hope he can handle it.
The club's clearly backed him to handle it, and the man himself isn't short on confidence. He'll be fine.

In contrast, Jesse Hogan was struggling mentally after the death of his father and enquires about the possibility of a trade. Initially, we demanded 2 first rounders for him. We later softened our stance for the sake of Jesse and also so we could bring in people who wanted to be here.
Having someone in the team who clearly doesn't want to be there is toxic to a clubs culture and it filters through the entire club.
There is also the issue of his autistic son. Depending on where he is on the spectrum, there is the possibility he's not coping with living somewhere unfamiliar and seeks the comfort of familiar surroundings. I can sympathise with Tim's circumstances.
If so on Tim then why didn't he nominate Freo too?

Reckon Geelong would've been happier with 14 and something else, better chance you get a slider there, rather than early twenties

His manager has a lot to answer for in that regard.
Would Fremantle have given up pick 14 for him after already giving early picks for Hogan and Lobb?
Yes definitely

Hogan + Lobb + Kelly - Neale is a pretty good window still

Kelly would've softened the blow on Neale a bit imo

If he has any thoughts about having a decent career, why would he want to go play Ross Lyon football at Shemantle

**** Geelong

There is also the issue
If he has any thoughts about having a decent career, why would he want to go play Ross Lyon football at Shemantle

**** Geelong

If the Eagles lost Gaff they would have given up the future first in a heartbeat. It's obvious they are not fans of Tim Kelly's and only negotiated to save face.

Not sure what has been more successful...

This thread, or my thread on the main board.

So many collective melts.

Honestly, where would this site be without Vesty?

There's a main bored thread. BRB.

Nah with an already massive overs offer, there would have never been the future first

That would have been the biggest overs trade in the last 10 years

20+22+future 2nd was already record breaking if you took it

Nah with an already massive overs offer, there would have never been the future first

That would have been the biggest overs trade in the last 10 years

20+22+future 2nd was already record breaking if you took it

Lol.

Do the Giants know they're not allowed to draft West Australian Jordan Clark with a top 10 pick because the Eagles we're going to draft him with Pick 20?

Have you called Gil about this yet, DanWA?

There is nothing Gil can do. Geelong were fully allowed to put this guy and his family through another year of hell, it is just frowned upon by many and will not be forgotten

You guys can keep Jackson Nelson from us for the rest of his career then and we'll call it even. Oh nooo! :D

I'm talking about the draft, not the Eagles inability to show empathy to a player they'd sweet talked all year

If only Geelong showed some sort of empathy or compassion

Instead, they are going to put this guy and his family through another year of hell

**** Geelong

You guys can keep Jackson Nelson from us for the rest of his career then and we'll call it even. Oh nooo! :D

Would we be keeping him from you?

We just won the flag, he would want to be trying to get best 22 for us than going to Geelong who are a 10 year rebuild and another Dank away from another premiership run

Would we be keeping him from you?

We just won the flag, he would want to be trying to get best 22 for us than going to Geelong who are a 10 year rebuild and another Dank away from another premiership run
Oh no, please give us back Jackson Nelson! :(

(please don't, keep him)

And then we'll ship off to Fremantle under Ross Lyon. Nobody can stop us. :mad:

I have no issues if you make him go to Shemantle, it gets him home and away from the hell that is Geelong

Just feel sorry that he will have to play exciting Ross Lyon footy

If only Geelong showed some sort of empathy or compassion

Instead, they are going to put this guy and his family through another year of hell

**** Geelong

He's done being cockteased by you ****ers.

Cat4lyfe

Tim Kelly loves Geelong (WARNING: Thread still filled with melts)