Tim Kelly - Requests Trade to West Coast

bcc92603b7a7586a8191c6354de862e1.png

You always see Geelong people say they have gave pick 19, but the points value of that trade was around 40, with 24 and 60 odd coming back.

Personally, I reckon Geelong have every right to be filthy that Kelly wants to leave after only 1 year.
And then to only nominate 1 club was a bit untidy.

Some of the people saying he should be allowed to come back for family reasons are the same people
who went off about Sam Mitchell wanting to return home half way through his contract.

I imagine the deal will get done next week for a later first rounder.

It's a shame the discussions on BF have turned so venomous between the supporters.
I don think the same vitriol was aimed at Sam's family though like some on Geelongs board/twitter have taken shots at Kelly's wife?

Just BF rumour! But they reckon the eagl,es have been whispering sweet nothing to him all year. Do you really think this trade came around with 2 rounds in the year left? Not a chance!

"They" is always such a reliable source. They reckon Adam Simpson was taking flights mid-week to go for longs walks with Kelly and tell him he has a spot in the best 22 next year if he nominates the Eagles as his club of choice.

Yeah I’m sure Danger has told Kelly should see out his 2 year contract as per the agreement. I find it a little self entitled that your playing the family game. He wants WCE only and happy to stay at cats to pass on Dockers. Come on mate, look at it for what it is.
Lets look at what it is shall we :

At last years draft Kelly was 23 with a 2 year old son and a partner about to give birth to twins. Geelong knew or should have known that for a player in that situation the go home factor would be a risk but they rolled the dice and backed themselves in to help him and his family settle in Geelong.

Fair enough, Geelong is a strong club with a good culture and if any club was going to help him settle it’d be them. Unfortunately it hasn’t worked which shouldn’t really come as a surprise- raising 3 children under 3 including new born twins away from the family support network would be a challenge

He wants to come back to WA and has preferenced West Coast as his destination. I don’t know what his beef with Fremantle is but right now if you were choosing between the two it’s a fairly obvious decision. And every player that seeks a trade, contracted or not, nominated a club so Kelly is not unique in that regard

Before you fallback to the we gave Kelly his chance at AFL claptrap he was going to be drafted in 2017 by west coast, most likely 2 picks after the one Geelong used. We all know he was overlooked in 5 drafts and since Geelong didn’t join the comp in 2017 they didn’t draft him for 5 years just like every other club.

And yes the eagles took two players before Kelly just as you drafted Fogarty before him. So it’s not as if you took him at the first available opportunity but you did jump in before us. Fair play to you

But it hasn’t worked. Tough luck. Geelong have benefited significantly from the go home factor over the years, including this year, but now you’re having a hissy fit because one player wants to go back the other way with compelling reasons to do so

West Coast will offer a fair trade that will net Geelong a better draft position in a stronger year than the pick they used to take Kelly in 2017

That’s what it is so take your tears and indignation elsewhere

I guess the difference is West Coast as a club recognise that family comes first and are allowing Mitchell to break his contract without much of a mention of them being the disgruntled party. The media have heard nothing except he is going, not even the reason he is going. The club is classy like that.

Although I understand Geelong supporters being upset he is breaking his contract, you have to understand that he would not have been able to foresee his circumstances. Away from family support with a three year old with special needs and baby twins. It’s a big burden on his partner.

Blame the AFL draft system. The only way you can play at the top level is to nominate for the draft and then you have to go wherever with no control over your fate.

Naming West Coast is a bit of a red herring. Name me the last player traded from any club that hasn’t nominated where they want to go? Every player does it. Ablett did it twice, Dangerfield and Selwood did it. Obviously it doesn’t count if it’s in Geelong favour though.
+1
Well put

Just BF rumour! But they reckon the eagl,es have been whispering sweet nothing to him all year. Do you really think this trade came around with 2 rounds in the year left? Not a chance!
It was well known West Coast wanted to draft him last year and no doubt would have spoken to him last year. But to say we have been whispering to him all year to come home sounds like pure bullsh** to me! He wants to come home for family reasons and why not want come back to the reigning premiers?

It was his manager who said Freo werent in the deal because he knows he can get him to West Coast, which will no doubt happen next week.

For the record Kelly’s manager has said that west coast (and Fremantle) had been in constant contact with him re Kelly over the course of the year

So we have chased him and that will be reflected in the trade we offer but he’s not worth a top 10 pick in this draft

Why are Geelong supporters crying foul because TK has nominated West Coast? When has anyone ever said “send me home, I don’t care which club”?

Rohan just nominated Geelong and then Geelong posts about it saying “There’s no place like home”

Shiel nominates Essendon and Vic journos say it’s “good for the game”

Kelly nominates West Coast and apparently “Geelong have every right to be filthy”
Still salty about the cup heading west

The extra salt makes their tears even more delicious when Kelly lines up for us in the centre square round 1 next year.

At last years draft Kelly was 23 with a 2 year old son and a partner about to give birth to twins. Geelong knew or should have known that for a player in that situation the go home factor would be a risk but they rolled the dice and backed themselves in to help him and his family settle in Geelong.

Fair enough, Geelong is a strong club with a good culture and if any club was going to help him settle it’d be them. Unfortunately it hasn’t worked which shouldn’t really come as a surprise- raising 3 children under 3 including new born twins away from the family support network would be a challenge

He wants to come back to WA and has preferenced West Coast as his destination. I don’t know what his beef with Fremantle is but right now if you were choosing between the two it’s a fairly obvious decision. And every player that seeks a trade, contracted or not, nominated a club so Kelly is not unique in that regard

Before you fallback to the we gave Kelly his chance at AFL claptrap he was going to be drafted in 2017 by west coast, most likely 2 picks after the one Geelong used. We all know he was overlooked in 5 drafts and since Geelong didn’t join the comp in 2017 they didn’t draft him for 5 years just like every other club.

And yes the eagles took two players before Kelly just as you drafted Fogarty before him. So it’s not as if you took him at the first available opportunity but you did jump in before us. Fair play to you

But it hasn’t worked. Tough luck. Geelong have benefited significantly from the go home factor over the years, including this year, but now you’re having a hissy fit because one player wants to go back the other way with compelling reasons to do so

West Coast will offer a fair trade that will net Geelong a better draft position in a stronger year than the pick they used to take Kelly in 2017

NnGGHE0muVqpO.gif

Great points, most excellently made.

Yeah I’m sure Danger has told Kelly should see out his 2 year contract as per the agreement. I find it a little self entitled that your playing the family game. He wants WCE only and happy to stay at cats to pass on Dockers. Come on mate, look at it for what it is.
It is the dockers bud.

Not like he has the choice between collingwood and hawthorn.

Its heaven vs hell

Good vs bad

Chads vs incels

Flag vs spoons

According to an ex player, WCE have put a couple of years of Physio and Personal Training into Kelly to get his body to a level that allows him to play at the level he has, and why WCE made a commitment to draft him last year. There is a lot of goodwill between the two, which is most likely his biggest factor is choosing to come to WCE over Freo.

Geelong have every right to draft who they like when they like, but surely this was one of those situations that they knew would end up like it has. If it was published in a news paper WCE were going to draft him, then I am sure other clubs knew well in advance how much we were into him as well.

Geelong couldn't lose drafting him, best case he settles in well and is a handy player for them, worst case they get a pick upgrade in 2018.

As good as Kelly appears to be, not sold on this idea of him as a future gun, or even his supposed increased value?
He's where in the Cat's midfield pecking order? 4th?
Can he play like any current elite midfielder, has he played with a tag, can he work his way through an elite tag?
Nice to have, a cherry on the pie, especially for a BTB.

According to an ex player, WCE have put a couple of years of Physio and Personal Training into Kelly to get his body to a level that allows him to play at the level he has, and why WCE made a commitment to draft him last year. There is a lot of goodwill between the two, which is most likely his biggest factor is choosing to come to WCE over Freo.

Geelong have every right to draft who they like when they like, but surely this was one of those situations that they knew would end up like it has. If it was published in a news paper WCE were going to draft him, then I am sure other clubs knew well in advance how much we were into him as well.

Geelong couldn't lose drafting him, best case he settles in well and is a handy player for them, worst case they get a pick upgrade in 2018.
This is where the "we picked him up from obscurity and gave him a chance" line becomes hilarious. Sure, you just picked him up from some bush league where nobody knew who he was.

Geelong and Collingwood have been handing in our homework as theirs at draft time for years now :D

This is where the "we picked him up from obscurity and gave him a chance" line becomes hilarious. Sure, you just picked him up from some bush league where nobody knew who he was.

“The Eagles overlooked him for five years.”

Ah yes because you can only draft people from your respective state league, Geelong really threw him a lifeline not passing on him for the fifth year in a row.

As good as Kelly appears to be, not sold on this idea of him as a future gun, or even his supposed increased value?
He's where in the Cat's midfield pecking order? 4th?
Can he play like any current elite midfielder, has he played with a tag, can he work his way through an elite tag?
Nice to have, a cherry on the pie, especially for a BTB.

5th.

They have Ablett, Selwood, Dangerfield, Duncan who are all consistent performers over a long period. Now that Kelly wants out their fans are already back on the Duncan > Kelly bandwagon. His output is overstated because he is 3 years younger than the next youngest of that lot. Ablett is 34, Selwood 30, Dangerfield 29 and the U/23 cupboard is extremely bare.

The question marks are what drive his value down. He could become even better but we're not trading for a 24 year old on potential. And his body of work to date is one good WAFL season and one good AFL season. Even if he did perform as well as Lachie Neale this year (he didn't) Neale has 3 or 4 seasons of top footy under his belt and never seems to be injured. That's a big factor for a suiting club.