Tippett's Gone - READ RULES BEFORE POSTING

Which AFC deserter were/are you most salty towards?

Trolling? This board used to united in a single cause with only Jenny and I swimming against the tide. Now even old allies are at each other's throats. I'm just doing me bit to retore the natural order.
Your trolling was half bearable when it wasn't obvious you were a gutless flog. You posted right up to the point he announced Sydney. Then you changed your status 2 days later. Then we heard nothing from you until you thought you could spin your way back in. That's gutless, spineless and pathetic.

If you want to troll go to Bay 13 because if you hadn't noticed we are in a world of pain and don't need your crap.

I think the problem with trying to interpret this as "draft tampering" is that it sits in contrast to the collective bargaining agreement between the AFL and the AFLPA. I can only find the 2007-11 one on line . The clause in the CBA that I want to highlight is 18.5 (pages 21/22):

No AFL Club shall exchange any Player unless the Player has been given as much notice as possible by the AFL Club of its intention to trade without any duress being​
applied by the AFL Club, its employees or agents to the player and the Player
genuinely consents to the trade.

Many players have used the "genuinely consents to the trade" as leverage to invoke "I will only consider a trade to [club]". If Adelaide tried to trade Tippett to Brisbane or Carlton after he announced he wants to be traded to Sydney (or Collingwod tried to trade Wellingham to Freo, etc.) the player would be well within their rights to say they do not genuinely consent to the trade.
Sydney are just as guilty for trying to take advantage of the situation. if they just traded for his true value none of this crap would have eventuated. they were trying to use what is an unethical request by the Tippets. But why would anyone aqgree to let so,meone go so cheap. this has nothing to do with Sydney so they should not have the right to get him cheaply

Everyone's had their turn so why not Adelaide?
The sad thing was, that alike top level cycling, everyone was into doing what the other was doing.
We got caught out and were hung out to dry.

Why anyone would have ventured down that path again, is the big question.
Hope for you guys that they were only minor indiscretions and not all out spitting into the face of the league, otherwise..............
Harks we were arrogant about it. Too much Liberal party free enterprise politics which the socialist AFL did not like and so we paid overs. Adelaide may have ignored the warning that the AFL put out over the loud speakers and so may get a very serious spanking.

I would prefer that if the Crows were going to tamper they did a better job of it.

This tampering scenario is to the Crows detriment. Which club would agree that they would trade a valued player for a second round draft pick.

There is no gain to this for Adelaide unlike the other tampering scenarios we had in past i.e Carlton

Sounds to me like this was demanded by the Tippets thus I don’t think Adelaide should bear the brunt of this. When you tamper with something you would think the outcome

Needs to be positive- the only ones with positive outcome was Kurt.

Secondly if the Crows paid for Joel Tippets relocation- what is wrong with this? he is a footballer in his own right and the Crows may have wanted to

Keep an eye on his progress. If it was another player there would be no issue. Plus when Tippo signed the contract extension that was 2009 and Joel

Was still on the Gold Coast list. Thus this is a totally independent matter and is a storm in a tea cup in my opinion made up by Rucci.
Adelaide gained by retaining tippett for three more years.

The fact of the matter is that Reid and trigg were damned if they do and damned if they don't back in 2009 by the looks of things. It is moments like that where you really define the culture of an organization through strength of leadership. On that front, AFC failed by deferring the problem and letting it get out of control.

No Problemo, we have heaps of KIDS that we forgot to play this year so we could pump all those extra games into Dogga, Knights and Symes (not to mention Tippett)

There was also plenty of promises of a statistical comparison between games played by kids from Adelaide and other clubs, the draft picks used on these kids, the injuries to players when these kids played, and the position of these clubs regarding premiership windows who played the kids. :eek:

No offence, but F the Tippetts.

How can one player bend a whole football department over? For gods sake, he's not even that good.
Aparantlly we never had any forwards under Neil Craig, Evidently he was no good at developing them/crap game plan.

That was one aspect we wanted to change.

We had a killer defense, not a bad but bit old midfield. It was quite clear if someone started pulling down contested marks in the f50, we'd be playing grandfinals.

Then there was walker, everyone knew that lazy culturally cringeworthy bogan was coming. We saw more cups coming than a tea party.

Ironiclly for the next two years we got murdered by injuries.

Could you imagine cramming all of these shenanigans into your standard five day trade week? Following this thread would've gone from bloody difficult to don't even bother...

It's a pity all this crap has been so drawn out. Trade time, while necessary in this day and age, is a horrible concept. For it to go for the best part of a month is ridiculous. Get it back to a week.

Kurt Tippett has come across as a jerk and has lost the respect many had for him. His manager and advisers are just as bad.

Trigg and the AFC people involved in the contract negotiations back in 2009 are fools. Even if it all was legal, what a terrible situation for the club to be in 3 years later. Whoever was involved should be sacked immediately. I can't see how drawing up a 2nd contract saying AFC would trade Tippett to the club of his choice for a 2nd round pick could possibly be agreed to by the AFC. If they did say this and haven't honoured it then that is bad as well. If there has been any dodgy salary dealings that would be the worst and if this is the case then the word "cheat" could definitely be used and the consequences will follow.

Hopefully this is all cleared up soon. What Adelaide do have is a great coach and a team that has talent and is playing for him. Weed out the weak links from the club, which seems to be off the field.

Whoooh! Brilliant. :)

And here I had been wondering what you were on when you claimed legal training; you were so obviously missing the point.

Glad I didn't try to explain why you were wrong, I guess you were just 'cutting to the chase', and skipping the details.

Now you have filled in details I am rethinking this, and no - I'm not being sarcastic.

I'm merely just pointing out the other side of the story to Vader; whenever there is a dispute like this there are always two sides, which arguments you make depends on which side you are on.

But still, if we're going to be hit hard by this scandal it's for the possible salary cap breaches. Now Carlton blatantly and deceptively overpaid about 9-10 of it's star players. Our situation involves one player. Carlton exceeded the salary cap by a fair margin, whereas the word here is that we did not go over the salary cap, but merely made a deal on the side which was not disclosed to the AFL.

So while it's all doom and gloom on here (BF), the AFL won't go mental here and penalise us too hard, because word is even they accepted that the penalties on Carlton were too harsh. I'd be more than happy for the Crows to receive just a fine, particularly if it means Tippett and Co cop it as well!

It's a pity all this crap has been so drawn out. Trade time, while necessary in this day and age, is a horrible concept. For it to go for the best part of a month is ridiculous. Get it back to a week.

Kurt Tippett has come across as a jerk and has lost the respect many had for him. His manager and advisers are just as bad.

Trigg and the AFC people involved in the contract negotiations back in 2009 are fools. Even if it all was legal, what a terrible situation for the club to be in 3 years later. Whoever was involved should be sacked immediately. I can't see how drawing up a 2nd contract saying AFC would trade Tippett to the club of his choice for a 2nd round pick could possibly be agreed to by the AFC. If they did say this and haven't honoured it then that is bad as well. If there has been any dodgy salary dealings that would be the worst and if this is the case then the word "cheat" could definitely be used and the consequences will follow.

Hopefully this is all cleared up soon. What Adelaide do have is a great coach and a team that has talent and is playing for him. Weed out the weak links from the club, which seems to be off the field.

Wait for the verdict, don't start burning effigies just yet.

Can I confirm something here - if Tiprat goes into the PSD, since GWS has the first few picks, won't they take him?

Depends if this is resolved by the PSD.

He may be banned from a few games next year so if his asking price is 800k and he misses 1/4 of the games would you go for that? Probably not.

If it's resolved and he's free to play he'll be at GWS, Brisbane or the GC.

The only way the Lions will get him now is if we trade for him tomorrow. No way will he make it past GWS, GC, even Doggies would consider it in the PSD.

Considering this I hope when we spoke to the AFL this arvo we enquired whether they'd accept a trade tomorrow should we come to an agreement with both Tippett & Crows.

As far as I can see with Sydney ruling themselves out & GC waiting for PSD and us going cold on Martin (allegedly), then I can see Brisbane the only team willing to facilitate a trade tomorrow. It is however, doubtful at best.

They have the first three picks in the National Draft, not the Pre Season Draft (they only have one in PSD). Either way, there's a strong chance that he'll end up at GWS (depending on whether or not he can set contract demands etc.)

The only way the Lions will get him now is if we trade for him tomorrow. No way will he make it past GWS, GC, even Doggies would consider it in the PSD.

Considering this I hope when we spoke to the AFL this arvo we enquired whether they'd accept a trade tomorrow should we come to an agreement with both Tippett & Crows.

As far as I can see with Sydney ruling themselves out & GC waiting for PSD and us going cold on Martin (allegedly), then I can see Brisbane the only team willing to facilitate a trade tomorrow. It is however, doubtful at best.
When have Sydney ruled themselves out?

And why would he?

It is becoming clear he was lied to and he won't take that well. Triggy won't get sacked though he won't be at Adelaide next year, it's just the way things work that high up

"We have nothing to hide - and we have opened all the books to the AFL without condition," Chapman said.
"I can give a gold-plated commitment the AFL will find nothing."
I can't imagine he's the sort of person to make these comments without something to base them on....