dipper86

Sep 8, 2004
Dimmeys
Chelsea SSC Napoli
Half asleep listening to SEN Sunday morning they had a discussion about Brad Sewell and whether it was in his best interest to seek a trade to another club next year.

It got me thinking whats in Hawthorns best interests!

Sewell has been an absolute warrior for the football club and a premiership hero. But what we have close on the horizon is another Josh Kennedy scenario, history repeating itself. We have a player in Hallahan absolutely knocking down the door to play ones.
It would be absurd to think we can getaway with playing all of Mitchell Hodge Sewell Lewis and Hallahan in the same side, its already borderline as it is with our current set up. So what happens ? (I have no doubt at the end of the year Hallahan will ask the football club where he stands.)
So with another pre season under his belt coming into 2014, does Hallahan bide his time and waits for a retirement out of Hodge Mitchell and Sewell in the coming years, or do we force his hand ala Josh Kennedy and he seeks greener pastures with guaranteed senior game time.

Sewell has 2 years left on a contract coming into 2014, he doesn't exactly hold much currency, we would be lucky to get a second round pick for him.

So which path should we take, lose a great servant of our club in Sewell for underwhelming compensation to give Hallahan game time or do we keep Sewell and risk losing Hallahan after investing time in his development only for another club to reap the rewards.

We needed to move on him last year if we were to trade him. For better or worse we are stuck with him. Hope he can find something more than what he has offered this year. If this week is the best he can manage when when his career is on the line then I have my doubts about him continuing. Be better to ask him to retire and give him a job than keep him inside the salary cap. I reckon his legs are cooked. Only thing that explains it because we know what a tough player he is.

I really appreciate that the posts have all been very respectful of Sewell - I was worried that there would be knee-jerk comments similar to the `trade Roughy' ones following the GF. To me Sewell's predicament really highlights a key conflict inherent in running a successful footy club - loyalty versus pragmatism. It's great when the two align but is problematic when they don't. I'm not sure if we're prematurely writing him off....he was wonderful in the GF.....and yet one poster commented elsewhere that the new sliding rule may be seriously impacting his ability to be effective and that it may therefore be difficult for him to reassert his dominance. I don't know - what do others think?

Gotta lotta love for the Sewell but writing is on the wall. I think all the Hawks can do is be straight with him - tell him that in all likelihood, we will be transitioning him out of the team next year and would really value his continued input around the club as a fringe senior player and mentor to the next generation.

He would be awesome at Box Hill helping Hallahan/Langford etc learn the craft. He would also be great back up to play 5-10 games for the year.

I see it a bit like Ladson a couple of years ago - still had a lot to offer but the opportunity cost was too high.

If Sewell decided that wasn't for him and wanted to either bow out or seek a trade then best of luck to him - he owes us nothing and has been an awesome player.

Love Sewelly. I reckon if he would be excellent for a club like Melbourne or GWS who need a hard experienced inside mid to shows some leadership for a few years. He's 29 isn't he? I reckon we could get a pick round the 30 mark for him. Maybe him and Buddy to GWS for #1 and#19

A few of us (me included) questioned Hodges capability to get back to his best this year.
With that in mind, I think it's a little early to say that Brads best might be past him.

Not many of the good teams tag midfielders. That does not help Sewelly. I wrote Hodge off last year and he has bounced back, hope Sewelly can as well.

We have taken great lengths to position ourselves as a Destination Club. Shafting a loyal servant sends a very clear message.

To trade or not to trade Brad Sewell? Not really the supporters position to decide.

I have faith he can come back and play some really good football but if he doesn't show that before the finals, then he doesn't keep his spot.

Where to go after that at the end of the year completely depends on those circumstances and it's just way too early to be creating such a thread IMO.

To trade or not to trade Brad Sewell? Not really the supporters position to decide.

LOL, What does that have to do with anything, This is a football forum and its all opinion based, its not a reality.

I have faith he can come back and play some really good football but if he doesn't show that before the finals, then he doesn't keep his spot.

Where to go after that at the end of the year completely depends on those circumstances and it's just way too early to be creating such a thread IMO.

If he does regain form it still leaves us in a predicament. We have a player in the reserves that's dominating, ready for senior football. He will ask the question in where he stands at our Football club, clubs will be interested and if he's right down the pecking order he just may seek opportunities elsewhere just like Josh Kennedy. Who would blame him ? He wants a career.

IMO its not to early. Because ultimately Hallahan is ready for senior football.

Absolutely not. Even if he does not recapture his best form I would prefer to have him battling with our youngsters at Box Hill than on another list. At the very least we have the perfect depth midfielder for another two seasons who is a leader, tough, experienced and a big-match performer.

If the time comes that Anderson, Hallahan, Woodward and Langford have all passed him then so be it. But that time has not come and may not for a while yet.

He's got no trade value. If he'd like to go to another club to increase the number of AFL games he's likely to play next year then we should organise for that to happen. If he's happy as a Hawk fighting for his spot for another year then we should organise that.

Thats what we said about Stephen Gilham and look what we ended up with :)

A few of us (me included) questioned Hodges capability to get back to his best this year.
With that in mind, I think it's a little early to say that Brads best might be past him.

Agreed. Very premature thoughts coming out here, the bloke deserves a heap of respect and more chances to hit form, the bloke has been an incredible asset to the club, and I for one would love to see him stay a one-club player. I am still of the belief Sewelly still has much to offer on the field. A lot of you going very, very premature with Sewell.

Has been down on form and has low trade value. May as well show Sewell the full respect that he has earned and deserves from his fantastic career at the HFC and at the very least let him see his contract out. That being said if he does feel it is in his best interests to seek trade I wouldn't object but I still feel that he has a lot to offer to us as a team on and off the field. His work rate would be fantastic to see for the young blokes.

What's Hallahans contract status?
Sewell is a ripper, has been for a few years, but looks like time and age is catching up with him fast
Still has a huge role to play for us this year, but I must admit I was very surprised we signed him to the length of deal we did when he re-signed
I'd just hate to see him in another guernsey, but I can't wait to see Hallahan debut

To trade or not to trade Brad Sewell ?