5 tackles
1 goal
Elite stuff!
16 contested possessions
8 clearances
5 tackles
1 goal
Elite stuff!
I thought at the time and even more now that was one of the dumbest trades I can remember. He's the exact type of bloke you want around when you're a young team with a greater influx of talented youth coming.I am a huge Mitchell fan and was gutted to see him go - but its a great move for both Tom and the Pies (not so sure about my Hawks).
His character is first rate - and he'll do exactly what McRae asks him to do. No ego. If he was ever going to sook about his role, it would have happened last year under Sam, but he remained the consummate professional (and finished 5th in the B and F, and probably would have won it again if his midfield time had been at normal levels).
He is an old-fashioned head down / bum up player, which is why a fair number of supporters, commentators and douche-bag former coaches don't rate him as highly as they should. FFS, Diesel Williams would be getting slagged off if he played these days. Madness. Mids who can win the ball out to the classy outside players remain as valuable in the game as ever, as we saw on Friday night. A credit to the Pies and McRae that Mitchell always had an outside option (often multiple), each time he took possession - something my Hawks desperately need to learn from.
Wouldn't normally barrack for the Pies, but I wouldn't be upset if T Mitchell got to salute at the end of 23'
Early days, but I think Tay may be the big improver this season. He seems to be flourishing without the burden of being the sole inside-mid beast. His kicking, both field and goal, have improved immensely. Another positive effect of Mitchell's inclusion in this side.Not sure if it has been said, but how good is it having Mitchell and Adams rotate? It’s created another avenue to scoring. Adams has been a revelation resting forward. It’s no surprise we are averaging 20 goals a game, when you have this midfield/forward combination adding 3-4 goals a game.
Agreed Tay kicking a 55 meter goal half goal post high yesterday is a strong case in point. He appears happy and far less frazzled.Early days, but I think Tay may be the big improver this season. He seems to be flourishing without the burden of being the sole inside-mid beast. His kicking, both field and goal, have improved immensely. Another positive effect of Mitchell's inclusion in this side.
Don't know how much can be directly attributed to Mitchell vs natural growth....but you're on the money about the defensive side of our CB attendance.He's added another dimension to our inside game.
Not only does he win a lot of ball, but his positioning is so smart and he's so hungry at the contest that he makes it a lot harder for the opposition to get clean breaks from the middle.
I'm actually super stoked to see how well Tom is doing at the Pies so far.
Bizarre as it seems the amount of times I had to defend Mitchell on the Hawks forum from some really pretty nasty comments was pretty messed up (and this a 3 time B&F and Brownlow Medal winner)
Like I posted on your forum last year when you recruited him, give him a clear role to execute (i.e. win the ball and feed it out) and he will smash it.
And now he is I get to rub it in the faces of all the Mitchell haters on my forum (petty I know but I am a small minded man by nature )
Seriously though you wont find a more humble bloke, hes a ripper
He is a Brownlow medallist, there’s not a heap of them running around, he makes others around him better.I'm actually super stoked to see how well Tom is doing at the Pies so far.
Bizarre as it seems the amount of times I had to defend Mitchell on the Hawks forum from some really pretty nasty comments was pretty messed up (and this a 3 time B&F and Brownlow Medal winner)
Like I posted on your forum last year when you recruited him, give him a clear role to execute (i.e. win the ball and feed it out) and he will smash it.
And now he is I get to rub it in the faces of all the Mitchell haters on my forum (petty I know but I am a small minded man by nature )
Seriously though you wont find a more humble bloke, hes a ripper
Sadly for me, the pineapple's slip out faster than they slip in. They say that money talks - for me, it sticks around long enough to say goodbye!He's slotted in perfectly like a pineapple into my wallet.
His clearance work has been superb and exactly what we needed. Not only that but he's hitting the scoreboard and getting under the guard of the oppo. And we got him from the Hawks for a bag of peanuts, we really screwed them over in that trade, and it feels good man.
Rumour is that Tom and Sam Mitchell didn't get on at all, so could be a personality clash at the heart of it.He is a Brownlow medallist, there’s not a heap of them running around, he makes others around him better.
I am with you, why the Hawks couldn’t use him as part of the development stinks a bit of arrogance from Sam Mitchell. I could be wrong but I see what guys like Mitchell and Pendlebury can do for the young guys coming through, it amazes me Clubs let that quality walk.
anyway good luck with the rebuild and thanks for dropping in
How's Cooper Stephens going?Rumour is that Tom and Sam Mitchell didn't get on at all, so could be a personality clash at the heart of it.
Still our loss is your gain as they say
Been very low key build up in the pre season for Cooper (unfortunately he copped a concussion).How's Cooper Stephens going?
He is a Brownlow medallist, there’s not a heap of them running around, he makes others around him better.
I am with you, why the Hawks couldn’t use him as part of the development stinks a bit of arrogance from Sam Mitchell. I could be wrong but I see what guys like Mitchell and Pendlebury can do for the young guys coming through, it amazes me Clubs let that quality walk.
They are still trying to convince themselves he would make the Hawks worse...He is a Brownlow medallist, there’s not a heap of them running around, he makes others around him better.
We got Stephens and Hustwaite for Mitchell, while it won’t benefit us, infact doing the opposite in the short term, long term we get two talented players who are young.They are still trying to convince themselves he would make the Hawks worse...
But they did get an unknown 2019 1st round pick 'who must be good because he was a 1st round pick', which won them the trade. 7 games in 3 years.....
You'd still be shit with him, but it was the giving away of experienced leadership that I think was nuts. Such a smart hard working player. I can't imagine how losing that role model could possibly benefit the Hawks.We got Stephens and Hustwaite for Mitchell, while it won’t benefit us, infact doing the opposite in the short term, long term we get two talented players who are young.
Mitchell would’ve taken time away from others and our midfield atm is the least of the issues, surprisingly. Gunston was a much much much bigger loss to our team. But Tom Mitchell is a star, and he’ll be high in the Brownlow if he keeps this form up and improving with the new side.
His game against Port had it all, ball winning, in tight grit, goal kicking, getting involved with scores, pure clearance work & defensive display with high workrate.
Ultimate professional in preparation too which has rubbed off on Jordy and probably a few other mids. Brilliant pick upGlad we got him, less footy, more impact,
Just a smart footballer, exactly what we have needed for a very long time