wagstaff

Nov 28, 2001
The Sea of Holes
Melbourne Stars, Arsenal
Listening to 3AW's Talking Footy tonight with Shehan, Healy and Tony Shaw replacing Hookes for the night.

When discussing Hawthorn's prospects with their tall players, Shaw showed his razor-sharp football mind when he suggested what the side will do when Paul Salmon comes back!

To say the next few seconds were awkward was an understatement. It reminds me of the time when Sam Newman was interviewing Lazar Vidovic in 1998 and asking him when he would be coming back from his knee reconstruction. Lazar had to politely inform him that he had retired.

It really does make it hard to take anything the bloke says seriously after a slip like that.

As for David Hookes...an ad for Sports Today recently described Hookes as a "Legendary Australian Test cricketer".

Domestic yeah.

International...I don't think so.

heh...25 now, isn't it?

If memory serves me correctly, Hookes only made a single test century and that was against Sri Lanka shortly after they qualified as a test nation.

Even Greg matthews did better than that.

Originally posted by sandeano
heh...25 now, isn't it?

If memory serves me correctly, Hookes only made a single test century and that was against Sri Lanka shortly after they qualified as a test nation.

Even Greg matthews did better than that.

Greg Matthews was actually a good test batsmen. I think he averaged about 40 in tests....?

Yes, yes he was a very handy lower order batsman and I think he had about 3 test 100s to his name.

Trouble was, his bowling average was even higher.

Greg Mathews just about lives at the Clovelly Hotel these days. Always on the punt and carrying around a bit more 'padding' than he had in his playing days. Saw him on saturday arvo/night and he left the pub near 'blind' and walked straight into the doorway with a huge shoulder bump. This was after an all day session on the neddies, the pokies & what appeared to some bourbon & cokes.

Seems ol' Greggy isn't the same media savvy person we all knew & loved - 'yeah yeah' !!

Tony Shaw was covering the National Draft for 3AW last year - and they were the only media outlet covering the event. THe draft started and 25 minutes went by before we heard what had happened - and even then Tony only reported 5 of the top 30 picks.

When I rang up to complain 3AW said they were going to report all of them - but Tony had forgotten to write them down :rolleyes:

What's happened to the Fish anyway?

Tony Shaw you legend!